RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
118 reviews
Excellent getaway.

Very, very clean hotel and beach. Excellent buffet every day. Great personnels and services. See full review

  • SlyLou
  • Sep 8, 2014
Fantastic Anniversary gift for my wife!

My wife is from Guadalajara but had never been to this part of Mexico. She moved to the US about 35... See full review

  • Pietrowski
  • Sep 8, 2014
Explore the Yucatan and relax in style at this Caribbean resort
The RIU Palace Mexico is located on the beach and just minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort boasts six international restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, a children's pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers and terrace. The Renova Spa has a sauna, steam room, gym and body treatments. Other amenities include a chapel for services, conference rooms, photo lab and use of computers with Internet access. Spa treatments and Internet access may be subject to additional fees.
Highlights:
  • Sprawling resort complex
  • Renova Spa
  • Children's pool and club
Rooms:

Expect comfortable rooms and accommodations in contemporary styles and neutral colors at RIU Palace Mexico. Rounded wooden headboards, beige rugs and hanging drapery lend the feeling of a family-friendly home to this Mexican hacienda. Suites include turndown service, bathroom with bidet, central AC, mini-bar, flat screen satellite TV and private balcony or terrace. Upgraded suites include living rooms, dressing rooms, bathrobes and outdoor terrace Jacuzzi.

Features:

Guests enjoy two hard surface tennis courts, table tennis, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boards and snorkeling as part of the all-inclusive package. Also included is access to the sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and gym. For guests looking to explore a new sport, the resort offers one free introductory scuba lesson in the pool. Additionally, daytime and nighttime live entertainment is available at RiuLand for children ages 4 to 12. For a fee, an 18-hole golf course is located nearby.

Dining

Reservations may be made for the Brazilian Rodizio restaurant. All other restaurants at RIU Palace Mexico are open for walk-ins. A la carte offerings include a steakhouse and Japanese restaurant. Formal dress (long pants and shirts with sleeves) are required for dining at any of these locations. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum ruins (37 mi/61 km)
  • Chichen Itza (152 mi/247 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms
  • Policies and Fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6073 -87.0921
Area served
Av. Xaman Ha, Mza 3 Lote 2. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)-40 miles.
Area description
Riu Palace Mexico is located in the exclusive Playacar resort area, overlooking the turquoise waters of the Mexican Caribbean, just 5 minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine.
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant.
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.
Cafe Cubano
Piano bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Meet friends in our lobby bar featuring the piano music.
Los Mariachis
Lounge Bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 12 midnight.A relaxing way to end an active day!
La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Rodizio Brasileno-La Bodega
Dinner.Daily 6:30pm to 10pm. Brazilian Rodizio theme restaurant with service at the table. Steak House. An air conditioned indoor speciality restaurant. Reservations required.
Miyagi
Japanese restauranta la carte for dinner. Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lawrenceburg Indiana
Jun 11, 2011

fantastic, had a great time

We just relaxed on beach, did a little shopping and ate very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take cab to playa del carmen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fish King
Rexburg, Idaho
Feb 18, 2012

Great Place for our 40th Anniversary

Our room was spacious and very clean. Being on an upper floor the view was great. The staff who cared for our needs went beyond our expectations. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop for bargins in Playa. Love to haggle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston , Texas
Sep 8, 2009

Dream Vacation

This was our second trip to Playa in four months. Last time we stayed at RIU Palace Riviera - a great experience. They say the sequal isn't equal - but here it surpassed the original. This RIU was even warmer and friendlier than the Riviera. Bu noon we knew the front desk staff by name - and it was mutual. Sure - the time of year resulted in about a 50% full hotel - but the staff and service were excellent. I called one night for a wake up call at 6:30 - and at 6:30 AM - a desk clerk knocked on our door to say good morning!I asked if there was any decaf coffee provided in the room. The PR Director said she'd check and let us know. A bit later - there was a hand written note apologizing and explaining how I can get it from room service. I travel a lot - never seen this level of service. The property and location - beyond belief. Its like spending a week inside of a brochure! The Palace Mexico is known for its beach front - the Palace Riviera seems to have a better (more contemp) pool area - for those who don't prefer the beach. next time we plan to stay at Palace Mexico and visit the Palace Riviera pool. For the $$$ - can't beat the service, property or food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VDude
NJ
Jul 12, 2014

Good value but some issues

This resort was a great little getaway for 5 night of fun in the sun. We felt our stay was not too long but not too short. Here are the highlights. Room: Air conditioning worked great. Fridge stocked daily with water, soda and beer. Liquor cabinet with 4 liquors to choose from. Bed was firm and sheets were on the scratchy side. Toiletries were of good quality. Room was spotless and always clean. Free Wi-Fi. Only negative was that the alarm clock did not have a built in I-pod docking station. Pools: The swim-up bar pool was both warm and dirty. The filtration system did not work properly and we saw scum and gunk in the pool every day. That was unfortunate since we prefer to hang out at this pool. The 3 other pools were clean though. The children’s pool was empty as kids hung out in the other 3 pools instead. The jacuzzis were only accessible thru the spa and both were hot. Bathrooms for both the pool and beach were located at the steakhouse restaurant and they were smelly and hot. Riu should really consider adding more bathrooms by the pools. If you are dry enough you should use the bathrooms in the Spa. Dining: Be sure to get your name on a list if you want to eat at any of the restaurants besides the buffet. We didn't have a problem since we always got to the theater before 8 am to get a reservation. We loved the Mexican restaurant for both dinner and lunch. Jazmin was the best taco maker. The Japanese restaurant was okay but it was very small. The steakhouse was a solid choice. Our least favorite was the Italian. Our dinner was spoiled by a large children's table overrunning the restaurant. Not romantic in the very least. Men must wear pants in the Italian, Japanese, and fusion restaurants. Breakfast had a good selection and variety of food. The 24 hour lounge was very disappointing. The Bar Cubano lobby bar area smelled like vomit, which I suspect is due to dirty tap lines. Beverages: Dos Equis lager and Dos Equis amber. This was disappointing as the last Riu Palace we visited served Bohemia beer too. We got tired of Dos Equis after a day. They did have a large selection of hard liquors though. The red wine was undrinkable. Sports/Activities: They offer catamarans for free but only if you know how to operate them. Otherwise, it costs $55/hr for 2 people with an instructor. We were bummed about that. The activities staff were very engaging. We enjoyed bingo, dancing lessons and darts. Others played volleyball in the pool and sand. Entertainment: The nightly shows in the theater were awful, worse than a cruise ship. The piano player in the lobby was fantastic but he only plays twice per week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Lunch in the Mexican restaurant was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, RI
May 20, 2009

Moved to RIU Riviera Maya

Hotel Staff was unbelievable. Food was very good but I think because your in Mexico it didn't sit too well sometimes. Very nice reserved restaurants and people I know got married and the staff did a wonderful job. Great pool bar and wonderful beach. Look for Jesus and Pedro in the sports bar and John Williams to take care of you at night. I would definately go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go downtown and eat some nights instead of the buffets and restaurants on the resort. Also, Find foods you like and that sit well with you and stick with them all week and you'll have a great time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bayareagr8
San Mateo, CA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Equivalent to a 3 star hotel in the U.S.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. Service was very good and the place is well maintained. This hotel is equivalent to a 3 star hotel in the United States. As a true 3 star hotel, it deserves an overall rating of 4 out of 5. The furniture and the bathrooms could use an upgrade and a remodeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Apr 22, 2009

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Food was great but you have to get out at least one night and try something else in the "city". You have to get down there early in the morning to make reservations for supper or eat the same buffet every night. It's really good food, but something different is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

GO to Playa and shop and eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Raleigh NC
Mar 31, 2011

Good trip until we tried to get back

Hotel and everything about it was as advertised.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mucho Tequila for me
Michigan
Nov 22, 2009

As always a great time

Thoroughly enjoyed the palace. Went to the Tequila for entertainment though. More fun and upbeat. The food, rooms phenomenal, and location is beautiful! Not the happiest as far as having to leave so early to get back to the airport. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Tequila for night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikehabana
Miami, FL
Apr 22, 2009

2nd trip

Overall I can say that I love Cancun, my wife and I will be coming back again, and again. Every trip is like a new discover that makes our dreams come true.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top