$280 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
180 reviews
Wonderful experience!

My first trip to Playa del Carmen and it was perfect! The property was clean! The staff was so kind... See full review

  • Mama 3 Cusick
  • May 19, 2014
Couples getaway

My hotel overall was fantastic the only advice I would have is for Rudy he's part of the... See full review

  • Alabama Rolltide
  • May 18, 2014
Explore the Yucatan and relax in style at this Caribbean resort
The RIU Palace Mexico is located on the beach and just minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort boasts six international restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, a children's pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers and terrace. The Renova Spa has a sauna, steam room, gym and body treatments. Other amenities include a chapel for services, conference rooms, photo lab and use of computers with Internet access. Spa treatments and Internet access may be subject to additional fees.
Highlights:
  • Sprawling resort complex
  • Renova Spa
  • Children's pool and club
Rooms:

Expect comfortable rooms and accommodations in contemporary styles and neutral colors at RIU Palace Mexico. Rounded wooden headboards, beige rugs and hanging drapery lend the feeling of a family-friendly home to this Mexican hacienda. Suites include turndown service, bathroom with bidet, central AC, mini-bar, flat screen satellite TV and private balcony or terrace. Upgraded suites include living rooms, dressing rooms, bathrobes and outdoor terrace Jacuzzi.

Features:

Guests enjoy two hard surface tennis courts, table tennis, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boards and snorkeling as part of the all-inclusive package. Also included is access to the sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and gym. For guests looking to explore a new sport, the resort offers one free introductory scuba lesson in the pool. Additionally, daytime and nighttime live entertainment is available at RiuLand for children ages 4 to 12. For a fee, an 18-hole golf course is located nearby.

Dining

Reservations may be made for the Brazilian Rodizio restaurant. All other restaurants at RIU Palace Mexico are open for walk-ins. A la carte offerings include a steakhouse and Japanese restaurant. Formal dress (long pants and shirts with sleeves) are required for dining at any of these locations. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum ruins (37 mi/61 km)
  • Chichen Itza (152 mi/247 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms
  • Policies and Fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6073 -87.0921
Area served
Av. Xaman Ha, Mza 3 Lote 2. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)-40 miles.
Area description
Riu Palace Mexico is located in the exclusive Playacar resort area, overlooking the turquoise waters of the Mexican Caribbean, just 5 minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Dining

Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine.
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant.
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.
Cafe Cubano
Piano bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Meet friends in our lobby bar featuring the piano music.
Los Mariachis
Lounge Bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 12 midnight.A relaxing way to end an active day!
La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (180)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mass
Nov 16, 2010

A great all inclusive

Our second trip to RPM...and it remains one of our favorite AI's. We love the location in Playacar....there are numerous resorts close by that you can venture into and compare. Playa de Carmen is only a $5 taxi. The shows at the resort, the entertainment staff, and the pool are OK or pretty good. The beach and food are excellent. The guests are terrific. On both trips we managed to meet the most interesting guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rapid City, SD
Aug 13, 2010

Relaxation at its Best

We went to the RIU Palace for a relaxing, all-inclusive getaway and were not disappointed! The resort is beautiful, in a great location, has an awesome beach and has wonderful activities to do. We rented jet skiis and went scuba diving. The rooms are nice suites. The service is excellent. The waiters and staff really work hard to give good services to their guests. These are things that I wanted to note that could be improved: I didn't like the enclosed bathroom area with the badet (too small), I didn't like that we had to get up early everyday on our vacation (8:30am) so we could get dinner reservations, the initial greeting by staff when we got to the hotel could have been friendlier and I saw some waiters checking their cells phones while working in the restaurants, there were a few roaches we saw in the hotel but I know that's to be expected in a tropical climate, there wasn't a bathroom on the beach so you had to walk up to the restaurant or pool, the ocean isn't as clear as in Cancun, the fitness room didn't have AC and it was like a sauna when you were working out and there was no nightclub at the Palace, you had to go to the RIU Tequila. This resort is an hour south of Cancun and it seemed to be frequented by older people. I have been to other RIU resorts and this one is great as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alenat
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Apr 27, 2014

Spring Vacation at RIU Palace Mexico

Food doesn't get any better then that. Location is great, beach id the best I have seen on Mayan Riviera. Room comfort could be better. All rooms on the first floor don't have any privacy. Band is paying too loud. Second and third floors are the best, but hotel charges extra for those rooms. All in all it is a good value for your money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen if you want to shop, offer almost anything you can think of.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NC
Dec 18, 2010

FANTASTIC VACATION

BEACH WALKING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pacifica, CA
Jun 13, 2010

I will be back, again!

We stayed in this hotel several times. The beach front area had been completely restored compared to our last visit two years ago and looked simply amazing.We spent most of our time at the beach. The air conditioning was not working properly first two days of our stay, otherwise the rooms were clean and very nicely arranged. Food quality was outstanding, but lacked usual variety, especially at the beach front restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

We enjoyed the quality of food and service at steakhouse and fusion restaurant in the resort.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rapid City, SD
Aug 13, 2010

Relaxation at its Best

We went to the RIU Palace for a relaxing, all-inclusive getaway and were not disappointed! The resort is beautiful, in a great location, has an awesome beach and has wonderful activities to do. We rented jet skiis and went scuba diving. The rooms are nice suites. The service is excellent. The waiters and staff really work hard to give good services to their guests. These are things that I wanted to note that could be improved: I didn't like the enclosed bathroom area with the badet (too small), I didn't like that we had to get up early everyday on our vacation (8:30am) so we could get dinner reservations, the initial greeting by staff when we got to the hotel could have been friendlier and I saw some waiters checking their cells phones while working in the restaurants, there were a few roaches we saw in the hotel but I know that's to be expected in a tropical climate, there wasn't a bathroom on the beach so you had to walk up to the restaurant or pool, the ocean isn't as clear as in Cancun, the fitness room didn't have AC and it was like a sauna when you were working out and there was no nightclub at the Palace, you had to go to the RIU Tequila. This resort is an hour south of Cancun and it seemed to be frequented by older people. I have been to other RIU resorts and this one is great as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miguel from Mexico
Mexico
Sep 20, 2011

Nice hotel lots of food

The hotel is nice, a very nice lobby, there are a few hotels that you can also visit and use with the same pass, so over all there are lots of amenities. There are lots of food, many restaurants and over all it's good value, I can not say that the restaurants are gourmet, mainly is a lot of food, decent quality but you can not expect to be amazed by the food, For me I feel this is the last time I use an all inclusive as I prefer to eat less but to enjoy a better quality restaurant. so if you are very special with food, this is not for you, if you have kids and want to forget about paying all the time and leave them go freely around the place this is a very good choice to enjoy a good holiday at a good value. so over all, I give 4 out of 5 of what I was expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese was not so good, but I heard the steak house was better even I did not have the chance to eat there.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron S.
Amherst, Ohio
Sep 24, 2009

Best for your Money !!

Second time staying there, still Very NICE !! Best FOOD, location AWSOME...... downside....starting to get Quite a few small Kids ........Very noisy at times , when I wanted to Relax !!!! (POOL)...The staff .... the Best !! Go back in a HEARTBEAT !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kerriz9
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Aug 18, 2011

honeymooners

We went for our honeymoon and had a great relaxing time. The hotel was very nice. We hung out by the beach the whole time. The only thing that was ok was the food. But Im sure its hard making amazing food for that many of people. Krystal was our favorite restaurant for dinner. We went to 5th Ave one night which was cool it only was a $7 cab ride each way. We booked with Cancun Shuttle to take us to and from the airport which was $90 round trip for the 2 of us. We parasailed ($60 each) was fun but next time would like to scuba dive ($100 each). The no pants at dinner for men really wasn't that big of a deal jeans were acceptable. We took our own thermal cups for drinks the staff didn't mind at all filling them up. Oh and take cheap rafts for the ocean :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The "free" stuff ex: windsurfing, sailing isn't free. They make you pay for the lesson($25 & $40) then its free.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hscriv
Mountain View, California
Aug 25, 2013

Great Week in PDC

Just got back from a week at the RIU Mexico in PDC. We found the hotel to be a great value for us. We are 2 ~25ish professionals. Pros: amazing location access to 4 other RIU PDC resorts nice friendly staff good breakfast & lunch nice coffee bar (not found at other RIU in area) bathroom/shower gym Cons: were not many other folks our age at resort. Mostly families and older couples in-resort bars: pretty dead, watered down mixed drinks (to be expected at all-inclusive), poor beer selection restaurants: very small, difficult to get a reservation, small menus, not much variety had to report ants in our room numerous times water stopped working in room for about an hour Overall - I would stay at RIU Mexico again due to its great value. We really used the hotel as a launching point for 5th avenue which we went to almost every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Ula Gula on 5th avenue for some of the best food in PDC!

Back to menu Return to top