RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
120 reviews
Birthday getaway

The Riu Palace Mexico was meticulously maintained -- down to the combing of the sand in the... See full review

  • NYC Birthday Girl
  • Nov 27, 2014
beautiful vacation

The hotel was absolutely perfect. The staff is fabulous. Check action is perfect and the beach is... See full review

  • mary l ohio
  • Nov 10, 2014
Explore the Yucatan and relax in style at this Caribbean resort
The RIU Palace Mexico is located on the beach and just minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort boasts six international restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, a children's pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers and terrace. The Renova Spa has a sauna, steam room, gym and body treatments. Other amenities include a chapel for services, conference rooms, photo lab and use of computers with Internet access. Spa treatments and Internet access may be subject to additional fees.
Highlights:
  • Sprawling resort complex
  • Renova Spa
  • Children's pool and club
Rooms:

Expect comfortable rooms and accommodations in contemporary styles and neutral colors at RIU Palace Mexico. Rounded wooden headboards, beige rugs and hanging drapery lend the feeling of a family-friendly home to this Mexican hacienda. Suites include turndown service, bathroom with bidet, central AC, mini-bar, flat screen satellite TV and private balcony or terrace. Upgraded suites include living rooms, dressing rooms, bathrobes and outdoor terrace Jacuzzi.

Features:

Guests enjoy two hard surface tennis courts, table tennis, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boards and snorkeling as part of the all-inclusive package. Also included is access to the sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and gym. For guests looking to explore a new sport, the resort offers one free introductory scuba lesson in the pool. Additionally, daytime and nighttime live entertainment is available at RiuLand for children ages 4 to 12. For a fee, an 18-hole golf course is located nearby.

Dining

Reservations may be made for the Brazilian Rodizio restaurant. All other restaurants at RIU Palace Mexico are open for walk-ins. A la carte offerings include a steakhouse and Japanese restaurant. Formal dress (long pants and shirts with sleeves) are required for dining at any of these locations. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum ruins (37 mi/61 km)
  • Chichen Itza (152 mi/247 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms
  • Policies and Fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6073 -87.0921
Area served
Av. Xaman Ha, Mza 3 Lote 2. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)-40 miles.
Area description
Riu Palace Mexico is located in the exclusive Playacar resort area, overlooking the turquoise waters of the Mexican Caribbean, just 5 minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Dining

Miyagi
Japanese restauranta la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine. Previous reservation is required
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant. Previous reservation is required
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.
Cafe Cubano
Piano bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Meet friends in our lobby bar featuring the piano music.
Los Mariachis
Lounge Bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 12 midnight.A relaxing way to end an active day!
La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Rodizio Brasileno-La Bodega
Dinner.Daily 6:30pm to 10pm. Brazilian Rodizio theme restaurant with service at the table. Steak House. An air conditioned indoor speciality restaurant. Reservations required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kerriz9
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Aug 18, 2011

honeymooners

We went for our honeymoon and had a great relaxing time. The hotel was very nice. We hung out by the beach the whole time. The only thing that was ok was the food. But Im sure its hard making amazing food for that many of people. Krystal was our favorite restaurant for dinner. We went to 5th Ave one night which was cool it only was a $7 cab ride each way. We booked with Cancun Shuttle to take us to and from the airport which was $90 round trip for the 2 of us. We parasailed ($60 each) was fun but next time would like to scuba dive ($100 each). The no pants at dinner for men really wasn't that big of a deal jeans were acceptable. We took our own thermal cups for drinks the staff didn't mind at all filling them up. Oh and take cheap rafts for the ocean :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The "free" stuff ex: windsurfing, sailing isn't free. They make you pay for the lesson($25 & $40) then its free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hoiy
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Fantastic Time at RIU Palace Mexico

We just returned yesterday from our trip to PDC and we had a fantastic time. The hotel was beautiful, the staff was so nice and accommodating (for the most part), the location is great, and the food was very good. Some of the few things that I found frustrating though were 1) the use of real keys for your room keys, not a card, and 2) that I emailed the hotel requesting certain things be ready upon arrival since it's no longer peak season and none of my requests were taken into consideration. 1) The keys they give you are etched with your room number. Generally I felt safe and comfortable leaving my belongings around the pool, but if I lost this key I may as well have provided someone a map and key to my room. In this day and age, they need keycards. Real keys are unacceptable. 2) I read other reviews that the beds were extremely uncomfortable and to request an extra mattress topper. I emailed the hotel a week before my arrival and made this request, in addition to a request that our room face the fountains. None of them were considered and we were randomly assigned a room. In the end, the RIU's beds are the worst beds I've ever slept in. Also, I know for a fact the hotel was not full, but they told us it was full and if I wanted a room facing the fountains, it'd cost $120 extra per night. That is outrageous. Anyway, overall the entire vacation was great. We would definitely return. And PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE tip. These people work so hard and it's unfortunate to see people not tip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schlonky
Business
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Great Retreat aLL INCLUSIVE

Riu has been our preferred resort for the All inclusive experiences. Limited Beer selection (3), but great selection of specialty drinks and cocktails...plus they will make you just about anything. Very consistent service and amenities. Really enjoy the dinning option at the specialty restaurants. Krystal is a must do!! Only downfall was you have to sign up daily for one of the seating's (begins at 8am). Stay at one of the Riu Palaces and you have access to all the other adjacent properties. Riu Palace Mexico is a more "mature" location, Riu tequilla (just a short walk across the Street) is the younger "party" place. Riu Palace Rivera Maya (looked to be the newer palace was nice as well - had a sports themed bar). Bottom Line, you cant go wrong with Riu...No Hustles, hassles and an extremely friendly, motivated staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Book the airport transfer in advance and simply bypass the "time share, excursion hustles in the airport" Literally ignore EVERYONE who tries to help you until you get out of the airport doors...Once outside look for your transfer companies signage and uniforms.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bayareagr8
Business
San Mateo, CA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Equivalent to a 3 star hotel in the U.S.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. Service was very good and the place is well maintained. This hotel is equivalent to a 3 star hotel in the United States. As a true 3 star hotel, it deserves an overall rating of 4 out of 5. The furniture and the bathrooms could use an upgrade and a remodeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fish King
Business
Rexburg, Idaho
Feb 18, 2012

Great Place for our 40th Anniversary

Our room was spacious and very clean. Being on an upper floor the view was great. The staff who cared for our needs went beyond our expectations. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop for bargins in Playa. Love to haggle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scoopp
Business
Cleveland
Mar 9, 2012

Great Place

A great place for the money. It's a smaller resort but couldn't have been happier. Great Staff...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rodadactle
Business
Highlands Ranch, CO, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Relaxing times by the pool!

Incredible staff. Don't go during spring break if you want to get away from kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hardrocker '87
Business
Iowa, USA
Mar 16, 2013

Family Trip to Playa Del Carmen

Hotel was beautiful, clean and wait staff was friendly and professional. Safe, secure, clean, beautiful environment for a family vacation. The open bathroom concept was a little odd and created some privacy issues. Housekeeping work performance seemed to decline a little every day. Food choices and quality were excellent. Missed not having an ocean view from our room. Beaches and chairs were well groomed, palm tree shade was much appreciated. Local shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Took an excursion to the Coba Mayan ruins, cenote swim and visit to a mayan residence.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent RIU Fans
Business
Sarasota, FL
Apr 18, 2013

Return to RIU Palace Mexico

We just returned from a visit to the RIU Palace Mexico. The renovations result in vast improvements especially in the outdoor areas, pools and restaurants. The 4 pools separated by function with the largest heated serve well. It was nice to have the bar pool totally separated from the area where balls are thrown and children play. The lunch restaurant is huge with a plethora of choices. If you arrive as they open you can have a very nice ocean front table and service is fabulous. The additional dinner restaurants were most welcome. We enjoyed the new Italian the best. They served a stuffed chicken breast that was better than you could get at most restaurants and kudos to their grouper and plentiful tuna appetizer at the Oriental. Also, bottles of wine served at the Krystal were a nice touch. All of the food was excellent and every restaurant employed a unique method of demonstrating personalized and attentive service. The staff was the very best at simply wanting to please. Congratulations to all but especially Yamir, Marieley, Elena, Nando, Daniel, Abraham and German! They made our vacation week very special. Also, take the time to introduce yourself to the assistant manager Ildiko Polgar. She was extremely accommodating granting us the best room she could and on the upper floor as we had requested. Lastly, do not miss David. He plays piano every Monday through Friday in the lobby before and immediately after dinner. Even if you are not a piano bar fan, you will enjoy his varied and entertaining selections. The beach, pools, ocean water, location and access to the other 4 RIU hotels complete the reason why this hotel is the best overall in the area. The staff at the RIU Palace Mexico made this a particularly wonderful vacation leaving us no choice but to plan a prompt return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Sun Worshipers
Business
New Jersey
Jul 21, 2013

Area of possible improvement

We had an excellent experience at this hotel. It would be nice if they could provide a more private hospitality suite. At least refrain from having the employees use the suite for their bathroom needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top