$295 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pietrowski
Business
San Fernando California
Sep 8, 2014

Fantastic Anniversary gift for my wife!

My wife is from Guadalajara but had never been to this part of Mexico. She moved to the US about 35 years ago when she was in elementary. I'm from Seattle. This was my first trip to Mexico with my wife.....we LOVED IT!!!! We want to come back next year. I didn't know Mexico could feel so safe, loved it, loved it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you forget your bathing suit, suntan lotion or any other personal items "DO NOT BUY THEM AT THE LOCAL MARKET....GO TO WALMART:) Mexico has a Walmart.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miguel H.
Business
Reseda, California
Aug 25, 2014

Happy Group

One week of total relaxation. The hotel staff was very friendly and made us feel very welcomed. This is the third time staying at this hotel and it just keeps getting better and better. Huge variety of the best tasting food, including authentic Mexican food, and european cuisine. The beach was immaculate with plenty of shade for me and lots of sun for my wife. Truly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pull yourselves out of the hotel and visit Xcaret for a day.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MariaSimon
Business
New York City, New York
Aug 15, 2014

Perfection!

You MUST stay at the RIU Palace Mexico! Perfection in all aspects. The Staff was incredibly gracious. The food and beverages were delicious and the daily variety was endless. Our room was immaculate as were the four pools, dining rooms and lounges. The property itself is a genuine reflection of its name. Beautiful, serene and spacious. One day my husband and I returned to our room after enjoying a scrumptious breakfast and to our surprise the Staff had decorated our room with balloons, a birthday cake, flowers and a gift for his birthday. We were overwhelmed. We had not said a word to anyone about his upcoming birthday. How did they know? They just did :) Words can not express how grateful and delighted we were. We took tons of photos which we will cherish forever. We are already making plans to return in a few months and have recommended the RIU Palace Mexico to everyone we know. Thank you to the entire Staff at the RIU Palace Mexico :) See you soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try everything! The food is delicious and the variety is endless. Fresh, scrumptious and always something different. The Chefs are very creative with their recipes and presentation.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZKat
Business
Athens, GA
Aug 15, 2014

Very nice, relaxing stay in beautiful area

* A lovely facility in a fantastic beach front location * Extraordinarily friendly and enthusiastic service * Reasonable rate/value * Wonderful variety and solid quality in the main restaurant/buffet * Mediocre results at higher level cuisine themes in specialty restaurants * Surprisingly high quality bar/drink service * Above average nightly entertainment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The half day excursion to the ruins at Tulum was well worth the price/effort. The inclusion of a stop off for snorkeling (equipment provided) at one of the nearby cenotes put the trip over the top.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gil Rod
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 1, 2014

Something Differnent

In my opinion the hotel stay was ok...could use more friendlier staff...probably would not stay at this Riu again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Uncle Tim
Business
U.C New Jersey
Jul 28, 2014

Far from a 5 more like 2

The hotel rooms had a musty smell and the toilet was in a closet with no exhaust fan. When you took a shower the water had a sewer smell to it . The food and staff (not the front desk) were great , this is no 5 star hotel . We stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya last year and that was rated at a 4 star and this one was rated a 5 star . Made the best of the vacation but the rating is miss leading.Looking forward to next year ….we'll be going back to The Riu Palace Riviera Maya.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kris20
Business
New York
Jul 28, 2014

Perfect vacation

beautiful hotel, helpful stuff, perfect location, beach grounds are unspeakable, sea water cannt be more turquoise and clear, you can even feed fishes, food is excellent. 20 min walk to the town or 5 min ride by taxi ($7). will definitely come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VDude
Business
NJ
Jul 12, 2014

Good value but some issues

This resort was a great little getaway for 5 night of fun in the sun. We felt our stay was not too long but not too short. Here are the highlights. Room: Air conditioning worked great. Fridge stocked daily with water, soda and beer. Liquor cabinet with 4 liquors to choose from. Bed was firm and sheets were on the scratchy side. Toiletries were of good quality. Room was spotless and always clean. Free Wi-Fi. Only negative was that the alarm clock did not have a built in I-pod docking station. Pools: The swim-up bar pool was both warm and dirty. The filtration system did not work properly and we saw scum and gunk in the pool every day. That was unfortunate since we prefer to hang out at this pool. The 3 other pools were clean though. The children’s pool was empty as kids hung out in the other 3 pools instead. The jacuzzis were only accessible thru the spa and both were hot. Bathrooms for both the pool and beach were located at the steakhouse restaurant and they were smelly and hot. Riu should really consider adding more bathrooms by the pools. If you are dry enough you should use the bathrooms in the Spa. Dining: Be sure to get your name on a list if you want to eat at any of the restaurants besides the buffet. We didn't have a problem since we always got to the theater before 8 am to get a reservation. We loved the Mexican restaurant for both dinner and lunch. Jazmin was the best taco maker. The Japanese restaurant was okay but it was very small. The steakhouse was a solid choice. Our least favorite was the Italian. Our dinner was spoiled by a large children's table overrunning the restaurant. Not romantic in the very least. Men must wear pants in the Italian, Japanese, and fusion restaurants. Breakfast had a good selection and variety of food. The 24 hour lounge was very disappointing. The Bar Cubano lobby bar area smelled like vomit, which I suspect is due to dirty tap lines. Beverages: Dos Equis lager and Dos Equis amber. This was disappointing as the last Riu Palace we visited served Bohemia beer too. We got tired of Dos Equis after a day. They did have a large selection of hard liquors though. The red wine was undrinkable. Sports/Activities: They offer catamarans for free but only if you know how to operate them. Otherwise, it costs $55/hr for 2 people with an instructor. We were bummed about that. The activities staff were very engaging. We enjoyed bingo, dancing lessons and darts. Others played volleyball in the pool and sand. Entertainment: The nightly shows in the theater were awful, worse than a cruise ship. The piano player in the lobby was fantastic but he only plays twice per week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Lunch in the Mexican restaurant was great!

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mama 3 Cusick
Business
Tennessee
May 19, 2014

Wonderful experience!

My first trip to Playa del Carmen and it was perfect! The property was clean! The staff was so kind and always there to accommodate our every need! The food was excellent and drinks never ending! We can't wait to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alabama Rolltide
Business
Boston Mass
May 18, 2014

Couples getaway

My hotel overall was fantastic the only advice I would have is for Rudy he's part of the entertainment staff. Is the music that they play at the pool is depressing they need party type music to be played I would love to burn the CD and mail it to him. And I might just do that great staff their were funny and friendly and made me laugh but the music at the pool has got to improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

When reserving a restaurant get in line by 12 o'clock because the reservations fill up fast

Back to menu Return to top