$403 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
121 reviews
Birthday getaway

The Riu Palace Mexico was meticulously maintained -- down to the combing of the sand in the... See full review

  • NYC Birthday Girl
  • Nov 27, 2014
beautiful vacation

The hotel was absolutely perfect. The staff is fabulous. Check action is perfect and the beach is... See full review

  • mary l ohio
  • Nov 10, 2014
The Riu Palace Mexico is a modern five-star all inclusive hotel located on the beach in the Playacar section of Playa Del Carmen. It is part of an elegant development wich includes a modern 18-hole championship golf course and is located near at our own "Calle Mexicana" or "Mexican Street" wich features a variety of boutiques for you shopping pleasure,gym, shops, jewelry, beauty salon, photo studio and lab, medical center, spa services(body and beauty treatments massages). In addition, there are several restaurants and bars located within the complex offering a variety of choices for your dinning pleasures. 24-hour Room Service free of charge.

Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.

The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.

***No Student groups under 21 years or Spring Breakers are accepted all year round***

The maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child or 2 Adults + 2 Children.

Discounts : Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking.

Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.

Any special request remains upon availability of the hotel. FREE WEDDING PACKAGE
Validity: until Dec 31st, 2010

Free wedding packages include:
-On-site wedding coordinator to help plan the special day
-Decoration set up for the ceremony location
-Bridal Bouquet and matching boutonniere for the groom
-CD or recorded music during the ceremony
-Semi private dinner for the wedding group at one of our specialty restaurants
-Wedding cake for 10 people
-Sparkling wine for 10 people (during the main toast only)
-Surprise spa gift
-Ten percent discount on all spa services for the bride and the groom (restrictions apply)

MINISTER OR JUDGE SERVICE, LEGAL DOCUMENTATION & FEES ARE NOT INCLUDED (Restrictions apply).

IN ORDER TO QUALIFY FOR A FREE WEDDING PACKAGE YOU MUST BOOK 5 OR MORE ROOMS ON THIS SITE. (Restrictions apply).

-In order to have a wedding at our RIU Hotels & Resorts, the couple and the 80 percent of the total amount of the wedding guest must stay at the RIU Hotel where the wedding will be performed. This is a strict Riu policy we must follow.

-Wedding guest who are not staying at the resort must purchase a Day Pass. The cost of day passes ranges between $50 and $100 US dollars.

***Guests have 90 min/day free WiFi-connection in the lobby.
***WiFi throughout the whole hotel, at cost

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Rodizio Brasileno-La Bodega
Dinner.Daily 6:30pm to 10pm. Brazilian Rodizio theme restaurant with service at the table. Steak House. An air conditioned indoor speciality restaurant. Reservations required.
Miyagi
Japanese restauranta la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine. Previous reservation is required
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant. Previous reservation is required
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VDude
Business
NJ
Jul 12, 2014

Good value but some issues

This resort was a great little getaway for 5 night of fun in the sun. We felt our stay was not too long but not too short. Here are the highlights. Room: Air conditioning worked great. Fridge stocked daily with water, soda and beer. Liquor cabinet with 4 liquors to choose from. Bed was firm and sheets were on the scratchy side. Toiletries were of good quality. Room was spotless and always clean. Free Wi-Fi. Only negative was that the alarm clock did not have a built in I-pod docking station. Pools: The swim-up bar pool was both warm and dirty. The filtration system did not work properly and we saw scum and gunk in the pool every day. That was unfortunate since we prefer to hang out at this pool. The 3 other pools were clean though. The children’s pool was empty as kids hung out in the other 3 pools instead. The jacuzzis were only accessible thru the spa and both were hot. Bathrooms for both the pool and beach were located at the steakhouse restaurant and they were smelly and hot. Riu should really consider adding more bathrooms by the pools. If you are dry enough you should use the bathrooms in the Spa. Dining: Be sure to get your name on a list if you want to eat at any of the restaurants besides the buffet. We didn't have a problem since we always got to the theater before 8 am to get a reservation. We loved the Mexican restaurant for both dinner and lunch. Jazmin was the best taco maker. The Japanese restaurant was okay but it was very small. The steakhouse was a solid choice. Our least favorite was the Italian. Our dinner was spoiled by a large children's table overrunning the restaurant. Not romantic in the very least. Men must wear pants in the Italian, Japanese, and fusion restaurants. Breakfast had a good selection and variety of food. The 24 hour lounge was very disappointing. The Bar Cubano lobby bar area smelled like vomit, which I suspect is due to dirty tap lines. Beverages: Dos Equis lager and Dos Equis amber. This was disappointing as the last Riu Palace we visited served Bohemia beer too. We got tired of Dos Equis after a day. They did have a large selection of hard liquors though. The red wine was undrinkable. Sports/Activities: They offer catamarans for free but only if you know how to operate them. Otherwise, it costs $55/hr for 2 people with an instructor. We were bummed about that. The activities staff were very engaging. We enjoyed bingo, dancing lessons and darts. Others played volleyball in the pool and sand. Entertainment: The nightly shows in the theater were awful, worse than a cruise ship. The piano player in the lobby was fantastic but he only plays twice per week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Lunch in the Mexican restaurant was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mama 3 Cusick
Business
Tennessee
May 19, 2014

Wonderful experience!

My first trip to Playa del Carmen and it was perfect! The property was clean! The staff was so kind and always there to accommodate our every need! The food was excellent and drinks never ending! We can't wait to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alabama Rolltide
Business
Boston Mass
May 18, 2014

Couples getaway

My hotel overall was fantastic the only advice I would have is for Rudy he's part of the entertainment staff. Is the music that they play at the pool is depressing they need party type music to be played I would love to burn the CD and mail it to him. And I might just do that great staff their were funny and friendly and made me laugh but the music at the pool has got to improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

When reserving a restaurant get in line by 12 o'clock because the reservations fill up fast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
allandp
Business
N.J.
Apr 30, 2014

great for all ages

very good amenities. great location. small resort size. two min. walk to a beautiful beach. lots of shade for people who prefer it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

food is good but can use some improvement in quality.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Doss
Business
CT USA
Apr 30, 2014

Beautiful Place Beautiful Beaches

We loved staying here. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate. The rooms are so clean and unique. The staff was so friendly and always wanted to please you. The food was amazing and delicious. So many choses. Many restaurants to choose from. The pools were clean and not over crowed. The beach was beautiful! We loved sitting under the palm trees in the sand. The music bands at night were nice but the evening shows could be higher quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Steak House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Luvr
Business
St. George, UT
Apr 28, 2014

Amazing

The staff, food, service, entertainment, beach and activities were all amazing! The only thing I did not like much was the purple trim on everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and see the ruins on your on schedule.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alenat
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Apr 27, 2014

Spring Vacation at RIU Palace Mexico

Food doesn't get any better then that. Location is great, beach id the best I have seen on Mayan Riviera. Room comfort could be better. All rooms on the first floor don't have any privacy. Band is paying too loud. Second and third floors are the best, but hotel charges extra for those rooms. All in all it is a good value for your money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen if you want to shop, offer almost anything you can think of.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy with RIU
Business
Wyoming, MN
Apr 3, 2014

Great place and Fabulous people

We truly enjoyed our stay at the RIU Palace Mexico. I can't say enough about how great the staff are. They are so friendly, helpful and hardworking. The food was more than we could imagined, my husband loved the grilled lobster down on the beach. The bands that came in for the evening entertainment were great and much better than we thought we would hear. My only complaint is that the bed was firmer than at home so it took some getting used too, although the room was clean even with sand coming in with us from the beach. We chose the RIU because we had stayed at one of the other RIU's in the area and then at a competitor the two prior times we had been to the area and preferred the RIU, we were happy with the choice and you can utilize services at the other RIU's in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If going into Playa Del Carmen for shopping, find a way to hide your wrist bands so that the vendors don't identify you as easily. Also walking with purpose helps to keep them at bay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimauz
Business
Beverly, MA
Mar 31, 2014

Riviera Maya at its best

Overall experience great! This was a R&R, so the beach, sun and the ocean were excellent. The walking close distance to Playa del Carmen 5th avenue is a good option for those who like to do something different. The hotel staff is a plus always ready to help you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

All what is needed is in it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kitkat67
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Feb 21, 2014

Honeymoon

This trip couldn't have been any better. The resort was fantastic! The food was excellent, rooms and hotel super clean. Staff was friendly and courteous. Very safe location. You can walk off the resort and head into Playa Del Carmen where you can shop for local items and enjoy the nightlife. Plenty of beach chairs at the pool and beach. There's nightly entertainment with live music and they also have entertainment for the kids. This resort offers something for everyone. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking into Playa is around 55 minutes. If you walk by the beach into Playa, it's only 35 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top