RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
125 reviews
Excellent Vacation - Superb Service - Great Drinks - Very Good Food

I recommend the Rio Palace Mexico. It was a great resort. The staff could not have been more... See full review

  • Meeting Planner
  • Mar 2, 2015
Wonderful stay!

We just came back from a wonderful stay at the RIU Palace Mexico, and it was a great trip! This was... See full review

  • athacker
  • Mar 1, 2015
Explore the Yucatan and relax in style at this Caribbean resort
The RIU Palace Mexico is located on the beach and just minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort boasts six international restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, a children's pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers and terrace. The Renova Spa has a sauna, steam room, gym and body treatments. Other amenities include a chapel for services, conference rooms, photo lab and use of computers with Internet access. Spa treatments and Internet access may be subject to additional fees.
Highlights:
  • Sprawling resort complex
  • Renova Spa
  • Children's pool and club
Rooms:

Expect comfortable rooms and accommodations in contemporary styles and neutral colors at RIU Palace Mexico. Rounded wooden headboards, beige rugs and hanging drapery lend the feeling of a family-friendly home to this Mexican hacienda. Suites include turndown service, bathroom with bidet, central AC, mini-bar, flat screen satellite TV and private balcony or terrace. Upgraded suites include living rooms, dressing rooms, bathrobes and outdoor terrace Jacuzzi.

Features:

Guests enjoy two hard surface tennis courts, table tennis, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boards and snorkeling as part of the all-inclusive package. Also included is access to the sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and gym. For guests looking to explore a new sport, the resort offers one free introductory scuba lesson in the pool. Additionally, daytime and nighttime live entertainment is available at RiuLand for children ages 4 to 12. For a fee, an 18-hole golf course is located nearby.

Dining

Reservations may be made for the Brazilian Rodizio restaurant. All other restaurants at RIU Palace Mexico are open for walk-ins. A la carte offerings include a steakhouse and Japanese restaurant. Formal dress (long pants and shirts with sleeves) are required for dining at any of these locations. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum ruins (37 mi/61 km)
  • Chichen Itza (152 mi/247 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms
  • Policies and Fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Rodizio Brasileno-La Bodega
Dinner.Daily 6:30pm to 10pm. Brazilian Rodizio theme restaurant with service at the table. Steak House. An air conditioned indoor speciality restaurant. Reservations required.
Miyagi
Japanese restauranta la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine. Previous reservation is required
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant. Previous reservation is required
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meeting Planner
Business
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

Excellent Vacation - Superb Service - Great Drinks - Very Good Food

I recommend the Rio Palace Mexico. It was a great resort. The staff could not have been more service oriented, food was very good to excellent and plentiful (very high quality for an all inclusive resort), drinks were of very high quality and plentiful (servers roamed the beach with trays of Pina Col, Frozen Marg, Dacs and other drinks). i give the resport my highest recommendation. My wife and i went to the Riu Palace Mexico with 6 other couples. We could not have had a better time. The hotel was imaculately clean, the food was very good to excellent (the most comprehensive selection of food I have seen at an AI with high quality meats and fish), drinks were above "bar brands" in quality. Service was excellent in all venues. As a benchark, we have traveled the world staying at 5 start hotels and paying top prices for food and drinks. We know quality and good service. I found the Rio Palace Mexico an outstanding value (I would say inexpensive) but more importantly the quality of the service, food and amentities were excellent in every way. We ate at the French, Italian and Asian Speciality Restaurants. The service was excellent and the food was very good. We prefered the buffet as the quality of the food and selection was so great. The buffet had stations with carving and service which were as good as many high end restaurants around the world. The Beef Wellington on Lobster night was as good as I have had anywhere. The service at the tables could not be better. (as a tip, we would give our waiters and Captains a $2 to $5 gratuity every few days. They appreciated it. I think we would have had equally excellent service without the extra tip, but they worked so hard - we wanted to reward them. We never had to wait for waiters to take our drink orders and their was a large seleletion of premium liquor brands and speciality drinks (about 10 different frozen drinks plus many others (and anothing one could name). The front desk staff was very helpful. My wife hurt her foot a day before our trip so they moved us to a lower floor as soon as available. The front desk manager walked me to the new room to view it before moving us to insure it was OK. Very nice touch. I think his name was Mycole. That is the type of service I get at the usual 5 star hotels I stay at in major world cities. All 6 of the couples (also world travelers) will be coming back next Feb for 1 or 2 weeks. We loved the Riu Palace Mexico and have nothing but excellent things to say about it and give it my highest reccommendations. (We have stayed a Rio Place Play del Cama and the R Palace in Punta Canna, but thought the Mexio was the best. We have also stayed at other brands of all inclusive resorts and not as pleased with food, drinks or service).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
athacker
Business
N/A
Mar 1, 2015

Wonderful stay!

We just came back from a wonderful stay at the RIU Palace Mexico, and it was a great trip! This was our second time in Mexico and the first time taking our kids. Since I relied heavily on reviews when I made the reservation, I decided I'd take the time to review. Pros: This resort is so much better than the last one we stayed in and it was just because of the staff. They are truly excellent. From the moment we walked in (they upgraded our rooms due to availability) the staff was amazing. Our bags were brought up to our rooms quickly and unlike the other resort, no one tried to sell us a time share or one extra anything. The food was excellent and the lounge area was wonderful for the kids when the buffet wasn't open and they were hungry. The kids also ordered room service and it came quickly and courteously. The fridge was restocked daily and the staff brought extra towels and made sure the room was clean. The set up was excellent. All rooms face the main area where the activity is taking place. It's a short distance to the beach and it was really a pretty beach. Really though, it was the staff that made all the difference. They remembered us at dinner, at the bar, and everywhere we went. They really went the extra mile. Cons: There aren't a lot and it shouldn't keep you from staying here. Many people have mentioned the smell of the rooms, and it's definitely there. We got used to it quickly and it didn't really bother us. It's a damp, musty smell though. The rooms aren't great for privacy. We had our three kids stay together ranging ages 17-23 and it was tough for them to dress and shower. The bath tub is in the middle of the room and the shower isn't completely blocked off--just something to keep in mind. Also, we were never able to eat at the specialty restaurants. Reservations have to be made between 8:00-10:00 AM and we were gone on tours during those times. We loved the buffet though--we'd have just like to try the steakhouse. The entertainment is really loud at night, but it ends at 11:00 PM. We didn't mind that at all though. We loved one of the bands that played a wide range of music. They were really good. All in all, it was a terrific stay. You won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mary l ohio
Business
strongsville
Feb 4, 2015

riu palace fantastic

We had such a beautiful trip. The hotel was clean grounds were beautiful and staff was wonderful. There was a little plaza with a Starbucks up the street. Great place out front to take morning run. Beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steven P.
Business
Salem
Dec 29, 2014

couple retreat

Had the best time ever!!!!!! Can't wait to return. It's a little gem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steven P.
Business
Salem
Dec 16, 2014

couple retreat

Had the best time ever!!!!!! Can't wait to return. It's a little gem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC Birthday Girl
Business
New York
Nov 27, 2014

Birthday getaway

The Riu Palace Mexico was meticulously maintained -- down to the combing of the sand in the morning! The staff was friendly and engaging. We went to Tulum, an underwater cavern and snorkeling. The visibility was not great, but still a good trip. A bunch of kelp washed up on the beach for most of the trip, but the staff did what they could to sweep it up. All in all, the trip was a fantastic value. Bring small bills if you would like to tip anyone. The front desk cannot change large USD bills into smaller ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mary l ohio
Business
ohio
Nov 10, 2014

beautiful vacation

The hotel was absolutely perfect. The staff is fabulous. Check action is perfect and the beach is absolutely gorgeous. Couldn't ask for better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SlyLou
Business
Comox, British Columbia
Sep 8, 2014

Excellent getaway.

Very, very clean hotel and beach. Excellent buffet every day. Great personnels and services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Xcaret.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pietrowski
Business
San Fernando California
Sep 8, 2014

Fantastic Anniversary gift for my wife!

My wife is from Guadalajara but had never been to this part of Mexico. She moved to the US about 35 years ago when she was in elementary. I'm from Seattle. This was my first trip to Mexico with my wife.....we LOVED IT!!!! We want to come back next year. I didn't know Mexico could feel so safe, loved it, loved it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you forget your bathing suit, suntan lotion or any other personal items "DO NOT BUY THEM AT THE LOCAL MARKET....GO TO WALMART:) Mexico has a Walmart.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miguel H.
Business
Reseda, California
Aug 25, 2014

Happy Group

One week of total relaxation. The hotel staff was very friendly and made us feel very welcomed. This is the third time staying at this hotel and it just keeps getting better and better. Huge variety of the best tasting food, including authentic Mexican food, and european cuisine. The beach was immaculate with plenty of shade for me and lots of sun for my wife. Truly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pull yourselves out of the hotel and visit Xcaret for a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top