$313 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2014 Check-out: May 7, 2014

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

5 stars
Ave Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 2 Fracc. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
104 reviews
Great place and Fabulous people

We truly enjoyed our stay at the RIU Palace Mexico. I can't say enough about how great the staff... See full review

  • Happy with RIU
  • Apr 3, 2014
Riviera Maya at its best

Overall experience great! This was a R&R, so the beach, sun and the ocean were excellent. The... See full review

  • Kimauz
  • Mar 31, 2014
Explore the Yucatan and relax in style at this Caribbean resort
The RIU Palace Mexico is located on the beach and just minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort boasts six international restaurants, five bars, two swimming pools, a children's pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers and terrace. The Renova Spa has a sauna, steam room, gym and body treatments. Other amenities include a chapel for services, conference rooms, photo lab and use of computers with Internet access. Spa treatments and Internet access may be subject to additional fees.
Highlights:
  • Sprawling resort complex
  • Renova Spa
  • Children's pool and club
Rooms:

Expect comfortable rooms and accommodations in contemporary styles and neutral colors at RIU Palace Mexico. Rounded wooden headboards, beige rugs and hanging drapery lend the feeling of a family-friendly home to this Mexican hacienda. Suites include turndown service, bathroom with bidet, central AC, mini-bar, flat screen satellite TV and private balcony or terrace. Upgraded suites include living rooms, dressing rooms, bathrobes and outdoor terrace Jacuzzi.

Features:

Guests enjoy two hard surface tennis courts, table tennis, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boards and snorkeling as part of the all-inclusive package. Also included is access to the sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and gym. For guests looking to explore a new sport, the resort offers one free introductory scuba lesson in the pool. Additionally, daytime and nighttime live entertainment is available at RiuLand for children ages 4 to 12. For a fee, an 18-hole golf course is located nearby.

Dining

Reservations may be made for the Brazilian Rodizio restaurant. All other restaurants at RIU Palace Mexico are open for walk-ins. A la carte offerings include a steakhouse and Japanese restaurant. Formal dress (long pants and shirts with sleeves) are required for dining at any of these locations. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum ruins (37 mi/61 km)
  • Chichen Itza (152 mi/247 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms
  • Policies and Fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi features: Air-conditioned, 2 two-poster beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser, complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit.Bidet , Balcony with private Jacuzzi. Rooms with Ocean View available subjet to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Junior Suite Courtyard Room
Junior Suite Courtyard Room features: two double beds, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, access via exterior corridors, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, hair dryer, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), welcome amenities, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker
Suite
Suite features: Air-conditioned, 2 double two-posters beds , ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, radio alarm clock , mini bar, liquor dispenser ( restocked every second day) , complimentary in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Living area including sofa, walking closet. Bathroom equipped with double -sink, hairdryer, vanity mirror and amenities kit, bidet . Balcony-terrace. Rooms with Ocean View available subject to availability New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso, In Room Coffee Maker

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6073 -87.0921
Area served
Av. Xaman Ha, Mza 3 Lote 2. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)-40 miles.
Area description
Riu Palace Mexico is located in the exclusive Playacar resort area, overlooking the turquoise waters of the Mexican Caribbean, just 5 minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

Tikki
Beach Bar.
Room service continental breakfast
Continental breakfast room service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (24-hour advance notice)
Don Julian
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area serves a wide variety of buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialities , Dress code for dinner requires long pants. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, International cuisine.
El Kiosko
Pavillion Bar.
El Patio
Breakfast, lunch and snacks. Daily 10:30am to 11pm. Serves Mexican cuisine on the beach. Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.
Krystal Gourmet
Fusion cuisine restaurant.
Las Conchas
Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 5pm. Pool Swim-up to the bar for a delightful tropical drink.
Cafe Cubano
Piano bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Meet friends in our lobby bar featuring the piano music.
Los Mariachis
Lounge Bar. Cocktails and drinks.Daily 10:30am to 12 midnight.A relaxing way to end an active day!
La Traviata
Breakfast, lunch and snacks.Daily 10:30am to 11pm.Serves Italian cuisine on the beach.Serves continental breakfast daily 10:30 am to 12 noon, lunch from 12 noon to 3pm, snacks from 3pm to 6pm and late night snacks from 10pm to 11pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
leningradka
Minnesota
Jun 2, 2012

Perfect vacation!

We stayed at RIU Palace for 6 days and it was fantastic! The beach is simply the best! Food, service, intertaiment - everything as 5 star hotel. Will come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Happy with RIU
Wyoming, MN
Apr 3, 2014

Great place and Fabulous people

We truly enjoyed our stay at the RIU Palace Mexico. I can't say enough about how great the staff are. They are so friendly, helpful and hardworking. The food was more than we could imagined, my husband loved the grilled lobster down on the beach. The bands that came in for the evening entertainment were great and much better than we thought we would hear. My only complaint is that the bed was firmer than at home so it took some getting used too, although the room was clean even with sand coming in with us from the beach. We chose the RIU because we had stayed at one of the other RIU's in the area and then at a competitor the two prior times we had been to the area and preferred the RIU, we were happy with the choice and you can utilize services at the other RIU's in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If going into Playa Del Carmen for shopping, find a way to hide your wrist bands so that the vendors don't identify you as easily. Also walking with purpose helps to keep them at bay.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Kimauz
Beverly, MA
Mar 31, 2014

Riviera Maya at its best

Overall experience great! This was a R&R, so the beach, sun and the ocean were excellent. The walking close distance to Playa del Carmen 5th avenue is a good option for those who like to do something different. The hotel staff is a plus always ready to help you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

All what is needed is in it.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Kitkat67
Ottawa, Canada
Feb 21, 2014

Honeymoon

This trip couldn't have been any better. The resort was fantastic! The food was excellent, rooms and hotel super clean. Staff was friendly and courteous. Very safe location. You can walk off the resort and head into Playa Del Carmen where you can shop for local items and enjoy the nightlife. Plenty of beach chairs at the pool and beach. There's nightly entertainment with live music and they also have entertainment for the kids. This resort offers something for everyone. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking into Playa is around 55 minutes. If you walk by the beach into Playa, it's only 35 minutes.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Jenya
Chicago, IL
Jan 15, 2014

All inclusive

It's a pretty good all inclusive. Like all of them, the food isn't the gourmet but it's decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Mosiebear
Oklahoma CITY
Dec 20, 2013

Exellent Vacation

We love this place and have returned to the same properety for the past 4 years. The warm greeting from the doorman welcoming us home again just sets the tone for the entire stay. The dining room staff remembers guests from past visits and all possible to make one welcome and comfortable. Our room was always cleanede promptly and was spotlessas usual. The front desk staff really tries to accomodate all your needa promptly. Lastly, the smiling faces and cheeful "HOLA" keeps a smile on our faces as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop in the town of Playa del Carmen and don't forget to negotiate, negotiate.negotiate!!!

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Dona Carolina
Business
Walnut Creek, California
Nov 4, 2013

I love riu palace Mexico !!!

I love the wonderful employees, beach , food and accommodations . Everyone is so kind. Especially Santiago who serves cafecitos con carino in the morning and lunch with a smile I will definitely return despite the redecorating. I loved the former Spanish colonial design. Everything is so wonderful I can overlook the pink and purple new decor. It's not for me but riu palace Mexico is excellent !!!! I have traveled to many beaches and playacar is one of the best I have ever seen. I have never stayed at a hotel with nicer employees

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Mayan adventures for atv, zip lining and snorkeling adventures. Ask for Horacio and angel aka chela Also try Xcaret for snorkeling. Lots of fish. Great fun and food

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Retiree13
Frisco, Texas
Oct 29, 2013

Great Remodel

Have stayed at this property two times before. Really like the remodel. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Specialty restaurants were outstanding. Make sure you make a reservation at 8:30am for that evening's meal.

Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
KPSB2
Michigan
Oct 28, 2013

Great place to visit

First of all the beach was one of the best we've ever been too, food was good but not great, staff was extremely helpful, shows a bit corny and not that great. We had a lot of rain and there were a few leaks in the building. Modern décor is not our style. Showers were awesome Water closet too small though. Over all a good value for the $'s.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Muy nice
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 24, 2013

It was great

Overall a great experience. Check the weather for the months you book in order to make sure there is no rain/storm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Mexico All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
hscriv
Mountain View, California
Aug 25, 2013

Great Week in PDC

Just got back from a week at the RIU Mexico in PDC. We found the hotel to be a great value for us. We are 2 ~25ish professionals. Pros: amazing location access to 4 other RIU PDC resorts nice friendly staff good breakfast & lunch nice coffee bar (not found at other RIU in area) bathroom/shower gym Cons: were not many other folks our age at resort. Mostly families and older couples in-resort bars: pretty dead, watered down mixed drinks (to be expected at all-inclusive), poor beer selection restaurants: very small, difficult to get a reservation, small menus, not much variety had to report ants in our room numerous times water stopped working in room for about an hour Overall - I would stay at RIU Mexico again due to its great value. We really used the hotel as a launching point for 5th avenue which we went to almost every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Ula Gula on 5th avenue for some of the best food in PDC!

Back to menu Return to top