$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

3 stars
Hotelero 1 Manzana 20 Desarrollo Playa Car, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
22 reviews
Excellent service

Never stayed in an All Inclusive hotel and the experience was great, food was good, drinks every... See full review

  • Colcoliendre
  • Jul 29, 2013
Awesome Alone Time

The hotel was lovely. The staff was great and friendly. The only complain would be that my bed was... See full review

  • Myrta Alone to Destress
  • May 29, 2014
All-inclusive family-friendly surrounded by Tropical Gardens

Travelers in Riviera Maya find comfortable base at RIU Lupita - All Inclusive, a contemporary hotel strategically located near the beach and cultural, historical and shopping destinations. This modern property features two freshwater pools and solarium terrace. After touring San Juan del Cabo, tourists unwind at in-house Renova Spa wellness center. Visitors also enjoy sports like basketball, volleyball and table tennis on site.

Visitors at RIU Lupita savor filling themed buffets at Adelita restaurant and sumptuous Mexican dishes at Maria Bonita on site. Guests can also have light meals at Panchito snack bar or dine at grill and steakhouse Cozumel by the beach. 

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Renova Spa wellness center
  • Sports, activities and water recreation (at cost)
  • Freshwater pools
RIU Lupita - All Inclusive Rooms

Rooms at RIU Lupita - All Inclusive are tastefully decorated in light tones and come with a balcony or terrace. All units are equipped with modern amenities like private bathroom, satellite flat-screen TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, safe deposit box, hairdryer, telephone and Wi-Fi access (fees apply). 

Things To Do
  • Riviera Art Gallery (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (2.0 mi/3.2 km)
  • The Golf Club at Playacar (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Tee'd Off Tee Times (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Xplor Park (3.0 mi/4.8 km)
  • Xcaret Eco Theme Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Playa Paintball Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamita's Beach Club (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Maroma Beach (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • Museo CEDAM (12.6 mi/20.3 km)

Hotel Map

20.6125 -87.092
Area served
Located at the Playacar Complex next to the Golf Club Playacar course, 1.2 miles from Playa Del Carmen downtown, 1.5 miles from shopping center, 31 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport
Nearby airports
Cancun Int'l Airport
Area description
50 km / 31 miles to Cancun Int'l. Airport. The Mayan Riviera is magical mix of ancient civilization and modern-day with exciting nightlife. Combine the splendor of the Mayan ruins, natural beautiful white beaches and incredible wildlife with fantastic shopping and dining.

RIU Lupita - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Air conditioning, Ceiling fan, mini-bar, satellite TV, telephone, In room safe(at additional cost), 110 V electricity, Bathroom with shower & bathtub, hairdryer, amenities, balcony or terrace. Bedding 2 dbl beds or 1 King size bed and bunk bed (called family room) family room type must be on request subject to availability at clients arrival.
Family Room
Air conditioning, Ceiling fan, mini-bar, satellite TV, telephone, In room safe(at additional cost), 110 V electricity, Bathroom with shower & bathtub, hairdryer, amenities, balcony or terrace. Bedding 2 dbl beds or 1 King size bed and bunk bed family room type .

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area

Dining

Maria Bonita
Mexican restaurant for dinner. Reservations required
Lounge bar
Lounge bar
Panchito
Pool snack Bar and restaurant.
Cozumel
Beach Club Snack Bar, located at the beach club.
Tequila beach
Beach bar
Adelita
Main restaurant serving international & local specialties buffet style with Terrace and non -smoking section. Theme dinners served twice a week
Tequila pool
Pool Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.5
Value:
4.2

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Val13
New Jersey
Aug 16, 2014

Not what i expected

We did not like our experience at this hotel, just by you having to take a bus to go to the beach is a minus, also the front lobby does not cater to your request, i called to ask for an iron and they told me come later to see if we have one, then i called to ask for someone to come help with our luggage the day we were checking out and they never came. The mini club pool for the kids is never clean, the pool is full of leaves and sand. The food menu at the buffett was the same everyday. Overall i don't think we would stay at another RIU

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
May 26, 2010

horrible

The hotel was a 35 minute walk to the beach or you could take a hot shuttle. There is only two places two eats and the food is terrible! It was hard and tasted like leftovers! The rooms were dirty and did not have locks!! The beds were very hard too! There were stray cats all over the hotel. Stayed one night before we paid the extra $400 to upgrade to a MUCH nicer Riu!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
canton
May 12, 2008

Dont eat the bacon!

The stay was merely satisfactory. We had to wait almost an hour for the buffet to be replenished. I also found hair fried into the bacon duing breakfast. The front staff's response was, Oh sorry about that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5th ave and the ferry to Cozumel was the highlight of the trip.

Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wloo
Waterloo, IA, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Good inexpensive all inclusive.

The hotel is very nice and the staff is very friendly. I was impressed by their food at the buffet and at the specialty restaurant. Bus transportation every 1/2 hour to Play or the beach was also a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Sep 24, 2010

Great for the price!

We were looking to stay in Play Del Carmen on the cheap and Riu Lupita was great! Friendly staff, great food, and clean rooms! The location is not directly on the beach on the beach, but is just a short five minute drive. They also have a shuttle available to take you to the beach club. The great thing about his hotel was that you still are able to use 3 other Riu hotels in the area! You can use their pools, beaches, and even buffets! It was great pool hopping and checking out the other resorts.The buffets were great with a large selection and something for everyone. They also had a pretty well stocked bar and a ton of fun cocktails. This place is an excellent hotel for the money, and if you're looking to stay on the cheap without sacrificing service, or quality I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Aug 7, 2010

Just ok...

When we booked the RIU Lupita, we were expecting a 3 star hotel, which is what we got. Even with those expectations, we were disappointed by a number of things: - Distance to the beach: we were aware that the Lupita was off of the beach, but it was more inconvenient than we anticipated. Having to lug everything to the beach, including towels, was a pain. Because the last shuttle runs at 645, we had to take a taxi back to the hotel at night. - Food: the food was mediocre at best. There is way too much fried food and minimal healthy options. When we travel to a foreign country, we want to experience the local cuisine, the Lupita was not a good place to do that. We did find some fantastic authentic restaurants in Playa, such as El Fogon. While the sit down restaurant at the Lupita is better than the buffet, it is a set menu that did not change while we were there and it takes about 2 hours to get through dinner. - Activities: Our main reason for choosing an all-inclusive for this trip was b/c were active travelers and liked the variety of activities that were included. What they fail to let you know is that you can use the non-motorized watersports for only an hour per day. In addition, if you want to use the catamarans or windsurfing equipment you have to pay for a lesson on how to use them. - Noise: our room was in a noisy location. - Beach Club: Although in the hotel's description it says the beach club has towels, they do not. You have to lug them from the hotel. You also cannot get towels from the other RIU's. The food choice at the Club was sparse. The first day we arrived there was no food available by 3. They turn the drink machines off early as well. - Use of Other RIU's: We spent most of our time during the day at the RIU Playacar, which was nice. But when you arrive at the Lupita they give you a sheet telling you that you can use the other RIU's, but you cannot eat there. I had read many reviews that said you were able to eat there, but it specifically said, other than snacks, that you could not. - Customer Satisfaction: While the bar and wait staff at the Lupita were great, the management was lacking in customer service. On the few nights when 2 members of management were present at the Lupita, they spent more time standing around socializing w/ one another and other staff, than speaking w/ guests and making sure they were content. We were unhappy our first day there b/c after traveling all day, we went straight to the beach w/ the expectation that we could get food and towels at the Beach Club, and neither were available. When we returned to the Lupita we complained at the front desk and were told that the 'director' would come and speak w/ us at dinner. He did not show. We had one particularly negative encounter w/ the 'director' of the Lupita, regarding an issue that could have been easily resolved. A group of us were playing pool volleyball around 7pm, when someone came and took down the net. Everyone was disappointed so I went to find someone to talk to about getting the net put back up. A member of the entertainment staff took me to the director, who chose to speak through him, rather than directly to me, although he spoke English. His reasoning was that he was the director and made the decisions, and that they took it down b/c dinner was starting. In my opinion, a hotel is in the business of customer service, their job is to make guests happy, so they return. This was a simple matter that could have been easily resolved, but the 'director' clearly doesn't understand that his job is dependent on customer satisfaction. We enjoyed our trip Mexico, but were disappointed by these various things at the Lupita. We would not return to the Lupita.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don Cuco
SFO
Jul 19, 2014

Good location. It can better

We stayed 3 nights. Cleanliness is average or below. Service average. You had to pay extra for WiFi Water in the pool was very cloudy. Great that it's all inclusive. That's about it. 3.0 out of 5.0

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilmington, DE
Aug 21, 2009

Nice, but too far from Beach

Hotel was very nice, staff very friendly and ready to help with anything you needed. Beach was a small distance away, just a pain to take a bus. Nice to be able to visit other sister properties. Overall a nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel has transportation to shopping or is just a 5.00 cab ride. Good deals if you barter with the store. Nice and clean very nice stores. It is fun to go and spend the day, or evening.

Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Myrta Alone to Destress
San Antonio, Texas
May 29, 2014

Awesome Alone Time

The hotel was lovely. The staff was great and friendly. The only complain would be that my bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 27, 2008

family friendly,quiet

The Riu Lupita is a small family friendly hotel. This hotel is not on the beach, there is transportation to their beach club every half hour. There is animation around the pool all day and at one occasion during the week, the animation team do a beach party at the hotel beach club. I have to say the food was very good. There is only a buffet retaurant and only 1 a la carte estaurant. Unfortunitly both are open, so no air conditioning...last stay in june was very very uncomfortable at lunch and diner because of the hot weather. Bedrooms are very small and old. Bathroom is really tiny. Nignt shows are ok. some good some just ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

$5.00 taxi drive to playa del carmen 5th.avenue

Back to menu Return to top

Change search