$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Hotelero 1 Manzana 20 Desarrollo Playa Car, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
23 reviews
Great experience

Stay was wonderful, staff was unbelievable! Great value for price! See full review

  • Cory R.
  • Jun 12, 2015
Awesome Alone Time

The hotel was lovely. The staff was great and friendly. The only complain would be that my bed was... See full review

  • Myrta Alone to Destress
  • May 29, 2014

Travelers in Riviera Maya find comfortable base at RIU Lupita - All Inclusive, a contemporary hotel strategically located near the beach and cultural, historical and shopping destinations. This modern property features two freshwater pools and solarium terrace. After touring San Juan del Cabo, tourists unwind at in-house Renova Spa wellness center. Visitors also enjoy sports like basketball, volleyball and table tennis on site.

Visitors at RIU Lupita savor filling themed buffets at Adelita restaurant and sumptuous Mexican dishes at Maria Bonita on site. Guests can also have light meals at Panchito snack bar or dine at grill and steakhouse Cozumel by the beach. 

Location

Rooms at RIU Lupita - All Inclusive are tastefully decorated in light tones and come with a balcony or terrace. All units are equipped with modern amenities like private bathroom, satellite flat-screen TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, safe deposit box, hairdryer, telephone and Wi-Fi access (fees apply). 

Highlights
  • Renova Spa wellness center
  • Sports, activities and water recreation (at cost)
  • Freshwater pools
Nearby attractions
  • Riviera Art Gallery (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (2.0 mi/3.2 km)
  • The Golf Club at Playacar (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Tee'd Off Tee Times (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Xplor Park (3.0 mi/4.8 km)
  • Xcaret Eco Theme Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Playa Paintball Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamita's Beach Club (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Maroma Beach (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • Museo CEDAM (12.6 mi/20.3 km)

Top hotels

RIU Lupita - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Air conditioning, Ceiling fan, mini-bar, satellite TV, telephone, In room safe(at additional cost), 110 V electricity, Bathroom with shower & bathtub, hairdryer, amenities, balcony or terrace. Bedding 2 dbl beds or 1 King size bed and bunk bed (called family room) family room type must be on request subject to availability at clients arrival.
Family Room
Air conditioning, Ceiling fan, mini-bar, satellite TV, telephone, In room safe(at additional cost), 110 V electricity, Bathroom with shower & bathtub, hairdryer, amenities, balcony or terrace. Bedding 2 dbl beds or 1 King size bed and bunk bed family room type .

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Maria Bonita
Mexican restaurant for dinner. Reservations required
Lounge bar
Lounge bar
Panchito
Pool snack Bar and restaurant.
Cozumel
Beach Club Snack Bar, located at the beach club.
Tequila beach
Beach bar
Adelita
Main restaurant serving international & local specialties buffet style with Terrace and non -smoking section. Theme dinners served twice a week. Previous reservation is required
Tequila pool
Pool Bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 23
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
4.2

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cory R.
Couples
N/A
Jun 12, 2015

Great experience

Stay was wonderful, staff was unbelievable! Great value for price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don Cuco
Couples
SFO
Jul 19, 2014

Good location. It can better

We stayed 3 nights. Cleanliness is average or below. Service average. You had to pay extra for WiFi Water in the pool was very cloudy. Great that it's all inclusive. That's about it. 3.0 out of 5.0

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hakun a Matata
Couples
Around...
Dec 27, 2013

Perfect for the money

Good location. Relaxing place. Nice people. Great beach !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

- 5th Ave. - Playa del Carmen - X Caret - Night Show !!! - Tulum Ruins - Xel Ha - Acumal Beach

Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prolibris
Couples
Bangor, Maine
Jan 19, 2012

A pleasant surprise

We've been to about 20 3+ star all-inclusives over the years, and this is one of the best. Good food, with few exceptions (there are always exceptions on a buffet). About 300 rooms, in one-, two-, and three-story units spread out on a nice secluded site. It's not on the beach, but a free bus runs every half hour from 7:30 am to 6:45 pm to another RIU waterfront property where all typical amenities are available. Free in-room minibar includes beers, sodas, and 4 liters of booze. They really do a great job with their resources!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Enjoy a stroll into Playa del Carmen, about a half-hour walk...the shuttle bus also makes a drop-off there, and it's just about a 20 minute walk from town to the Beach Club.

Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Illinois
Sep 24, 2010

Great for the price!

We were looking to stay in Play Del Carmen on the cheap and Riu Lupita was great! Friendly staff, great food, and clean rooms! The location is not directly on the beach on the beach, but is just a short five minute drive. They also have a shuttle available to take you to the beach club. The great thing about his hotel was that you still are able to use 3 other Riu hotels in the area! You can use their pools, beaches, and even buffets! It was great pool hopping and checking out the other resorts.The buffets were great with a large selection and something for everyone. They also had a pretty well stocked bar and a ton of fun cocktails. This place is an excellent hotel for the money, and if you're looking to stay on the cheap without sacrificing service, or quality I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
Aug 7, 2010

Just ok...

When we booked the RIU Lupita, we were expecting a 3 star hotel, which is what we got. Even with those expectations, we were disappointed by a number of things: - Distance to the beach: we were aware that the Lupita was off of the beach, but it was more inconvenient than we anticipated. Having to lug everything to the beach, including towels, was a pain. Because the last shuttle runs at 645, we had to take a taxi back to the hotel at night. - Food: the food was mediocre at best. There is way too much fried food and minimal healthy options. When we travel to a foreign country, we want to experience the local cuisine, the Lupita was not a good place to do that. We did find some fantastic authentic restaurants in Playa, such as El Fogon. While the sit down restaurant at the Lupita is better than the buffet, it is a set menu that did not change while we were there and it takes about 2 hours to get through dinner. - Activities: Our main reason for choosing an all-inclusive for this trip was b/c were active travelers and liked the variety of activities that were included. What they fail to let you know is that you can use the non-motorized watersports for only an hour per day. In addition, if you want to use the catamarans or windsurfing equipment you have to pay for a lesson on how to use them. - Noise: our room was in a noisy location. - Beach Club: Although in the hotel's description it says the beach club has towels, they do not. You have to lug them from the hotel. You also cannot get towels from the other RIU's. The food choice at the Club was sparse. The first day we arrived there was no food available by 3. They turn the drink machines off early as well. - Use of Other RIU's: We spent most of our time during the day at the RIU Playacar, which was nice. But when you arrive at the Lupita they give you a sheet telling you that you can use the other RIU's, but you cannot eat there. I had read many reviews that said you were able to eat there, but it specifically said, other than snacks, that you could not. - Customer Satisfaction: While the bar and wait staff at the Lupita were great, the management was lacking in customer service. On the few nights when 2 members of management were present at the Lupita, they spent more time standing around socializing w/ one another and other staff, than speaking w/ guests and making sure they were content. We were unhappy our first day there b/c after traveling all day, we went straight to the beach w/ the expectation that we could get food and towels at the Beach Club, and neither were available. When we returned to the Lupita we complained at the front desk and were told that the 'director' would come and speak w/ us at dinner. He did not show. We had one particularly negative encounter w/ the 'director' of the Lupita, regarding an issue that could have been easily resolved. A group of us were playing pool volleyball around 7pm, when someone came and took down the net. Everyone was disappointed so I went to find someone to talk to about getting the net put back up. A member of the entertainment staff took me to the director, who chose to speak through him, rather than directly to me, although he spoke English. His reasoning was that he was the director and made the decisions, and that they took it down b/c dinner was starting. In my opinion, a hotel is in the business of customer service, their job is to make guests happy, so they return. This was a simple matter that could have been easily resolved, but the 'director' clearly doesn't understand that his job is dependent on customer satisfaction. We enjoyed our trip Mexico, but were disappointed by these various things at the Lupita. We would not return to the Lupita.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
May 26, 2010

horrible

The hotel was a 35 minute walk to the beach or you could take a hot shuttle. There is only two places two eats and the food is terrible! It was hard and tasted like leftovers! The rooms were dirty and did not have locks!! The beds were very hard too! There were stray cats all over the hotel. Stayed one night before we paid the extra $400 to upgrade to a MUCH nicer Riu!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, TX
Jul 14, 2009

Great Place!

Our stay was great. The location was perfect a little slice of the jungle and about a 5 minute complimentary shuttle to the beach. I had heard mixed reviews about this hotel, but we took the chance. WOW- Talk about customer service. It has a largely European clientele, but don't worry all entertainment was available in Spanish, French, and English. Most servers offered the same options for language. What a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

We didn't book our excursion through the hotel because we heard of the "great" savings you could get in town on your own. I wouldn't recommend taking the chance, the prices were only slightly cheaper elsewhere and you don't have the security that the resort offers.

Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
spain
May 4, 2009

fantastic

we enjoyed our trip in all ways,it was fantastic and hope to go once again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The bus shuttle could be more at night since the shuttle is only upto 17.45which is bad since you have to take a cap to reach hotel.

Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Milton
Dec 8, 2008

excellent hotel for the price

the hotel was clean, staff was excellent, it is a small hotel, the dining for all meals was excellent the dining room staff worked very hard. only thing that was between meals they had a snack bar open, will a very limited menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top