RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

3 stars
Hotelero 1 Manzana 20 Desarrollo Playa Car, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
22 reviews
Excellent service

Never stayed in an All Inclusive hotel and the experience was great, food was good, drinks every... See full review

  • Colcoliendre
  • Jul 29, 2013
Awesome Alone Time

The hotel was lovely. The staff was great and friendly. The only complain would be that my bed was... See full review

  • Myrta Alone to Destress
  • May 29, 2014
This Delightful resort has recently been refurbished and taken over by the RIU Chain. Offers an incredibly relaxing -casual atmosphere perfect for families, couples and Golf lovers.Ideally located next to the Golf Club Playacar Robert Von Hagger design. This resort in villa-style building offers 35,000 M2 surrounding of quiet lush tropical forest.

At this resort you will enjoy many daytime and evening entertainment programs, three great pools, excellent Mexican cuisine at the Maria Bonita restaurant and kids will have fun at the Mini club.
Located a few minutes from beach ideal for water sports. Complimentary round trip transportation to the Beach Club every hour.
All-inclusive features are all meals & snacks until midnight, unlimited domestic beverage until 02.00 is, Mini Bar with re-stocking , Non-motorized water sports and daily entertainment programs. All taxes and gratuities are included.

Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.

The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.

***No Student groups under 21 years or Spring Breakers are accepted all year round***

The maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child or 2 Adults + 2 Children.

Discounts : Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking.

Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.

Any special request remains upon availability of the hotel.

***Guests have 90 min/day free WiFi-connection in the lobby.
***WiFi throughout the whole hotel, at cost

Riu Lupita Hotel in Playa del Carmen now offers new, sophisticated guestrooms and a fresh, contemporary design in most of the common areas. Surrounded by lush vegetation and a golf course, the Riu Lupita provides families and couples an affordable yet luxury vacation on Mexico's famous Riviera Maya coast. Recently renovated features include the main restaurant with updated dcor and furnishings, a new steakhouse restaurant in the Beach Club where transportation is provided, as well as renovated rooms with transformed dcor equipped with 42" flat-screen TVs.
All guests receive a welcome cocktail, free WiFi in lobby (90 mins per day), limitless national drinks, unlimited dining at speciality restaurants, a regularly stocked in-room mini-bar, a spa credit available on selected treatments, and more.

RIU Lupita - All Inclusive Rooms

Family Room
Air conditioning, Ceiling fan, mini-bar, satellite TV, telephone, In room safe(at additional cost), 110 V electricity, Bathroom with shower & bathtub, hairdryer, amenities, balcony or terrace. Bedding 2 dbl beds or 1 King size bed and bunk bed family room type .
Standard Room
Air conditioning, Ceiling fan, mini-bar, satellite TV, telephone, In room safe(at additional cost), 110 V electricity, Bathroom with shower & bathtub, hairdryer, amenities, balcony or terrace. Bedding 2 dbl beds or 1 King size bed and bunk bed (called family room) family room type must be on request subject to availability at clients arrival.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area

Dining

Tequila pool
Pool Bar
Maria Bonita
Mexican restaurant for dinner. Reservations required
Lounge bar
Lounge bar
Panchito
Pool snack Bar and restaurant.
Cozumel
Beach Club Snack Bar, located at the beach club.
Tequila beach
Beach bar
Adelita
Main restaurant serving international & local specialties buffet style with Terrace and non -smoking section. Theme dinners served twice a week. Previous reservation is required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.5
Value:
4.2

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Val13
Business
New Jersey
Aug 16, 2014

Not what i expected

We did not like our experience at this hotel, just by you having to take a bus to go to the beach is a minus, also the front lobby does not cater to your request, i called to ask for an iron and they told me come later to see if we have one, then i called to ask for someone to come help with our luggage the day we were checking out and they never came. The mini club pool for the kids is never clean, the pool is full of leaves and sand. The food menu at the buffett was the same everyday. Overall i don't think we would stay at another RIU

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don Cuco
Business
SFO
Jul 19, 2014

Good location. It can better

We stayed 3 nights. Cleanliness is average or below. Service average. You had to pay extra for WiFi Water in the pool was very cloudy. Great that it's all inclusive. That's about it. 3.0 out of 5.0

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Myrta Alone to Destress
Business
San Antonio, Texas
May 29, 2014

Awesome Alone Time

The hotel was lovely. The staff was great and friendly. The only complain would be that my bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hakun a Matata
Business
Around...
Dec 27, 2013

Perfect for the money

Good location. Relaxing place. Nice people. Great beach !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

- 5th Ave. - Playa del Carmen - X Caret - Night Show !!! - Tulum Ruins - Xel Ha - Acumal Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Colcoliendre
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 29, 2013

Excellent service

Never stayed in an All Inclusive hotel and the experience was great, food was good, drinks every time you need, service was excellent, always a smile, people is so kind. I think the only thing missing was a gym but you have plenty of activities all day to keep you busy. Definilty I will come back to paradise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

if you want to move from the airport to the hotel there are Busses (ADO) that take you to Playa del Carmen, just 2 blocks from the station there is a Hotel Shuttle that stop on the entrance to PlayaCar (hotel location) and is free, will save you some money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wloo
Business
Waterloo, IA, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Good inexpensive all inclusive.

The hotel is very nice and the staff is very friendly. I was impressed by their food at the buffet and at the specialty restaurant. Bus transportation every 1/2 hour to Play or the beach was also a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prolibris
Business
Bangor, Maine
Jan 19, 2012

A pleasant surprise

We've been to about 20 3+ star all-inclusives over the years, and this is one of the best. Good food, with few exceptions (there are always exceptions on a buffet). About 300 rooms, in one-, two-, and three-story units spread out on a nice secluded site. It's not on the beach, but a free bus runs every half hour from 7:30 am to 6:45 pm to another RIU waterfront property where all typical amenities are available. Free in-room minibar includes beers, sodas, and 4 liters of booze. They really do a great job with their resources!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Enjoy a stroll into Playa del Carmen, about a half-hour walk...the shuttle bus also makes a drop-off there, and it's just about a 20 minute walk from town to the Beach Club.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SKYRAT
Business
SAN FRANCISCO, CA
Jan 5, 2011

EXCELLENT SERVICE & QUALITY

The hotel is conveniently situated a short taxi ride from the famous 5th Avenue strip and beach. The food was very good and diverse. The bartenders made very good drinks and were friendly even when dealing with many guests at the same time. The entertainment was great for the kids and for adults as well. I do not recommend this hotel to adults who are looking to get drunk in a spring break type atmosphere. This hotel is family oriented and it was improper of some drunk young adults making extreme noise and damaging property. The beds were very stiff and hard to sleep in our opinion. However, the bunk beds for kids were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Dining at hotel is delicious and is included. No need to go to 5th Avenue and spend money. Eat at hotel and maybe have some appetizers at 5th if you wish.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Sep 24, 2010

Great for the price!

We were looking to stay in Play Del Carmen on the cheap and Riu Lupita was great! Friendly staff, great food, and clean rooms! The location is not directly on the beach on the beach, but is just a short five minute drive. They also have a shuttle available to take you to the beach club. The great thing about his hotel was that you still are able to use 3 other Riu hotels in the area! You can use their pools, beaches, and even buffets! It was great pool hopping and checking out the other resorts.The buffets were great with a large selection and something for everyone. They also had a pretty well stocked bar and a ton of fun cocktails. This place is an excellent hotel for the money, and if you're looking to stay on the cheap without sacrificing service, or quality I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 7, 2010

Just ok...

When we booked the RIU Lupita, we were expecting a 3 star hotel, which is what we got. Even with those expectations, we were disappointed by a number of things: - Distance to the beach: we were aware that the Lupita was off of the beach, but it was more inconvenient than we anticipated. Having to lug everything to the beach, including towels, was a pain. Because the last shuttle runs at 645, we had to take a taxi back to the hotel at night. - Food: the food was mediocre at best. There is way too much fried food and minimal healthy options. When we travel to a foreign country, we want to experience the local cuisine, the Lupita was not a good place to do that. We did find some fantastic authentic restaurants in Playa, such as El Fogon. While the sit down restaurant at the Lupita is better than the buffet, it is a set menu that did not change while we were there and it takes about 2 hours to get through dinner. - Activities: Our main reason for choosing an all-inclusive for this trip was b/c were active travelers and liked the variety of activities that were included. What they fail to let you know is that you can use the non-motorized watersports for only an hour per day. In addition, if you want to use the catamarans or windsurfing equipment you have to pay for a lesson on how to use them. - Noise: our room was in a noisy location. - Beach Club: Although in the hotel's description it says the beach club has towels, they do not. You have to lug them from the hotel. You also cannot get towels from the other RIU's. The food choice at the Club was sparse. The first day we arrived there was no food available by 3. They turn the drink machines off early as well. - Use of Other RIU's: We spent most of our time during the day at the RIU Playacar, which was nice. But when you arrive at the Lupita they give you a sheet telling you that you can use the other RIU's, but you cannot eat there. I had read many reviews that said you were able to eat there, but it specifically said, other than snacks, that you could not. - Customer Satisfaction: While the bar and wait staff at the Lupita were great, the management was lacking in customer service. On the few nights when 2 members of management were present at the Lupita, they spent more time standing around socializing w/ one another and other staff, than speaking w/ guests and making sure they were content. We were unhappy our first day there b/c after traveling all day, we went straight to the beach w/ the expectation that we could get food and towels at the Beach Club, and neither were available. When we returned to the Lupita we complained at the front desk and were told that the 'director' would come and speak w/ us at dinner. He did not show. We had one particularly negative encounter w/ the 'director' of the Lupita, regarding an issue that could have been easily resolved. A group of us were playing pool volleyball around 7pm, when someone came and took down the net. Everyone was disappointed so I went to find someone to talk to about getting the net put back up. A member of the entertainment staff took me to the director, who chose to speak through him, rather than directly to me, although he spoke English. His reasoning was that he was the director and made the decisions, and that they took it down b/c dinner was starting. In my opinion, a hotel is in the business of customer service, their job is to make guests happy, so they return. This was a simple matter that could have been easily resolved, but the 'director' clearly doesn't understand that his job is dependent on customer satisfaction. We enjoyed our trip Mexico, but were disappointed by these various things at the Lupita. We would not return to the Lupita.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top