RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

3 stars
Hotelero 1 Manzana 20 Desarrollo Playa Car, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
22 reviews
Excellent service

Never stayed in an All Inclusive hotel and the experience was great, food was good, drinks every... See full review

  • Colcoliendre
  • Jul 29, 2013
Awesome Alone Time

The hotel was lovely. The staff was great and friendly. The only complain would be that my bed was... See full review

  • Myrta Alone to Destress
  • May 29, 2014
All-inclusive family-friendly surrounded by Tropical Gardens

Travelers in Riviera Maya find comfortable base at RIU Lupita - All Inclusive, a contemporary hotel strategically located near the beach and cultural, historical and shopping destinations. This modern property features two freshwater pools and solarium terrace. After touring San Juan del Cabo, tourists unwind at in-house Renova Spa wellness center. Visitors also enjoy sports like basketball, volleyball and table tennis on site.

Visitors at RIU Lupita savor filling themed buffets at Adelita restaurant and sumptuous Mexican dishes at Maria Bonita on site. Guests can also have light meals at Panchito snack bar or dine at grill and steakhouse Cozumel by the beach. 

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Renova Spa wellness center
  • Sports, activities and water recreation (at cost)
  • Freshwater pools
RIU Lupita - All Inclusive Rooms

Rooms at RIU Lupita - All Inclusive are tastefully decorated in light tones and come with a balcony or terrace. All units are equipped with modern amenities like private bathroom, satellite flat-screen TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, safe deposit box, hairdryer, telephone and Wi-Fi access (fees apply). 

Things To Do
  • Riviera Art Gallery (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (2.0 mi/3.2 km)
  • The Golf Club at Playacar (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Tee'd Off Tee Times (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Xplor Park (3.0 mi/4.8 km)
  • Xcaret Eco Theme Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Playa Paintball Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamita's Beach Club (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Maroma Beach (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • Museo CEDAM (12.6 mi/20.3 km)

RIU Lupita - All Inclusive Rooms

Family Room
Air conditioning, Ceiling fan, mini-bar, satellite TV, telephone, In room safe(at additional cost), 110 V electricity, Bathroom with shower & bathtub, hairdryer, amenities, balcony or terrace. Bedding 2 dbl beds or 1 King size bed and bunk bed family room type .
Standard Room
Air conditioning, Ceiling fan, mini-bar, satellite TV, telephone, In room safe(at additional cost), 110 V electricity, Bathroom with shower & bathtub, hairdryer, amenities, balcony or terrace. Bedding 2 dbl beds or 1 King size bed and bunk bed (called family room) family room type must be on request subject to availability at clients arrival.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Tequila pool
Pool Bar
Maria Bonita
Mexican restaurant for dinner. Reservations required
Lounge bar
Lounge bar
Panchito
Pool snack Bar and restaurant.
Cozumel
Beach Club Snack Bar, located at the beach club.
Tequila beach
Beach bar
Adelita
Main restaurant serving international & local specialties buffet style with Terrace and non -smoking section. Theme dinners served twice a week. Previous reservation is required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.5
Value:
4.2

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hinky
Business
oklahoma
Aug 5, 2010

Awesome resort! definately would go back

Great Value!! Me and my husband stayed at the riu lupita 7/29-8/04 and let me just say we had an excellent time!! we are 21 and 23 years old but there were kids, families, and singles, great for anyone! Our second trip to mexico and both times exceptional. First time was at the catalonia riviera maya and we really didnt think this hotel was going to compare but it was just as great! This hotel is not on a beach but only 10 minutes away and the free shuttle comes every 30 minutes. We enjoyed the shuttle ride every single time! One of the other hotels they give you access to the yucatan was great as well! we spent alot of time there and on the beach. food was good! i dont know if we just had a bad ac unit but the room was really hot, we had to move our bed completely infront of the ac to even feel the air, but i slept fine after i did that =] if your into adventure and want to get sweaty and work a little, the coba extreme excursion is alot of fun!! they take you to a real mayan village, take you through the jungle where we saw lots of spider monkeys, you repel into a cenote, kayaked, bike ride (bring 30 pesos), you do a 700 foot zipline, and climb a huge mayan ruin (like 200 feet up)! the most workout ive had in awhile but it was amazing! our friends booked coba through the hotel and spent 120$ each, and me and my husband went to 5th avenue and spent 130$ for both of us! so if u plan on doin ANY excursions get them through 5th ave. much cheaper! anyways our stay was amazing we would definately visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

if you are gona do excursions get them in 5th ave and when shopping, negotiate everything, this lady tried 2 sell my fake gucci glasses for 60$ i got them for 10$ =]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Colcoliendre
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 29, 2013

Excellent service

Never stayed in an All Inclusive hotel and the experience was great, food was good, drinks every time you need, service was excellent, always a smile, people is so kind. I think the only thing missing was a gym but you have plenty of activities all day to keep you busy. Definilty I will come back to paradise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

if you want to move from the airport to the hotel there are Busses (ADO) that take you to Playa del Carmen, just 2 blocks from the station there is a Hotel Shuttle that stop on the entrance to PlayaCar (hotel location) and is free, will save you some money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milton
Dec 8, 2008

excellent hotel for the price

the hotel was clean, staff was excellent, it is a small hotel, the dining for all meals was excellent the dining room staff worked very hard. only thing that was between meals they had a snack bar open, will a very limited menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Aug 10, 2007

GOOD LOCATION CLOSE ENOUGH TO EVERYTHING

RIU LUPITA IS IN A GOOD LOCATION TO SHOPPING AND THEY MAKE IT VERY EASY TO GET TO THE BEACH AND OTHER AREAS IN THE SURROUNDING AREA. IT IS LESS EXPENSIVE THAN THE OTHER RIU HOTELS BUT IF YOU TAKE ADVANTAGE AND VISIT THE OTHER HOTELS ITW WELL WORTH THE SMALL WALK OR FREE TROLLEY RIDE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

SHOPPING AND OTHER DINING 5 DOLLAR CAB RIDE OF FREE TROLLEY AWAY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 4, 2008

Feels like a Neighborhood

We stayed 4 nights here and then 4 nights at an entirely different hotel in Cancun. We would definitely go back to Riu Lupita. It had a very friendly ambiance as one walks outside to all the amenities, and all the dining facilities are outside too. It is modest and not very fancy, but this was fine with us. I was impressed with the food selection and the entertainment every night was great. A shuttle takes guests to the downtown area or the beach or near one of their other hotels every half hour. This actually became fun to explore other areas. One felt a part of a private community and we got to know quite a few of the other guests who tended to be from all over the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the shuttle to the downtown drop off and then walk into 5th Avenue. Keep going as the further North one walks, the nicer it becomes with lovely shops, bars, and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prolibris
Business
Bangor, Maine
Jan 19, 2012

A pleasant surprise

We've been to about 20 3+ star all-inclusives over the years, and this is one of the best. Good food, with few exceptions (there are always exceptions on a buffet). About 300 rooms, in one-, two-, and three-story units spread out on a nice secluded site. It's not on the beach, but a free bus runs every half hour from 7:30 am to 6:45 pm to another RIU waterfront property where all typical amenities are available. Free in-room minibar includes beers, sodas, and 4 liters of booze. They really do a great job with their resources!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Enjoy a stroll into Playa del Carmen, about a half-hour walk...the shuttle bus also makes a drop-off there, and it's just about a 20 minute walk from town to the Beach Club.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hakun a Matata
Business
Around...
Dec 27, 2013

Perfect for the money

Good location. Relaxing place. Nice people. Great beach !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

- 5th Ave. - Playa del Carmen - X Caret - Night Show !!! - Tulum Ruins - Xel Ha - Acumal Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Myrta Alone to Destress
Business
San Antonio, Texas
May 29, 2014

Awesome Alone Time

The hotel was lovely. The staff was great and friendly. The only complain would be that my bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
spain
May 4, 2009

fantastic

we enjoyed our trip in all ways,it was fantastic and hope to go once again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The bus shuttle could be more at night since the shuttle is only upto 17.45which is bad since you have to take a cap to reach hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Lupita - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 14, 2009

Great Place!

Our stay was great. The location was perfect a little slice of the jungle and about a 5 minute complimentary shuttle to the beach. I had heard mixed reviews about this hotel, but we took the chance. WOW- Talk about customer service. It has a largely European clientele, but don't worry all entertainment was available in Spanish, French, and English. Most servers offered the same options for language. What a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

We didn't book our excursion through the hotel because we heard of the "great" savings you could get in town on your own. I wouldn't recommend taking the chance, the prices were only slightly cheaper elsewhere and you don't have the security that the resort offers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top