Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

3 stars
5A Avenida 314 Entre Calle 24 Y 26, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
15 reviews
Great time at the Mariposa

we spent 2 night of our Honeymoon at the Mariposa, they were so kind they have prepared special... See full review

  • Fufe247
  • Feb 3, 2014
kind of expensive but lovely

breakfast is included which was nice. otherwise, they don't offer you a lot in terms of amenities.... See full review

  • junej
  • Apr 14, 2014
POSADA MARIPOSA. The hotel is divided into three levels with 23 comfortable rooms. Nature and rustic style and young staff; near to different attractions for enjoying day and night moments, restaurants, bars and shops. Hotel is located in the heart of Playa del Carmen on 5th avenue and 24th Street, Hotel offers a Beach club 4 blocks away. Each room is decorated with authentic Mexican Style, made with the traditional Mexican textile mill and also solid cedar furniture. They are well equipped with comfortable mattress, tv with cable, AC, Ceiling fan, mini fridge, hair dryer, safe box and bathroom amenities. Located in the heart of the hotel, is a uniquely decorated garden with exotic tropical touch that gives a harmonious essence to the lobby.

Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel Rooms

Grand Deluxe Master Suite
Pending

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Brailled elevators

Hotel Map

20.632 -87.0688
Area served
Playa del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (60 km North)
Area description
5th Avenue between 24th and 26th street, we offer private transfer service extra fee sending your complete flight details.

Dining

Restaurant
Ambasciata dItalia is located at Hacienda Mariposa hotel on same street face 5th Ave. Italian cousine open from 6am to 10:30 pm (40 people maximum).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Tpops
New York, NY
Mar 22, 2011

Great Boutique Hotel

We had a great stay at Posada Mariposa. It's no frills, but it's so perfectly located that you won't spend much time in the room anyway. It's clean, simple, and the staff was lovely. It's about 5 minutes from the beach and steps away from great foods/ bars. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you go to Tulum and have to choose between either a cenote or going snorkeling, go with the cenote. We snorkeled and didn't see much of anything. Wish we had gone with cenote.

Review of Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Fufe247
London, UK
Feb 3, 2014

Great time at the Mariposa

we spent 2 night of our Honeymoon at the Mariposa, they were so kind they have prepared special flower arrangements for us. the atmosphere is really nice both in the rooms and outside in their beautiful courtyard. the reception staff is multilingual and extremely polite and the location is very convenient right on the quinta avenida.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Dave'n'Maya
Montreal, Canada
Dec 31, 2010

Hemingway-esque Hacienda

A fantastic place to hang your hat when vacationing in Playa. It is on the north end of La Quinta, far enough removed from the hustle and bustle of the clubs to ensure a good night's sleep. Excellent pizza slices right across the street and a delicious continental breakfast each morning at La Vagabounda. Rooms have all the amenities - TV, AC, fridge, safe - and great little lounge areas for cocktails. Best of all, the Mariposa is only two blocks from Mamita's Beach. Great value, great staff and service. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head a bit further north on La Quinta (around 28th and 30th St) and you will find great Italian, a delicious fresh seafood joint, Babe's Noodle Bar for Thai dishes, and 1847 for traditional Mexican (very affordable).

Review of Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Tpops
New York, NY
Mar 22, 2011

Great Boutique Hotel

We had a great stay at Posada Mariposa. It's no frills, but it's so perfectly located that you won't spend much time in the room anyway. It's clean, simple, and the staff was lovely. It's about 5 minutes from the beach and steps away from great foods/ bars. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you go to Tulum and have to choose between either a cenote or going snorkeling, go with the cenote. We snorkeled and didn't see much of anything. Wish we had gone with cenote.

Review of Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Detroit MI
Sep 24, 2010

Nice and Chill

I went there for 22 days. It was a very nice place. I would stay there again. The staff was nice and it was right on 5th avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Negro
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 31, 2010

My First Trip to Playa del Carmen

good vacation experience, the hotel was right to everywhere; we liked it a lot; the bathroom probably was the only thing we did not like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

beach, restaurants, nightclubs

Review of Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Cadre
Tucson, az
Mar 26, 2014

Love this hotel

We stay here every year. The staff is great and the hotel is in the perfect spot. New rooms upstairs are super nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
AZ, USA
May 14, 2011

A Perfect Choice

Great Choice, just 5 minute walk to the beach and close to shopping an dgreat restaurants. The staff was wonderful - friendly and very helpful. We traveled with a 2 year old and the hotel was quiet and very accomodating. We will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
junej
NYC
Apr 14, 2014

kind of expensive but lovely

breakfast is included which was nice. otherwise, they don't offer you a lot in terms of amenities. the local is right on 5th ave, so it's not always quiet. some of the rooms are definitely better than others. I started in a room with only one small window and ended up paying extra to move.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
light08
toronto
Dec 20, 2010

comfortable

comfortable space

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Stevearino
Columbus, Oh
Jan 11, 2011

Cute Hotel!!!

The hotel is on the main strip in Playa Del Carmen but its lobby and rooms are somewhat secluded and tucked away. The rooms were not fancy but clean. Great open-air lobby and stair area with lots of vegetation. It's about 2 blocks from the beach and shopping and dining are just steps out the door. If you're looking for something cute and cheap, this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top