$415 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

4 stars
Bahia Del Espiritu Santo Esq. Abraira de Arriba, Fracc. Playacar Km. 62.5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
75 reviews
Just could NOT have been better

We had the best stay! There is no possible way we could even imagine better service at the Playacar... See full review

  • Just wanted a room
  • Jun 26, 2014
Playacar Palace

Awesome! Loved this place...everyone is so nice and accomodating! See full review

  • Daniella B.
  • Nov 8, 2013
This intimate, family and beachfront resort,located in Playacar Hotel Zone offers beautifully appointed rooms, all with double Jacuzzis, balcony and 24 hour room service. Excellent dining services, a beautiful pool with a swim up bar, and exquisite bars and lounges with views to the stunning Caribbean Sea and Cozumel Island. Take the opportunity to experience a soothing escape at our state-of-the-art Spa facility,. Selected tours, daily and nightly entertainment included. Honeymoon specials and golf package available.

The Hotel offers excellent service and the best personal attention:
-Luxurious accommodations
-Fine dining (3 restaurants)
-Top shelf drinks (domestic & imported)
-24 hr. room service
-Wireless Internet
-Kiddie pool and Kids Club (ages 4-12)
-Solarium
-Spa facilities, Fitness Center, Beauty salon and Spa boutique
-Tennis court nearby
-Table games
-Daily activities
-Concierge, Bell staff service
-Wedding services
Gift shop, Travel Agency, Car rental, Doctors on call 24 hrs.
-Dry cleaning & laundry service
-Cribs, rollaways & wheelchairs on request
-Currency exchange, ATM machine
-Golf package

Enjoy exchange privileges at selected Palace Resorts.(Some restrictions apply.)
br /> Palace Passport
Book a minimum three-night stay in any Palace resort in Cancun or Riviera Maya for travel now through December 23, 2013, and receive a Palace Passport (FREE Resort Credit) that includes:
-25% discount on green fees (at regular price; per adult) at Moon Spa & Golf Club, (per adult)
-US$15 toward a car rental through an on-site rental agency (per room/per stay; minimum 2 day rental)
-25% discount towards select spa treatments (per day/per adult)
-Unlimited select tours per person)
Buy one get on free Swim with the Dolphins and ATV Tour. Certain restrictions apply.

Honeymoon package:
-Fruit basket
-One bottle of sparkling wine
-One romantic candlelightd inner
-Two T-shirts
-Use of services provided by the honeymoon desk.
-Late check-out (until 6 PM) may be requested and is subject to availability.

All students must be 18 years of age and older. - Students under 18 years of age must travel and room with a parent/legal guardian. (No exceptions) - 1 Chaperone (over 25 yrs old) for every 20 students. - Proof of age required. All students will be required to provide their valid passports upon check-in. - Alcohol will be served to students over 18 years of age and older only. - Legal drinking age in Mexico is 18. We might ask for an I.D. at any time. Underage drinking and providing alcohol to minors is punished by law. - Introducing alcohol to the premises or taking it out from them is not allowed. - Tape recorders, radios and any sound devices may not be used in the rooms, building or at the pool area; you will only be allowed to use them with headphones. Remember there are other guests in the property who will resent noises and disturbances. - You will be financially and legally responsible for all damages and disruptions caused in the property. - A credit card guarantee is required upon check in to charge in the event of damage. - The hotel can and will suspend any or all of its services to guests who, in the hotel's opinion, display or enact improper conduct offensive and/or unacceptable and/or dangerous to others and/or themselves.

Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Deluxe Ocean View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
-Chi Bath Amenities
-Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4 guests, including children & infants
-525 Sq. Ft
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Some rooms have a Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
-Chi Bath Amenities
-Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4 guests, including children & infants
-525 Sq.Ft
Honeymoon Suite
Each elegantly appointed suite features:
1 King bed
Double Jacuzzi
In Room Wine and Fruits
Private Bath w/ shower only
Seating Area & Balcony
Liquor dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka - Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
Flat Screen LCD TV w/ Satellite
Purified water
Chi Bath Amenities
Bathrobes & Slippers
Digital safe (laptop size)
Coffee Maker
Direct Dial telephone, Alarm clock, Hair Dryer, Iron / ironing board
Wireless Internet
24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
Ocean Front View
Max Occupancy: 2 adults
633 Sq. Ft.
Deluxe - Resort View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-In Room Wine and Fruits
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4guests, including children ages 4-17. A maximum of 1 infant (ages 0-3) will be allowed to stay in the same room with 4guests
-525 Sq.Ft
Concierge Level
Ocean view rooms located on top 3 floors, room features:
-King bed
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains premium, upgraded brands of liquor -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/Satellite
-Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers
-Aromatherapy & Pillows menu
-2- 25 Minute Massage at the Beach/Spa/Treatment rooms
-Digital safe laptop size
-Espresso/American Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Clock/Radio/IPOD dock, Professional Hair Dryer & Wireless Internet
-24-Hr room service with select menu from restaurant menus to create a "Special Menu" & Nightly Petit Fours-Turndown Service
-Exclusive Concierge Phone Service, Private check-in & out/Late check-out & Early check-in (subject to availability) -Max Occ. 2guests
-525 Sq Ft

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.613 -87.0818
Area served
Playa del Carmen, MX
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - CUN
Area description
With the best location in the Playacar development, just a few steps from the quaint town of Playa del Carmen, and next to the island of Cozumel's connect ferry-boarding dock.

Dining

Cielo Bar
Lobby bar from 10:00 am - 1:00 am
Luna Lounge
Lounge bar with Thai hors d'oeuvres from 6:00 pm - 2:00 am
Cafe del Mar
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: International/Mexican (Dinner)
Breakfast Int'l buffet: from 6:30 am - 11:00 am
Lunch Int'l buffet: from 12:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Dinner buffet: from 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
Terrazza
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: Italian a la carte
Dinner: from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code: Casual elegance. Long pants, collared shirts & shoes required.
Aquabar
Pool & snack bar from 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Moonlight bar service from 6:00 pm - 11 pm
Mo Mo No Ha Na
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: Asian, Oriental
Dinner: from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code: Casual elegance. Long pants, collared shirts & shoes required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 75
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deeekmon
Hartford, WI
Apr 28, 2014

The staff makes this place!

THANK YOU to the staff at the Playacar Palace for a wonderful stay! You feel like you are part of a family at this hotel. We travel to Riviera Maya at least once a year and stay at all of the top rated hotels. This hotel did not disappoint. The food was outstanding. We were only there for 5 days and had no problems getting into any of the specialty restaurants. The wait staff was outstanding. The food presentation was excellent. I had a steak one night with a Mexican pepper sauce that was to die for. I literally cut it with my fork. Grilled octopus? They got it. Sushi? The best. Guacamole? They never ran out. There is a wood burning pizza oven next to the pool bar. I'm not one for eating pizza in Mexico but the smell was just too tempting. So we went for the Mexican pizza. YUM. Outstanding flavor. The beach was always clean and we never had a problem getting a chair. Unlike many of the other resorts where you need to "reserve" a chair at 5 in the morning, we didn't run into any of that here. There are also plentiful umbrellas for you shade lovers. The booze was top shelf. The kid drinks were creative and served with a flourish to make the kids feel special. There was always someone on the beach asking if you needed anything. Our room was good with a thermostat that actually worked and kept the room nice and cool. The room fridge was always stocked. I mentioned the staff earlier - and they are really worth calling out. They make this place. At the risk of missing some outstanding service - I'll name a few that we all remember: Francisco, Porfirio, Artemio, Mariam, Aline - and our all time favorite Juan. Juan is the Sushi chef. We called him "Juan the sushi mon". As my 16 year old daughter stated "he is ADORABLE". He is maybe 18 years old, incredibly shy, cute, and rolls the best sushi roll. Juan rocks. And my two girls both had major crushes on him. Overall, we would come back here again. There are two things that this hotel doesn't have: an ornate lobby and ornate grounds. The lobby is right off of the parking lot and nothing special. And if the ornate sculptured landscapes are a must, this hotel isn't for you. It is literally a hotel with a pool in front of it and a beach. No ornate gardens to walk amongst. If either of these are important to you - maybe pass on this place. However, the staff, food, staff, cleanliness, staff, proximity to town, staff, heated pool, staff, and oh, did I mention the staff - they were all excellent! Looking forward to another visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Find the sushi bar at the beginning of your trip and frequent it often.

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniella B.
Chicago
Nov 8, 2013

Playacar Palace

Awesome! Loved this place...everyone is so nice and accomodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zedthecat
Toronto Canada
Mar 14, 2013

Pretty good but a couple issues

We stayed at the Palace March 8-12th. Overall wasn't bad but didn't have that "didn't want to leave" feeling. The food was pretty good but not spectacular. The staff for the most part were very good, always smiling and helpful. The room was average but still nice. Where we got turned around was a few things. When we got there we didn't get the room we requested but they still gave us an upgrade and it was a busy week so we can't complain too much. The Japanese hibachi was a bust due to the fact that they told us the wrong time for the reservation and when we arrived they told us we could no longer participate (even though there were empty chairs!) not very impressed at all. The other issue we had was that we were thinking of staying an extra night at the beginning of our stay so I went to the front desk and inquired about the cost. They told me they couldn't tell me then and would call our room and leave a message. The next day there was no call so I returned again and asked and they told me the same thing so we waited AGAIN. The next day guess what? Yes no call, so I went to the desk and asked the manager what the deal was and I was told there was no availability. I then asked what the cost would be if a room did become available and he quoted me a price per night that was $300 per night higher than what we paid! I asked if I could go online and look for a better price and he told me that there would be no availability due to the fact they are at full capacity. At this point I gave up due to the fact they didn't want any more business. Curiously i did go online and check and there were rooms available at a much lower cost. The whole thing left me with little desire to stay another night Last thing but not a big deal. Our kids are 10&12 and there were not that many other kids around. Not a big deal for a few days but might be an issue if staying longer. Overall we would not go back. Not a bad place but it is not the top end service they like to sell themselves as having.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T Town traveler
Tulsa, OK
Jul 7, 2012

Playacar Palace

Great Hotel, very friendly staff, if they do not have something you want or need just ask, they will get it. 24HR room service was nice and lots of activities at the resort each night. Hotel is also right next to town and ferry to Cozumel. Everything is within walking distance. Great restaurants on site and also many great restaurants within 10-15 min walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want a great off site Steak Restaurant, I recommend Sur, on Ave de Sinco, 10 min walk.

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RMCP
Houston, Texas
May 19, 2012

Excellent Second Stay

We were here a yr ago, it is still great. Food, drink, staff and room are excellent. This is a place for the traveller who enjoys the good things in life, not stuffy over the top, just excellent quality. Notice I said traveller not the tourist, don't go expecting "cruise like" activites or crowds, go elsewhere. Stay here for the quality, laidback good times. I'm sure further into the summer it gets a little more crazy, but making new friends while hanging out at the pool and bar, this is the place. Service staff very friendly remembering us from last year. We took a few excursions, which were very good if you want to take the time. Masssage excellent, gym hrs should be extended 6 to early to close. Our sons ages 21 & 24 love this place so much we came back two yrs in a row.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Going into town is close and easy, still use caution and don't be crazy.

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
jacksonville, fl
Jul 27, 2011

Do I have to leave?

The Hotel was more than you could ask for, the service was first rate and the people were friendly. The beach was beautiful and the weather was great. I would definitely recommend this resort to my friends and family. The only issue I had was during my check out they were trying to charge me for a tour that I had signed up for but didn't go on, it was cancel at the service desk but not take off my bill. I could of paid for it ahead of time in cash and avoided all the hassle I'm going through now but they wanted you to charge everything to your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Book your tours ahead of time and use your points.

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
jacksonville, fl
Jul 27, 2011

Do I have to leave?

The Hotel was more than you could ask for, the service was first rate and the people were friendly. The beach was beautiful and the weather was great. I would definitely recommend this resort to my friends and family. The only issue I had was during my check out they were trying to charge me for a tour that I had signed up for but didn't go on, it was cancel at the service desk but not take off my bill. I could of paid for it ahead of time in cash and avoided all the hassle I'm going through now but they wanted you to charge everything to your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Book your tours ahead of time and use your points.

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thackero
Houston TX
Jun 20, 2011

Great Family Vacation

Smaller and older than other Palace facilities however very clean and friendly staff. Close to town for shopping .Only 3 restaurants however food 1st class. Beach great but no waves for boarding. Relaxed atmosphere. We would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thackero
Houston TX
Jun 20, 2011

Great Family Vacation

Smaller and older than other Palace facilities however very clean and friendly staff. Close to town for shopping .Only 3 restaurants however food 1st class. Beach great but no waves for boarding. Relaxed atmosphere. We would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Astro Boy
Dallas, TX
May 7, 2011

Perfect Vacation!

Playacar Palace was above and beyond what we were expecting in a vacation! The hotel is about a hour drive from the Cancun Airport, which is a little inconvenient, but also gets you away from the more hectic Cancun. Playacar has a more secluded and laid back feel to it. First of all, the location is really top notch. This hotel is a little older (but well maintained) but as a result has laid claim to prime real estate. The beach is fantastic - white powder sand, warm turquoise ocean to swim in - so much like a postcard its hard to believe that its real! Right next door is the lively "downtown" of Playa del Carmen, great for shopping and night clubs if thats your thing. A number of guests seemed to spend a lot of nights at Senor Frogs, which is just adjacent to the hotel. Also, the ferry dock to Cozumel island is right there too, offering an easy way to get a change of scenery (there is a Palace resort on Cozumel, so you can get your all inclusive benefits there as well!) The all-inclusive food and drinks were great. We ate twice at Terraza (the italian restaraunt) and twice at the Asian one, and once at the Mexican Buffet. Sushi was pretty good at the Asian restaurant, though the entrees were a little hit and miss. Italian was consistently delicious, and the buffet was really good too! The drinks were surprisingly good. I had been expecting things to be a little watered down, but they seemed full strength to me - and tasty to boot! (we tried Pina Coladas, Margaritas, Mai Tais, Miami Vice, all great). My only complaint is I would have prefered Corona rather than Dos Equis for the beer. The service was really exceptional. From the moment we arrived to when we left, the staff worked really hard to make sure we had everything we needed. While gratuities are included, it seems a few small bills for great service are appreciated - and these folks really earn it. Having the $1500 resort credit offer available for tours was what led us to choose Palace in the first place. We did the Chichen Itza, Tulum, and Isla Mujeres tours. The mayan ruins were incredible, and we had top notch guides each time (Arnando was probably the best guide we've had anywhere!). The drawback is a mandatory stop at a Mayan gift shop for each of the cultural trips. Some of the stuff they sell is pretty neat (I like the obsidian carvings) but the prices are a little high. If there's nothing you want to buy, you end up standing around a while. Isla Mujeres is good if you want to snorkel (I loved it, my son and wife were not as keen on it) or swim with the dolphins / manatees / sharks / sea lions. Not really my thing. All of these things cost extra. If none of these things appeals to you, stay at the hotel. The food and drinks are way better, the beach is nicer, and the shopping in Playa del Carmen is better too. Room was big, my 7 year old was the only one to use the jacuzzi tub (bubble bath) but it looked those traveling without kids could enjoy a nice romantic bath. Beds were comfy - perhaps a bit on the firm side for most, but just right for me. Plenty of bottled water, which was always restocked. Also, do the room service for breakfast on tour days. The bus leaves early, and you'll be glad you got something quick to eat. I never used the pool, the ocean was so warm and nice to swim in. My 7 year old loved the waves, and played in water and on the beach for 5 hours straight. There is a sandbar about 40 feet offshore, so the depth is always less than 4 feet for a good ways out. My son could touch bottom as far out as the sandbar and beyond, so wading is pretty safe for kids (of course, you still need to keep a close eye! but you don't have to be holding on to them the whole time either). Overall, one of the best vacations we've taken! It was a our first real "beach" vacation, now we know what we were missing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a "general store" about 3 blocks away on the main street (forget the name) in town. Great selection of souveniers, and better prices on sunblock and beach essentials than the hotel gift shop.

Back to menu Return to top