$324 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 14, 2014

Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

4 stars
Bahia Del Espiritu Santo Esq. Abraira de Arriba, Fracc. Playacar Km. 62.5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
43 reviews
Playacar Palace

Awesome! Loved this place...everyone is so nice and accomodating! See full review

  • Daniella B.
  • Nov 8, 2013
Great experience but

Hotel location was perfect with great sea view if you get a room on the third or fourth floor.... See full review

  • Salem the Great
  • Feb 27, 2014
This intimate, family and beachfront resort,located in Playacar Hotel Zone offers beautifully appointed rooms, all with double Jacuzzis, balcony and 24 hour room service. Excellent dining services, a beautiful pool with a swim up bar, and exquisite bars and lounges with views to the stunning Caribbean Sea and Cozumel Island. Take the opportunity to experience a soothing escape at our state-of-the-art Spa facility,. Selected tours, daily and nightly entertainment included. Honeymoon specials and golf package available.

The Hotel offers excellent service and the best personal attention:
-Luxurious accommodations
-Fine dining (3 restaurants)
-Top shelf drinks (domestic & imported)
-24 hr. room service
-Wireless Internet
-Kiddie pool and Kids Club (ages 4-12)
-Solarium
-Spa facilities, Fitness Center, Beauty salon and Spa boutique
-Tennis court nearby
-Table games
-Daily activities
-Concierge, Bell staff service
-Wedding services
Gift shop, Travel Agency, Car rental, Doctors on call 24 hrs.
-Dry cleaning & laundry service
-Cribs, rollaways & wheelchairs on request
-Currency exchange, ATM machine
-Golf package

Enjoy exchange privileges at selected Palace Resorts.(Some restrictions apply.)
br /> Palace Passport
Book a minimum three-night stay in any Palace resort in Cancun or Riviera Maya for travel now through December 23, 2013, and receive a Palace Passport (FREE Resort Credit) that includes:
-25% discount on green fees (at regular price; per adult) at Moon Spa & Golf Club, (per adult)
-US$15 toward a car rental through an on-site rental agency (per room/per stay; minimum 2 day rental)
-25% discount towards select spa treatments (per day/per adult)
-Unlimited select tours per person)
Buy one get on free Swim with the Dolphins and ATV Tour. Certain restrictions apply.

Honeymoon package:
-Fruit basket
-One bottle of sparkling wine
-One romantic candlelightd inner
-Two T-shirts
-Use of services provided by the honeymoon desk.
-Late check-out (until 6 PM) may be requested and is subject to availability.

All students must be 18 years of age and older. - Students under 18 years of age must travel and room with a parent/legal guardian. (No exceptions) - 1 Chaperone (over 25 yrs old) for every 20 students. - Proof of age required. All students will be required to provide their valid passports upon check-in. - Alcohol will be served to students over 18 years of age and older only. - Legal drinking age in Mexico is 18. We might ask for an I.D. at any time. Underage drinking and providing alcohol to minors is punished by law. - Introducing alcohol to the premises or taking it out from them is not allowed. - Tape recorders, radios and any sound devices may not be used in the rooms, building or at the pool area; you will only be allowed to use them with headphones. Remember there are other guests in the property who will resent noises and disturbances. - You will be financially and legally responsible for all damages and disruptions caused in the property. - A credit card guarantee is required upon check in to charge in the event of damage. - The hotel can and will suspend any or all of its services to guests who, in the hotel's opinion, display or enact improper conduct offensive and/or unacceptable and/or dangerous to others and/or themselves.

Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Deluxe Ocean View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
-Chi Bath Amenities
-Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4 guests, including children & infants
-525 Sq. Ft
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Some rooms have a Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
-Chi Bath Amenities
-Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4 guests, including children & infants
-525 Sq.Ft
Honeymoon Suite
Each elegantly appointed suite features:
1 King bed
Double Jacuzzi
In Room Wine and Fruits
Private Bath w/ shower only
Seating Area & Balcony
Liquor dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka - Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
Flat Screen LCD TV w/ Satellite
Purified water
Chi Bath Amenities
Bathrobes & Slippers
Digital safe (laptop size)
Coffee Maker
Direct Dial telephone, Alarm clock, Hair Dryer, Iron / ironing board
Wireless Internet
24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
Ocean Front View
Max Occupancy: 2 adults
633 Sq. Ft.
Deluxe - Resort View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-In Room Wine and Fruits
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4guests, including children ages 4-17. A maximum of 1 infant (ages 0-3) will be allowed to stay in the same room with 4guests
-525 Sq.Ft
Concierge Level
Ocean view rooms located on top 3 floors, room features:
-King bed
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains premium, upgraded brands of liquor -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/Satellite
-Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers
-Aromatherapy & Pillows menu
-2- 25 Minute Massage at the Beach/Spa/Treatment rooms
-Digital safe laptop size
-Espresso/American Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Clock/Radio/IPOD dock, Professional Hair Dryer & Wireless Internet
-24-Hr room service with select menu from restaurant menus to create a "Special Menu" & Nightly Petit Fours-Turndown Service
-Exclusive Concierge Phone Service, Private check-in & out/Late check-out & Early check-in (subject to availability) -Max Occ. 2guests
-525 Sq Ft

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.613 -87.0818
Area served
Playa del Carmen, MX
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - CUN
Area description
With the best location in the Playacar development, just a few steps from the quaint town of Playa del Carmen, and next to the island of Cozumel's connect ferry-boarding dock.

Dining

Cielo Bar
Lobby bar from 10:00 am - 1:00 am
Luna Lounge
Lounge bar with Thai hors d'oeuvres from 6:00 pm - 2:00 am
Cafe del Mar
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: International/Mexican (Dinner)
Breakfast Int'l buffet: from 6:30 am - 11:00 am
Lunch Int'l buffet: from 12:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Dinner buffet: from 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
Terrazza
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: Italian a la carte
Dinner: from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code: Casual elegance. Long pants, collared shirts & shoes required.
Aquabar
Pool & snack bar from 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Moonlight bar service from 6:00 pm - 11 pm
Mo Mo No Ha Na
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: Asian, Oriental
Dinner: from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code: Casual elegance. Long pants, collared shirts & shoes required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4.3 / 5
43 out of 43
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
Nicster
San Diego, CA
Jun 29, 2010

A little disappointed

Inconsistent staff not very helpful answering questions about attraction locations, cab fare prices, pool closing times or dress code at the resort restaurants. Also received mixed info on how the $1500 credit works, we were tricked into a timeshare sales pitch when we tried to inquire. When we figured out what was happening we declined to book any activities through concierge. They are sales people who went so far as to call and harass us in our room about not participating in the presentation. The food is horrible in every restaurant. The only decent meal we had at the resort was room service. All the food seems old and tastes awful. On day 4 of our 7 days there we couldn't do it anymore and ventured off the resort for our meals. Defiantly a bummer since we booked the All-Inclusive package but it wasn't worth eating disgusting food. The location is great, the beach is stunning and rooms were beautiful. However, when I go back to Playa I will not stay at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Off the resort, up 5th Ave there is a restaurant called La Cuevo Del Chengo. Maybe the best meal I have had in my life. Everything is homemade and tastes delicious!

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
NorthShore Sun Seekers
Northbrook, IL
Dec 30, 2009

Great Location - Poor customer service

Just returned from Playacar Palace over Xmas. Location is perfect; right at end of 5th Avenue shopping, next to ferry to Cozumel and close by to theme parks Xcaret and Xplor. Staff was generally pleasant and rooms were clean. There's no beach here and pool is small and building blocks sun after 3pm. You'll need to cab to watersports. [...] My wife dropped in a got them to take her for a pedicure which we were told could be applied against a $50 spa credit we each had. At checkout they said that pedicaure is not a spa service and we would have to pay. Since we were told we could use the credit against the pedicure by two spa desk employees we refused to pay. They responded by harassing us for an hour and refusing to let us take a taxi to catch our plane. Let's just say customer service here is not optimal. From talking to many others, this is not an isolated instance, rather, a coordinated effort of bait and switch of using the spa promotion to lure people in and then continually mislead and change their stories. If you must stay here due to the location then do not attempt to use any spa services. It will just waste your time and put you in a bad mood too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xplor adventure park is highly recommended (not for kids under 8 or those with physical limitations). Swimming with dolphins at Xcaret is very cool. Super expensive but a very memorable experience.

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Visalia CA.
Jun 29, 2010

Time Share Pressure

Great Facility, Rooms, & Beach. Closer to Snorkle & Cave tour then Cancun. Only three choices of inclusive dinning. Buffet same everyday, food not that great. Italian & Japanese resturants only choices and also not that great. We ended up eating outside complex last few days. Now the unpleasant part and will try to keep it short. Lost bag at Airport. Ask staff to please call lost and found Monday, Tuesday, & Wednesday. Never happened as lost and found per return had our bag (which was needed!) advised that no calls were received from Hotel. Last but not least, wasted 2 hours waiting to book free dollar activities hotel offered only to find out that 2 hour Time Share presentation was required.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

3/4 mile north on 5th ave was Beverly Hills of area. Resturant choices first class, Business's not chanting to sell you something. Please dine at La Cueva del Chango. Awesome food, price, & service!

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
NY, NY
Jan 4, 2010

Location and hotel nice, food not so muc

The hotel and location are both very nice. With the all inclusive only the Italian Restaurant was really good. The Breakfast and Lunch buffets were OK but very little variety so buy the third day we were not looking forward to eating. The Asian Restaurant was terrible (Frozen pre-made Sushi, slow service).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
Zedthecat
Toronto Canada
Mar 14, 2013

Pretty good but a couple issues

We stayed at the Palace March 8-12th. Overall wasn't bad but didn't have that "didn't want to leave" feeling. The food was pretty good but not spectacular. The staff for the most part were very good, always smiling and helpful. The room was average but still nice. Where we got turned around was a few things. When we got there we didn't get the room we requested but they still gave us an upgrade and it was a busy week so we can't complain too much. The Japanese hibachi was a bust due to the fact that they told us the wrong time for the reservation and when we arrived they told us we could no longer participate (even though there were empty chairs!) not very impressed at all. The other issue we had was that we were thinking of staying an extra night at the beginning of our stay so I went to the front desk and inquired about the cost. They told me they couldn't tell me then and would call our room and leave a message. The next day there was no call so I returned again and asked and they told me the same thing so we waited AGAIN. The next day guess what? Yes no call, so I went to the desk and asked the manager what the deal was and I was told there was no availability. I then asked what the cost would be if a room did become available and he quoted me a price per night that was $300 per night higher than what we paid! I asked if I could go online and look for a better price and he told me that there would be no availability due to the fact they are at full capacity. At this point I gave up due to the fact they didn't want any more business. Curiously i did go online and check and there were rooms available at a much lower cost. The whole thing left me with little desire to stay another night Last thing but not a big deal. Our kids are 10&12 and there were not that many other kids around. Not a big deal for a few days but might be an issue if staying longer. Overall we would not go back. Not a bad place but it is not the top end service they like to sell themselves as having.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 16, 2010

3 1/2 Stars - Fab Location, bad food

The location couldn't get any better. You are steps from downtown Playa del Carmen and all the shops, restaurants and bars. This is a good thing too because the food at the resort was awful. Granted we are from Chicago, a city with great food, but we've been to Mexico many times and have never had an issue. Italian restaurant was just not good. We didn't even try the asian restaurant and the buffet was fine. It seems the hotel freezes most of their fruit and vegetables so don't expect really fresh, delicious fruits like we've had at other Mexico resorts. We walked downtown for dinner almost every night (and there are some fabulous restaurants) and we could generally manage to get by with the omelet bar, waffles and frozen fruits for breakfast and lunch. The pool is nice, as is the beach. Super [...] is really great. The margaritas were great, as were the bartenders. And the concierge got us set up on some fun tours. The rooms are nice. We upgraded to the honeymoon suite which was totally worth the money for the view and the sound of the waves at night. I'm not sure that we would go back to the Playacar Palace but for the fabulous location. You can't get a resort with a better location. The staff was friendly and helpful but totally not worth the money for the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great restaurants along 5th ave. Almost every Mexican place we went was great! Café Tropical - Located on 5th Ave. between 8th and 10th St. We went here for lunch and it was AWESOME - mexican food. Sur at 5th Ave and Calle Corazon. Really nice restaurant - great atmosphere (we sat up on the second level - that way you are away from all the street vendors, mariachi, flower vendors, etc.), great service, and the food was awesome. Seafood and Steaks. I had the sesame tuna and it was amazing. Appetizers were fabulous too. Expensive but totally worth it.

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
T Town traveler
Tulsa, OK
Jul 7, 2012

Playacar Palace

Great Hotel, very friendly staff, if they do not have something you want or need just ask, they will get it. 24HR room service was nice and lots of activities at the resort each night. Hotel is also right next to town and ferry to Cozumel. Everything is within walking distance. Great restaurants on site and also many great restaurants within 10-15 min walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want a great off site Steak Restaurant, I recommend Sur, on Ave de Sinco, 10 min walk.

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
Vinkie
New York
Jul 8, 2013

Great hotel with the best location and staff

Playacar Palace is a very nice hotel, right at the start of Quinta Avenida. A shopping/bar street you won't find in Cancun. Hotel is not too big and you feel stuck in the resort. The rooms are spacious with an amazing view on the sea (with Cozumel at the horizon). The spa is amazing and all staff very service focused. 3 restaurants serve nice international food. The beach is large and clean. Take the ferry (right next to the hotel) and enjoy the facilities of the sister hotel in Cozumel. Pool is little small and bit crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You can use facilities of other Palace hotels in Cozumel, Cancun and Isla Mujeres

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
State College, PA
Jul 6, 2010

Nice stay, great location

We stayed from June 26-July 1 at the Playacar Palace. After reading an online review indicating that a guest used their $1500 resort credit for a room upgrade, I emailed the hotel three days before arrival to inquire about a similar upgrade (my request was for a room with a larger balcony and oceanview). I received an email from the front desk manager who said that we could use the credit for an upgrade to a concierge level room. It turns out that there really is very little difference between a concierge level room and a standard room -- just nightly petit fors and a complimentary beach bag. So, that was a little disappointing. However, once we got past that - here is what I'll say about the hotel: 1) Service - At the restaurant, poolside, and beachside, the service was outstanding! The employees were attentive, but not intrusive, and they were very friendly. 2) Food - There was good variety on the daily buffet, but the best food was "made to order." The seafood (mussels, calamari) and chicken were delicious when prepared this way. The homemade ice cream (especially the strawberry and the coconut) was excellent! We went to the Asian restaurant one night and the food was not very good (as previous reviews have indicated). 3) Pool and beach - We always found chairs by the pool in a desirable location. The area was generally clean. However, the shallow pool (less than 1 foot) nearest the beach was consistently dirty, but no one was going in there anyway. The beach was beautiful in front of the hotel. We laid out on chairs two days (when it was cloudy), but once the sun appeared - it was just too hot. I wish they would put some umbrellas out there! Due to the tropical storm, the surf was very rough so we didn't go in except to wade around to cool off. 4) Entertainment - The fire show was the only one we attended and it was pretty good. The show ended early enough that there was still time to go out on 5th Ave afterward. 5) Location - This is primarily why we picked this hotel. So close to 5th Ave - just a very short walk to all the shops! We felt very safe at all times. The ferry dock is also close by and we never experienced any noise from it. 6) Concierge - Our assigned concierge was really just there to get us to sign up for tours (which would've been free for us, but the weather was too unpredictable - i.e., Tropical Storm Alex) and get us to attend a timeshare presentation. She was not very helpful, in general. 7) Room - The room was wiped down every day and clean towels/wash cloths/hand towels were replaced daily. The size of the room and bathroom was sufficient. The shower water did not leak out as others have mentioned. It was nice having a refrigerator in the room. 8) Closet and safe - Both of these were of ample size. The safe was large enough to fit my 14" laptop plus wallets, travel docs, cameras, etc. while we were not in the room. All in all, we had a very nice stay and are likely to return to this hotel when we return to Playa Del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the jewelry shop on Calle 14 (between 5th and 10th Aves) called "Yulunga." The jewelry is affordable and handmade which is very rare in Playa Del Carmen. Its owner and the artisan, Veronica, is fabulous -- she made a pair of earrings for me!

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
Playaman
Albuquerque,NM
Dec 26, 2010

Amazing, luxurious

We mostly stayed at the hotel. The service was amazing. The ocean view was incredible. Best week of our lives :) I'd recommend Playacar Palace to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

[...]

Back to menu Return to top