$367 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 13, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

4 stars
Bahia Del Espiritu Santo Esq. Abraira de Arriba, Fracc. Playacar Km. 62.5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
45 reviews
Just could NOT have been better

We had the best stay! There is no possible way we could even imagine better service at the Playacar... See full review

  • Just wanted a room
  • Jun 26, 2014
Playacar Palace

Awesome! Loved this place...everyone is so nice and accomodating! See full review

  • Daniella B.
  • Nov 8, 2013
This intimate, family and beachfront resort,located in Playacar Hotel Zone offers beautifully appointed rooms, all with double Jacuzzis, balcony and 24 hour room service. Excellent dining services, a beautiful pool with a swim up bar, and exquisite bars and lounges with views to the stunning Caribbean Sea and Cozumel Island. Take the opportunity to experience a soothing escape at our state-of-the-art Spa facility,. Selected tours, daily and nightly entertainment included. Honeymoon specials and golf package available.

The Hotel offers excellent service and the best personal attention:
-Luxurious accommodations
-Fine dining (3 restaurants)
-Top shelf drinks (domestic & imported)
-24 hr. room service
-Wireless Internet
-Kiddie pool and Kids Club (ages 4-12)
-Solarium
-Spa facilities, Fitness Center, Beauty salon and Spa boutique
-Tennis court nearby
-Table games
-Daily activities
-Concierge, Bell staff service
-Wedding services
Gift shop, Travel Agency, Car rental, Doctors on call 24 hrs.
-Dry cleaning & laundry service
-Cribs, rollaways & wheelchairs on request
-Currency exchange, ATM machine
-Golf package

Enjoy exchange privileges at selected Palace Resorts.(Some restrictions apply.)
br /> Palace Passport
Book a minimum three-night stay in any Palace resort in Cancun or Riviera Maya for travel now through December 23, 2013, and receive a Palace Passport (FREE Resort Credit) that includes:
-25% discount on green fees (at regular price; per adult) at Moon Spa & Golf Club, (per adult)
-US$15 toward a car rental through an on-site rental agency (per room/per stay; minimum 2 day rental)
-25% discount towards select spa treatments (per day/per adult)
-Unlimited select tours per person)
Buy one get on free Swim with the Dolphins and ATV Tour. Certain restrictions apply.

Honeymoon package:
-Fruit basket
-One bottle of sparkling wine
-One romantic candlelightd inner
-Two T-shirts
-Use of services provided by the honeymoon desk.
-Late check-out (until 6 PM) may be requested and is subject to availability.

All students must be 18 years of age and older. - Students under 18 years of age must travel and room with a parent/legal guardian. (No exceptions) - 1 Chaperone (over 25 yrs old) for every 20 students. - Proof of age required. All students will be required to provide their valid passports upon check-in. - Alcohol will be served to students over 18 years of age and older only. - Legal drinking age in Mexico is 18. We might ask for an I.D. at any time. Underage drinking and providing alcohol to minors is punished by law. - Introducing alcohol to the premises or taking it out from them is not allowed. - Tape recorders, radios and any sound devices may not be used in the rooms, building or at the pool area; you will only be allowed to use them with headphones. Remember there are other guests in the property who will resent noises and disturbances. - You will be financially and legally responsible for all damages and disruptions caused in the property. - A credit card guarantee is required upon check in to charge in the event of damage. - The hotel can and will suspend any or all of its services to guests who, in the hotel's opinion, display or enact improper conduct offensive and/or unacceptable and/or dangerous to others and/or themselves.

Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Deluxe Ocean View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
-Chi Bath Amenities
-Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4 guests, including children & infants
-525 Sq. Ft
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Some rooms have a Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
-Chi Bath Amenities
-Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4 guests, including children & infants
-525 Sq.Ft
Honeymoon Suite
Each elegantly appointed suite features:
1 King bed
Double Jacuzzi
In Room Wine and Fruits
Private Bath w/ shower only
Seating Area & Balcony
Liquor dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka - Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
Flat Screen LCD TV w/ Satellite
Purified water
Chi Bath Amenities
Bathrobes & Slippers
Digital safe (laptop size)
Coffee Maker
Direct Dial telephone, Alarm clock, Hair Dryer, Iron / ironing board
Wireless Internet
24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
Ocean Front View
Max Occupancy: 2 adults
633 Sq. Ft.
Deluxe - Resort View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-In Room Wine and Fruits
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4guests, including children ages 4-17. A maximum of 1 infant (ages 0-3) will be allowed to stay in the same room with 4guests
-525 Sq.Ft
Concierge Level
Ocean view rooms located on top 3 floors, room features:
-King bed
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains premium, upgraded brands of liquor -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/Satellite
-Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers
-Aromatherapy & Pillows menu
-2- 25 Minute Massage at the Beach/Spa/Treatment rooms
-Digital safe laptop size
-Espresso/American Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Clock/Radio/IPOD dock, Professional Hair Dryer & Wireless Internet
-24-Hr room service with select menu from restaurant menus to create a "Special Menu" & Nightly Petit Fours-Turndown Service
-Exclusive Concierge Phone Service, Private check-in & out/Late check-out & Early check-in (subject to availability) -Max Occ. 2guests
-525 Sq Ft

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Cielo Bar
Lobby bar from 10:00 am - 1:00 am
Luna Lounge
Lounge bar with Thai hors d'oeuvres from 6:00 pm - 2:00 am
Cafe del Mar
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: International/Mexican (Dinner)
Breakfast Int'l buffet: from 6:30 am - 11:00 am
Lunch Int'l buffet: from 12:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Dinner buffet: from 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
Terrazza
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: Italian a la carte
Dinner: from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code: Casual elegance. Long pants, collared shirts & shoes required.
Aquabar
Pool & snack bar from 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Moonlight bar service from 6:00 pm - 11 pm
Mo Mo No Ha Na
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: Asian, Oriental
Dinner: from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code: Casual elegance. Long pants, collared shirts & shoes required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nicster
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 29, 2010

A little disappointed

Inconsistent staff not very helpful answering questions about attraction locations, cab fare prices, pool closing times or dress code at the resort restaurants. Also received mixed info on how the $1500 credit works, we were tricked into a timeshare sales pitch when we tried to inquire. When we figured out what was happening we declined to book any activities through concierge. They are sales people who went so far as to call and harass us in our room about not participating in the presentation. The food is horrible in every restaurant. The only decent meal we had at the resort was room service. All the food seems old and tastes awful. On day 4 of our 7 days there we couldn't do it anymore and ventured off the resort for our meals. Defiantly a bummer since we booked the All-Inclusive package but it wasn't worth eating disgusting food. The location is great, the beach is stunning and rooms were beautiful. However, when I go back to Playa I will not stay at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Off the resort, up 5th Ave there is a restaurant called La Cuevo Del Chengo. Maybe the best meal I have had in my life. Everything is homemade and tastes delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Visalia CA.
Jun 29, 2010

Time Share Pressure

Great Facility, Rooms, & Beach. Closer to Snorkle & Cave tour then Cancun. Only three choices of inclusive dinning. Buffet same everyday, food not that great. Italian & Japanese resturants only choices and also not that great. We ended up eating outside complex last few days. Now the unpleasant part and will try to keep it short. Lost bag at Airport. Ask staff to please call lost and found Monday, Tuesday, & Wednesday. Never happened as lost and found per return had our bag (which was needed!) advised that no calls were received from Hotel. Last but not least, wasted 2 hours waiting to book free dollar activities hotel offered only to find out that 2 hour Time Share presentation was required.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

3/4 mile north on 5th ave was Beverly Hills of area. Resturant choices first class, Business's not chanting to sell you something. Please dine at La Cueva del Chango. Awesome food, price, & service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NorthShore Sun Seekers
Business
Northbrook, IL
Dec 30, 2009

Great Location - Poor customer service

Just returned from Playacar Palace over Xmas. Location is perfect; right at end of 5th Avenue shopping, next to ferry to Cozumel and close by to theme parks Xcaret and Xplor. Staff was generally pleasant and rooms were clean. There's no beach here and pool is small and building blocks sun after 3pm. You'll need to cab to watersports. [...] My wife dropped in a got them to take her for a pedicure which we were told could be applied against a $50 spa credit we each had. At checkout they said that pedicaure is not a spa service and we would have to pay. Since we were told we could use the credit against the pedicure by two spa desk employees we refused to pay. They responded by harassing us for an hour and refusing to let us take a taxi to catch our plane. Let's just say customer service here is not optimal. From talking to many others, this is not an isolated instance, rather, a coordinated effort of bait and switch of using the spa promotion to lure people in and then continually mislead and change their stories. If you must stay here due to the location then do not attempt to use any spa services. It will just waste your time and put you in a bad mood too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xplor adventure park is highly recommended (not for kids under 8 or those with physical limitations). Swimming with dolphins at Xcaret is very cool. Super expensive but a very memorable experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zedthecat
Business
Toronto Canada
Mar 14, 2013

Pretty good but a couple issues

We stayed at the Palace March 8-12th. Overall wasn't bad but didn't have that "didn't want to leave" feeling. The food was pretty good but not spectacular. The staff for the most part were very good, always smiling and helpful. The room was average but still nice. Where we got turned around was a few things. When we got there we didn't get the room we requested but they still gave us an upgrade and it was a busy week so we can't complain too much. The Japanese hibachi was a bust due to the fact that they told us the wrong time for the reservation and when we arrived they told us we could no longer participate (even though there were empty chairs!) not very impressed at all. The other issue we had was that we were thinking of staying an extra night at the beginning of our stay so I went to the front desk and inquired about the cost. They told me they couldn't tell me then and would call our room and leave a message. The next day there was no call so I returned again and asked and they told me the same thing so we waited AGAIN. The next day guess what? Yes no call, so I went to the desk and asked the manager what the deal was and I was told there was no availability. I then asked what the cost would be if a room did become available and he quoted me a price per night that was $300 per night higher than what we paid! I asked if I could go online and look for a better price and he told me that there would be no availability due to the fact they are at full capacity. At this point I gave up due to the fact they didn't want any more business. Curiously i did go online and check and there were rooms available at a much lower cost. The whole thing left me with little desire to stay another night Last thing but not a big deal. Our kids are 10&12 and there were not that many other kids around. Not a big deal for a few days but might be an issue if staying longer. Overall we would not go back. Not a bad place but it is not the top end service they like to sell themselves as having.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 16, 2010

3 1/2 Stars - Fab Location, bad food

The location couldn't get any better. You are steps from downtown Playa del Carmen and all the shops, restaurants and bars. This is a good thing too because the food at the resort was awful. Granted we are from Chicago, a city with great food, but we've been to Mexico many times and have never had an issue. Italian restaurant was just not good. We didn't even try the asian restaurant and the buffet was fine. It seems the hotel freezes most of their fruit and vegetables so don't expect really fresh, delicious fruits like we've had at other Mexico resorts. We walked downtown for dinner almost every night (and there are some fabulous restaurants) and we could generally manage to get by with the omelet bar, waffles and frozen fruits for breakfast and lunch. The pool is nice, as is the beach. Super [...] is really great. The margaritas were great, as were the bartenders. And the concierge got us set up on some fun tours. The rooms are nice. We upgraded to the honeymoon suite which was totally worth the money for the view and the sound of the waves at night. I'm not sure that we would go back to the Playacar Palace but for the fabulous location. You can't get a resort with a better location. The staff was friendly and helpful but totally not worth the money for the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great restaurants along 5th ave. Almost every Mexican place we went was great! Café Tropical - Located on 5th Ave. between 8th and 10th St. We went here for lunch and it was AWESOME - mexican food. Sur at 5th Ave and Calle Corazon. Really nice restaurant - great atmosphere (we sat up on the second level - that way you are away from all the street vendors, mariachi, flower vendors, etc.), great service, and the food was awesome. Seafood and Steaks. I had the sesame tuna and it was amazing. Appetizers were fabulous too. Expensive but totally worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Jan 4, 2010

Location and hotel nice, food not so muc

The hotel and location are both very nice. With the all inclusive only the Italian Restaurant was really good. The Breakfast and Lunch buffets were OK but very little variety so buy the third day we were not looking forward to eating. The Asian Restaurant was terrible (Frozen pre-made Sushi, slow service).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
benny112
Business
Chicago
Feb 15, 2014

Pleasantly Surprised

We stayed at Playacar Palace for a wedding in February and had a great time. The resort is smaller than most other resorts and has only 203 rooms. The image of the pool is essentially the resort with the rooms surrounding it. Rooms were ok but definitely some wear and tear can be seen throughout. The food is better than most of the resorts we've stayed at. The pasta at the italian place is handmade and tasted great. They have fresh fish that they get from the ocean and cooked daily. Even though the resort was full you can alway find a lounge chair by the pool. People are nicer at this resort also. The service poolside was slow but you can always swim up to the bar. Overall had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Salem the Great
Business
Walnut Creek, Ca
Feb 27, 2014

Great experience but

Hotel location was perfect with great sea view if you get a room on the third or fourth floor. Staff were great and very polite. Nightly entertainment is just OK. If you are not a timeshare or VIP member however, you may not get a nice shady area unless you get up and reserve it very early in the morning. Also restaurants do not accept reservation which makes waiting time long at times. Also, the $1500 credit comes with conditions that make it not worth using. In General, we had a great time and will go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deeekmon
Business
Hartford, WI
Apr 28, 2014

The staff makes this place!

THANK YOU to the staff at the Playacar Palace for a wonderful stay! You feel like you are part of a family at this hotel. We travel to Riviera Maya at least once a year and stay at all of the top rated hotels. This hotel did not disappoint. The food was outstanding. We were only there for 5 days and had no problems getting into any of the specialty restaurants. The wait staff was outstanding. The food presentation was excellent. I had a steak one night with a Mexican pepper sauce that was to die for. I literally cut it with my fork. Grilled octopus? They got it. Sushi? The best. Guacamole? They never ran out. There is a wood burning pizza oven next to the pool bar. I'm not one for eating pizza in Mexico but the smell was just too tempting. So we went for the Mexican pizza. YUM. Outstanding flavor. The beach was always clean and we never had a problem getting a chair. Unlike many of the other resorts where you need to "reserve" a chair at 5 in the morning, we didn't run into any of that here. There are also plentiful umbrellas for you shade lovers. The booze was top shelf. The kid drinks were creative and served with a flourish to make the kids feel special. There was always someone on the beach asking if you needed anything. Our room was good with a thermostat that actually worked and kept the room nice and cool. The room fridge was always stocked. I mentioned the staff earlier - and they are really worth calling out. They make this place. At the risk of missing some outstanding service - I'll name a few that we all remember: Francisco, Porfirio, Artemio, Mariam, Aline - and our all time favorite Juan. Juan is the Sushi chef. We called him "Juan the sushi mon". As my 16 year old daughter stated "he is ADORABLE". He is maybe 18 years old, incredibly shy, cute, and rolls the best sushi roll. Juan rocks. And my two girls both had major crushes on him. Overall, we would come back here again. There are two things that this hotel doesn't have: an ornate lobby and ornate grounds. The lobby is right off of the parking lot and nothing special. And if the ornate sculptured landscapes are a must, this hotel isn't for you. It is literally a hotel with a pool in front of it and a beach. No ornate gardens to walk amongst. If either of these are important to you - maybe pass on this place. However, the staff, food, staff, cleanliness, staff, proximity to town, staff, heated pool, staff, and oh, did I mention the staff - they were all excellent! Looking forward to another visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Find the sushi bar at the beginning of your trip and frequent it often.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OK, Dani
Business
New York, NY
Jun 5, 2011

EXCELLENT - I am going back!

This was an excellent hotel. 4 stars. Wonderful service. Lovely beach, clean pool, not packed, small and compact resort with good food and a nice chill vibe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top