$420 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

4 stars
Bahia Del Espiritu Santo Esq. Abraira de Arriba, Fracc. Playacar Km. 62.5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
75 reviews
Just could NOT have been better

We had the best stay! There is no possible way we could even imagine better service at the Playacar... See full review

  • Just wanted a room
  • Jun 26, 2014
Playacar Palace

Awesome! Loved this place...everyone is so nice and accomodating! See full review

  • Daniella B.
  • Nov 8, 2013
This intimate, family and beachfront resort,located in Playacar Hotel Zone offers beautifully appointed rooms, all with double Jacuzzis, balcony and 24 hour room service. Excellent dining services, a beautiful pool with a swim up bar, and exquisite bars and lounges with views to the stunning Caribbean Sea and Cozumel Island. Take the opportunity to experience a soothing escape at our state-of-the-art Spa facility,. Selected tours, daily and nightly entertainment included. Honeymoon specials and golf package available.

The Hotel offers excellent service and the best personal attention:
-Luxurious accommodations
-Fine dining (3 restaurants)
-Top shelf drinks (domestic & imported)
-24 hr. room service
-Wireless Internet
-Kiddie pool and Kids Club (ages 4-12)
-Solarium
-Spa facilities, Fitness Center, Beauty salon and Spa boutique
-Tennis court nearby
-Table games
-Daily activities
-Concierge, Bell staff service
-Wedding services
Gift shop, Travel Agency, Car rental, Doctors on call 24 hrs.
-Dry cleaning & laundry service
-Cribs, rollaways & wheelchairs on request
-Currency exchange, ATM machine
-Golf package

Enjoy exchange privileges at selected Palace Resorts.(Some restrictions apply.)
br /> Palace Passport
Book a minimum three-night stay in any Palace resort in Cancun or Riviera Maya for travel now through December 23, 2013, and receive a Palace Passport (FREE Resort Credit) that includes:
-25% discount on green fees (at regular price; per adult) at Moon Spa & Golf Club, (per adult)
-US$15 toward a car rental through an on-site rental agency (per room/per stay; minimum 2 day rental)
-25% discount towards select spa treatments (per day/per adult)
-Unlimited select tours per person)
Buy one get on free Swim with the Dolphins and ATV Tour. Certain restrictions apply.

Honeymoon package:
-Fruit basket
-One bottle of sparkling wine
-One romantic candlelightd inner
-Two T-shirts
-Use of services provided by the honeymoon desk.
-Late check-out (until 6 PM) may be requested and is subject to availability.

All students must be 18 years of age and older. - Students under 18 years of age must travel and room with a parent/legal guardian. (No exceptions) - 1 Chaperone (over 25 yrs old) for every 20 students. - Proof of age required. All students will be required to provide their valid passports upon check-in. - Alcohol will be served to students over 18 years of age and older only. - Legal drinking age in Mexico is 18. We might ask for an I.D. at any time. Underage drinking and providing alcohol to minors is punished by law. - Introducing alcohol to the premises or taking it out from them is not allowed. - Tape recorders, radios and any sound devices may not be used in the rooms, building or at the pool area; you will only be allowed to use them with headphones. Remember there are other guests in the property who will resent noises and disturbances. - You will be financially and legally responsible for all damages and disruptions caused in the property. - A credit card guarantee is required upon check in to charge in the event of damage. - The hotel can and will suspend any or all of its services to guests who, in the hotel's opinion, display or enact improper conduct offensive and/or unacceptable and/or dangerous to others and/or themselves.

Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Deluxe Ocean View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
-Chi Bath Amenities
-Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4 guests, including children & infants
-525 Sq. Ft
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Some rooms have a Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
-Chi Bath Amenities
-Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4 guests, including children & infants
-525 Sq.Ft
Honeymoon Suite
Each elegantly appointed suite features:
1 King bed
Double Jacuzzi
In Room Wine and Fruits
Private Bath w/ shower only
Seating Area & Balcony
Liquor dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka - Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
Flat Screen LCD TV w/ Satellite
Purified water
Chi Bath Amenities
Bathrobes & Slippers
Digital safe (laptop size)
Coffee Maker
Direct Dial telephone, Alarm clock, Hair Dryer, Iron / ironing board
Wireless Internet
24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
Ocean Front View
Max Occupancy: 2 adults
633 Sq. Ft.
Deluxe - Resort View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-In Room Wine and Fruits
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4guests, including children ages 4-17. A maximum of 1 infant (ages 0-3) will be allowed to stay in the same room with 4guests
-525 Sq.Ft
Concierge Level
Ocean view rooms located on top 3 floors, room features:
-King bed
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains premium, upgraded brands of liquor -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/Satellite
-Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers
-Aromatherapy & Pillows menu
-2- 25 Minute Massage at the Beach/Spa/Treatment rooms
-Digital safe laptop size
-Espresso/American Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Clock/Radio/IPOD dock, Professional Hair Dryer & Wireless Internet
-24-Hr room service with select menu from restaurant menus to create a "Special Menu" & Nightly Petit Fours-Turndown Service
-Exclusive Concierge Phone Service, Private check-in & out/Late check-out & Early check-in (subject to availability) -Max Occ. 2guests
-525 Sq Ft

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.613 -87.0818
Area served
Playa del Carmen, MX
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - CUN
Area description
With the best location in the Playacar development, just a few steps from the quaint town of Playa del Carmen, and next to the island of Cozumel's connect ferry-boarding dock.

Dining

Cielo Bar
Lobby bar from 10:00 am - 1:00 am
Luna Lounge
Lounge bar with Thai hors d'oeuvres from 6:00 pm - 2:00 am
Cafe del Mar
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: International/Mexican (Dinner)
Breakfast Int'l buffet: from 6:30 am - 11:00 am
Lunch Int'l buffet: from 12:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Dinner buffet: from 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
Terrazza
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: Italian a la carte
Dinner: from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code: Casual elegance. Long pants, collared shirts & shoes required.
Aquabar
Pool & snack bar from 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Moonlight bar service from 6:00 pm - 11 pm
Mo Mo No Ha Na
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: Asian, Oriental
Dinner: from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code: Casual elegance. Long pants, collared shirts & shoes required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
Apr 13, 2008

Absolutely beautiful!!

The staff and hotel was absolutely awesome!!! I have already recommended the Playacar Palace to several friends and we will definately be back.....hopefully SOON!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

Shopping (tons) just a short distance, my fiancee' loved it!!

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just wanted a room
Tifton, GA
Jun 26, 2014

Just could NOT have been better

We had the best stay! There is no possible way we could even imagine better service at the Playacar Palace. That staff was awesome. They were never intrusive but were at our beck and call every minute. There is nothing – from moving umbrellas at the pool to bringing unexpected extras at restaurants to just being super accommodating – the people at the resort were the best attraction, hands down. The room was clean as a whistle, and the view was absolutely spectacular. We never saw the cleaning staff, but they kept our room sparkling constantly. The food was way, WAY beyond what we had expected. The Italian restaurant was five-star every time we went (order the Mayan coffee!) and the Japanese restaurant was outstanding. Get reservations to sit at the Hibachi grill early because it is worth it!! The regular restaurant/buffet that is open 24-7 was top notch and the breakfast in there was awesome. The pool and beach are world class primarily because of the service. The pool side staff that provides entertainment constantly throughout the day was fantastic - truly nice people who are really organized. Forget the hotel credits program and the $1500 or whatever you can spend. The prices are seriously jacked up and you have to pay a 16% fee/tax, so there’s no value there. Do whatever excursions you want. Don’t depend on the hotel to give you anything. We did the Total Cozumel and the Tulum trip. Both were great. The Tulum trip was quick and easy but not so much as a water or a pack of crackers from 8-1:30. Do the Grayline pickup and return taxi to the airport. They were super punctual, clean rides and really nice. We were in a nice van to the hotel and a Mercedes to the airport. Couldn’t ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hibachi Grill requires reservations and the Italian restaurant requires long pants.

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 23, 2008

Wonderful Place to stay

Every one was extremely friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the best shopping was within the hotel it self

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lauracuda
Atlanta, GA
Mar 11, 2010

FABULOUS!

The staff really made the place special. It was very stylishly decorated, super clean, and all around lovely. The location does not get any better as it is the only resort right in Playa del Carmen's fun area. The pool was great, I never had to wait for a drink, and the food was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NJArt
Lake Hiawatha, NJ
Apr 11, 2010

5th time at Playacar - still great but

This is still an excellent hotel and we will be back. But the evening shows are now terrible. They used to be great. No Mexican folklore dance show this year. The new beach is an added plus. Staff seems to have been cut, not as pristine clean as before. Quality of food is still great but variety is down in the Mexican buffet. The gift shop has much less merchandise than in the past and is a real disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue, a pedestrian walk is just a short distance from the hotel and can accommodate all your shopping needs.

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 13, 2008

Beautiful hotel and extremely friendly staff

The Playacar Palace was a very beautiful hotel. The rooms were beautiful, clean, and soothing. The bedding was top end and furnishing looked new. The hot tub in the room was great since it rained for a few hours every day. You can open the patio door to the balcony and sit in the hot tub and look at the ocean. Awesome! The entire room was well cleaned by staff everyday with a treat left behind. One day it was a bottle of wine, the next chocolate covered expresso beans! The food was wonderful! The staff seemed so friendly like they were a part of your family. They would refill drinks even if we were dining at the buffet that day! The service was impecable! You could walk to a boardwalk along the ocean. The entire experience was wonderful! I would definetely recomend this hotel to others and would stay again myself. My neice also enjoyed the kids klub they had for 4 year olds and up. Their spa was great too even though you had to be shuttled there cause it was in a different building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Oct 6, 2010

Near perfect vacation

When we booked this hotel, we were prepared for the typical all-inclusive experience...bad food, no personal service, loud pool, etc. We could not have been more wrong! Playacar Palace had fantastic food, staff who knew our names and favorite foods and drinks by our second day, and a very relaxing atmosphere. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation. The $1500 resort dollar promotion is a great deal which allowed us to upgrade our room, book a day at the spa, and a tour for two. I cannot say enough about the excellent service. The staff was pleasant and knew us by name by the second day. Our room was spotless and the view from the balcony magnificent. I only have two suggestions for improvements: 1. An activity room with pool table, ping pong, board games, etc, would be nice for bad weather days. There might have been one, but we never saw it. 2. The buffet restaurant turns into a Mexican a la carte restaurant at night. I prefer the buffet, because it is nice to have little bits of all the different foods! By the way, I am not a Palace Resorts member, timeshare owner, or travel agent, so I have no agenda in writing an excellent review. I just really enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K. Winegar
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Dec 17, 2009

Wow, 5 Star Service!

This place spares nothing! They are 100% friendly 100% of the time. Even, at 3:00am and you order room-service, not once but several times, was always the most curtious service! Great rooms, about 10 different light switches to really set the mood if desired... Cleanest Pool, Cleanest Grounds, and Cleanest Resturants I have ever experanced! (I worked as a Chef for years!) Tipping is not nessasary but I did from time to time, as the service is just second to none! They have all your liquors.... if you want top shelf, just ask, it is there for your taking... 3 Resturants on site... The Breakfast Buffet is just that, a buffet... but none like you would ever get here in the USA... Cooking in front of you in an open kitchen even for the breakfast bar, not once did I see an empty pan, or something left under the "lamps" too long... The Lunch is set up simular, but nothing spared, something for everyone... (actually a lot for everyone!)... The Dinners..... Hungery?, Portions not big enough?, Order more, they have no attitude at all about it... I ordered 3 Shrimp Cocktails for myself one night at the same time... So much "Free" services like Snorkeling, site seeing, runes and etc!... Location is Perfect.... about a 5 minute very leasurly walk to the Ferry to Cosumel! Less than 2 minute walk to down town Playa, but yet no noise from the city!... NONE!...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do NOT Pay face price for anything you are shopping for in Playa or Cozumel, these towns are set up to Barter for Everything (Off resort Property that is!) Prices are Cheaper in Cozumel after 4pm when the Cruise Line ships leave... Barter!.... Rent a car and drive around the Island!...

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
Dec 13, 2010

Love this place!

We've stayed in many all-inclusives in Mexico and this is the best yet. Excellent food. Excellent location just a block from the Cozumel ferry and 5th Avenue. We visited Playcar Palace on a day trip a couple of years ago and saw the lack of beach as the only drawback. Now that the beach is back in tact, this place is perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 23, 2008

Wonderful Place to stay

Every one was extremely friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the best shopping was within the hotel it self

Back to menu Return to top