Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

4 stars
View map of Bahia Del Espiritu Santo Esq. Abraira de Arriba, Fracc. Playacar Km. 62.5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniella B.
Chicago
Nov 8, 2013

Playacar Palace

Awesome! Loved this place...everyone is so nice and accomodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Merrillville, Indiana
Nov 14, 2009

"Not Enough Stars..."

My Fiancee and I came to this resort after researching the location and were quite pleased with everything. We became engaged while staying here, and are especially grateful to the public relations dept for their aid in acquiring anything that we needed. The hotel went above and beyond with making our stay not only enjoyable, but one that we will speak of for all the years to come. The staff always had a smile on their face, and were courteous at all times. It was nice that after the first day, that the staff at a buffet restaurant remembered our names and even what we liked to drink. I don't think any other place has staff that pulls your chair out for you every time and places a napkin in your lap like you're royalty! The rooms, facilities, and pool were IMMACULATE. We arrived after a hurricane came through and the staff worked dilligently to return the pool to its original state. 5th Avenue (Main shopping strip) was literally only steps away, and the pier to Cozumel was less than a 2 minute walk; much better than the price for a cab ride from any other place. The Italian restaurant was absolutely fabulous. Their food was so delicious and their Mayan Coffee is something everyone should experience. So much to say, and just not enough room. To sum it all up, there is no other place where we'd like to stay other than here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue and shopping are only a 2 minute walk.

Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K Banks
Business
Livermore, CA
Oct 18, 2009

Great Honeymoon!

What a great resort! Pros: 1. With Palace Resorts you can stay a few nights in 1 location, check-out, and stay in another Palace Resort in a different location if you want. 2. The tours that were included were very well done. We did Chichen Itza and Tulum. Do go to Tulum if you have the time, and wear your swimsuit for the beach. 3. The service of the staff was top notch the entire time and on every encounter. 4. The chef staff is awesome! All of our food was presented very impressively, and if you don't like something you choose, just pick something else! 5. The location is great. Our room had a view of the ferry dock. You can walk down the tourist shopping area of Playa del Carmen (bars, restaurants and stores). Cabs were available to take you wherever you wanted to go. 6. Your bracelet allows you to access the pool and restaurants at other locations. We spent an afternoon at Aventura Spa and had breakfast/lunch at Cozumel Palace. Cons: 1. If you want to see Cancun it's a little too far to fit in with the other sites available so we had to skip a day to Cancun. 2. The ocean can be unsafe to swim in front of the hotel, but the pool is practically at the water's edge. 3. Having to come home after 8 wonderful days! If going to Cancun or Riviera Maya consider a Palace Resort location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the hotel staff as a resource for where to eat, best way to see Cozumel, etc because they may have some great tips to share depending on what you want to do.

Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, Louisiana
Sep 8, 2009

The Best Vacation Ever

We orginally had a vacation planned to Cabo but due to Hurricane Jimena we had to plan an alternate vacation. We were 4 couples on vacation without our children ready to have some adult time. The hotel was only at about 10% occupancy and we were 5% of the ten however we enjoyed the attention and service we received not to mention the pool to ourselves. The entire staff was very helpful and the spa even though not on the same property as the resort was awesome (they offered free transportation and it was only 5 minutes away). We liked the resort so much we didn't want to leave the property. However we did for one day, The Jungle Tour! It was awesome but a 2 hour bus ride one way, get a taxi and save yourself 1 hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargin Bargin Bargin! Don't pay what they are offering DEAL with them.

Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kariestes
Business
oceanside, ca
Aug 5, 2009

Great Place, but the Food Not So Much...

This all-inclusive property is just steps away from the Cozumel ferry dock and within walking distance of 5th avenue. This ocean front property is one of the more expensive properties in the area, great care & pride is taken in making sure the property is clean, safe & comfortable for the guests. The staff is very attentive & willing to please and there are lots of amenities, however, the quaility of the food falls short. The level of detail and attention that is given to the rest of the property is not paid to the freshness and quality of the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you would like to venture out of the hotel to shop, visit Cozumel, or take in some local & tourist nightlife, you can't beat the location of this hotel. In terms of location, you're getting the best of both worlds: right on the beach with fantastic views, but immediately adjacent to the town of Playa del Carmen.

Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gregg & Julie
Business
New York, NY
Mar 11, 2009

Stay at Aventura

Playacar Palace is nice, but too small & when we were there, too crowded. That said, the Palace staff made it very easy to transfer to Aventura, which was spectacular! Both resorts had top-notch service and very good food, neither has a real beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not buy the airport shuttle service from Orbitz. It is not made clear that it stops at other resorts & a 45 minute trip easiliy turns into 2 hours. Take a private cab, it costs about the same.

Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 13, 2008

Beautiful hotel and extremely friendly staff

The Playacar Palace was a very beautiful hotel. The rooms were beautiful, clean, and soothing. The bedding was top end and furnishing looked new. The hot tub in the room was great since it rained for a few hours every day. You can open the patio door to the balcony and sit in the hot tub and look at the ocean. Awesome! The entire room was well cleaned by staff everyday with a treat left behind. One day it was a bottle of wine, the next chocolate covered expresso beans! The food was wonderful! The staff seemed so friendly like they were a part of your family. They would refill drinks even if we were dining at the buffet that day! The service was impecable! You could walk to a boardwalk along the ocean. The entire experience was wonderful! I would definetely recomend this hotel to others and would stay again myself. My neice also enjoyed the kids klub they had for 4 year olds and up. Their spa was great too even though you had to be shuttled there cause it was in a different building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 23, 2008

Wonderful Place to stay

Every one was extremely friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the best shopping was within the hotel it self

Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Apr 13, 2008

Absolutely beautiful!!

The staff and hotel was absolutely awesome!!! I have already recommended the Playacar Palace to several friends and we will definately be back.....hopefully SOON!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Shopping (tons) just a short distance, my fiancee' loved it!!

Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 13, 2008

My review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive

We chose this hotel for the location(close to town and the Cozumel Ferry) and also to be able to use the other Palace resorts. Upon check in, they said they were full so we were upgraded to a minisuite which was a nice surprise. It was a large beautiful room with gorgeous views. For an all inclusive I thought the food was fine. The staff are fantastic! The resort itself lacked for us the ambience we like. It seemed a little sterile in its decor, but that is just a personal opinion and not a criticism. Overall, I would recommend Playacar Palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 13, 2008

My review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive

We chose this hotel for the location(close to town and the Cozumel Ferry) and also to be able to use the other Palace resorts. Upon check in, they said they were full so we were upgraded to a minisuite which was a nice surprise. It was a large beautiful room with gorgeous views. For an all inclusive I thought the food was fine. The staff are fantastic! The resort itself lacked for us the ambience we like. It seemed a little sterile in its decor, but that is just a personal opinion and not a criticism. Overall, I would recommend Playacar Palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top