$558 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

4 stars
Bahia Del Espiritu Santo Esq. Abraira de Arriba, Fracc. Playacar Km. 62.5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
46 reviews
Amazing

Would go back in a heartbeat. Superb amenities and location. See full review

  • Puma732
  • Dec 3, 2014
Just could NOT have been better

We had the best stay! There is no possible way we could even imagine better service at the Playacar... See full review

  • Just wanted a room
  • Jun 26, 2014
This intimate, family and beachfront resort,located in Playacar Hotel Zone offers beautifully appointed rooms, all with double Jacuzzis, balcony and 24 hour room service. Excellent dining services, a beautiful pool with a swim up bar, and exquisite bars and lounges with views to the stunning Caribbean Sea and Cozumel Island. Take the opportunity to experience a soothing escape at our state-of-the-art Spa facility,. Selected tours, daily and nightly entertainment included. Honeymoon specials and golf package available.

The Hotel offers excellent service and the best personal attention:
-Luxurious accommodations
-Fine dining (3 restaurants)
-Top shelf drinks (domestic & imported)
-24 hr. room service
-Wireless Internet
-Kiddie pool and Kids Club (ages 4-12)
-Solarium
-Spa facilities, Fitness Center, Beauty salon and Spa boutique
-Tennis court nearby
-Table games
-Daily activities
-Concierge, Bell staff service
-Wedding services
Gift shop, Travel Agency, Car rental, Doctors on call 24 hrs.
-Dry cleaning & laundry service
-Cribs, rollaways & wheelchairs on request
-Currency exchange, ATM machine
-Golf package

Enjoy exchange privileges at selected Palace Resorts.(Some restrictions apply.)
br /> Palace Passport
Book a minimum three-night stay in any Palace resort in Cancun or Riviera Maya for travel now through December 23, 2013, and receive a Palace Passport (FREE Resort Credit) that includes:
-25% discount on green fees (at regular price; per adult) at Moon Spa & Golf Club, (per adult)
-US$15 toward a car rental through an on-site rental agency (per room/per stay; minimum 2 day rental)
-25% discount towards select spa treatments (per day/per adult)
-Unlimited select tours per person)
Buy one get on free Swim with the Dolphins and ATV Tour. Certain restrictions apply.

Honeymoon package:
-Fruit basket
-One bottle of sparkling wine
-One romantic candlelightd inner
-Two T-shirts
-Use of services provided by the honeymoon desk.
-Late check-out (until 6 PM) may be requested and is subject to availability.

All students must be 18 years of age and older. - Students under 18 years of age must travel and room with a parent/legal guardian. (No exceptions) - 1 Chaperone (over 25 yrs old) for every 20 students. - Proof of age required. All students will be required to provide their valid passports upon check-in. - Alcohol will be served to students over 18 years of age and older only. - Legal drinking age in Mexico is 18. We might ask for an I.D. at any time. Underage drinking and providing alcohol to minors is punished by law. - Introducing alcohol to the premises or taking it out from them is not allowed. - Tape recorders, radios and any sound devices may not be used in the rooms, building or at the pool area; you will only be allowed to use them with headphones. Remember there are other guests in the property who will resent noises and disturbances. - You will be financially and legally responsible for all damages and disruptions caused in the property. - A credit card guarantee is required upon check in to charge in the event of damage. - The hotel can and will suspend any or all of its services to guests who, in the hotel's opinion, display or enact improper conduct offensive and/or unacceptable and/or dangerous to others and/or themselves.

Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Deluxe Ocean View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
-Chi Bath Amenities
-Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4 guests, including children & infants
-525 Sq. Ft
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Some rooms have a Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
-Chi Bath Amenities
-Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4 guests, including children & infants
-525 Sq.Ft
Honeymoon Suite
Each elegantly appointed suite features:
1 King bed
Double Jacuzzi
In Room Wine and Fruits
Private Bath w/ shower only
Seating Area & Balcony
Liquor dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka - Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
Flat Screen LCD TV w/ Satellite
Purified water
Chi Bath Amenities
Bathrobes & Slippers
Digital safe (laptop size)
Coffee Maker
Direct Dial telephone, Alarm clock, Hair Dryer, Iron / ironing board
Wireless Internet
24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
Ocean Front View
Max Occupancy: 2 adults
633 Sq. Ft.
Deluxe - Resort View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-In Room Wine and Fruits
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4guests, including children ages 4-17. A maximum of 1 infant (ages 0-3) will be allowed to stay in the same room with 4guests
-525 Sq.Ft
Concierge Level
Ocean view rooms located on top 3 floors, room features:
-King bed
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains premium, upgraded brands of liquor -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/Satellite
-Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers
-Aromatherapy & Pillows menu
-2- 25 Minute Massage at the Beach/Spa/Treatment rooms
-Digital safe laptop size
-Espresso/American Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Clock/Radio/IPOD dock, Professional Hair Dryer & Wireless Internet
-24-Hr room service with select menu from restaurant menus to create a "Special Menu" & Nightly Petit Fours-Turndown Service
-Exclusive Concierge Phone Service, Private check-in & out/Late check-out & Early check-in (subject to availability) -Max Occ. 2guests
-525 Sq Ft

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Cielo Bar
Lobby bar from 10:00 am - 1:00 am
Luna Lounge
Lounge bar with Thai hors d'oeuvres from 6:00 pm - 2:00 am
Cafe del Mar
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: International/Mexican (Dinner)
Breakfast Int'l buffet: from 6:30 am - 11:00 am
Lunch Int'l buffet: from 12:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Dinner buffet: from 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
Terrazza
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: Italian a la carte
Dinner: from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code: Casual elegance. Long pants, collared shirts & shoes required.
Aquabar
Pool & snack bar from 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Moonlight bar service from 6:00 pm - 11 pm
Mo Mo No Ha Na
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: Asian, Oriental
Dinner: from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code: Casual elegance. Long pants, collared shirts & shoes required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 16, 2010

3 1/2 Stars - Fab Location, bad food

The location couldn't get any better. You are steps from downtown Playa del Carmen and all the shops, restaurants and bars. This is a good thing too because the food at the resort was awful. Granted we are from Chicago, a city with great food, but we've been to Mexico many times and have never had an issue. Italian restaurant was just not good. We didn't even try the asian restaurant and the buffet was fine. It seems the hotel freezes most of their fruit and vegetables so don't expect really fresh, delicious fruits like we've had at other Mexico resorts. We walked downtown for dinner almost every night (and there are some fabulous restaurants) and we could generally manage to get by with the omelet bar, waffles and frozen fruits for breakfast and lunch. The pool is nice, as is the beach. Super [...] is really great. The margaritas were great, as were the bartenders. And the concierge got us set up on some fun tours. The rooms are nice. We upgraded to the honeymoon suite which was totally worth the money for the view and the sound of the waves at night. I'm not sure that we would go back to the Playacar Palace but for the fabulous location. You can't get a resort with a better location. The staff was friendly and helpful but totally not worth the money for the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great restaurants along 5th ave. Almost every Mexican place we went was great! Café Tropical - Located on 5th Ave. between 8th and 10th St. We went here for lunch and it was AWESOME - mexican food. Sur at 5th Ave and Calle Corazon. Really nice restaurant - great atmosphere (we sat up on the second level - that way you are away from all the street vendors, mariachi, flower vendors, etc.), great service, and the food was awesome. Seafood and Steaks. I had the sesame tuna and it was amazing. Appetizers were fabulous too. Expensive but totally worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lauracuda
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 11, 2010

FABULOUS!

The staff really made the place special. It was very stylishly decorated, super clean, and all around lovely. The location does not get any better as it is the only resort right in Playa del Carmen's fun area. The pool was great, I never had to wait for a drink, and the food was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Silver Spring, Maryland
Feb 21, 2010

Magnifico partida!

The all inclusive feature was very nice and it truly was all inclusive at the Playacar Palace. We had our choice of two ala carte restaurants or the buffet. All were excellent but the Italian restaurant was our favorite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Obviously, avoid or resist attempts to get you to listen to a sales pitch for an ongoing vacation program or time-share opportunity unless you are really interested. Otherwise it can be an uncomfortable waste of your valuable vacation time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Logan Circle Traveler
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 19, 2010

A wonderful hotel!

From the moment we arrived the staff was very friendly and made us feel very at home and pampered. The hotel was beautiful, the rooms were pretty and clean, and the facilities including the bars, restaurants, etc. were great. The best part of the hotel was that it was only steps from Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue. The only downside to the hotel was that we had to take a 5 minute shuttle to get to the fitness center which was pretty small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was about a 10 minute walk down Fifth Avenue to the heart of Playa del Carmen's nightlife at 12th Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Jan 4, 2010

Location and hotel nice, food not so muc

The hotel and location are both very nice. With the all inclusive only the Italian Restaurant was really good. The Breakfast and Lunch buffets were OK but very little variety so buy the third day we were not looking forward to eating. The Asian Restaurant was terrible (Frozen pre-made Sushi, slow service).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NorthShore Sun Seekers
Business
Northbrook, IL
Dec 30, 2009

Great Location - Poor customer service

Just returned from Playacar Palace over Xmas. Location is perfect; right at end of 5th Avenue shopping, next to ferry to Cozumel and close by to theme parks Xcaret and Xplor. Staff was generally pleasant and rooms were clean. There's no beach here and pool is small and building blocks sun after 3pm. You'll need to cab to watersports. [...] My wife dropped in a got them to take her for a pedicure which we were told could be applied against a $50 spa credit we each had. At checkout they said that pedicaure is not a spa service and we would have to pay. Since we were told we could use the credit against the pedicure by two spa desk employees we refused to pay. They responded by harassing us for an hour and refusing to let us take a taxi to catch our plane. Let's just say customer service here is not optimal. From talking to many others, this is not an isolated instance, rather, a coordinated effort of bait and switch of using the spa promotion to lure people in and then continually mislead and change their stories. If you must stay here due to the location then do not attempt to use any spa services. It will just waste your time and put you in a bad mood too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xplor adventure park is highly recommended (not for kids under 8 or those with physical limitations). Swimming with dolphins at Xcaret is very cool. Super expensive but a very memorable experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K. Winegar
Business
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Dec 17, 2009

Wow, 5 Star Service!

This place spares nothing! They are 100% friendly 100% of the time. Even, at 3:00am and you order room-service, not once but several times, was always the most curtious service! Great rooms, about 10 different light switches to really set the mood if desired... Cleanest Pool, Cleanest Grounds, and Cleanest Resturants I have ever experanced! (I worked as a Chef for years!) Tipping is not nessasary but I did from time to time, as the service is just second to none! They have all your liquors.... if you want top shelf, just ask, it is there for your taking... 3 Resturants on site... The Breakfast Buffet is just that, a buffet... but none like you would ever get here in the USA... Cooking in front of you in an open kitchen even for the breakfast bar, not once did I see an empty pan, or something left under the "lamps" too long... The Lunch is set up simular, but nothing spared, something for everyone... (actually a lot for everyone!)... The Dinners..... Hungery?, Portions not big enough?, Order more, they have no attitude at all about it... I ordered 3 Shrimp Cocktails for myself one night at the same time... So much "Free" services like Snorkeling, site seeing, runes and etc!... Location is Perfect.... about a 5 minute very leasurly walk to the Ferry to Cosumel! Less than 2 minute walk to down town Playa, but yet no noise from the city!... NONE!...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do NOT Pay face price for anything you are shopping for in Playa or Cozumel, these towns are set up to Barter for Everything (Off resort Property that is!) Prices are Cheaper in Cozumel after 4pm when the Cruise Line ships leave... Barter!.... Rent a car and drive around the Island!...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Merrillville, Indiana
Nov 14, 2009

"Not Enough Stars..."

My Fiancee and I came to this resort after researching the location and were quite pleased with everything. We became engaged while staying here, and are especially grateful to the public relations dept for their aid in acquiring anything that we needed. The hotel went above and beyond with making our stay not only enjoyable, but one that we will speak of for all the years to come. The staff always had a smile on their face, and were courteous at all times. It was nice that after the first day, that the staff at a buffet restaurant remembered our names and even what we liked to drink. I don't think any other place has staff that pulls your chair out for you every time and places a napkin in your lap like you're royalty! The rooms, facilities, and pool were IMMACULATE. We arrived after a hurricane came through and the staff worked dilligently to return the pool to its original state. 5th Avenue (Main shopping strip) was literally only steps away, and the pier to Cozumel was less than a 2 minute walk; much better than the price for a cab ride from any other place. The Italian restaurant was absolutely fabulous. Their food was so delicious and their Mayan Coffee is something everyone should experience. So much to say, and just not enough room. To sum it all up, there is no other place where we'd like to stay other than here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue and shopping are only a 2 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K Banks
Business
Livermore, CA
Oct 18, 2009

Great Honeymoon!

What a great resort! Pros: 1. With Palace Resorts you can stay a few nights in 1 location, check-out, and stay in another Palace Resort in a different location if you want. 2. The tours that were included were very well done. We did Chichen Itza and Tulum. Do go to Tulum if you have the time, and wear your swimsuit for the beach. 3. The service of the staff was top notch the entire time and on every encounter. 4. The chef staff is awesome! All of our food was presented very impressively, and if you don't like something you choose, just pick something else! 5. The location is great. Our room had a view of the ferry dock. You can walk down the tourist shopping area of Playa del Carmen (bars, restaurants and stores). Cabs were available to take you wherever you wanted to go. 6. Your bracelet allows you to access the pool and restaurants at other locations. We spent an afternoon at Aventura Spa and had breakfast/lunch at Cozumel Palace. Cons: 1. If you want to see Cancun it's a little too far to fit in with the other sites available so we had to skip a day to Cancun. 2. The ocean can be unsafe to swim in front of the hotel, but the pool is practically at the water's edge. 3. Having to come home after 8 wonderful days! If going to Cancun or Riviera Maya consider a Palace Resort location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the hotel staff as a resource for where to eat, best way to see Cozumel, etc because they may have some great tips to share depending on what you want to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, Louisiana
Sep 8, 2009

The Best Vacation Ever

We orginally had a vacation planned to Cabo but due to Hurricane Jimena we had to plan an alternate vacation. We were 4 couples on vacation without our children ready to have some adult time. The hotel was only at about 10% occupancy and we were 5% of the ten however we enjoyed the attention and service we received not to mention the pool to ourselves. The entire staff was very helpful and the spa even though not on the same property as the resort was awesome (they offered free transportation and it was only 5 minutes away). We liked the resort so much we didn't want to leave the property. However we did for one day, The Jungle Tour! It was awesome but a 2 hour bus ride one way, get a taxi and save yourself 1 hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargin Bargin Bargin! Don't pay what they are offering DEAL with them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top