Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

4 stars
View map of Bahia Del Espiritu Santo Esq. Abraira de Arriba, Fracc. Playacar Km. 62.5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Astro Boy
Business
Dallas, TX
May 7, 2011

Perfect Vacation!

Playacar Palace was above and beyond what we were expecting in a vacation! The hotel is about a hour drive from the Cancun Airport, which is a little inconvenient, but also gets you away from the more hectic Cancun. Playacar has a more secluded and laid back feel to it. First of all, the location is really top notch. This hotel is a little older (but well maintained) but as a result has laid claim to prime real estate. The beach is fantastic - white powder sand, warm turquoise ocean to swim in - so much like a postcard its hard to believe that its real! Right next door is the lively "downtown" of Playa del Carmen, great for shopping and night clubs if thats your thing. A number of guests seemed to spend a lot of nights at Senor Frogs, which is just adjacent to the hotel. Also, the ferry dock to Cozumel island is right there too, offering an easy way to get a change of scenery (there is a Palace resort on Cozumel, so you can get your all inclusive benefits there as well!) The all-inclusive food and drinks were great. We ate twice at Terraza (the italian restaraunt) and twice at the Asian one, and once at the Mexican Buffet. Sushi was pretty good at the Asian restaurant, though the entrees were a little hit and miss. Italian was consistently delicious, and the buffet was really good too! The drinks were surprisingly good. I had been expecting things to be a little watered down, but they seemed full strength to me - and tasty to boot! (we tried Pina Coladas, Margaritas, Mai Tais, Miami Vice, all great). My only complaint is I would have prefered Corona rather than Dos Equis for the beer. The service was really exceptional. From the moment we arrived to when we left, the staff worked really hard to make sure we had everything we needed. While gratuities are included, it seems a few small bills for great service are appreciated - and these folks really earn it. Having the $1500 resort credit offer available for tours was what led us to choose Palace in the first place. We did the Chichen Itza, Tulum, and Isla Mujeres tours. The mayan ruins were incredible, and we had top notch guides each time (Arnando was probably the best guide we've had anywhere!). The drawback is a mandatory stop at a Mayan gift shop for each of the cultural trips. Some of the stuff they sell is pretty neat (I like the obsidian carvings) but the prices are a little high. If there's nothing you want to buy, you end up standing around a while. Isla Mujeres is good if you want to snorkel (I loved it, my son and wife were not as keen on it) or swim with the dolphins / manatees / sharks / sea lions. Not really my thing. All of these things cost extra. If none of these things appeals to you, stay at the hotel. The food and drinks are way better, the beach is nicer, and the shopping in Playa del Carmen is better too. Room was big, my 7 year old was the only one to use the jacuzzi tub (bubble bath) but it looked those traveling without kids could enjoy a nice romantic bath. Beds were comfy - perhaps a bit on the firm side for most, but just right for me. Plenty of bottled water, which was always restocked. Also, do the room service for breakfast on tour days. The bus leaves early, and you'll be glad you got something quick to eat. I never used the pool, the ocean was so warm and nice to swim in. My 7 year old loved the waves, and played in water and on the beach for 5 hours straight. There is a sandbar about 40 feet offshore, so the depth is always less than 4 feet for a good ways out. My son could touch bottom as far out as the sandbar and beyond, so wading is pretty safe for kids (of course, you still need to keep a close eye! but you don't have to be holding on to them the whole time either). Overall, one of the best vacations we've taken! It was a our first real "beach" vacation, now we know what we were missing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a "general store" about 3 blocks away on the main street (forget the name) in town. Great selection of souveniers, and better prices on sunblock and beach essentials than the hotel gift shop.

Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Playaman
Business
Albuquerque,NM
Dec 26, 2010

Amazing, luxurious

We mostly stayed at the hotel. The service was amazing. The ocean view was incredible. Best week of our lives :) I'd recommend Playacar Palace to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

[...]

Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Dec 13, 2010

Love this place!

We've stayed in many all-inclusives in Mexico and this is the best yet. Excellent food. Excellent location just a block from the Cozumel ferry and 5th Avenue. We visited Playcar Palace on a day trip a couple of years ago and saw the lack of beach as the only drawback. Now that the beach is back in tact, this place is perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Oct 6, 2010

Near perfect vacation

When we booked this hotel, we were prepared for the typical all-inclusive experience...bad food, no personal service, loud pool, etc. We could not have been more wrong! Playacar Palace had fantastic food, staff who knew our names and favorite foods and drinks by our second day, and a very relaxing atmosphere. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation. The $1500 resort dollar promotion is a great deal which allowed us to upgrade our room, book a day at the spa, and a tour for two. I cannot say enough about the excellent service. The staff was pleasant and knew us by name by the second day. Our room was spotless and the view from the balcony magnificent. I only have two suggestions for improvements: 1. An activity room with pool table, ping pong, board games, etc, would be nice for bad weather days. There might have been one, but we never saw it. 2. The buffet restaurant turns into a Mexican a la carte restaurant at night. I prefer the buffet, because it is nice to have little bits of all the different foods! By the way, I am not a Palace Resorts member, timeshare owner, or travel agent, so I have no agenda in writing an excellent review. I just really enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AKotlarz
Business
Crystal Lake,IL
Aug 27, 2010

Amazing,better than you can imagine!!

We were on our honeymoon and we booked the honeymoon suite. It was amazing we had the best views from the bedroom and the balcony. This hotel is in the perfect spot,its literally a 2 minute walk to the ferry for cozumel,yes your very close but its super quite!! The hotel staff was beyond friendly,were expecting and everyone was so nice and always asked if the baby wanted anything to eat or drink. The pool was great plenty of chairs,towels,and the pool staff were awesome! The hotel had 2 restaurants and a buffet by far the buffet was the best. You could basically get anything you wanted. We went to out to dinner once and were disappointed that we did,the hotel had way better food. We used our $1500 credit on the spa,swim with the dolphins and a romantic dinner,yes it is real it's not a scam. The house keeper we had was so sweet,she made us little gifts everyday and left it on our bed. The hotel had amazing shows that you would have to pay to see at Coco Bongo,they had a circus show, fire show, dancing,Michael Jackson and Madonna impersonators. We loved the hotel so much we are going back in May and will continue to go there whenever we travel to Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay here you will save $25 a day in taxi fare just driving down to 5th Avenue. If you go you need to shop at 5th Avenue they have a ton of amazing little shops and restaurants.

Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dest222
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 27, 2010

Service & location - great resort!!

I couldn't be happier with our choice of the Playacar Palace. Our family of 4 (kids ages 13 and 10) stayed for 9 nites. The service at this resort is outstanding. The restaurant service, pool service, buffet service, maid service, the entertainment guys...you will know these people by their names and they by yours. They are not only efficient but helpful, accomodating and cheerful. And we always felt safe, something my husband was initially worried about when I said Mexico. The location is great. You can walk to the ferry to go to Cozumel for the day. Shopping at Playa del Carmen is steps away. The beach is steps from the pool and it is a wonderful beach. White powdery sand and beautiful water. I didn't want to stay at a resort that was a mile just to get off the property. Playa del Carmen is a good in between spot if you are planning excursions to Cancun, Tulum, etc. We were very active during our vacation doing many excursions and tours. I also did not want a huge resort that I would get lost in or have to walk a mile in the heat to get to the pool/beach. This is a smaller resort so if you just want to stay on the resort you may want to try a larger Palace resort. Although we did spend 4 of the 10 days there lounging at the pool & beach and were never bored. There certainly was enough entertainment with good nightly shows, night activities in the lounge bar and activities at the pool/beach during the day. We played beach volleyball, pool volley ball, trivia games, water polo. [...] are always keeping you entertained. We took full advantage of the $1500 dollar promotion the hotel has now for tours, spa, etc. No problems using this or planning it with the hotel. They were very helpful. We mostly used it on tours but I also had a phenomenal hot stone massage and facial at Aventura Palace. The spa for Playacar Palace is offsite but there is a shuttle that runs every 15 minutes. I ended up at Aventura because I made my appointment for a Sunday when the staff is less, I also made the appointment the day before. They do ask you to go to a presentation for which they will give you extras. They are not overbearing about it. If you have no interest, just say no. It does end up being a very attractive offer because the Palace Resorts really are great. We went because we were offered extra spa credits, but we were very tempted. In the end, we decided against a membership. The food was great, plentiful, varied. I do think the drinks were watered down. If you asked for them to be strong, they would make them stronger. And if you are a beer drinker, they only have Dos Equis (spelling?) on tap. That would probably be my biggest complaint. I would've loved to have a Corona. Not a big fan of Dos Equis. All in all, this was the best vacation ever and a great place to bring the family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to 5th Avenue at night. If you go during the day, there is not as much foot traffic and I found the merchants to be annoying with their attempts to get you to come in their stores. These people are very polite and if you say no, they will respect it but there seems to be overwhelming competition between them. Also, it was too darn hot to shop there during the day! And we loved the fire street performers at nite!

Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
State College, PA
Jul 6, 2010

Nice stay, great location

We stayed from June 26-July 1 at the Playacar Palace. After reading an online review indicating that a guest used their $1500 resort credit for a room upgrade, I emailed the hotel three days before arrival to inquire about a similar upgrade (my request was for a room with a larger balcony and oceanview). I received an email from the front desk manager who said that we could use the credit for an upgrade to a concierge level room. It turns out that there really is very little difference between a concierge level room and a standard room -- just nightly petit fors and a complimentary beach bag. So, that was a little disappointing. However, once we got past that - here is what I'll say about the hotel: 1) Service - At the restaurant, poolside, and beachside, the service was outstanding! The employees were attentive, but not intrusive, and they were very friendly. 2) Food - There was good variety on the daily buffet, but the best food was "made to order." The seafood (mussels, calamari) and chicken were delicious when prepared this way. The homemade ice cream (especially the strawberry and the coconut) was excellent! We went to the Asian restaurant one night and the food was not very good (as previous reviews have indicated). 3) Pool and beach - We always found chairs by the pool in a desirable location. The area was generally clean. However, the shallow pool (less than 1 foot) nearest the beach was consistently dirty, but no one was going in there anyway. The beach was beautiful in front of the hotel. We laid out on chairs two days (when it was cloudy), but once the sun appeared - it was just too hot. I wish they would put some umbrellas out there! Due to the tropical storm, the surf was very rough so we didn't go in except to wade around to cool off. 4) Entertainment - The fire show was the only one we attended and it was pretty good. The show ended early enough that there was still time to go out on 5th Ave afterward. 5) Location - This is primarily why we picked this hotel. So close to 5th Ave - just a very short walk to all the shops! We felt very safe at all times. The ferry dock is also close by and we never experienced any noise from it. 6) Concierge - Our assigned concierge was really just there to get us to sign up for tours (which would've been free for us, but the weather was too unpredictable - i.e., Tropical Storm Alex) and get us to attend a timeshare presentation. She was not very helpful, in general. 7) Room - The room was wiped down every day and clean towels/wash cloths/hand towels were replaced daily. The size of the room and bathroom was sufficient. The shower water did not leak out as others have mentioned. It was nice having a refrigerator in the room. 8) Closet and safe - Both of these were of ample size. The safe was large enough to fit my 14" laptop plus wallets, travel docs, cameras, etc. while we were not in the room. All in all, we had a very nice stay and are likely to return to this hotel when we return to Playa Del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the jewelry shop on Calle 14 (between 5th and 10th Aves) called "Yulunga." The jewelry is affordable and handmade which is very rare in Playa Del Carmen. Its owner and the artisan, Veronica, is fabulous -- she made a pair of earrings for me!

Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nicster
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 29, 2010

A little disappointed

Inconsistent staff not very helpful answering questions about attraction locations, cab fare prices, pool closing times or dress code at the resort restaurants. Also received mixed info on how the $1500 credit works, we were tricked into a timeshare sales pitch when we tried to inquire. When we figured out what was happening we declined to book any activities through concierge. They are sales people who went so far as to call and harass us in our room about not participating in the presentation. The food is horrible in every restaurant. The only decent meal we had at the resort was room service. All the food seems old and tastes awful. On day 4 of our 7 days there we couldn't do it anymore and ventured off the resort for our meals. Defiantly a bummer since we booked the All-Inclusive package but it wasn't worth eating disgusting food. The location is great, the beach is stunning and rooms were beautiful. However, when I go back to Playa I will not stay at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Off the resort, up 5th Ave there is a restaurant called La Cuevo Del Chengo. Maybe the best meal I have had in my life. Everything is homemade and tastes delicious!

Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Visalia CA.
Jun 29, 2010

Time Share Pressure

Great Facility, Rooms, & Beach. Closer to Snorkle & Cave tour then Cancun. Only three choices of inclusive dinning. Buffet same everyday, food not that great. Italian & Japanese resturants only choices and also not that great. We ended up eating outside complex last few days. Now the unpleasant part and will try to keep it short. Lost bag at Airport. Ask staff to please call lost and found Monday, Tuesday, & Wednesday. Never happened as lost and found per return had our bag (which was needed!) advised that no calls were received from Hotel. Last but not least, wasted 2 hours waiting to book free dollar activities hotel offered only to find out that 2 hour Time Share presentation was required.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

3/4 mile north on 5th ave was Beverly Hills of area. Resturant choices first class, Business's not chanting to sell you something. Please dine at La Cueva del Chango. Awesome food, price, & service!

Review of Playacar Palace All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EJG
Business
Minnesota
May 26, 2010

This place was Amazing!!!

Everything from what you are given in your rooms to the staff are very accomodating. You are welcomed from the moment you arrived to the day you leave. Everything was inclusive, such as the food and the drinks. There were three different places to eat - buffet style. Asian, and Italian. We hit up all three and every one had great food! The staff are friendly. There were different activities every night to keep you entertained. Great location for weddings! We were there for a friends wedding, and it was simply gorgeous watching the ceremony with the ocean in the background.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try all three places! Great food at everyone!

Back to menu Return to top