$407 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

4 stars
Bahia Del Espiritu Santo Esq. Abraira de Arriba, Fracc. Playacar Km. 62.5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
75 reviews
Just could NOT have been better

We had the best stay! There is no possible way we could even imagine better service at the Playacar... See full review

  • Just wanted a room
  • Jun 26, 2014
Playacar Palace

Awesome! Loved this place...everyone is so nice and accomodating! See full review

  • Daniella B.
  • Nov 8, 2013
This intimate, family and beachfront resort,located in Playacar Hotel Zone offers beautifully appointed rooms, all with double Jacuzzis, balcony and 24 hour room service. Excellent dining services, a beautiful pool with a swim up bar, and exquisite bars and lounges with views to the stunning Caribbean Sea and Cozumel Island. Take the opportunity to experience a soothing escape at our state-of-the-art Spa facility,. Selected tours, daily and nightly entertainment included. Honeymoon specials and golf package available.

The Hotel offers excellent service and the best personal attention:
-Luxurious accommodations
-Fine dining (3 restaurants)
-Top shelf drinks (domestic & imported)
-24 hr. room service
-Wireless Internet
-Kiddie pool and Kids Club (ages 4-12)
-Solarium
-Spa facilities, Fitness Center, Beauty salon and Spa boutique
-Tennis court nearby
-Table games
-Daily activities
-Concierge, Bell staff service
-Wedding services
Gift shop, Travel Agency, Car rental, Doctors on call 24 hrs.
-Dry cleaning & laundry service
-Cribs, rollaways & wheelchairs on request
-Currency exchange, ATM machine
-Golf package

Enjoy exchange privileges at selected Palace Resorts.(Some restrictions apply.)
br /> Palace Passport
Book a minimum three-night stay in any Palace resort in Cancun or Riviera Maya for travel now through December 23, 2013, and receive a Palace Passport (FREE Resort Credit) that includes:
-25% discount on green fees (at regular price; per adult) at Moon Spa & Golf Club, (per adult)
-US$15 toward a car rental through an on-site rental agency (per room/per stay; minimum 2 day rental)
-25% discount towards select spa treatments (per day/per adult)
-Unlimited select tours per person)
Buy one get on free Swim with the Dolphins and ATV Tour. Certain restrictions apply.

Honeymoon package:
-Fruit basket
-One bottle of sparkling wine
-One romantic candlelightd inner
-Two T-shirts
-Use of services provided by the honeymoon desk.
-Late check-out (until 6 PM) may be requested and is subject to availability.

All students must be 18 years of age and older. - Students under 18 years of age must travel and room with a parent/legal guardian. (No exceptions) - 1 Chaperone (over 25 yrs old) for every 20 students. - Proof of age required. All students will be required to provide their valid passports upon check-in. - Alcohol will be served to students over 18 years of age and older only. - Legal drinking age in Mexico is 18. We might ask for an I.D. at any time. Underage drinking and providing alcohol to minors is punished by law. - Introducing alcohol to the premises or taking it out from them is not allowed. - Tape recorders, radios and any sound devices may not be used in the rooms, building or at the pool area; you will only be allowed to use them with headphones. Remember there are other guests in the property who will resent noises and disturbances. - You will be financially and legally responsible for all damages and disruptions caused in the property. - A credit card guarantee is required upon check in to charge in the event of damage. - The hotel can and will suspend any or all of its services to guests who, in the hotel's opinion, display or enact improper conduct offensive and/or unacceptable and/or dangerous to others and/or themselves.

Hotel Map

20.613 -87.0818
Area served
Playa del Carmen, MX
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - CUN
Area description
With the best location in the Playacar development, just a few steps from the quaint town of Playa del Carmen, and next to the island of Cozumel's connect ferry-boarding dock.

Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Deluxe Ocean View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
-Chi Bath Amenities
-Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4 guests, including children & infants
-525 Sq. Ft
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Some rooms have a Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
-Chi Bath Amenities
-Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4 guests, including children & infants
-525 Sq.Ft
Honeymoon Suite
Each elegantly appointed suite features:
1 King bed
Double Jacuzzi
In Room Wine and Fruits
Private Bath w/ shower only
Seating Area & Balcony
Liquor dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka - Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
Flat Screen LCD TV w/ Satellite
Purified water
Chi Bath Amenities
Bathrobes & Slippers
Digital safe (laptop size)
Coffee Maker
Direct Dial telephone, Alarm clock, Hair Dryer, Iron / ironing board
Wireless Internet
24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
Ocean Front View
Max Occupancy: 2 adults
633 Sq. Ft.
Deluxe - Resort View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-In Room Wine and Fruits
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4guests, including children ages 4-17. A maximum of 1 infant (ages 0-3) will be allowed to stay in the same room with 4guests
-525 Sq.Ft
Concierge Level
Ocean view rooms located on top 3 floors, room features:
-King bed
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains premium, upgraded brands of liquor -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/Satellite
-Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers
-Aromatherapy & Pillows menu
-2- 25 Minute Massage at the Beach/Spa/Treatment rooms
-Digital safe laptop size
-Espresso/American Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Clock/Radio/IPOD dock, Professional Hair Dryer & Wireless Internet
-24-Hr room service with select menu from restaurant menus to create a "Special Menu" & Nightly Petit Fours-Turndown Service
-Exclusive Concierge Phone Service, Private check-in & out/Late check-out & Early check-in (subject to availability) -Max Occ. 2guests
-525 Sq Ft

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Cielo Bar
Lobby bar from 10:00 am - 1:00 am
Luna Lounge
Lounge bar with Thai hors d'oeuvres from 6:00 pm - 2:00 am
Cafe del Mar
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: International/Mexican (Dinner)
Breakfast Int'l buffet: from 6:30 am - 11:00 am
Lunch Int'l buffet: from 12:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Dinner buffet: from 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
Terrazza
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: Italian a la carte
Dinner: from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code: Casual elegance. Long pants, collared shirts & shoes required.
Aquabar
Pool & snack bar from 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Moonlight bar service from 6:00 pm - 11 pm
Mo Mo No Ha Na
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: Asian, Oriental
Dinner: from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code: Casual elegance. Long pants, collared shirts & shoes required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jun 2, 2011

Fabulous 50th!!

Location is perfect!! Walking distance to 5th Ave, ferry, restaurants etc. We had one of the best rooms possible on the 5th floor overlooking the pool and ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Astro Boy
Dallas, TX
May 7, 2011

Perfect Vacation!

Playacar Palace was above and beyond what we were expecting in a vacation! The hotel is about a hour drive from the Cancun Airport, which is a little inconvenient, but also gets you away from the more hectic Cancun. Playacar has a more secluded and laid back feel to it. First of all, the location is really top notch. This hotel is a little older (but well maintained) but as a result has laid claim to prime real estate. The beach is fantastic - white powder sand, warm turquoise ocean to swim in - so much like a postcard its hard to believe that its real! Right next door is the lively "downtown" of Playa del Carmen, great for shopping and night clubs if thats your thing. A number of guests seemed to spend a lot of nights at Senor Frogs, which is just adjacent to the hotel. Also, the ferry dock to Cozumel island is right there too, offering an easy way to get a change of scenery (there is a Palace resort on Cozumel, so you can get your all inclusive benefits there as well!) The all-inclusive food and drinks were great. We ate twice at Terraza (the italian restaraunt) and twice at the Asian one, and once at the Mexican Buffet. Sushi was pretty good at the Asian restaurant, though the entrees were a little hit and miss. Italian was consistently delicious, and the buffet was really good too! The drinks were surprisingly good. I had been expecting things to be a little watered down, but they seemed full strength to me - and tasty to boot! (we tried Pina Coladas, Margaritas, Mai Tais, Miami Vice, all great). My only complaint is I would have prefered Corona rather than Dos Equis for the beer. The service was really exceptional. From the moment we arrived to when we left, the staff worked really hard to make sure we had everything we needed. While gratuities are included, it seems a few small bills for great service are appreciated - and these folks really earn it. Having the $1500 resort credit offer available for tours was what led us to choose Palace in the first place. We did the Chichen Itza, Tulum, and Isla Mujeres tours. The mayan ruins were incredible, and we had top notch guides each time (Arnando was probably the best guide we've had anywhere!). The drawback is a mandatory stop at a Mayan gift shop for each of the cultural trips. Some of the stuff they sell is pretty neat (I like the obsidian carvings) but the prices are a little high. If there's nothing you want to buy, you end up standing around a while. Isla Mujeres is good if you want to snorkel (I loved it, my son and wife were not as keen on it) or swim with the dolphins / manatees / sharks / sea lions. Not really my thing. All of these things cost extra. If none of these things appeals to you, stay at the hotel. The food and drinks are way better, the beach is nicer, and the shopping in Playa del Carmen is better too. Room was big, my 7 year old was the only one to use the jacuzzi tub (bubble bath) but it looked those traveling without kids could enjoy a nice romantic bath. Beds were comfy - perhaps a bit on the firm side for most, but just right for me. Plenty of bottled water, which was always restocked. Also, do the room service for breakfast on tour days. The bus leaves early, and you'll be glad you got something quick to eat. I never used the pool, the ocean was so warm and nice to swim in. My 7 year old loved the waves, and played in water and on the beach for 5 hours straight. There is a sandbar about 40 feet offshore, so the depth is always less than 4 feet for a good ways out. My son could touch bottom as far out as the sandbar and beyond, so wading is pretty safe for kids (of course, you still need to keep a close eye! but you don't have to be holding on to them the whole time either). Overall, one of the best vacations we've taken! It was a our first real "beach" vacation, now we know what we were missing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a "general store" about 3 blocks away on the main street (forget the name) in town. Great selection of souveniers, and better prices on sunblock and beach essentials than the hotel gift shop.

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Astro Boy
Dallas, TX
May 7, 2011

Perfect Vacation!

Playacar Palace was above and beyond what we were expecting in a vacation! The hotel is about a hour drive from the Cancun Airport, which is a little inconvenient, but also gets you away from the more hectic Cancun. Playacar has a more secluded and laid back feel to it. First of all, the location is really top notch. This hotel is a little older (but well maintained) but as a result has laid claim to prime real estate. The beach is fantastic - white powder sand, warm turquoise ocean to swim in - so much like a postcard its hard to believe that its real! Right next door is the lively "downtown" of Playa del Carmen, great for shopping and night clubs if thats your thing. A number of guests seemed to spend a lot of nights at Senor Frogs, which is just adjacent to the hotel. Also, the ferry dock to Cozumel island is right there too, offering an easy way to get a change of scenery (there is a Palace resort on Cozumel, so you can get your all inclusive benefits there as well!) The all-inclusive food and drinks were great. We ate twice at Terraza (the italian restaraunt) and twice at the Asian one, and once at the Mexican Buffet. Sushi was pretty good at the Asian restaurant, though the entrees were a little hit and miss. Italian was consistently delicious, and the buffet was really good too! The drinks were surprisingly good. I had been expecting things to be a little watered down, but they seemed full strength to me - and tasty to boot! (we tried Pina Coladas, Margaritas, Mai Tais, Miami Vice, all great). My only complaint is I would have prefered Corona rather than Dos Equis for the beer. The service was really exceptional. From the moment we arrived to when we left, the staff worked really hard to make sure we had everything we needed. While gratuities are included, it seems a few small bills for great service are appreciated - and these folks really earn it. Having the $1500 resort credit offer available for tours was what led us to choose Palace in the first place. We did the Chichen Itza, Tulum, and Isla Mujeres tours. The mayan ruins were incredible, and we had top notch guides each time (Arnando was probably the best guide we've had anywhere!). The drawback is a mandatory stop at a Mayan gift shop for each of the cultural trips. Some of the stuff they sell is pretty neat (I like the obsidian carvings) but the prices are a little high. If there's nothing you want to buy, you end up standing around a while. Isla Mujeres is good if you want to snorkel (I loved it, my son and wife were not as keen on it) or swim with the dolphins / manatees / sharks / sea lions. Not really my thing. All of these things cost extra. If none of these things appeals to you, stay at the hotel. The food and drinks are way better, the beach is nicer, and the shopping in Playa del Carmen is better too. Room was big, my 7 year old was the only one to use the jacuzzi tub (bubble bath) but it looked those traveling without kids could enjoy a nice romantic bath. Beds were comfy - perhaps a bit on the firm side for most, but just right for me. Plenty of bottled water, which was always restocked. Also, do the room service for breakfast on tour days. The bus leaves early, and you'll be glad you got something quick to eat. I never used the pool, the ocean was so warm and nice to swim in. My 7 year old loved the waves, and played in water and on the beach for 5 hours straight. There is a sandbar about 40 feet offshore, so the depth is always less than 4 feet for a good ways out. My son could touch bottom as far out as the sandbar and beyond, so wading is pretty safe for kids (of course, you still need to keep a close eye! but you don't have to be holding on to them the whole time either). Overall, one of the best vacations we've taken! It was a our first real "beach" vacation, now we know what we were missing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a "general store" about 3 blocks away on the main street (forget the name) in town. Great selection of souveniers, and better prices on sunblock and beach essentials than the hotel gift shop.

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Playaman
Albuquerque,NM
Dec 26, 2010

Amazing, luxurious

We mostly stayed at the hotel. The service was amazing. The ocean view was incredible. Best week of our lives :) I'd recommend Playacar Palace to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

[...]

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Playaman
Albuquerque,NM
Dec 26, 2010

Amazing, luxurious

We mostly stayed at the hotel. The service was amazing. The ocean view was incredible. Best week of our lives :) I'd recommend Playacar Palace to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

[...]

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
Dec 13, 2010

Love this place!

We've stayed in many all-inclusives in Mexico and this is the best yet. Excellent food. Excellent location just a block from the Cozumel ferry and 5th Avenue. We visited Playcar Palace on a day trip a couple of years ago and saw the lack of beach as the only drawback. Now that the beach is back in tact, this place is perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
Dec 13, 2010

Love this place!

We've stayed in many all-inclusives in Mexico and this is the best yet. Excellent food. Excellent location just a block from the Cozumel ferry and 5th Avenue. We visited Playcar Palace on a day trip a couple of years ago and saw the lack of beach as the only drawback. Now that the beach is back in tact, this place is perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Oct 6, 2010

Near perfect vacation

When we booked this hotel, we were prepared for the typical all-inclusive experience...bad food, no personal service, loud pool, etc. We could not have been more wrong! Playacar Palace had fantastic food, staff who knew our names and favorite foods and drinks by our second day, and a very relaxing atmosphere. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation. The $1500 resort dollar promotion is a great deal which allowed us to upgrade our room, book a day at the spa, and a tour for two. I cannot say enough about the excellent service. The staff was pleasant and knew us by name by the second day. Our room was spotless and the view from the balcony magnificent. I only have two suggestions for improvements: 1. An activity room with pool table, ping pong, board games, etc, would be nice for bad weather days. There might have been one, but we never saw it. 2. The buffet restaurant turns into a Mexican a la carte restaurant at night. I prefer the buffet, because it is nice to have little bits of all the different foods! By the way, I am not a Palace Resorts member, timeshare owner, or travel agent, so I have no agenda in writing an excellent review. I just really enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Oct 6, 2010

Near perfect vacation

When we booked this hotel, we were prepared for the typical all-inclusive experience...bad food, no personal service, loud pool, etc. We could not have been more wrong! Playacar Palace had fantastic food, staff who knew our names and favorite foods and drinks by our second day, and a very relaxing atmosphere. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation. The $1500 resort dollar promotion is a great deal which allowed us to upgrade our room, book a day at the spa, and a tour for two. I cannot say enough about the excellent service. The staff was pleasant and knew us by name by the second day. Our room was spotless and the view from the balcony magnificent. I only have two suggestions for improvements: 1. An activity room with pool table, ping pong, board games, etc, would be nice for bad weather days. There might have been one, but we never saw it. 2. The buffet restaurant turns into a Mexican a la carte restaurant at night. I prefer the buffet, because it is nice to have little bits of all the different foods! By the way, I am not a Palace Resorts member, timeshare owner, or travel agent, so I have no agenda in writing an excellent review. I just really enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AKotlarz
Crystal Lake,IL
Aug 27, 2010

Amazing,better than you can imagine!!

We were on our honeymoon and we booked the honeymoon suite. It was amazing we had the best views from the bedroom and the balcony. This hotel is in the perfect spot,its literally a 2 minute walk to the ferry for cozumel,yes your very close but its super quite!! The hotel staff was beyond friendly,were expecting and everyone was so nice and always asked if the baby wanted anything to eat or drink. The pool was great plenty of chairs,towels,and the pool staff were awesome! The hotel had 2 restaurants and a buffet by far the buffet was the best. You could basically get anything you wanted. We went to out to dinner once and were disappointed that we did,the hotel had way better food. We used our $1500 credit on the spa,swim with the dolphins and a romantic dinner,yes it is real it's not a scam. The house keeper we had was so sweet,she made us little gifts everyday and left it on our bed. The hotel had amazing shows that you would have to pay to see at Coco Bongo,they had a circus show, fire show, dancing,Michael Jackson and Madonna impersonators. We loved the hotel so much we are going back in May and will continue to go there whenever we travel to Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay here you will save $25 a day in taxi fare just driving down to 5th Avenue. If you go you need to shop at 5th Avenue they have a ton of amazing little shops and restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top