$367 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 13, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

4 stars
Bahia Del Espiritu Santo Esq. Abraira de Arriba, Fracc. Playacar Km. 62.5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
45 reviews
Just could NOT have been better

We had the best stay! There is no possible way we could even imagine better service at the Playacar... See full review

  • Just wanted a room
  • Jun 26, 2014
Playacar Palace

Awesome! Loved this place...everyone is so nice and accomodating! See full review

  • Daniella B.
  • Nov 8, 2013
This intimate, family and beachfront resort,located in Playacar Hotel Zone offers beautifully appointed rooms, all with double Jacuzzis, balcony and 24 hour room service. Excellent dining services, a beautiful pool with a swim up bar, and exquisite bars and lounges with views to the stunning Caribbean Sea and Cozumel Island. Take the opportunity to experience a soothing escape at our state-of-the-art Spa facility,. Selected tours, daily and nightly entertainment included. Honeymoon specials and golf package available.

The Hotel offers excellent service and the best personal attention:
-Luxurious accommodations
-Fine dining (3 restaurants)
-Top shelf drinks (domestic & imported)
-24 hr. room service
-Wireless Internet
-Kiddie pool and Kids Club (ages 4-12)
-Solarium
-Spa facilities, Fitness Center, Beauty salon and Spa boutique
-Tennis court nearby
-Table games
-Daily activities
-Concierge, Bell staff service
-Wedding services
Gift shop, Travel Agency, Car rental, Doctors on call 24 hrs.
-Dry cleaning & laundry service
-Cribs, rollaways & wheelchairs on request
-Currency exchange, ATM machine
-Golf package

Enjoy exchange privileges at selected Palace Resorts.(Some restrictions apply.)
br /> Palace Passport
Book a minimum three-night stay in any Palace resort in Cancun or Riviera Maya for travel now through December 23, 2013, and receive a Palace Passport (FREE Resort Credit) that includes:
-25% discount on green fees (at regular price; per adult) at Moon Spa & Golf Club, (per adult)
-US$15 toward a car rental through an on-site rental agency (per room/per stay; minimum 2 day rental)
-25% discount towards select spa treatments (per day/per adult)
-Unlimited select tours per person)
Buy one get on free Swim with the Dolphins and ATV Tour. Certain restrictions apply.

Honeymoon package:
-Fruit basket
-One bottle of sparkling wine
-One romantic candlelightd inner
-Two T-shirts
-Use of services provided by the honeymoon desk.
-Late check-out (until 6 PM) may be requested and is subject to availability.

All students must be 18 years of age and older. - Students under 18 years of age must travel and room with a parent/legal guardian. (No exceptions) - 1 Chaperone (over 25 yrs old) for every 20 students. - Proof of age required. All students will be required to provide their valid passports upon check-in. - Alcohol will be served to students over 18 years of age and older only. - Legal drinking age in Mexico is 18. We might ask for an I.D. at any time. Underage drinking and providing alcohol to minors is punished by law. - Introducing alcohol to the premises or taking it out from them is not allowed. - Tape recorders, radios and any sound devices may not be used in the rooms, building or at the pool area; you will only be allowed to use them with headphones. Remember there are other guests in the property who will resent noises and disturbances. - You will be financially and legally responsible for all damages and disruptions caused in the property. - A credit card guarantee is required upon check in to charge in the event of damage. - The hotel can and will suspend any or all of its services to guests who, in the hotel's opinion, display or enact improper conduct offensive and/or unacceptable and/or dangerous to others and/or themselves.

Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Deluxe Ocean View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
-Chi Bath Amenities
-Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4 guests, including children & infants
-525 Sq. Ft
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Some rooms have a Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
-Chi Bath Amenities
-Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4 guests, including children & infants
-525 Sq.Ft
Honeymoon Suite
Each elegantly appointed suite features:
1 King bed
Double Jacuzzi
In Room Wine and Fruits
Private Bath w/ shower only
Seating Area & Balcony
Liquor dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka - Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
Flat Screen LCD TV w/ Satellite
Purified water
Chi Bath Amenities
Bathrobes & Slippers
Digital safe (laptop size)
Coffee Maker
Direct Dial telephone, Alarm clock, Hair Dryer, Iron / ironing board
Wireless Internet
24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
Ocean Front View
Max Occupancy: 2 adults
633 Sq. Ft.
Deluxe - Resort View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-In Room Wine and Fruits
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4guests, including children ages 4-17. A maximum of 1 infant (ages 0-3) will be allowed to stay in the same room with 4guests
-525 Sq.Ft
Concierge Level
Ocean view rooms located on top 3 floors, room features:
-King bed
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains premium, upgraded brands of liquor -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/Satellite
-Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers
-Aromatherapy & Pillows menu
-2- 25 Minute Massage at the Beach/Spa/Treatment rooms
-Digital safe laptop size
-Espresso/American Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Clock/Radio/IPOD dock, Professional Hair Dryer & Wireless Internet
-24-Hr room service with select menu from restaurant menus to create a "Special Menu" & Nightly Petit Fours-Turndown Service
-Exclusive Concierge Phone Service, Private check-in & out/Late check-out & Early check-in (subject to availability) -Max Occ. 2guests
-525 Sq Ft

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Cielo Bar
Lobby bar from 10:00 am - 1:00 am
Luna Lounge
Lounge bar with Thai hors d'oeuvres from 6:00 pm - 2:00 am
Cafe del Mar
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: International/Mexican (Dinner)
Breakfast Int'l buffet: from 6:30 am - 11:00 am
Lunch Int'l buffet: from 12:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Dinner buffet: from 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
Terrazza
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: Italian a la carte
Dinner: from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code: Casual elegance. Long pants, collared shirts & shoes required.
Aquabar
Pool & snack bar from 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Moonlight bar service from 6:00 pm - 11 pm
Mo Mo No Ha Na
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: Asian, Oriental
Dinner: from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code: Casual elegance. Long pants, collared shirts & shoes required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Oct 6, 2010

Near perfect vacation

When we booked this hotel, we were prepared for the typical all-inclusive experience...bad food, no personal service, loud pool, etc. We could not have been more wrong! Playacar Palace had fantastic food, staff who knew our names and favorite foods and drinks by our second day, and a very relaxing atmosphere. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation. The $1500 resort dollar promotion is a great deal which allowed us to upgrade our room, book a day at the spa, and a tour for two. I cannot say enough about the excellent service. The staff was pleasant and knew us by name by the second day. Our room was spotless and the view from the balcony magnificent. I only have two suggestions for improvements: 1. An activity room with pool table, ping pong, board games, etc, would be nice for bad weather days. There might have been one, but we never saw it. 2. The buffet restaurant turns into a Mexican a la carte restaurant at night. I prefer the buffet, because it is nice to have little bits of all the different foods! By the way, I am not a Palace Resorts member, timeshare owner, or travel agent, so I have no agenda in writing an excellent review. I just really enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AKotlarz
Business
Crystal Lake,IL
Aug 27, 2010

Amazing,better than you can imagine!!

We were on our honeymoon and we booked the honeymoon suite. It was amazing we had the best views from the bedroom and the balcony. This hotel is in the perfect spot,its literally a 2 minute walk to the ferry for cozumel,yes your very close but its super quite!! The hotel staff was beyond friendly,were expecting and everyone was so nice and always asked if the baby wanted anything to eat or drink. The pool was great plenty of chairs,towels,and the pool staff were awesome! The hotel had 2 restaurants and a buffet by far the buffet was the best. You could basically get anything you wanted. We went to out to dinner once and were disappointed that we did,the hotel had way better food. We used our $1500 credit on the spa,swim with the dolphins and a romantic dinner,yes it is real it's not a scam. The house keeper we had was so sweet,she made us little gifts everyday and left it on our bed. The hotel had amazing shows that you would have to pay to see at Coco Bongo,they had a circus show, fire show, dancing,Michael Jackson and Madonna impersonators. We loved the hotel so much we are going back in May and will continue to go there whenever we travel to Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay here you will save $25 a day in taxi fare just driving down to 5th Avenue. If you go you need to shop at 5th Avenue they have a ton of amazing little shops and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dest222
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 27, 2010

Service & location - great resort!!

I couldn't be happier with our choice of the Playacar Palace. Our family of 4 (kids ages 13 and 10) stayed for 9 nites. The service at this resort is outstanding. The restaurant service, pool service, buffet service, maid service, the entertainment guys...you will know these people by their names and they by yours. They are not only efficient but helpful, accomodating and cheerful. And we always felt safe, something my husband was initially worried about when I said Mexico. The location is great. You can walk to the ferry to go to Cozumel for the day. Shopping at Playa del Carmen is steps away. The beach is steps from the pool and it is a wonderful beach. White powdery sand and beautiful water. I didn't want to stay at a resort that was a mile just to get off the property. Playa del Carmen is a good in between spot if you are planning excursions to Cancun, Tulum, etc. We were very active during our vacation doing many excursions and tours. I also did not want a huge resort that I would get lost in or have to walk a mile in the heat to get to the pool/beach. This is a smaller resort so if you just want to stay on the resort you may want to try a larger Palace resort. Although we did spend 4 of the 10 days there lounging at the pool & beach and were never bored. There certainly was enough entertainment with good nightly shows, night activities in the lounge bar and activities at the pool/beach during the day. We played beach volleyball, pool volley ball, trivia games, water polo. [...] are always keeping you entertained. We took full advantage of the $1500 dollar promotion the hotel has now for tours, spa, etc. No problems using this or planning it with the hotel. They were very helpful. We mostly used it on tours but I also had a phenomenal hot stone massage and facial at Aventura Palace. The spa for Playacar Palace is offsite but there is a shuttle that runs every 15 minutes. I ended up at Aventura because I made my appointment for a Sunday when the staff is less, I also made the appointment the day before. They do ask you to go to a presentation for which they will give you extras. They are not overbearing about it. If you have no interest, just say no. It does end up being a very attractive offer because the Palace Resorts really are great. We went because we were offered extra spa credits, but we were very tempted. In the end, we decided against a membership. The food was great, plentiful, varied. I do think the drinks were watered down. If you asked for them to be strong, they would make them stronger. And if you are a beer drinker, they only have Dos Equis (spelling?) on tap. That would probably be my biggest complaint. I would've loved to have a Corona. Not a big fan of Dos Equis. All in all, this was the best vacation ever and a great place to bring the family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to 5th Avenue at night. If you go during the day, there is not as much foot traffic and I found the merchants to be annoying with their attempts to get you to come in their stores. These people are very polite and if you say no, they will respect it but there seems to be overwhelming competition between them. Also, it was too darn hot to shop there during the day! And we loved the fire street performers at nite!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
State College, PA
Jul 6, 2010

Nice stay, great location

We stayed from June 26-July 1 at the Playacar Palace. After reading an online review indicating that a guest used their $1500 resort credit for a room upgrade, I emailed the hotel three days before arrival to inquire about a similar upgrade (my request was for a room with a larger balcony and oceanview). I received an email from the front desk manager who said that we could use the credit for an upgrade to a concierge level room. It turns out that there really is very little difference between a concierge level room and a standard room -- just nightly petit fors and a complimentary beach bag. So, that was a little disappointing. However, once we got past that - here is what I'll say about the hotel: 1) Service - At the restaurant, poolside, and beachside, the service was outstanding! The employees were attentive, but not intrusive, and they were very friendly. 2) Food - There was good variety on the daily buffet, but the best food was "made to order." The seafood (mussels, calamari) and chicken were delicious when prepared this way. The homemade ice cream (especially the strawberry and the coconut) was excellent! We went to the Asian restaurant one night and the food was not very good (as previous reviews have indicated). 3) Pool and beach - We always found chairs by the pool in a desirable location. The area was generally clean. However, the shallow pool (less than 1 foot) nearest the beach was consistently dirty, but no one was going in there anyway. The beach was beautiful in front of the hotel. We laid out on chairs two days (when it was cloudy), but once the sun appeared - it was just too hot. I wish they would put some umbrellas out there! Due to the tropical storm, the surf was very rough so we didn't go in except to wade around to cool off. 4) Entertainment - The fire show was the only one we attended and it was pretty good. The show ended early enough that there was still time to go out on 5th Ave afterward. 5) Location - This is primarily why we picked this hotel. So close to 5th Ave - just a very short walk to all the shops! We felt very safe at all times. The ferry dock is also close by and we never experienced any noise from it. 6) Concierge - Our assigned concierge was really just there to get us to sign up for tours (which would've been free for us, but the weather was too unpredictable - i.e., Tropical Storm Alex) and get us to attend a timeshare presentation. She was not very helpful, in general. 7) Room - The room was wiped down every day and clean towels/wash cloths/hand towels were replaced daily. The size of the room and bathroom was sufficient. The shower water did not leak out as others have mentioned. It was nice having a refrigerator in the room. 8) Closet and safe - Both of these were of ample size. The safe was large enough to fit my 14" laptop plus wallets, travel docs, cameras, etc. while we were not in the room. All in all, we had a very nice stay and are likely to return to this hotel when we return to Playa Del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the jewelry shop on Calle 14 (between 5th and 10th Aves) called "Yulunga." The jewelry is affordable and handmade which is very rare in Playa Del Carmen. Its owner and the artisan, Veronica, is fabulous -- she made a pair of earrings for me!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nicster
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 29, 2010

A little disappointed

Inconsistent staff not very helpful answering questions about attraction locations, cab fare prices, pool closing times or dress code at the resort restaurants. Also received mixed info on how the $1500 credit works, we were tricked into a timeshare sales pitch when we tried to inquire. When we figured out what was happening we declined to book any activities through concierge. They are sales people who went so far as to call and harass us in our room about not participating in the presentation. The food is horrible in every restaurant. The only decent meal we had at the resort was room service. All the food seems old and tastes awful. On day 4 of our 7 days there we couldn't do it anymore and ventured off the resort for our meals. Defiantly a bummer since we booked the All-Inclusive package but it wasn't worth eating disgusting food. The location is great, the beach is stunning and rooms were beautiful. However, when I go back to Playa I will not stay at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Off the resort, up 5th Ave there is a restaurant called La Cuevo Del Chengo. Maybe the best meal I have had in my life. Everything is homemade and tastes delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Visalia CA.
Jun 29, 2010

Time Share Pressure

Great Facility, Rooms, & Beach. Closer to Snorkle & Cave tour then Cancun. Only three choices of inclusive dinning. Buffet same everyday, food not that great. Italian & Japanese resturants only choices and also not that great. We ended up eating outside complex last few days. Now the unpleasant part and will try to keep it short. Lost bag at Airport. Ask staff to please call lost and found Monday, Tuesday, & Wednesday. Never happened as lost and found per return had our bag (which was needed!) advised that no calls were received from Hotel. Last but not least, wasted 2 hours waiting to book free dollar activities hotel offered only to find out that 2 hour Time Share presentation was required.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

3/4 mile north on 5th ave was Beverly Hills of area. Resturant choices first class, Business's not chanting to sell you something. Please dine at La Cueva del Chango. Awesome food, price, & service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EJG
Business
Minnesota
May 26, 2010

This place was Amazing!!!

Everything from what you are given in your rooms to the staff are very accomodating. You are welcomed from the moment you arrived to the day you leave. Everything was inclusive, such as the food and the drinks. There were three different places to eat - buffet style. Asian, and Italian. We hit up all three and every one had great food! The staff are friendly. There were different activities every night to keep you entertained. Great location for weddings! We were there for a friends wedding, and it was simply gorgeous watching the ceremony with the ocean in the background.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try all three places! Great food at everyone!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NJArt
Business
Lake Hiawatha, NJ
Apr 11, 2010

5th time at Playacar - still great but

This is still an excellent hotel and we will be back. But the evening shows are now terrible. They used to be great. No Mexican folklore dance show this year. The new beach is an added plus. Staff seems to have been cut, not as pristine clean as before. Quality of food is still great but variety is down in the Mexican buffet. The gift shop has much less merchandise than in the past and is a real disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue, a pedestrian walk is just a short distance from the hotel and can accommodate all your shopping needs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anna in Anthem
Business
Anthem, Arizona
Mar 20, 2010

Spring Break at the Playacar Palace

From the moment we checked into the hotel until we left the staff was superb - they were only interested in making sure our stay was excellent! The staff was friendly, the hotel luxurious, it was peaceful and the incredible beach views each morning were spectacular. A plus when traveling with family and children is the location of the ferry and the market! Lots to do to keep the kids entertained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner from the beach exit or you can leave from the front of the hotel and walk down the main street. I recommend the beach - otherwise you miss the views and the beautiful people of the area. This area is very international with travelers from South America, Europe, Russia, the US and other parts of Mexico. Simply a beautiful blend of people and a beautiful location rich in culture!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 16, 2010

3 1/2 Stars - Fab Location, bad food

The location couldn't get any better. You are steps from downtown Playa del Carmen and all the shops, restaurants and bars. This is a good thing too because the food at the resort was awful. Granted we are from Chicago, a city with great food, but we've been to Mexico many times and have never had an issue. Italian restaurant was just not good. We didn't even try the asian restaurant and the buffet was fine. It seems the hotel freezes most of their fruit and vegetables so don't expect really fresh, delicious fruits like we've had at other Mexico resorts. We walked downtown for dinner almost every night (and there are some fabulous restaurants) and we could generally manage to get by with the omelet bar, waffles and frozen fruits for breakfast and lunch. The pool is nice, as is the beach. Super [...] is really great. The margaritas were great, as were the bartenders. And the concierge got us set up on some fun tours. The rooms are nice. We upgraded to the honeymoon suite which was totally worth the money for the view and the sound of the waves at night. I'm not sure that we would go back to the Playacar Palace but for the fabulous location. You can't get a resort with a better location. The staff was friendly and helpful but totally not worth the money for the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great restaurants along 5th ave. Almost every Mexican place we went was great! Café Tropical - Located on 5th Ave. between 8th and 10th St. We went here for lunch and it was AWESOME - mexican food. Sur at 5th Ave and Calle Corazon. Really nice restaurant - great atmosphere (we sat up on the second level - that way you are away from all the street vendors, mariachi, flower vendors, etc.), great service, and the food was awesome. Seafood and Steaks. I had the sesame tuna and it was amazing. Appetizers were fabulous too. Expensive but totally worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top