Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

4 stars
Bahia Del Espiritu Santo Esq. Abraira de Arriba, Fracc. Playacar Km. 62.5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
46 reviews
Amazing

Would go back in a heartbeat. Superb amenities and location. See full review

  • Puma732
  • Dec 3, 2014
Just could NOT have been better

We had the best stay! There is no possible way we could even imagine better service at the Playacar... See full review

  • Just wanted a room
  • Jun 26, 2014
This intimate, family and beachfront resort,located in Playacar Hotel Zone offers beautifully appointed rooms, all with double Jacuzzis, balcony and 24 hour room service. Excellent dining services, a beautiful pool with a swim up bar, and exquisite bars and lounges with views to the stunning Caribbean Sea and Cozumel Island. Take the opportunity to experience a soothing escape at our state-of-the-art Spa facility,. Selected tours, daily and nightly entertainment included. Honeymoon specials and golf package available.

The Hotel offers excellent service and the best personal attention:
-Luxurious accommodations
-Fine dining (3 restaurants)
-Top shelf drinks (domestic & imported)
-24 hr. room service
-Wireless Internet
-Kiddie pool and Kids Club (ages 4-12)
-Solarium
-Spa facilities, Fitness Center, Beauty salon and Spa boutique
-Tennis court nearby
-Table games
-Daily activities
-Concierge, Bell staff service
-Wedding services
Gift shop, Travel Agency, Car rental, Doctors on call 24 hrs.
-Dry cleaning & laundry service
-Cribs, rollaways & wheelchairs on request
-Currency exchange, ATM machine
-Golf package

Enjoy exchange privileges at selected Palace Resorts.(Some restrictions apply.)
br /> Palace Passport
Book a minimum three-night stay in any Palace resort in Cancun or Riviera Maya for travel now through December 23, 2013, and receive a Palace Passport (FREE Resort Credit) that includes:
-25% discount on green fees (at regular price; per adult) at Moon Spa & Golf Club, (per adult)
-US$15 toward a car rental through an on-site rental agency (per room/per stay; minimum 2 day rental)
-25% discount towards select spa treatments (per day/per adult)
-Unlimited select tours per person)
Buy one get on free Swim with the Dolphins and ATV Tour. Certain restrictions apply.

Honeymoon package:
-Fruit basket
-One bottle of sparkling wine
-One romantic candlelightd inner
-Two T-shirts
-Use of services provided by the honeymoon desk.
-Late check-out (until 6 PM) may be requested and is subject to availability.

All students must be 18 years of age and older. - Students under 18 years of age must travel and room with a parent/legal guardian. (No exceptions) - 1 Chaperone (over 25 yrs old) for every 20 students. - Proof of age required. All students will be required to provide their valid passports upon check-in. - Alcohol will be served to students over 18 years of age and older only. - Legal drinking age in Mexico is 18. We might ask for an I.D. at any time. Underage drinking and providing alcohol to minors is punished by law. - Introducing alcohol to the premises or taking it out from them is not allowed. - Tape recorders, radios and any sound devices may not be used in the rooms, building or at the pool area; you will only be allowed to use them with headphones. Remember there are other guests in the property who will resent noises and disturbances. - You will be financially and legally responsible for all damages and disruptions caused in the property. - A credit card guarantee is required upon check in to charge in the event of damage. - The hotel can and will suspend any or all of its services to guests who, in the hotel's opinion, display or enact improper conduct offensive and/or unacceptable and/or dangerous to others and/or themselves.

Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Deluxe Ocean View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
-Chi Bath Amenities
-Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4 guests, including children & infants
-525 Sq. Ft
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Some rooms have a Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
-Chi Bath Amenities
-Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4 guests, including children & infants
-525 Sq.Ft
Honeymoon Suite
Each elegantly appointed suite features:
1 King bed
Double Jacuzzi
In Room Wine and Fruits
Private Bath w/ shower only
Seating Area & Balcony
Liquor dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka - Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
Flat Screen LCD TV w/ Satellite
Purified water
Chi Bath Amenities
Bathrobes & Slippers
Digital safe (laptop size)
Coffee Maker
Direct Dial telephone, Alarm clock, Hair Dryer, Iron / ironing board
Wireless Internet
24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
Ocean Front View
Max Occupancy: 2 adults
633 Sq. Ft.
Deluxe - Resort View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-In Room Wine and Fruits
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4guests, including children ages 4-17. A maximum of 1 infant (ages 0-3) will be allowed to stay in the same room with 4guests
-525 Sq.Ft
Concierge Level
Ocean view rooms located on top 3 floors, room features:
-King bed
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains premium, upgraded brands of liquor -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/Satellite
-Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers
-Aromatherapy & Pillows menu
-2- 25 Minute Massage at the Beach/Spa/Treatment rooms
-Digital safe laptop size
-Espresso/American Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Clock/Radio/IPOD dock, Professional Hair Dryer & Wireless Internet
-24-Hr room service with select menu from restaurant menus to create a "Special Menu" & Nightly Petit Fours-Turndown Service
-Exclusive Concierge Phone Service, Private check-in & out/Late check-out & Early check-in (subject to availability) -Max Occ. 2guests
-525 Sq Ft

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.613 -87.0818
Area served
Playa del Carmen, MX
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - CUN
Area description
With the best location in the Playacar development, just a few steps from the quaint town of Playa del Carmen, and next to the island of Cozumel's connect ferry-boarding dock.

Dining

Cielo Bar
Lobby bar from 10:00 am - 1:00 am
Luna Lounge
Lounge bar with Thai hors d'oeuvres from 6:00 pm - 2:00 am
Cafe del Mar
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: International/Mexican (Dinner)
Breakfast Int'l buffet: from 6:30 am - 11:00 am
Lunch Int'l buffet: from 12:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Dinner buffet: from 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
Terrazza
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: Italian a la carte
Dinner: from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code: Casual elegance. Long pants, collared shirts & shoes required.
Aquabar
Pool & snack bar from 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Moonlight bar service from 6:00 pm - 11 pm
Mo Mo No Ha Na
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: Asian, Oriental
Dinner: from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code: Casual elegance. Long pants, collared shirts & shoes required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slightly Decieving
Business
Scotia New York
May 1, 2012

Great time and staff- but not as described

The hotel was very nice and clean, the staff was great!! Everyone was more then accomodating, and if there was anything you wanted, it was there in short order. The restaurant staff was awesome, several nights suggesting we take a full bottle of wine back to the room with us. (which we did) The property was beautiful and clean. Beach was wonderful, and very clean. Most mornings i watched the staff raking the seaweed off the beach that washed up the night before. The beach was ready to go every morning by 8am. What was not as described was #1 the terrace for the room, which was supposed to be part of the upgraded concierge package. Viewing the hotel, clearly there are rooms with terraces. However i was told there are not. But after voluntarily going to the (Timeshare) sales seminar (so to speak) part of thier sales pitch was to move me into a room with a (terrace)! # 2 Also the trip was reserved with a large amount of hotel credits as a promotion ...... this was also not as it portrayed by the website... the credits could only be used for limited items and excursions. And there were limits on how much could be used for each. Also, were limits put on the Spa. So basicly everything is not all inclusive with the resort credits. The most shocking thing to us was the person who said, i can not help you with the terrace thing, because you booked through xxxxxx, not the hotel's travel agency. He then went on to state, if you booked this room though our agency, that only then would it be a problem. So.....would i go back? Not sure...... Its tough being decieved on vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to the restaurants...if you want something thats not on the menu, just ask. The staff is extremely accomodating

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel Diva
Business
Westchester, NY, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Simply Perfect Time at Playacar Palace!

Just got back..wish I was still there. This is a smaller, intimate hotel with outstanding service!.The staff could not do enough for us...even handed us cold waters for the trip back to the airport. For those who want quiet and comfort...not for those who like constant action and noise. Spa was drop dead gorgeous...hot stone massage was magnificent. Used our points! Took ferry to Cozumel and stayed at sister resort for the day..a lot of fun! Food was outstanding..I couldnt believe how fresh it all was> We Wil be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use your points to upgrade your room! We used some of ours for an ocean front with balcony.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lilac123
Business
Iowa City, IA, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Wonderful getaway

Absolutely wonderful! Beautiful private beach and very close to 5th Avenue for shopping and clubbing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
La Machina
Business
Tucson, AZ, USA
Sep 2, 2011

Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Vacation!

We loved this resort - the location was perfect, the grounds were well kept, the room was comfortable and clean, the staff & service was top-notch, the food was good, and the beach was one of the best! One of the best things was that they had premium liquor and the drinks were great - not always what you find in an all-inclusive. The only con was that they didn't have Hobie Cats onsite for sailing - we took the free shuttle to Moon Palace in Cancun, though, and found them there. I would definitely recommend and return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Keep walking down 5th Avenue until you hear the beating of the bass - there are cool clubs and bars here and at the end of the street at Blue Parrot there are fire dancers! Get a seat on the beach and you'll feel the heat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jacksonville, fl
Jul 27, 2011

Do I have to leave?

The Hotel was more than you could ask for, the service was first rate and the people were friendly. The beach was beautiful and the weather was great. I would definitely recommend this resort to my friends and family. The only issue I had was during my check out they were trying to charge me for a tour that I had signed up for but didn't go on, it was cancel at the service desk but not take off my bill. I could of paid for it ahead of time in cash and avoided all the hassle I'm going through now but they wanted you to charge everything to your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Book your tours ahead of time and use your points.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thackero
Business
Houston TX
Jun 20, 2011

Great Family Vacation

Smaller and older than other Palace facilities however very clean and friendly staff. Close to town for shopping .Only 3 restaurants however food 1st class. Beach great but no waves for boarding. Relaxed atmosphere. We would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OK, Dani
Business
New York, NY
Jun 5, 2011

EXCELLENT - I am going back!

This was an excellent hotel. 4 stars. Wonderful service. Lovely beach, clean pool, not packed, small and compact resort with good food and a nice chill vibe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 2, 2011

Fabulous 50th!!

Location is perfect!! Walking distance to 5th Ave, ferry, restaurants etc. We had one of the best rooms possible on the 5th floor overlooking the pool and ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Astro Boy
Business
Dallas, TX
May 7, 2011

Perfect Vacation!

Playacar Palace was above and beyond what we were expecting in a vacation! The hotel is about a hour drive from the Cancun Airport, which is a little inconvenient, but also gets you away from the more hectic Cancun. Playacar has a more secluded and laid back feel to it. First of all, the location is really top notch. This hotel is a little older (but well maintained) but as a result has laid claim to prime real estate. The beach is fantastic - white powder sand, warm turquoise ocean to swim in - so much like a postcard its hard to believe that its real! Right next door is the lively "downtown" of Playa del Carmen, great for shopping and night clubs if thats your thing. A number of guests seemed to spend a lot of nights at Senor Frogs, which is just adjacent to the hotel. Also, the ferry dock to Cozumel island is right there too, offering an easy way to get a change of scenery (there is a Palace resort on Cozumel, so you can get your all inclusive benefits there as well!) The all-inclusive food and drinks were great. We ate twice at Terraza (the italian restaraunt) and twice at the Asian one, and once at the Mexican Buffet. Sushi was pretty good at the Asian restaurant, though the entrees were a little hit and miss. Italian was consistently delicious, and the buffet was really good too! The drinks were surprisingly good. I had been expecting things to be a little watered down, but they seemed full strength to me - and tasty to boot! (we tried Pina Coladas, Margaritas, Mai Tais, Miami Vice, all great). My only complaint is I would have prefered Corona rather than Dos Equis for the beer. The service was really exceptional. From the moment we arrived to when we left, the staff worked really hard to make sure we had everything we needed. While gratuities are included, it seems a few small bills for great service are appreciated - and these folks really earn it. Having the $1500 resort credit offer available for tours was what led us to choose Palace in the first place. We did the Chichen Itza, Tulum, and Isla Mujeres tours. The mayan ruins were incredible, and we had top notch guides each time (Arnando was probably the best guide we've had anywhere!). The drawback is a mandatory stop at a Mayan gift shop for each of the cultural trips. Some of the stuff they sell is pretty neat (I like the obsidian carvings) but the prices are a little high. If there's nothing you want to buy, you end up standing around a while. Isla Mujeres is good if you want to snorkel (I loved it, my son and wife were not as keen on it) or swim with the dolphins / manatees / sharks / sea lions. Not really my thing. All of these things cost extra. If none of these things appeals to you, stay at the hotel. The food and drinks are way better, the beach is nicer, and the shopping in Playa del Carmen is better too. Room was big, my 7 year old was the only one to use the jacuzzi tub (bubble bath) but it looked those traveling without kids could enjoy a nice romantic bath. Beds were comfy - perhaps a bit on the firm side for most, but just right for me. Plenty of bottled water, which was always restocked. Also, do the room service for breakfast on tour days. The bus leaves early, and you'll be glad you got something quick to eat. I never used the pool, the ocean was so warm and nice to swim in. My 7 year old loved the waves, and played in water and on the beach for 5 hours straight. There is a sandbar about 40 feet offshore, so the depth is always less than 4 feet for a good ways out. My son could touch bottom as far out as the sandbar and beyond, so wading is pretty safe for kids (of course, you still need to keep a close eye! but you don't have to be holding on to them the whole time either). Overall, one of the best vacations we've taken! It was a our first real "beach" vacation, now we know what we were missing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a "general store" about 3 blocks away on the main street (forget the name) in town. Great selection of souveniers, and better prices on sunblock and beach essentials than the hotel gift shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Playaman
Business
Albuquerque,NM
Dec 26, 2010

Amazing, luxurious

We mostly stayed at the hotel. The service was amazing. The ocean view was incredible. Best week of our lives :) I'd recommend Playacar Palace to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top