$420 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

4 stars
Bahia Del Espiritu Santo Esq. Abraira de Arriba, Fracc. Playacar Km. 62.5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
75 reviews
Just could NOT have been better

We had the best stay! There is no possible way we could even imagine better service at the Playacar... See full review

  • Just wanted a room
  • Jun 26, 2014
Playacar Palace

Awesome! Loved this place...everyone is so nice and accomodating! See full review

  • Daniella B.
  • Nov 8, 2013
This intimate, family and beachfront resort,located in Playacar Hotel Zone offers beautifully appointed rooms, all with double Jacuzzis, balcony and 24 hour room service. Excellent dining services, a beautiful pool with a swim up bar, and exquisite bars and lounges with views to the stunning Caribbean Sea and Cozumel Island. Take the opportunity to experience a soothing escape at our state-of-the-art Spa facility,. Selected tours, daily and nightly entertainment included. Honeymoon specials and golf package available.

The Hotel offers excellent service and the best personal attention:
-Luxurious accommodations
-Fine dining (3 restaurants)
-Top shelf drinks (domestic & imported)
-24 hr. room service
-Wireless Internet
-Kiddie pool and Kids Club (ages 4-12)
-Solarium
-Spa facilities, Fitness Center, Beauty salon and Spa boutique
-Tennis court nearby
-Table games
-Daily activities
-Concierge, Bell staff service
-Wedding services
Gift shop, Travel Agency, Car rental, Doctors on call 24 hrs.
-Dry cleaning & laundry service
-Cribs, rollaways & wheelchairs on request
-Currency exchange, ATM machine
-Golf package

Enjoy exchange privileges at selected Palace Resorts.(Some restrictions apply.)
br /> Palace Passport
Book a minimum three-night stay in any Palace resort in Cancun or Riviera Maya for travel now through December 23, 2013, and receive a Palace Passport (FREE Resort Credit) that includes:
-25% discount on green fees (at regular price; per adult) at Moon Spa & Golf Club, (per adult)
-US$15 toward a car rental through an on-site rental agency (per room/per stay; minimum 2 day rental)
-25% discount towards select spa treatments (per day/per adult)
-Unlimited select tours per person)
Buy one get on free Swim with the Dolphins and ATV Tour. Certain restrictions apply.

Honeymoon package:
-Fruit basket
-One bottle of sparkling wine
-One romantic candlelightd inner
-Two T-shirts
-Use of services provided by the honeymoon desk.
-Late check-out (until 6 PM) may be requested and is subject to availability.

All students must be 18 years of age and older. - Students under 18 years of age must travel and room with a parent/legal guardian. (No exceptions) - 1 Chaperone (over 25 yrs old) for every 20 students. - Proof of age required. All students will be required to provide their valid passports upon check-in. - Alcohol will be served to students over 18 years of age and older only. - Legal drinking age in Mexico is 18. We might ask for an I.D. at any time. Underage drinking and providing alcohol to minors is punished by law. - Introducing alcohol to the premises or taking it out from them is not allowed. - Tape recorders, radios and any sound devices may not be used in the rooms, building or at the pool area; you will only be allowed to use them with headphones. Remember there are other guests in the property who will resent noises and disturbances. - You will be financially and legally responsible for all damages and disruptions caused in the property. - A credit card guarantee is required upon check in to charge in the event of damage. - The hotel can and will suspend any or all of its services to guests who, in the hotel's opinion, display or enact improper conduct offensive and/or unacceptable and/or dangerous to others and/or themselves.

Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Deluxe Ocean View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
-Chi Bath Amenities
-Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4 guests, including children & infants
-525 Sq. Ft
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Some rooms have a Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
-Chi Bath Amenities
-Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4 guests, including children & infants
-525 Sq.Ft
Honeymoon Suite
Each elegantly appointed suite features:
1 King bed
Double Jacuzzi
In Room Wine and Fruits
Private Bath w/ shower only
Seating Area & Balcony
Liquor dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka - Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
Flat Screen LCD TV w/ Satellite
Purified water
Chi Bath Amenities
Bathrobes & Slippers
Digital safe (laptop size)
Coffee Maker
Direct Dial telephone, Alarm clock, Hair Dryer, Iron / ironing board
Wireless Internet
24-Hour room service & Turndown Service
Ocean Front View
Max Occupancy: 2 adults
633 Sq. Ft.
Deluxe - Resort View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
-1 King or 2 dbl beds
-Jacuzzi
-In Room Wine and Fruits
-Private bath w/ shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/ Satellite
-Purified Water
Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers
-Digital safe (laptop size)
-Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board
-Wireless Internet
-Turndown Service
-Max Occupancy: 4guests, including children ages 4-17. A maximum of 1 infant (ages 0-3) will be allowed to stay in the same room with 4guests
-525 Sq.Ft
Concierge Level
Ocean view rooms located on top 3 floors, room features:
-King bed
-Jacuzzi
-Private bath w/shower only
-Balcony with chaise lounge, chairs & table
-Liquor Dispenser contains premium, upgraded brands of liquor -Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer
-LCD TV w/Satellite
-Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers
-Aromatherapy & Pillows menu
-2- 25 Minute Massage at the Beach/Spa/Treatment rooms
-Digital safe laptop size
-Espresso/American Coffee Maker
-Direct Dial telephone, Clock/Radio/IPOD dock, Professional Hair Dryer & Wireless Internet
-24-Hr room service with select menu from restaurant menus to create a "Special Menu" & Nightly Petit Fours-Turndown Service
-Exclusive Concierge Phone Service, Private check-in & out/Late check-out & Early check-in (subject to availability) -Max Occ. 2guests
-525 Sq Ft

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.613 -87.0818
Area served
Playa del Carmen, MX
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - CUN
Area description
With the best location in the Playacar development, just a few steps from the quaint town of Playa del Carmen, and next to the island of Cozumel's connect ferry-boarding dock.

Dining

Cielo Bar
Lobby bar from 10:00 am - 1:00 am
Luna Lounge
Lounge bar with Thai hors d'oeuvres from 6:00 pm - 2:00 am
Cafe del Mar
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: International/Mexican (Dinner)
Breakfast Int'l buffet: from 6:30 am - 11:00 am
Lunch Int'l buffet: from 12:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Dinner buffet: from 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
Terrazza
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: Italian a la carte
Dinner: from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code: Casual elegance. Long pants, collared shirts & shoes required.
Aquabar
Pool & snack bar from 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Moonlight bar service from 6:00 pm - 11 pm
Mo Mo No Ha Na
Location: Central lobby
Cuisine: Asian, Oriental
Dinner: from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code: Casual elegance. Long pants, collared shirts & shoes required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just wanted a room
Tifton, GA
Jun 26, 2014

Just could NOT have been better

We had the best stay! There is no possible way we could even imagine better service at the Playacar Palace. That staff was awesome. They were never intrusive but were at our beck and call every minute. There is nothing – from moving umbrellas at the pool to bringing unexpected extras at restaurants to just being super accommodating – the people at the resort were the best attraction, hands down. The room was clean as a whistle, and the view was absolutely spectacular. We never saw the cleaning staff, but they kept our room sparkling constantly. The food was way, WAY beyond what we had expected. The Italian restaurant was five-star every time we went (order the Mayan coffee!) and the Japanese restaurant was outstanding. Get reservations to sit at the Hibachi grill early because it is worth it!! The regular restaurant/buffet that is open 24-7 was top notch and the breakfast in there was awesome. The pool and beach are world class primarily because of the service. The pool side staff that provides entertainment constantly throughout the day was fantastic - truly nice people who are really organized. Forget the hotel credits program and the $1500 or whatever you can spend. The prices are seriously jacked up and you have to pay a 16% fee/tax, so there’s no value there. Do whatever excursions you want. Don’t depend on the hotel to give you anything. We did the Total Cozumel and the Tulum trip. Both were great. The Tulum trip was quick and easy but not so much as a water or a pack of crackers from 8-1:30. Do the Grayline pickup and return taxi to the airport. They were super punctual, clean rides and really nice. We were in a nice van to the hotel and a Mercedes to the airport. Couldn’t ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hibachi Grill requires reservations and the Italian restaurant requires long pants.

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deeekmon
Hartford, WI
Apr 28, 2014

The staff makes this place!

THANK YOU to the staff at the Playacar Palace for a wonderful stay! You feel like you are part of a family at this hotel. We travel to Riviera Maya at least once a year and stay at all of the top rated hotels. This hotel did not disappoint. The food was outstanding. We were only there for 5 days and had no problems getting into any of the specialty restaurants. The wait staff was outstanding. The food presentation was excellent. I had a steak one night with a Mexican pepper sauce that was to die for. I literally cut it with my fork. Grilled octopus? They got it. Sushi? The best. Guacamole? They never ran out. There is a wood burning pizza oven next to the pool bar. I'm not one for eating pizza in Mexico but the smell was just too tempting. So we went for the Mexican pizza. YUM. Outstanding flavor. The beach was always clean and we never had a problem getting a chair. Unlike many of the other resorts where you need to "reserve" a chair at 5 in the morning, we didn't run into any of that here. There are also plentiful umbrellas for you shade lovers. The booze was top shelf. The kid drinks were creative and served with a flourish to make the kids feel special. There was always someone on the beach asking if you needed anything. Our room was good with a thermostat that actually worked and kept the room nice and cool. The room fridge was always stocked. I mentioned the staff earlier - and they are really worth calling out. They make this place. At the risk of missing some outstanding service - I'll name a few that we all remember: Francisco, Porfirio, Artemio, Mariam, Aline - and our all time favorite Juan. Juan is the Sushi chef. We called him "Juan the sushi mon". As my 16 year old daughter stated "he is ADORABLE". He is maybe 18 years old, incredibly shy, cute, and rolls the best sushi roll. Juan rocks. And my two girls both had major crushes on him. Overall, we would come back here again. There are two things that this hotel doesn't have: an ornate lobby and ornate grounds. The lobby is right off of the parking lot and nothing special. And if the ornate sculptured landscapes are a must, this hotel isn't for you. It is literally a hotel with a pool in front of it and a beach. No ornate gardens to walk amongst. If either of these are important to you - maybe pass on this place. However, the staff, food, staff, cleanliness, staff, proximity to town, staff, heated pool, staff, and oh, did I mention the staff - they were all excellent! Looking forward to another visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Find the sushi bar at the beginning of your trip and frequent it often.

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Salem the Great
Walnut Creek, Ca
Feb 27, 2014

Great experience but

Hotel location was perfect with great sea view if you get a room on the third or fourth floor. Staff were great and very polite. Nightly entertainment is just OK. If you are not a timeshare or VIP member however, you may not get a nice shady area unless you get up and reserve it very early in the morning. Also restaurants do not accept reservation which makes waiting time long at times. Also, the $1500 credit comes with conditions that make it not worth using. In General, we had a great time and will go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
benny112
Chicago
Feb 15, 2014

Pleasantly Surprised

We stayed at Playacar Palace for a wedding in February and had a great time. The resort is smaller than most other resorts and has only 203 rooms. The image of the pool is essentially the resort with the rooms surrounding it. Rooms were ok but definitely some wear and tear can be seen throughout. The food is better than most of the resorts we've stayed at. The pasta at the italian place is handmade and tasted great. They have fresh fish that they get from the ocean and cooked daily. Even though the resort was full you can alway find a lounge chair by the pool. People are nicer at this resort also. The service poolside was slow but you can always swim up to the bar. Overall had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniella B.
Chicago
Nov 8, 2013

Playacar Palace

Awesome! Loved this place...everyone is so nice and accomodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vinkie
New York
Jul 8, 2013

Great hotel with the best location and staff

Playacar Palace is a very nice hotel, right at the start of Quinta Avenida. A shopping/bar street you won't find in Cancun. Hotel is not too big and you feel stuck in the resort. The rooms are spacious with an amazing view on the sea (with Cozumel at the horizon). The spa is amazing and all staff very service focused. 3 restaurants serve nice international food. The beach is large and clean. Take the ferry (right next to the hotel) and enjoy the facilities of the sister hotel in Cozumel. Pool is little small and bit crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You can use facilities of other Palace hotels in Cozumel, Cancun and Isla Mujeres

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zedthecat
Toronto Canada
Mar 14, 2013

Pretty good but a couple issues

We stayed at the Palace March 8-12th. Overall wasn't bad but didn't have that "didn't want to leave" feeling. The food was pretty good but not spectacular. The staff for the most part were very good, always smiling and helpful. The room was average but still nice. Where we got turned around was a few things. When we got there we didn't get the room we requested but they still gave us an upgrade and it was a busy week so we can't complain too much. The Japanese hibachi was a bust due to the fact that they told us the wrong time for the reservation and when we arrived they told us we could no longer participate (even though there were empty chairs!) not very impressed at all. The other issue we had was that we were thinking of staying an extra night at the beginning of our stay so I went to the front desk and inquired about the cost. They told me they couldn't tell me then and would call our room and leave a message. The next day there was no call so I returned again and asked and they told me the same thing so we waited AGAIN. The next day guess what? Yes no call, so I went to the desk and asked the manager what the deal was and I was told there was no availability. I then asked what the cost would be if a room did become available and he quoted me a price per night that was $300 per night higher than what we paid! I asked if I could go online and look for a better price and he told me that there would be no availability due to the fact they are at full capacity. At this point I gave up due to the fact they didn't want any more business. Curiously i did go online and check and there were rooms available at a much lower cost. The whole thing left me with little desire to stay another night Last thing but not a big deal. Our kids are 10&12 and there were not that many other kids around. Not a big deal for a few days but might be an issue if staying longer. Overall we would not go back. Not a bad place but it is not the top end service they like to sell themselves as having.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T Town traveler
Tulsa, OK
Jul 7, 2012

Playacar Palace

Great Hotel, very friendly staff, if they do not have something you want or need just ask, they will get it. 24HR room service was nice and lots of activities at the resort each night. Hotel is also right next to town and ferry to Cozumel. Everything is within walking distance. Great restaurants on site and also many great restaurants within 10-15 min walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want a great off site Steak Restaurant, I recommend Sur, on Ave de Sinco, 10 min walk.

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RMCP
Houston, Texas
May 19, 2012

Excellent Second Stay

We were here a yr ago, it is still great. Food, drink, staff and room are excellent. This is a place for the traveller who enjoys the good things in life, not stuffy over the top, just excellent quality. Notice I said traveller not the tourist, don't go expecting "cruise like" activites or crowds, go elsewhere. Stay here for the quality, laidback good times. I'm sure further into the summer it gets a little more crazy, but making new friends while hanging out at the pool and bar, this is the place. Service staff very friendly remembering us from last year. We took a few excursions, which were very good if you want to take the time. Masssage excellent, gym hrs should be extended 6 to early to close. Our sons ages 21 & 24 love this place so much we came back two yrs in a row.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Going into town is close and easy, still use caution and don't be crazy.

Review of Playacar Palace - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slightly Decieving
Scotia New York
May 1, 2012

Great time and staff- but not as described

The hotel was very nice and clean, the staff was great!! Everyone was more then accomodating, and if there was anything you wanted, it was there in short order. The restaurant staff was awesome, several nights suggesting we take a full bottle of wine back to the room with us. (which we did) The property was beautiful and clean. Beach was wonderful, and very clean. Most mornings i watched the staff raking the seaweed off the beach that washed up the night before. The beach was ready to go every morning by 8am. What was not as described was #1 the terrace for the room, which was supposed to be part of the upgraded concierge package. Viewing the hotel, clearly there are rooms with terraces. However i was told there are not. But after voluntarily going to the (Timeshare) sales seminar (so to speak) part of thier sales pitch was to move me into a room with a (terrace)! # 2 Also the trip was reserved with a large amount of hotel credits as a promotion ...... this was also not as it portrayed by the website... the credits could only be used for limited items and excursions. And there were limits on how much could be used for each. Also, were limits put on the Spa. So basicly everything is not all inclusive with the resort credits. The most shocking thing to us was the person who said, i can not help you with the terrace thing, because you booked through xxxxxx, not the hotel's travel agency. He then went on to state, if you booked this room though our agency, that only then would it be a problem. So.....would i go back? Not sure...... Its tough being decieved on vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to the restaurants...if you want something thats not on the menu, just ask. The staff is extremely accomodating

Back to menu Return to top