$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

Petit Lafitte

3 stars
Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen, Q. Roo, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
14 reviews
Great experience

This was our first experience in Mexico. The location was great, the beach awesome and the staff... See full review

  • Umpi77
  • Nov 24, 2014
10+

Perfect hotel size and location. Great staff with personal service! See full review

  • Parick Kincaid
  • Feb 23, 2014
Beachfront Playa Del Carmen hotel nestled in lush gardens

Petit Lafitte Hotel ushers tourists to a range of leisure and dining options in a beachfront hotel in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. Holidaymakers spend the day at the sandy beach or the pool or play billiards or table tennis at the games room. Guests also visit the on-site zoo and animal refuge center.

Patrons at the hotel choose from a menu of Mexican, Yucatan, Caribbean and international fare at The Captain's Galley or sample tropical drinks and cocktails at The Pirate's Cove. After a day of fun, have a relaxing massage or treatment at White 
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Beachfront accommodations
  • Zoo on site
  • Spa services
Petit Lafitte Rooms

Petit Lafitte Hotel has 17 bungalows set along the coconut grove and the garden featuring direct access to the beach and scenic views of the ocean or the garden. Each bungalow has a Rustic design and cabin-like feel. Aside from bungalows, the property also has rooms housed in five buildings that offer picturesque views of the ocean and the pool. Each room is equipped with modern conveniences like air conditioning, cable TV, safe, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, Wi-Fi access, telephone, mini bar and coffeemaker.

Things to Do

  • Gran Coral Golf (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • El Camaleon Golf Club (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Tres Rios Ecopark (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Pier Navega (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Central Square (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (4 mi/6.4 km)

Petit Lafitte Rooms

Standard Ocean View Room
Standard Ocean View Room with two double bed includes Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Disabled facilities, En-suite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone. The room comes with Ocean view.
Standard Garden View Room
Standard Garden View Room with two double bed includes Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Disabled facilities, En-suite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone. Comfortable units offering ceiling fan and telephone. View on the interior garden and pool.
Bungalow Garden View
Bungalow Garden View with two double bed includes Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Disabled facilities, En-suite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone. direct access to the beach, additional loft with a double bed. The room offers Garden View.
Bungalow Ocean View
Bungalow Ocean View with two double bed includes Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Disabled facilities, En-suite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone. direct access to the beach, additional loft with a double bed. The room faces Ocean view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Dining

The Captains Galley
The Captains Galley recently expanded to seat approximately 90 people in a warm and casual atmosphere. Hotel proudly offer a diverse menu which combines the culinary traditions of Mexico, the Yucatan and the Caribbean along with a sprinkling of delicious international fare.
The Pirates Cove
The Pirates Cove is a genuine icon in the Riviera Maya and has served drinks and solved lifes problems since the late 70s. The Cove also serves delicious lunches and is graciously hosted by excellent bartenders.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Petit Lafitte

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 14
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lawrence, KS, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Great Choice! Petit Lafitte

The Ocean View Bungalow was just perfect! We enjoyed the view and also the beach, hammocks, and nice beach lounge chairs of which there were many. No need to worry about saving a chair with a towel. The food was excellent, and the staff wonderful. It is truly a small, laid back, relaxing place to be! The king size bed was very comfortable, and we had hot showers, a room safe, A/C and a small refrigerator. There was a nice pool side bar with good food. We enjoyed the outdoor restaurant for breakfast and dinner. It is a very laid back restful place to vacation for families, couples and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We also enjoy dining at the Ajua Maya restaurant in Playa Del Carmen at calle 4 and 10th. Ave. They have live music, a wonderful menu, and wine list served by an excellent staff!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tboy2
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Outstanding boutique hotel directly on the beach

Petit Lafitte is a small hotel located a few kilometers from Playa del Carmen directly on the beach. All rooms have balconies, most have ocean views, and all are just a few feet from a beautiful palm treed beach excellent for swimming. There are also individual bungalows though some are a short walk to the beach without an ocean views. They also have a large pool.The MAP includes breakfast and dinner daily and the food is freshly made and very tasty. The staff is very friendly and provide excellent service. Free WIFI is provided in the rooms. The rooms are rather basic, they have a small refrigerator, TV with a limited number of stations, but are large and very comfortable. It is perfect for families, couples or groups of friends who are looking for a quiet hotel with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del Carmen is a short cab ride away. Cozumel and Isla Mujeres are easily accessible

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna and Glenn
Business
Alabama
Feb 10, 2014

Great Relaxing Beachside Hotel!

Great smaller hotel on the beach. Staff is one of the best I have ever experienced. We had planned excursions for our trip but did not leave the hotel for five days. Rooms were very clean, grounds were well taken care of, and of course the beverages are not to be missed. I will be back again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Parick Kincaid
Business
Costa Mesa
Feb 23, 2014

10+

Perfect hotel size and location. Great staff with personal service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Umpi77
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Nov 24, 2014

Great experience

This was our first experience in Mexico. The location was great, the beach awesome and the staff very welcoming. We loved the food and the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B Cometa
Business
LA CA
Jun 22, 2012

Great Stay @ Petit Lafitte!!

We did not want the hustle and bustle of an all inclusive super resort, and Petit Lafitte was the perfect choice. The property is small but has all the necessary amenities for a Mexican vacation: steps to the beach and a bar. The service was top notch, each member of the staff was very attentive, friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner were included in the price of the room, and each meal was delicious, along with the well priced drinks. We were treated to massages on the beach and a snorkel boat is docked right on the property. Initially we planned to go exploring in other parts of town but found there was no need to leave. We couldn't of asked for a more perfect getaway. We definitely recommend Petit Lafitte!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The drinks are so cheap, and Jesus is an awesome bartender!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flammy
Business
New York
Feb 9, 2013

Petit Lafitte

Its staff was very kind and friendly!! Food (breakfast and dinner was inclusive) was also good! I could relax and enjoy my stay :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
buckeye07
Business
Ohio
Dec 24, 2013

great place to relax

We had a great time. Staff was excellent and extremely helpful as we were first timers to the area. Food was outstanding, and we did not want to leave. So much to see and do. We will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quasi62
Business
Kutztown,pa
Aug 3, 2014

Perfect little hide away

What a pleasant surprise. My wife and I spent four days at this delightful resort. The resort is tucked away a few kilometers from the main highway and just north of playa del Carmen. The resort is not like the giant all inclusive hotels, it is much smaller and personable. The staff knows who your are a willing to go the extra mile to make your say enjoyable. It's kind of place you can relax and have a few cocktails and enjoy the company of the other guest at the beach bar. Jesus the bartenter has quit the wit and can make a fantastic drink. We stayed in the hotel section which has a good location along the pool. The room were decent size and very clean. They are a bit sparse in the furniture draw space and the only negative is the beds are hard. Air conditioning worked great. Best rooms are buildings four and five, five being the best also best views from floors two and three. The restaurant is a quaint place to enjoy a nice meal. They have two or three selections each night. The food was very good also they had a self serve salad and appetizer section. I saved the best for last the beach and the beach bar. Fantastic beach quite and spacious you can't swim right in front of resort but you can a little to the right and left nice soft sand. There's not much snorkeling except for the end of the dock on the right it is very good for a small area the dock acts as a artificial reef and attracts a lot of fish l was impressed. The beach bar is the place to have a few drinks and talk with the other guest, time just disappears at the beach bar. We meet a lot of nice people from all over the globe. To some it all up this place is a bargain at great value for your money. The resorts personnel will make you feel welcome and at ease. The resort is beautiful with a great ocean front location. We will be back and I would recommend this resort to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car if you want to do some sight seeing taxis are expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top