$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

Petit Lafitte

3 stars
Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen, Q. Roo, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
14 reviews
Great experience

This was our first experience in Mexico. The location was great, the beach awesome and the staff... See full review

  • Umpi77
  • Nov 24, 2014
10+

Perfect hotel size and location. Great staff with personal service! See full review

  • Parick Kincaid
  • Feb 23, 2014
Beachfront Playa Del Carmen hotel nestled in lush gardens

Petit Lafitte Hotel ushers tourists to a range of leisure and dining options in a beachfront hotel in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. Holidaymakers spend the day at the sandy beach or the pool or play billiards or table tennis at the games room. Guests also visit the on-site zoo and animal refuge center.

Patrons at the hotel choose from a menu of Mexican, Yucatan, Caribbean and international fare at The Captain's Galley or sample tropical drinks and cocktails at The Pirate's Cove. After a day of fun, have a relaxing massage or treatment at White 
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Beachfront accommodations
  • Zoo on site
  • Spa services
Petit Lafitte Rooms

Petit Lafitte Hotel has 17 bungalows set along the coconut grove and the garden featuring direct access to the beach and scenic views of the ocean or the garden. Each bungalow has a Rustic design and cabin-like feel. Aside from bungalows, the property also has rooms housed in five buildings that offer picturesque views of the ocean and the pool. Each room is equipped with modern conveniences like air conditioning, cable TV, safe, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, Wi-Fi access, telephone, mini bar and coffeemaker.

Things to Do

  • Gran Coral Golf (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • El Camaleon Golf Club (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Tres Rios Ecopark (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Pier Navega (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Central Square (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (4 mi/6.4 km)

Petit Lafitte Rooms

Standard Ocean View Room
Standard Ocean View Room with two double bed includes Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Disabled facilities, En-suite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone. The room comes with Ocean view.
Standard Garden View Room
Standard Garden View Room with two double bed includes Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Disabled facilities, En-suite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone. Comfortable units offering ceiling fan and telephone. View on the interior garden and pool.
Bungalow Garden View
Bungalow Garden View with two double bed includes Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Disabled facilities, En-suite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone. direct access to the beach, additional loft with a double bed. The room offers Garden View.
Bungalow Ocean View
Bungalow Ocean View with two double bed includes Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Disabled facilities, En-suite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone. direct access to the beach, additional loft with a double bed. The room faces Ocean view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Dining

The Captains Galley
The Captains Galley recently expanded to seat approximately 90 people in a warm and casual atmosphere. Hotel proudly offer a diverse menu which combines the culinary traditions of Mexico, the Yucatan and the Caribbean along with a sprinkling of delicious international fare.
The Pirates Cove
The Pirates Cove is a genuine icon in the Riviera Maya and has served drinks and solved lifes problems since the late 70s. The Cove also serves delicious lunches and is graciously hosted by excellent bartenders.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Petit Lafitte

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRew
Washington
Jan 6, 2013

nice beach getaway

relaxing unassuming beach vacation. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Umpi77
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Nov 24, 2014

Great experience

This was our first experience in Mexico. The location was great, the beach awesome and the staff very welcoming. We loved the food and the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KarenK
Business
Cleveland Ohio
Nov 23, 2014

Fabulous small hotel

So long as you aren't anticipating 4-5 star level room, the location, the service and the unique quality this place brings are amazing. Perfect beach location, quiet yet fun, incredible service and great little beach bar with good food. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quasi62
Business
Kutztown,pa
Aug 3, 2014

Perfect little hide away

What a pleasant surprise. My wife and I spent four days at this delightful resort. The resort is tucked away a few kilometers from the main highway and just north of playa del Carmen. The resort is not like the giant all inclusive hotels, it is much smaller and personable. The staff knows who your are a willing to go the extra mile to make your say enjoyable. It's kind of place you can relax and have a few cocktails and enjoy the company of the other guest at the beach bar. Jesus the bartenter has quit the wit and can make a fantastic drink. We stayed in the hotel section which has a good location along the pool. The room were decent size and very clean. They are a bit sparse in the furniture draw space and the only negative is the beds are hard. Air conditioning worked great. Best rooms are buildings four and five, five being the best also best views from floors two and three. The restaurant is a quaint place to enjoy a nice meal. They have two or three selections each night. The food was very good also they had a self serve salad and appetizer section. I saved the best for last the beach and the beach bar. Fantastic beach quite and spacious you can't swim right in front of resort but you can a little to the right and left nice soft sand. There's not much snorkeling except for the end of the dock on the right it is very good for a small area the dock acts as a artificial reef and attracts a lot of fish l was impressed. The beach bar is the place to have a few drinks and talk with the other guest, time just disappears at the beach bar. We meet a lot of nice people from all over the globe. To some it all up this place is a bargain at great value for your money. The resorts personnel will make you feel welcome and at ease. The resort is beautiful with a great ocean front location. We will be back and I would recommend this resort to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car if you want to do some sight seeing taxis are expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Parick Kincaid
Business
Costa Mesa
Feb 23, 2014

10+

Perfect hotel size and location. Great staff with personal service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna and Glenn
Business
Alabama
Feb 10, 2014

Great Relaxing Beachside Hotel!

Great smaller hotel on the beach. Staff is one of the best I have ever experienced. We had planned excursions for our trip but did not leave the hotel for five days. Rooms were very clean, grounds were well taken care of, and of course the beverages are not to be missed. I will be back again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angela MC
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 30, 2014

Relaxing Ladies Getaway

I almost don't want to tell everyone about how great this hotel is because then everyone will go here. My best friend and I went here on a mini relaxing vacation to escape the cold weather. We are both in our mid thirties. Let me start off with a disclaimer. This is a small, simple hotel with all the basic necessities that you need for a relaxing, fun vacation. But if you are looking for one of those larger, all inclusive (think Sandals) resorts, this is not the place for you. The beach is amazingly beautiful here and they have paid the taxes so outside vendors can't harass you to buy anything while you are relaxing on the beach. All the staff are kind, accommodating and work very hard. I believe most have been working there for years. And they really make an effort to know your name. They also know you are on vacation, so they won't bother you. The breakfast and dinner is included with your stay. The breakfast is by far way better than the dinners. There is fresh fruit and fresh orange juice daily. I have never tasted anything more delicious than the pineapple and the OJ. Dinner won't knock your socks off and it's a limited menu. But for what you are paying, it's totally worth it. And you can always go next door to Coco's (which is really, really good food too) or into town if you want something different. Fresh, bottled water is provided for free and is such a nice amenity. There is the choice of staying in the bungalows or the hotel rooms. We stayed in the hotel and really liked it. It wasn't fancy, but it was clean and had all you needed. TV channels are limited, but if you went to Mexico to watch TV then you might as well stay home. Some people said the bungalows were dark at night but romantic. All the guests are nice too. This place is good for couples, families and friends going on vacation. But there is no party scene here. The bar on the beach is great and reminds me of the movie Cocktail. But don't expect late night wildness. Oh! And we always felt safe staying here. I think we even slept with all our windows open. I had my doubts about our safety before going. And downtown Playa del Carmen is a modern, European like downtown. Think Barcelona meets Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring USD cash. Everyone will accept it and prefer it. Rent a car to save money on cab fare. There is really only one main highway that takes you everywhere and lots of signs so I think it will be easy to get around. Go to Tulum because it's gorgeous. And go to the beach right outside the Tulum ruins. We wish we could have stayed there longer. You can even snorkel in Tulum. Skip Akumal. It felt like a tourist trap to me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
buckeye07
Business
Ohio
Dec 24, 2013

great place to relax

We had a great time. Staff was excellent and extremely helpful as we were first timers to the area. Food was outstanding, and we did not want to leave. So much to see and do. We will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flammy
Business
New York
Feb 9, 2013

Petit Lafitte

Its staff was very kind and friendly!! Food (breakfast and dinner was inclusive) was also good! I could relax and enjoy my stay :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRew
Business
Washington
Jan 6, 2013

nice beach getaway

relaxing unassuming beach vacation. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petit Lafitte

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SFDiver
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 1, 2013

Rustic hotel, Unreliable internet

Basic hotel with limited amenities. Rooms are rustic, and would benefit from thorough cleaning and renovation. Limited television channels, no remote control in our room, and no safe. Food was OK. If you need to be connected to the internet during your stay, this is not a place to stay. They do have computers to use, but the wireless network is dismal, no matter where you are located in the hotel. We were barely able to get connected for a few minutes each day. The beach is nice and not too crowded like the large resorts. It takes about 1 1/2 hours to walk from the hotel to town following the beach. Would not stay there again mostly because of the lack of reliable internet, and also because it is too far from town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top