$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2015 Check-out: Aug 15, 2015

Petit Lafitte

3 stars
View map of Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen, Q. Roo, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
13 reviews
Love Petit Lafitte

This is a wonderful retreat. Understated elegance and great service, no crowds - just peace and the... See full review

  • nicole n.
  • Jan 16, 2015
Great experience

This was our first experience in Mexico. The location was great, the beach awesome and the staff... See full review

  • Umpi77
  • Nov 24, 2014

Petit Lafitte Hotel ushers tourists to a range of leisure and dining options in a beachfront hotel in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. Holidaymakers spend the day at the sandy beach or the pool or play billiards or table tennis at the games room. Guests also visit the on-site zoo and animal refuge center.

Patrons at the hotel choose from a menu of Mexican, Yucatan, Caribbean and international fare at The Captain's Galley or sample tropical drinks and cocktails at The Pirate's Cove. After a day of fun, have a relaxing massage or treatment at White 
Rooms

Petit Lafitte Hotel has 17 bungalows set along the coconut grove and the garden featuring direct access to the beach and scenic views of the ocean or the garden. Each bungalow has a Rustic design and cabin-like feel. Aside from bungalows, the property also has rooms housed in five buildings that offer picturesque views of the ocean and the pool. Each room is equipped with modern conveniences like air conditioning, cable TV, safe, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, Wi-Fi access, telephone, mini bar and coffeemaker.

Highlights
  • Beachfront accommodations
  • Zoo on site
  • Spa services
Nearby attractions

  • Gran Coral Golf (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • El Camaleon Golf Club (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Tres Rios Ecopark (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Pier Navega (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Central Square (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (4 mi/6.4 km)

Top hotels

Petit Lafitte Rooms

Standard Ocean View Room
Standard Ocean View Room features:

  • Two double bed
  • Air conditioning
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Bathroom amenities
  • Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV
  • Private bathroom, Hairdryer
  • Internet access
  • Iron / Ironing board
  • Laundry service
  • Mini bar
  • Safe in room
  • Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone
  • Ocean view.
  • Standard Garden View Room
    Standard Garden View Room features:

  • Two double bed
  • Air conditioning
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Bathroom amenities
  • Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV
  • Private bathroom, Hairdryer
  • Internet access
  • Iron / Ironing board
  • Laundry service
  • Mini bar
  • Safe in room
  • Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone
  • View on the interior garden and pool
  • Bungalow Garden View
    Bungalow Garden View Room features:

  • Two double bed
  • Air conditioning
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Bathroom amenities
  • Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV
  • Private bathroom, Hairdryer
  • Internet access
  • Iron / Ironing board
  • Laundry service
  • Mini bar
  • Safe in room
  • Direct access to the beach
  • Additional loft with a double bed
  • The room offers Garden View.
  • Bungalow Ocean View
    Bungalow Ocean View features:

  • Two double bed
  • Air conditioning
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Bathroom amenities
  • Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV
  • Private bathroom, Hairdryer
  • Internet access
  • Iron / Ironing board
  • Laundry service
  • Mini bar
  • Safe in room
  • Direct access to the beach
  • Additional loft with a double bed
  • The room faces Ocean view
  • Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Game room
    Solarium
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Doctor on call
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi

    Dining

    The Captains Galley
    The Captains Galley recently expanded to seat approximately 90 people in a warm and casual atmosphere. Hotel proudly offer a diverse menu which combines the culinary traditions of Mexico, the Yucatan and the Caribbean along with a sprinkling of delicious international fare.
    The Pirates Cove
    The Pirates Cove is a genuine icon in the Riviera Maya and has served drinks and solved lifes problems since the late 70s. The Cove also serves delicious lunches and is graciously hosted by excellent bartenders.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for Petit Lafitte

    Overall score

    4.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    13 out of 13
    Amenities:
    4.1
    Cleanliness:
    4.2
    Hotel staff:
    4.8
    Comfort:
    3.8
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    4.4

    92% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Petit Lafitte

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    arturo r.
    Business
    MENIFEE
    Mar 3, 2015

    nice trip

    nice hotel localisation is little confuse the buffet is great overall 3 star thank you

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Petit Lafitte

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    nicole n.
    Business
    N/A
    Jan 16, 2015

    Love Petit Lafitte

    This is a wonderful retreat. Understated elegance and great service, no crowds - just peace and the beauty around you!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    The garden view rooms are lovely - if you don't go for the ocean front room, don't bother upgrading to ocean view. The garden view is great.

    Review of Petit Lafitte

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Umpi77
    Business
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
    Nov 24, 2014

    Great experience

    This was our first experience in Mexico. The location was great, the beach awesome and the staff very welcoming. We loved the food and the amenities.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Petit Lafitte

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Parick Kincaid
    Business
    Costa Mesa
    Feb 23, 2014

    10+

    Perfect hotel size and location. Great staff with personal service!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Petit Lafitte

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Donna and Glenn
    Business
    Alabama
    Feb 10, 2014

    Great Relaxing Beachside Hotel!

    Great smaller hotel on the beach. Staff is one of the best I have ever experienced. We had planned excursions for our trip but did not leave the hotel for five days. Rooms were very clean, grounds were well taken care of, and of course the beverages are not to be missed. I will be back again soon.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Petit Lafitte

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Angela MC
    Business
    Boston, MA
    Jan 30, 2014

    Relaxing Ladies Getaway

    I almost don't want to tell everyone about how great this hotel is because then everyone will go here. My best friend and I went here on a mini relaxing vacation to escape the cold weather. We are both in our mid thirties. Let me start off with a disclaimer. This is a small, simple hotel with all the basic necessities that you need for a relaxing, fun vacation. But if you are looking for one of those larger, all inclusive (think Sandals) resorts, this is not the place for you. The beach is amazingly beautiful here and they have paid the taxes so outside vendors can't harass you to buy anything while you are relaxing on the beach. All the staff are kind, accommodating and work very hard. I believe most have been working there for years. And they really make an effort to know your name. They also know you are on vacation, so they won't bother you. The breakfast and dinner is included with your stay. The breakfast is by far way better than the dinners. There is fresh fruit and fresh orange juice daily. I have never tasted anything more delicious than the pineapple and the OJ. Dinner won't knock your socks off and it's a limited menu. But for what you are paying, it's totally worth it. And you can always go next door to Coco's (which is really, really good food too) or into town if you want something different. Fresh, bottled water is provided for free and is such a nice amenity. There is the choice of staying in the bungalows or the hotel rooms. We stayed in the hotel and really liked it. It wasn't fancy, but it was clean and had all you needed. TV channels are limited, but if you went to Mexico to watch TV then you might as well stay home. Some people said the bungalows were dark at night but romantic. All the guests are nice too. This place is good for couples, families and friends going on vacation. But there is no party scene here. The bar on the beach is great and reminds me of the movie Cocktail. But don't expect late night wildness. Oh! And we always felt safe staying here. I think we even slept with all our windows open. I had my doubts about our safety before going. And downtown Playa del Carmen is a modern, European like downtown. Think Barcelona meets Miami.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    Bring USD cash. Everyone will accept it and prefer it. Rent a car to save money on cab fare. There is really only one main highway that takes you everywhere and lots of signs so I think it will be easy to get around. Go to Tulum because it's gorgeous. And go to the beach right outside the Tulum ruins. We wish we could have stayed there longer. You can even snorkel in Tulum. Skip Akumal. It felt like a tourist trap to me.

    Review of Petit Lafitte

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    buckeye07
    Business
    Ohio
    Dec 24, 2013

    great place to relax

    We had a great time. Staff was excellent and extremely helpful as we were first timers to the area. Food was outstanding, and we did not want to leave. So much to see and do. We will definitely return.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Petit Lafitte

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Flammy
    Business
    New York
    Feb 9, 2013

    Petit Lafitte

    Its staff was very kind and friendly!! Food (breakfast and dinner was inclusive) was also good! I could relax and enjoy my stay :)

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Petit Lafitte

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    JRew
    Business
    Washington
    Jan 6, 2013

    nice beach getaway

    relaxing unassuming beach vacation. Great location.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Petit Lafitte

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    SFDiver
    Business
    San Francisco, CA
    Jan 1, 2013

    Rustic hotel, Unreliable internet

    Basic hotel with limited amenities. Rooms are rustic, and would benefit from thorough cleaning and renovation. Limited television channels, no remote control in our room, and no safe. Food was OK. If you need to be connected to the internet during your stay, this is not a place to stay. They do have computers to use, but the wireless network is dismal, no matter where you are located in the hotel. We were barely able to get connected for a few minutes each day. The beach is nice and not too crowded like the large resorts. It takes about 1 1/2 hours to walk from the hotel to town following the beach. Would not stay there again mostly because of the lack of reliable internet, and also because it is too far from town.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Back to menu Return to top