$450 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

5 stars
5ta Ave Esq Calle 88 Nte L1-M569 Fracc III, Predio Chenzubul Col Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen, 77719
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
46 reviews
awesome vacation

My husband and I enjoyed a great anniversary trip at Paradisus. Upon arrival at the resort we... See full review

  • Jenni from the Block
  • Sep 24, 2014
best all-inclusive ever

Just spent a week there for a wedding. It's the most beautiful resort I've ever seen, especially... See full review

  • Wifey and Mommy
  • Sep 11, 2014

One of the few hotels in the exclusive Melia Paradisus chain, the Paradisus La Esmeralda welcomes families in a big way. There's the amazing program of everything from salsa lessons to snorkeling, or the specialized catering that ensures both milk and cookies at bedtime for the kids and wine-tasting events for the adults. Then there are the acres of sprawling, white-sand beach to roam, the balloon-making classes, and the water-based playground that is the kid's-only swimming pool. After you've thoroughly exhausted the youngsters, kick off your flip-flops in the Yhi Spa, or make good use of the on-site childcare to hit the Fuego restaurant for Latino-inspired eats, or to try any one of the cultural cuisines on offer at the hotel's nine other restaurants.

Key facts
  • 510 suites
  • 68 swim-up suites
  • Business center
  • Fitness center
  • 25,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 10 restaurants: Fuego, Naos, Vento, Passion by Martin Berasategui, Bana, Hadar, Mole, Gabi Beach Club, The Market, La Palapa
  • 4 bars: Blue Agave, Gabi Club Bar, Toji, Red Lounge
  • Spa
  • Family activity program and kids' camp
Neighborhood

Paradisus La Esmeralda is situated in a private bay within the Riviera Maya resort town of Playa del Carmen, right on the coast of the warm Mexican Caribbean Sea, and a short walk from the pulsing nightlife and souvenir shops of 5th Avenue. You'll find the island of Cozumel waiting to be explored just offshore, or you could delve into the peninsula's beautiful natural heritage in one of the cenotes like Chikin Ha or Chaak Tun inland, for a stab at cave diving, spelunking or rappelling.

Hints and tips
The hotel stands out for its Family Concierge service, which gives you easy access to the heated pool, and help with planning days out to historic sites like Chichen Itza.

There are even added touches like a personalized mini-bar and a bubble-bath style Jacuzzi for the kids.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented Rooms

Luxury Junior Suite and Luxury Junior Suite - Ocean View
517 sq ft of area & 108 sq ft of terrace. 2 double beds or King Bed . Pool View. 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom , safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access. Luxury Rooms available in Ocean View.
Family Concierge - Luxury Junior Suite with Jacuzzi
Freedom for Everyone vacation on a resort beyond All Inclusive. 14 all around the world restaurants and 8 bars serving Premium brand drinks. Life-enriching experiences such as tango lessons, sushi-making, and signature Kids program. Family Concierge suites, feature personal service and luxuries right-sized for everyone in the family. Paradisus LUXEclusive Family Concierge. All day assistance of a Family Concierge, and a complimentary walkie-talkie or cell phone for instant communication. Paradisus Kids Beach Kit check-in gift. Kid-sized bathrobe, mini-slippers in the closet and Kid's bathroom amenities. In-room activities menu and PlayStation on request. Kid`s drinks in the mini-bar and nightly turndown with milk and cookies. Pillow menu for the parents and Kid's. Bathrobes and slippers for the parents with luxury bathroom amenities for the parents. Access to the exclusive Family Concierge restaurant for a la carte dining. Jacuzzi on the terrace. .
Family Concierge - Luxury Junior Suite - Ocean View
Freedom for Everyone vacation on a resort beyond All Inclusive. 14 all around the world restaurants and 8 bars serving Premium brand drinks. Life-enriching experiences such as tango lessons, sushi-making, and signature Kids program. Family Concierge suites, feature personal service and luxuries right-sized for everyone in the family. Paradisus LUXEclusive Family Concierge. All day assistance of a Family Concierge, and a complimentary walkie-talkie or cell phone for instant communication. Paradisus Kids Beach Kit check-in gift. Kid-sized bathrobe, mini-slippers in the closet and Kid's bathroom amenities. In-room activities menu and PlayStation on request. Kid`s drinks in the mini-bar and nightly turndown with milk and cookies. Pillow menu for the parents and Kid's. Bathrobes and slippers for the parents with luxury bathroom amenities for the parents. Access to the exclusive Family Concierge restaurant for a la carte dining. Jacuzzi on the terrace.
Family Connecting Suite
893 sq ft of area & 248 sq ft of terrace. Ocean or Garden View. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. King bed or 2 double beds . 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, modern bathroom with jacuzzi, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area. This suite is connected with one bedroom which includes a Suite 646 sq ft of area & 194 sq ft of terrace. Ocean or Garden View. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. 2 double beds or King bed. 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area.
One Bedroom Master Suite Swim Up
646 sq ft of area & 194 sq ft of terrace. Swim Up. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and 517 sq ft of area & 108 sq ft of terrace. 2 double beds or King Bed . Ocean View. 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access .
One Bedroom Suite Pool View
646 sq ft of area & 194 sq ft of terrace. Pool View. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. 2 double beds or King bed. 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area. This suite can be connected with one Master Suite.
One Bedroom Master Suite Ocean Front
893 sq ft of area & 248 sq ft of terrace. Ocean Front View. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. King bed or 2 double beds . 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, modern bathroom with jacuzzi, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area. This suite can be connected with one bedroom Suite.
One Bedroom Suite Swim Up
646 sq ft of area & 194 sq ft of terrace. Swim Up. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. 2 double beds or King bed . 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area. This suite can be connected with one Master Suite.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
-

Dining

Vento
Vento features a la carte international specialties with a distinct Mediterranean flair and its own Fusion Bellini Bar for lunch and dinner. A la carte continental breakfast MOLE - Mexican a la carte haute cuisine for dinner. Vento and Mole restaurants share a holding bar with a wine and tequila cellar.
Hadar
A sumptuous international buffet with International show cooking
The Market
Offering an attractive selection of the best salads, BBQ, and light menus for lunch. Rodizzio for dinner, offering an attractive salad bar and the best caipirinhas.
Naos
A sumptuous international buffet with International show cooking.
Gabi Club
Beat. Drink. Groove. The chill-out club with a casual-chic elegance where bar, restaurant and beach come together in unique harmony. Family Concierge Suites guests have privileged access to Gabi Beach. Additional cost for other guests
La Palapa Grill
Exclusive for Family Concierge guests, a la carte casual dining.
Bana
Romantic & a la carte continental cuisine, Asian fusion, Salads & BBQ , International buffet, Casual dinn Mediterranean Cuisine, Mexican & Chill Out Club.
Passion
Romantic la carte continental cuisine in an elegant atmosphere.*
Library
nternational a la carte cuisine. Passion and Library restaurants share a holding bar and a wine cellar.*
The Grill
Delivers an amazing selection of salads, BBQ and light menu items with show cooking stations for lunch. A la carte "Surf and Turf" for dinner*

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 46
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
livetotravelfamily
Business
California
Dec 9, 2014

Paradise found

Experienced great staff and awesome service at Paradisus Riviera Maya. Looking forward to more Paradisus experience in other locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janna N.
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Nov 25, 2014

it was fresh and clean

i liked it, not in love! i didnt like the location of it. didnt look appealing, right in the middle of Playa del Carmen down town. not much entertainment. Beach wasnt too clean. But food was amazing! Rooms are nice and clean. We took the room with smim up pool, i loved it, gave my family privacy, otherwise their pools are so little considering the amount of people they had. so i give it a 4 out of 5. Would i come back? Nah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad plus 2
Business
Ohio
Nov 10, 2014

Very nice and great service

We have been to many hotels in the Riviera maya cancun area, but this one really excels with their customer service, room cleanliness, and overall property beauty. There is a family side and an adults only side so you can be where you want depending on if you bring kids. The only negatives are that the kids pool and waterslide area is a bit small and can get crowded and there is no evening kids show on stage as at some other resorts. There is a kids club which I heard was very fun, but I did not use it. The beach is very nice but there are big rocks all over the water so you need to be very careful. Overall I am very happy and will likely return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

They will try to sell you their club melia membership (read: timeshare) right as you are checking in. A "concierge" type very attractive person will offer you services while slipping in that they want you to sit through a 2 hour meeting in exchange for massages, etc. If this is not for you, then just kindly tell them right then and there that you are not interested otherwise they will hound you for days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bpusa
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 5, 2014

Not as expected.

To begin, I do want to mention that we have been to Barceló resort in Riviera Maya few years back, and I was looking for similar experience, just wanted to try something new. The price of the package was very similar to the previous resort and yes Paradisus resort did have great star rating. But the whole experience was disappointing. Food variety was very poor at the Buffet, I at least expected lot of fresh fruit and sea food, but only got 4 fruits and they were not very fresh, some had still ice on it ,which indicated that it has been frozen... also very little sea food only at dinner time. Breakfast was very poor as well... I do have to say that at the restaurants were you have to make reservations, food was really good! The beach area was far from everything else and we were not able to swim in water since there was so much of see weed everywhere. Also there was only 1 pool which was kids friendly and one pool that had swim up bar. I did like the kids room, where you had option of leaving your kids (if they cooperate and do not cry:)). Overall, the resort is not worth the money, I would definitely go back to Barceló versus this one. Need improvement in food variety and quality!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Kids room was very helpful to get kids interacted and stay in cool A/C room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mia Wallace
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 18, 2014

Best Vacation Plan for Kids (and their Parents).

Outstanding service!! We booked the Concierge services and Israel did an excellent job to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The food was great, even the buffet. I have 2 kids (6 & 4 yrs old) and we were a party of 19 people. Everyone had a blast. There is a kids pool with a Pirate ship (w slide) and the whole pool is 3 feet deep. So even my 4 yr old would touch the bottom. That is a big relief for parents who do not attempt to be inside the water at all times (like myself) but rather enjoy a drink at the poolside. There are open restaurants near the pools where you can get decent food without having to change clothes... There is a kids club open until 10pm... There is an awesome SPA at La Perla (the sister resort for adults only) with complementary Sauna, Jacuzzis, Steam, etc. if you stay at the Concierge services at Esmeralda. They have shows at night, beach volleyball, kayaks, bar at the beach... The only thing I didn't like were the beds, they were too soft for me (everyone in the group agreed to that). But apart from that, I highly recommend the whole Paradisus experience. It is not an economic plan, but is worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The SPA at La Perla, the Geysa Cocktails at Bana Restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrmsm
Business
Little Elm, TX
Jul 19, 2014

Great family vacation resort!

Resort was great, the staff was exceptional. I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to see the sights at Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yurman
Business
New Jesrey
Jul 14, 2014

Paradisus Riviera Maya

Excellent facility and friendly staff. Good food. Excellent for families with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to shows at least 30 to 45 minutes in advance if you want seating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
All Inclusive
Business
Chicago
Jun 23, 2014

Family Getaway

No issues. Newer facility, great activities for kids, surprisingly few bugs, staff/hotel super accommodating to kids and dietary restrictions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacation queen 2
Business
Summit colorado
Jun 16, 2014

Disappointing but has promise

After saying in the Cancun location we had very high expectations for the Playa location. Upon arrival our rooms were not together. We ended up moving the next day only to be awake all night buy people above us partying and running around all night. For a family oriented resort this was truly unexpected. We called the front desk to complain near midnight but it did not help. We got relocated the next day to more quiet rooms but be advised there are no quiet rooms here. After having 6 options in as many nights none were quiet. All the doors slam and unless you are on the top floor expect to hear people above you. The hotel is new and so the quality of rooms and appearances are very nice and up to date. The pools are fun but it's a nice walk to the beach. It's not a beach side resort. We bought the family concierge program and to be honest, it is not really worth it. They need to do a much better job with this service if they are going to boast about it. Our concierge had 11 families to help while we were there. In other resorts I have stayed at we were provided a dedicated resource not a shared. I figured that most people need assistance between 8 and 11 during the day and maybe 4 to 7 at night. Between running from the pool to a room to the beach, there is little time for the concierge to actually do anything for you. They say they give you a phone but we bought two rooms and never got one. Our dinner reservations that I made and were promised to be taken care of and delivered to our room for confirmation were not followed through on. In fact when we called to see what our reservations were they told us they lost them and that they could no longer offer our preferred times. I made the reservations the first morning we were there. This was totally unacceptable. I think this is a hotel that has promise but they need to work out the kinks before they can be a 4 star resort. I would not go back here but would go back to the cancun location in a heart beat. The service there is much better. In two or so years I think this location will do much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations as the time slots book up fast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hobo09
Business
Nc
Jun 12, 2014

Family friendly, service fair

Beautiful pools for kids and plenty of shady cabanas. Room was clean and well arranged. Bathroom beautiful. The food was not great with little to no child friendly options at the buffet. Service was fair at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top