$440 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

5 stars
View map of 5ta Ave Esq Calle 88 Nte L1-M569 Fracc III, Predio Chenzubul Col Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen, 77719

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
s m h
Business
marietta, georgia
Apr 9, 2012

very kid friendly!!

This was a wonderful place for our family vacation. we had a wonderful time at the pool and the food was good as well! the only thing was the beach was ok. but the pools where great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Missy Prissy
Business
Lehi, Utah
Apr 15, 2012

Fabulous Customer Service and Beautiful Resort

My family and I stayed in a swim-up suite. The room was attractive and very clean, and the pool water was warm. We came in on an overnight flight. When we arrived (around 7:00 am), we were greeted cheerfully by staff members who had been up all night as well (working the nightshift.). The bell boy took our bags and welcomed us with a smile. He escorted us to check-in where he was going to see what he could do for an early check-in. He told us he would talk to the on-coming manager to see if we could stay in a room until a swim-up suite was ready. We were given bracelets so we could go eat breakfast. Unfortunately, we were not able to get into another room to rest until our swim-up suite was ready, but they were able to check us in at noon (as soon as a swim-up suite was available and clean). While we waited, we rested undisturbed in the side lobby. When we asked for anything (room service, extra blankets, etc.), we always received prompt and courteous service. Everyone there was so friendly, and all the staff we interacted with spoke English (which we appreciated since our Spanish is not very good). Not only were the staff friendly, but they were always smiling. It is a great atmosphere. The only reason why I did not give this hotel 5 star is because they had mosquitoes. My daughter woke up to 13 mosquito bites on the first night we were there. I called the front desk, and they sent someone to spray our room. That did help, but I had the room sprayed two more times, because the annoying bugs kept getting in our room. We bought some mosquito repellent at the gift shop. That helped reduce the problem, but there were still mosquitos outside, and we had to continually reapply the repellent. We still received a few more bites between applications. It would have been nice to have the room sprayed without asking (before we went to sleep and woke up bitten) and complimentary mosquito repellent (spray and wristbands) placed in the room. Bug zappers out-side would have been nice as well. I saw little kids with bites on their bodies that were huge due to scratching. It was sad. Last year, at the same time of year, we stayed at another resort in Playa del Carmen, and we did not see any mosquitos. Not sure why this area was different, but I was not expecting it. My advice to anyone going there is to prepare for mosquitoes. The beach is great if you like to snorkel close to the resort. In the beach swimming area, there are wreaths with small fish. Every now and then larger fish would swim up as well. We even saw a big star fish. The sea floor in some of the area was rocky and had some old wooden planks. Swim shoes are a definite must. If you’re looking for a beach vacation were small children can walk barefoot and play in the waves, this is not the spot. It is a great spot for making sandcastles. We also went SCUBA diving with the dive shop at the resort. Our guide, Martinez, was fabulous. He was so patient with our family. He took us to two great dive spots. It was the highlight of our vacation. He knew where to locate a seahorse, eel, cuttlefish, and a variety of brilliantly colored fish and marine life. We even got to see a sea turtle. It was a fabulous dive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring mosquito repellent. The cost for a small bottle in the hotel is $14 USD. They also sell wrist bands with a natural mosquito repellent for $30 USD each. (Didn't try the wrist bands, so I don't know if they work well or not.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Divatraveller0512
Business
NEW JERSEY
Sep 13, 2012

Paradisus Playa del Carmen

Just back from 12 days at the Paradisus La Esmeralda. We had a good time. The resorts are nice and with a little attention to detail they could be great. The food is excellent, the decor is excellent and the staff make you feel so warm and welcomed. If they put a little more effort into making sure that all areas of the resort are spotless, they will be hard to beat. It is a really nice place to visit. Go and enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure to try every restaurant, as they all offer something different and all are DELICIOUS!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tokyodan
Business
Mexico
Nov 5, 2012

Get What You Pay For

This is a large property with a decidedly upscale feel. An interesting feature is the setup with one side adults only and the other for families, with some common area. I think that worked very well, as kids could go to some of the cool places during certain hours. The quality of the rooms, food (Passion restaurant is worth the supplement if you are a foodie) and mostly pampering staff was very high. It was not very full when we were there and it could be different at peak times. Negatives were: the ripoff 150 peso taxi to town for 5 minute ride, although too far to walk; the high pressure pitch to have you attend a presentation on their vacation club or timeshare upon checking, and the scuba dive taken with the in-house operator. There is a seperate royal concierge service area that is extra cost which we did not experience. The beach is good and somewhat secluded, in a protected bay a few km outside the town of Carmen. We did use the spa, which was good but expensive. There are interesting tours you can do in the area. Prices at the in-house agency are considerably higher than from those in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Passion has top-tier food which would cost serious $ elsewhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler 12
Business
Toronto, Canada
Dec 10, 2012

GOOD 4+ STAR HOTEL

It was my second trip to the hotel. The hotel is 1 year old, modern and contemporary. La Esmeralda is family resort with concierge section which has heated pool. All shows take place in the bar or Gabi Club. Gym is very good for adults only. All a'la carte restaurants are very good. Buffet is good. Service is not very good, often in buffet we waited long time to get coffee or table to be cleaned. It took 50 min. for room service . They cleaned room at diffrent times, some days it wasn't clean until 4 pm. Turn down service - some days they were knocking our door at 10:30. The beach is very nice by family concierge section, other part has rocks at the bottom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
titu
Business
NJ
Nov 28, 2012

Paradisus La Esmeralda Mexico

Great time spend there. Lots of dining options, rooms are clean, comfortable beds, kid's club fantastic, overall a great family resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HTravel06
Business
Austin, Texas
May 12, 2013

Good times

This place offers great fun for the kids and family. The food is great and the beach isn't as bad as many have spoken about. The rooms are spacious and cleaned everyday. I will return in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All eateries all very good in the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
celos
Business
bayonne,new jersey
May 25, 2013

relaxing vacation

Very relaxing, the staff were very attentive and friendly. The restauraunts were great and the service was superb. The buffet was ok it was small in comparison to the other all inclusive. The pools were great however the beach was disappointing as there were a lot of rocks and pockets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CashMan
Business
Phila, Pa
Oct 29, 2013

Great Trip

No language problems, staff were absolutely fantastic. room very clean and bright. food was plenty and decent tasting. the water was clear and warm and spent a lot of time by pool side enjoying many adult beverages!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
foodie 100
Business
philadelphia, pa
Nov 8, 2013

fantastic family trip

We did family concierge which was well worth it for the kids. Not 100% necessary if low season but I think necessary if high season. The pools were great, especially the pirate ship for kids. The kids club was great, open 9 am to 10 pm and you just show up whenever and sign them in and out as desired. We were a little concerned about safety of the kids as there were times where there were too many kids to too few staff. There was free access through double doors and anyone could have walked in and walked out with any kid at any time. The staff was incredible with the kids, if only it was more secure. Most food was very good, but breakfast was a little disappointing. They will make anything you want fresh though if you just ask. As for babies, they will make you fresh baby puree of anything you ask for at each meal. They would even wrap it or deliver it to the room. Amazing....Spa facility and gym were very cery nice. Balconies on rooms could be much nicer. Ocean view is a joke, way in the distance. Biggest disappointment was we went with 20 family members with 7 different rooms. I emailed way in advance to group the rooms together. Our rooms were in 3 different buildings very far apart making it very difficult to communicate with eachother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top