$540 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

5 stars
View map of 5ta Ave Esq Calle 88 Nte L1-M569 Fracc III, Predio Chenzubul Col Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen, 77719

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
57 reviews
Great trip @ the Paradisus

Awesome and well maintained hotel with great 5 star experience. Great food and restaurant choice.... See full review

  • nkblitz
  • Apr 27, 2015
Friends wedding

Great grounds. Beach was real dirty and water is very choppy. Adult pool is way better if you are... See full review

  • World Traveler Chicago
  • Apr 24, 2015

One of the few hotels in the exclusive Melia Paradisus chain, the Paradisus La Esmeralda welcomes families in a big way. There's the amazing program of everything from salsa lessons to snorkeling, or the specialized catering that ensures both milk and cookies at bedtime for the kids and wine-tasting events for the adults. Then there are the acres of sprawling, white-sand beach to roam, the balloon-making classes, and the water-based playground that is the kid's-only swimming pool. After you've thoroughly exhausted the youngsters, kick off your flip-flops in the Yhi Spa, or make good use of the on-site childcare to hit the Fuego restaurant for Latino-inspired eats, or to try any one of the cultural cuisines on offer at the hotel's nine other restaurants.

Key facts
  • 510 suites
  • 68 swim-up suites
  • Business center
  • Fitness center
  • 25,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 10 restaurants: Fuego, Naos, Vento, Passion by Martin Berasategui, Bana, Hadar, Mole, Gabi Beach Club, The Market, La Palapa
  • 4 bars: Blue Agave, Gabi Club Bar, Toji, Red Lounge
  • Spa
  • Family activity program and kids' camp
Neighborhood

Paradisus La Esmeralda is situated in a private bay within the Riviera Maya resort town of Playa del Carmen, right on the coast of the warm Mexican Caribbean Sea, and a short walk from the pulsing nightlife and souvenir shops of 5th Avenue. You'll find the island of Cozumel waiting to be explored just offshore, or you could delve into the peninsula's beautiful natural heritage in one of the cenotes like Chikin Ha or Chaak Tun inland, for a stab at cave diving, spelunking or rappelling.

Hints and tips
The hotel stands out for its Family Concierge service, which gives you easy access to the heated pool, and help with planning days out to historic sites like Chichen Itza.

There are even added touches like a personalized mini-bar and a bubble-bath style Jacuzzi for the kids.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented Rooms

Luxury Junior Suite and Luxury Junior Suite - Ocean View
517 sq ft of area & 108 sq ft of terrace. 2 double beds or King Bed . Pool View. 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom , safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access. Luxury Rooms available in Ocean View.
Family Concierge - Luxury Junior Suite with Jacuzzi
Freedom for Everyone vacation on a resort beyond All Inclusive. 14 all around the world restaurants and 8 bars serving Premium brand drinks. Life-enriching experiences such as tango lessons, sushi-making, and signature Kids program. Family Concierge suites, feature personal service and luxuries right-sized for everyone in the family. Paradisus LUXEclusive Family Concierge. All day assistance of a Family Concierge, and a complimentary walkie-talkie or cell phone for instant communication. Paradisus Kids Beach Kit check-in gift. Kid-sized bathrobe, mini-slippers in the closet and Kid's bathroom amenities. In-room activities menu and PlayStation on request. Kid`s drinks in the mini-bar and nightly turndown with milk and cookies. Pillow menu for the parents and Kid's. Bathrobes and slippers for the parents with luxury bathroom amenities for the parents. Access to the exclusive Family Concierge restaurant for a la carte dining. Jacuzzi on the terrace. .
Family Concierge - Luxury Junior Suite - Ocean View
Freedom for Everyone vacation on a resort beyond All Inclusive. 14 all around the world restaurants and 8 bars serving Premium brand drinks. Life-enriching experiences such as tango lessons, sushi-making, and signature Kids program. Family Concierge suites, feature personal service and luxuries right-sized for everyone in the family. Paradisus LUXEclusive Family Concierge. All day assistance of a Family Concierge, and a complimentary walkie-talkie or cell phone for instant communication. Paradisus Kids Beach Kit check-in gift. Kid-sized bathrobe, mini-slippers in the closet and Kid's bathroom amenities. In-room activities menu and PlayStation on request. Kid`s drinks in the mini-bar and nightly turndown with milk and cookies. Pillow menu for the parents and Kid's. Bathrobes and slippers for the parents with luxury bathroom amenities for the parents. Access to the exclusive Family Concierge restaurant for a la carte dining. Jacuzzi on the terrace.
Family Connecting Suite
893 sq ft of area & 248 sq ft of terrace. Ocean or Garden View. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. King bed or 2 double beds . 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, modern bathroom with jacuzzi, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area. This suite is connected with one bedroom which includes a Suite 646 sq ft of area & 194 sq ft of terrace. Ocean or Garden View. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. 2 double beds or King bed. 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area.
One Bedroom Master Suite Swim Up
646 sq ft of area & 194 sq ft of terrace. Swim Up. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and 517 sq ft of area & 108 sq ft of terrace. 2 double beds or King Bed . Ocean View. 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access .
One Bedroom Suite Pool View
646 sq ft of area & 194 sq ft of terrace. Pool View. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. 2 double beds or King bed. 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area. This suite can be connected with one Master Suite.
One Bedroom Master Suite Ocean Front
893 sq ft of area & 248 sq ft of terrace. Ocean Front View. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. King bed or 2 double beds . 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, modern bathroom with jacuzzi, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area. This suite can be connected with one bedroom Suite.
One Bedroom Suite Swim Up
646 sq ft of area & 194 sq ft of terrace. Swim Up. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. 2 double beds or King bed . 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area. This suite can be connected with one Master Suite.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
-

Dining

Vento
Vento features a la carte international specialties with a distinct Mediterranean flair and its own Fusion Bellini Bar for lunch and dinner. A la carte continental breakfast MOLE - Mexican a la carte haute cuisine for dinner. Vento and Mole restaurants share a holding bar with a wine and tequila cellar.
Hadar
A sumptuous international buffet with International show cooking
The Market
Offering an attractive selection of the best salads, BBQ, and light menus for lunch. Rodizzio for dinner, offering an attractive salad bar and the best caipirinhas.
Naos
A sumptuous international buffet with International show cooking.
Gabi Club
Beat. Drink. Groove. The chill-out club with a casual-chic elegance where bar, restaurant and beach come together in unique harmony. Family Concierge Suites guests have privileged access to Gabi Beach. Additional cost for other guests
La Palapa Grill
Exclusive for Family Concierge guests, a la carte casual dining.
Bana
Romantic & a la carte continental cuisine, Asian fusion, Salads & BBQ , International buffet, Casual dinn Mediterranean Cuisine, Mexican & Chill Out Club.
Passion
Romantic la carte continental cuisine in an elegant atmosphere.*
Library
nternational a la carte cuisine. Passion and Library restaurants share a holding bar and a wine cellar.*
The Grill
Delivers an amazing selection of salads, BBQ and light menu items with show cooking stations for lunch. A la carte "Surf and Turf" for dinner*

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 57
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kus K
Business
N/A
May 21, 2015

A dirty little trick.....

Let's get the good out of the way: The entire resort, staff, grounds, rooms, and ESPECIALLY food is exceptional. One of the best resorts in Playa Del Carmen. Very modern, well designed and incredibly kid friendly. The beach reviews were not accurate. The beach IS roomy, but a bit of a walk from the rooms and the ocean swimming area is small as the rest of the shore line is a bit rocky. But who cares? The resort has a trillion gallon pool if you want. And the dirty little trick: I take personal offence when I fall victim to unintentional charges. My ATM got locked, I needed to call my bank and get it fixed. Each ATM card has a toll-free international # you can call anywhere in the world FOR FREE, and each bank accepts all the charges. EXCEPT, in Mexico, they don't honor collect calls. A 38 minute call to my Bank form my room turned into a bill of.......you ready?? $240.08!!!!!!!!!! which is a rate of $7 a MINUTE!!! No reasonable person would ever make a call knowing the rate is $7 per minute. There were no signs, no warnings, no information in the room letting me know that. Every other information and fact about the hotel you can think of was provided, except the phone rate part. I tried to reason with management, explaining I had no idea about the Mexico phone regulations and the response was: I should've known Dear management: As you're reading this post and thinking of a way to respond, know this: If my call lasted another 30 min, it would be cheaper for me to fly back to the states, go to my bank, and return to Mexico, rather than call form your hotel. I fact, I can call the space station at a cheaper rate than $7 per minute. Don't hide the fact I wasn't made aware of your phone rates. When you greet arriving guests, skip the welcome drink and wet towels and warn the guest about your $7 PER MINUTE CALL RATE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nkblitz
Business
Redmond
Apr 27, 2015

Great trip @ the Paradisus

Awesome and well maintained hotel with great 5 star experience. Great food and restaurant choice. Cannot go wrong with this one. Checkin staff and bartenders could use more training to get better at what they do. Would readily recommend to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bella Isa
Business
Blainville
Apr 6, 2015

Perfect!

This was our second time at this hotel, and this time was even better than the first one. Everything is perfect: food, room, service, ameneties, pools, beach. Do not hesitate to go to this hotel! You will be more than happy! We always take the concierge service option and it really worth the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gina E.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Excellent family trip!

We loved it & are looking to go back again this year - the staff (Anna especially by the pool) was fantastic!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stoyan G.
Business
Irivng
Mar 2, 2015

Great for families with younger kids

We stayed 10 nights at Esmeralda. The room was large with separate bedroom so we had privacy from the kids. Pools and amenities were fantastic. The kids really enjoyed to pools, food, kids club (our stayed under 5 years) Staff was very good. Hotel is newer and very clean. Beach is not so great but there is a beach. Hotel is not right on the beach so Ocean View is not much of value. I highly recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tracy T.
Business
Sunnyvale
Jan 6, 2015

Two Families Vacation Together

We are from California and our friends are from Ohio. We wanted to pick a location where we could meet and have a family vacation together. Between the two families, we had a 4, 6, 9, & 11 year old. Everyone had the best time. The resort offered experiences for all ages. Though our kids did not like the kids' club, it did not stop them from being in heaven around the pool and being able to order snacks and drinks anytime they wanted to. They want to know when they get to go back! The adults had a blast as well. Every employee that we encountered bent over backwards to help us. The bell hop arranged a private cab for our families to tour Tulum and experience the beaches a bit further south. It was simply amazing. We were sent with drinks for the kids and adults, snacks, as well as towels. Our families are still talking about the hospitality! We have some picky eaters in our group, and every meal, at every restaurant, everyone was able to find something that he/she enjoyed. There were lots of choices and everything that we ate was delicious. I highly recommend this resort and we are planning on returning to the adult only side this summer for a 50th birthday celebration!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
livetotravelfamily
Business
California
Dec 9, 2014

Paradise found

Experienced great staff and awesome service at Paradisus Riviera Maya. Looking forward to more Paradisus experience in other locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janna N.
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Nov 25, 2014

it was fresh and clean

i liked it, not in love! i didnt like the location of it. didnt look appealing, right in the middle of Playa del Carmen down town. not much entertainment. Beach wasnt too clean. But food was amazing! Rooms are nice and clean. We took the room with smim up pool, i loved it, gave my family privacy, otherwise their pools are so little considering the amount of people they had. so i give it a 4 out of 5. Would i come back? Nah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lyons Mama
Business
Highland Village, Texas
Nov 22, 2014

Paradise at Paradisus

Our vacation included our extended family which included 5 small children between 8 and 18 months, their parents and a grandparent. We had a fantastic time and highly recommend Paradisus Esmerelda. We stayed in the family concierge portion of the resort. I believe that the family concierge experience was a huge bonus in this vacation, particularly because we traveled during November. The family concierge includes the use of the heated pool which is pretty much mandatory during winter months. The pirate pool was very fun, but too cool during this time of year to stay in all day. Also, the pirate pool is deeper than I expected. The four year olds of the group could not stand up easily in it. The family concierge included many wonderful, unexpected touches that made the trip extraordinary. From the backpacks with Paradisus gear to the funny face cookies in the room every night, the kids (and adults) were constantly amazed at the fun things waiting for them in their room. The resort is beautiful, sleek and impeccably maintained. The food was fantastic, with selections to please everyone in our group. The tepenyaki at Bana was a tremendous experience that impressed the whole family. We ate at Vento, Bana, Mole and Fuego and we enjoyed all of them. We enjoyed having the kids stay at the kid club while we ate dinner at Vento and Fuego. Vento had a more romantic feel than the other restaurants. The food has a contemporary but decadent feel to it. The portion sizes are perfect for ordering multiple dishes to try many things. (We ordered ALL the desserts at Vento and got a high five from our waiter for our commitment to trying them all.) Our kids enjoyed the kids club and the staff are fantastic. Kids 5 and over are allowed to go off-site from the club with staff members to do activities at the beach, pool etc. I chose to stay with my kids while they did these activities because I am cautious about kids around water. The activities the club leads are amazing. The pirate day was especially exciting with pirate face painting, balloon swords and a resort wide treasure hunt. The whole thing culminates at the pirate pool with an entire pirate show ending in treasure (candy) for all the kids. We attended two shows (Circus and Elvis) and both were fantastic. There are many activities for adults as well. The entire resort is very contemporary and perfectly maintained. The beach is beautiful, and has no sand bars. We stayed on the family concierge area of the beach which is free of rocks. The concierge staff brought out beach toys and a soccer ball for the kids in our group. We enjoyed the walk through the mangroves along well maintained bridges to reach the beach. If someone in your party has serious mobility issues this could be a concern however. I would recommend this resort for anyone looking for a family friendly resort in Mexico. The family members that traveled with us had never traveled to Mexico before. They all thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get the Family Concierge option if traveling during the cooler months for the use of the heated pool as well as the other nice amenities

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad plus 2
Business
Ohio
Nov 10, 2014

Very nice and great service

We have been to many hotels in the Riviera maya cancun area, but this one really excels with their customer service, room cleanliness, and overall property beauty. There is a family side and an adults only side so you can be where you want depending on if you bring kids. The only negatives are that the kids pool and waterslide area is a bit small and can get crowded and there is no evening kids show on stage as at some other resorts. There is a kids club which I heard was very fun, but I did not use it. The beach is very nice but there are big rocks all over the water so you need to be very careful. Overall I am very happy and will likely return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

They will try to sell you their club melia membership (read: timeshare) right as you are checking in. A "concierge" type very attractive person will offer you services while slipping in that they want you to sit through a 2 hour meeting in exchange for massages, etc. If this is not for you, then just kindly tell them right then and there that you are not interested otherwise they will hound you for days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top