$350 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

5 stars
5ta Ave Esq Calle 88 Nte L1-M569 Fracc III, Predio Chenzubul Col Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen, 77719
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
41 reviews
Great family vacation resort!

Resort was great, the staff was exceptional. I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to see... See full review

  • mrmsm
  • Jul 19, 2014
Paradisus Riviera Maya

Excellent facility and friendly staff. Good food. Excellent for families with kids. See full review

  • Yurman
  • Jul 14, 2014

One of the few hotels in the exclusive Melia Paradisus chain, the Paradisus La Esmeralda welcomes families in a big way. There's the amazing program of everything from salsa lessons to snorkeling, or the specialized catering that ensures both milk and cookies at bedtime for the kids and wine-tasting events for the adults. Then there are the acres of sprawling, white-sand beach to roam, the balloon-making classes, and the water-based playground that is the kid's-only swimming pool. After you've thoroughly exhausted the youngsters, kick off your flip-flops in the Yhi Spa, or make good use of the on-site childcare to hit the Fuego restaurant for Latino-inspired eats, or to try any one of the cultural cuisines on offer at the hotel's nine other restaurants.

Key facts
  • 510 suites
  • 68 swim-up suites
  • Business center
  • Fitness center
  • 25,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 10 restaurants: Fuego, Naos, Vento, Passion by Martin Berasategui, Bana, Hadar, Mole, Gabi Beach Club, The Market, La Palapa
  • 4 bars: Blue Agave, Gabi Club Bar, Toji, Red Lounge
  • Spa
  • Family activity program and kids' camp
Neighborhood

Paradisus La Esmeralda is situated in a private bay within the Riviera Maya resort town of Playa del Carmen, right on the coast of the warm Mexican Caribbean Sea, and a short walk from the pulsing nightlife and souvenir shops of 5th Avenue. You'll find the island of Cozumel waiting to be explored just offshore, or you could delve into the peninsula's beautiful natural heritage in one of the cenotes like Chikin Ha or Chaak Tun inland, for a stab at cave diving, spelunking or rappelling.

Hints and tips
The hotel stands out for its Family Concierge service, which gives you easy access to the heated pool, and help with planning days out to historic sites like Chichen Itza.

There are even added touches like a personalized mini-bar and a bubble-bath style Jacuzzi for the kids.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.649 -87.0551
Area served
Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (45 minutes).
Area description
45 minutes from Cancun International Airport.
Just steps from extraordinary beaches & attractions: Playa del Carmens 5th Avenue, Xcaret, Akumal, Xel-ha..
Ideally located near world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba & Chichen Itza.

Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented Rooms

Luxury Junior Suite and Luxury Junior Suite - Ocean View
517 sq ft of area & 108 sq ft of terrace. 2 double beds or King Bed . Pool View. 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom , safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access. Luxury Rooms available in Ocean View.
Family Concierge - Luxury Junior Suite with Jacuzzi
Freedom for Everyone vacation on a resort beyond All Inclusive. 14 all around the world restaurants and 8 bars serving Premium brand drinks. Life-enriching experiences such as tango lessons, sushi-making, and signature Kids program. Family Concierge suites, feature personal service and luxuries right-sized for everyone in the family. Paradisus LUXEclusive Family Concierge. All day assistance of a Family Concierge, and a complimentary walkie-talkie or cell phone for instant communication. Paradisus Kids Beach Kit check-in gift. Kid-sized bathrobe, mini-slippers in the closet and Kid's bathroom amenities. In-room activities menu and PlayStation on request. Kid`s drinks in the mini-bar and nightly turndown with milk and cookies. Pillow menu for the parents and Kid's. Bathrobes and slippers for the parents with luxury bathroom amenities for the parents. Access to the exclusive Family Concierge restaurant for a la carte dining. Jacuzzi on the terrace. .
Family Concierge - Luxury Junior Suite - Ocean View
Freedom for Everyone vacation on a resort beyond All Inclusive. 14 all around the world restaurants and 8 bars serving Premium brand drinks. Life-enriching experiences such as tango lessons, sushi-making, and signature Kids program. Family Concierge suites, feature personal service and luxuries right-sized for everyone in the family. Paradisus LUXEclusive Family Concierge. All day assistance of a Family Concierge, and a complimentary walkie-talkie or cell phone for instant communication. Paradisus Kids Beach Kit check-in gift. Kid-sized bathrobe, mini-slippers in the closet and Kid's bathroom amenities. In-room activities menu and PlayStation on request. Kid`s drinks in the mini-bar and nightly turndown with milk and cookies. Pillow menu for the parents and Kid's. Bathrobes and slippers for the parents with luxury bathroom amenities for the parents. Access to the exclusive Family Concierge restaurant for a la carte dining. Jacuzzi on the terrace.
Family Connecting Suite
893 sq ft of area & 248 sq ft of terrace. Ocean or Garden View. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. King bed or 2 double beds . 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, modern bathroom with jacuzzi, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area. This suite is connected with one bedroom which includes a Suite 646 sq ft of area & 194 sq ft of terrace. Ocean or Garden View. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. 2 double beds or King bed. 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area.
One Bedroom Master Suite Swim Up
646 sq ft of area & 194 sq ft of terrace. Swim Up. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and 517 sq ft of area & 108 sq ft of terrace. 2 double beds or King Bed . Ocean View. 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access .
One Bedroom Suite Pool View
646 sq ft of area & 194 sq ft of terrace. Pool View. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. 2 double beds or King bed. 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area. This suite can be connected with one Master Suite.
One Bedroom Master Suite Ocean Front
893 sq ft of area & 248 sq ft of terrace. Ocean Front View. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. King bed or 2 double beds . 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, modern bathroom with jacuzzi, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area. This suite can be connected with one bedroom Suite.
One Bedroom Suite Swim Up
646 sq ft of area & 194 sq ft of terrace. Swim Up. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. 2 double beds or King bed . 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area. This suite can be connected with one Master Suite.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
-

Dining

Vento
Vento features a la carte international specialties with a distinct Mediterranean flair and its own Fusion Bellini Bar for lunch and dinner. A la carte continental breakfast MOLE - Mexican a la carte haute cuisine for dinner. Vento and Mole restaurants share a holding bar with a wine and tequila cellar.
Hadar
A sumptuous international buffet with International show cooking
The Market
Offering an attractive selection of the best salads, BBQ, and light menus for lunch. Rodizzio for dinner, offering an attractive salad bar and the best caipirinhas.
Naos
A sumptuous international buffet with International show cooking.
Gabi Club
Beat. Drink. Groove. The chill-out club with a casual-chic elegance where bar, restaurant and beach come together in unique harmony. Family Concierge Suites guests have privileged access to Gabi Beach. Additional cost for other guests
La Palapa Grill
Exclusive for Family Concierge guests, a la carte casual dining.
Bana
Romantic & a la carte continental cuisine, Asian fusion, Salads & BBQ , International buffet, Casual dinn Mediterranean Cuisine, Mexican & Chill Out Club.
Passion
Romantic la carte continental cuisine in an elegant atmosphere.*
Library
nternational a la carte cuisine. Passion and Library restaurants share a holding bar and a wine cellar.*
The Grill
Delivers an amazing selection of salads, BBQ and light menu items with show cooking stations for lunch. A la carte "Surf and Turf" for dinner*

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christaz
New Jersey
Apr 10, 2014

Family Get Away

Absolutely wonderful! My 9 and 11 year olds had a fabulous time and the service was great! Will definitely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Morriselias11
Los Ángeles, California, EEUU
Jan 11, 2012

True Paradise

Truly Amazing , Jaw Droping Instalations ... Staright Out of a Move . And if you've Ever been to Playa You will definatly apreciate the apoxcimity to the 5th Ave ( the Only 5 Star Hotel less than 3-5 minutes away ... Truly a Paradise with Panoramic Post Card Views ... A True Allinclusive expierence where the Dinning goes above and beyond any preconcieved Expectetations ... Absolutly no reason to leave the Hotel other than Curosity to see the rest of playa , My only Peave and i' stuggling to find one is that at the time of my stay the hotel had just opened and the staff was at full capacity and a little over zealouse in comparison to the 25 percent guest capacity ... And the Night Life at the Bar could have been a little more lively ( they completly separate Family Instalations & Adult Instalations ... A Super + ) Over All Amazing Experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jess B
Lansing, NY
Jan 20, 2012

Fantastic Luxury Hotel, AMAZING food

Beyond lovely. The food is some of the best I have EVER had, and it was an all inclusive. My entire family commented multiple times that there is no chance they will be able to keep it up, as they must be losing a bundle on the quality ingredients, made to order items, and simply fabulous options. Seriously gourmet. Although construction was still going on, staff was attentive, polite and helpful. We were upgraded as soon as we got there, and have a wonderful, awesome experience. Would go back in a heart beat!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lenman
nyc
Jul 10, 2012

great family trip

couldn't have been treated better by the staff. kid's zone was safe and spectacular

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Janybellydance
Washington DC
Jul 23, 2012

Mom and daughter vacation

We had a wonderful time. I highly recommend this Hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. The food was excellent. The best we've had in this type of all-inclusive resorts. Fun night entertainment. There are a couple of details. I wish they had another restaurant option for breakfast. Sometimes it was just too crowded in the morning. Also, they really need to check their music selection around the pool area. We got very tired of listening to Justin Bieber over and over. They need more variety. Other than that everything was great. We can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bananab
nyc
Aug 6, 2012

paradisus

amazing hotel and the staff was great and super friendly. nice beach and good food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sharon Lenz
Austin, Texas
Oct 2, 2012

Fantastic 10th Wedding Anniversary

Our stay was amazing at the Paradisus La Esmeralda. I would highly recommend the Family Concierge plan if you are taking children. I can not say enough about the staff. At the concierge pool area, it was exceptional like Carlos our waiter, Edwin the bartender and the Chef! Our butler, Jose, was a fine gentleman and helped our every need. So much so, that are children wanted to take him home with us and our still 1 day after our stay our very sad and missing him. Alberto, in the Family Concierge area was amazing as well. The only thing bad about the Paradisus is that we had to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hhar
birmingham, al
Mar 26, 2013

Kids in heaven=parents in heaven

This is our 7th all- inclusive stay in cancun/playa. We have done it with kids and without. I LOVE this resort and would go back. We paid a little extra for the "family concierge" package and the kids were blown away. Mar was our conceirge and when the kids saw her, they would run for her screaming her name. She had special things for them each night at turn down and was always around the pool to talk to them about activities throughout the day in the kids club. They are age 8 & 6 and loved all the special snacks...candy buffet, cotton candy machine, snow cone machine. They enjoyed the various activies/crafts in the kids club. I loved tha the resort wan't enormous but still had all the restaurant selection of some of the larger properties. They had the premium alcohol which is great as some resorts don't have that option. The beach was nice and had good access for the kids..just a few rocks, but not many. They were out cleaning the seaweed up everyday which was really nice. Overall, I think this resort is top notch and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kel super mom
Playa del Carmen Mexico
Apr 4, 2013

Wonderful family getaway with young kids

We were pleasantly surprised with our trip to the paradisus hotel. We brought our 4 and 6 year olds for a trial family vacation ( we usually leave them at home and travel adults only). It was definitely a different trip, but the hotel truly made it fun for everyone! They really cater to families with the kids club activities, kids pool with slides, and they even provide beach toys to play with. The service was amazing, including poolside drinks and food. All the staff want above and beyond to meet your needs and take care of their guests. There were cabana beds all over so you could rest out of the sun if wanted. The restaurant food was very good, something I didn't expect from an all inclusive. The only thing we wish was different were the two full beds, the only option if you wanted two beds in a room( too small) and the room always felt damp even with the air on. We didn't do family concierge because I couldn't justify the cost, but would consider next time. It lets you use a separate heated pool ( others tend to be cold) and they organize special activities for kids. The fam. Conc. area is seperated from the rest of the hotel so you don't feel second rate if you don't have the special armband. Our kids had an amazing time in Mexico and this hotel set the bar high for our next trip. Would definitely consider one of their other locations for future trips( just because we rarely go to the same city twice). The beach is okay( rocky) but the resort is very grand resort. The only way they missed the boat was not heating all the pools. The kids didn't mind, but most adults were shocked at how cold they were ( even with temps in the 80's in early April). Compared to other kid friendly resorts like Beaches this is much more affordable, though its best geared for kids 8 and under with the kids club. We talked to several guest who had stayed at both and this was the general feeling. Would definitely recommend for families with small kids

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Explorers2
Northern NJ
Apr 28, 2013

Paradius experience

My 8 year old and i had a fabulous time at the Paradisus. He really enjoyed the kids zone and the food, service and amenities were great. We enjoyed both he pool and the beach/ocean. My only wish was that the "evening" activities were a little earlier - they were at 8:30pm and he goes to bed around that time. All in all, we had a fantastic stay and we would definitely visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search