$520 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

5 stars
View map of 5ta Ave Esq Calle 88 Nte L1-M569 Fracc III, Predio Chenzubul Col Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen, 77719

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hobo09
Business
Nc
Jun 12, 2014

Family friendly, service fair

Beautiful pools for kids and plenty of shady cabanas. Room was clean and well arranged. Bathroom beautiful. The food was not great with little to no child friendly options at the buffet. Service was fair at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mo Sa
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Jun 11, 2014

luxurious vacation in paradise

This experience was amazing. The location is paradisiac, service was outstanding, every need and exceptation were completely satisfied in the shortest time. Employees were very friendly . The activities were very well organized, especially the kids zone. They provided a 10 am to 10 pm service !!!! The room was big and comfortable with a nice balcony and bathtub!! we are def going back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to Mole as often as you can, it is the best restaurant in the resort !!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
babygirl16
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 4, 2014

Fantastic Family Getaway

this resort was awesome, the decor was nice and modern, very clean, and very relaxing. We had our family vacation here a few weeks ago and celebrating my mom's 60th birthday. This resort deserves 5 star but I gave it a 4 star. The only thing I didn't like about this resort was that there was not enough restaurants that allowed kids. In our group, we had 6 adults and 2 children who were 6 and 8. We were there for 6 days and there were only 4 resturants that allowed kids and the buffet. Although they did have a kids zone where you can drop off the kids to go to the adult only resturant, it would have been nice if there were more options. Beach access was very nice, always had beds available for us and the beach was awesome! I would highly recommend this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alik99
Business
ATL, GA
Apr 16, 2014

Great stay with kids

We stayed in April with our 2 boys (ages 3 and 7). One of the reasons we picked this resort is for its 1 bedroom master suite and the room did not disappoint! It was very spacious and beautifully decorated. The boys camped out on the sleeper sofa and an additional rollaway bed in the living room and the parents got the bedroom. The sofa was pretty hard, but worked fine for our younger son. The rollaway had a nice cushy mattress on it. Our room was oceanfront with a beautiful view of the water right past the mangroves. We could clearly see Cozumel and cruise ships coming and going on most days. The drawback to this room was the noise that came from the evening shows (which started very late for a family-friendly resort, at 9:30 pm) and later the DJ music from the outdoor Gabi Club. We did not expect to pay the price of the noise for the view. Also, and this is probably our unique experience, the ocean-view room next to us was being painted and remodeled over a course of a couple days. That generated some more noise right at kids' nap time and also some unpleasant smell of paint wafting into our room. We had to bring this to front desk and guest services attention several times for the work to stop #or at least to pause while the kids were napping#. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate. We enjoyed wandering around the koi poinds and looking for fish and turtles. The little coffee shop in the middle of the ponds was very nice for a morning of after-dinner cup of cappuccino. They do stop you if you try to enter the adult side of the resort with kids, unless you have a pre-8 pm reservation at Bana :) Dinner restaurants were all above expectations for resort food. Mole was our favorite, with Vento being next. Our boys loved the hibachi show at Bana and the food there was also above the quality of a typical US Japanese restaurant. For lunch, we preferred the open air grill by the pool to the buffet. Breakfast buffet had tons of options for all tastes. Beach was rocky in some places as mentioned in other reviews. But if you enter by family concierge beach area #where beach beds are#, it's mostly fine. The water was not crystal-clear but clear enough after an afternoon shower came through. We wish there were more beach beds available, but lounge chairs with huge umbrellas were fine too. The pools were nice, especially the shallow one with the pirate ship. The boys enjoyed the water slides and our older son the obstacle course. The pirate show they put on one day around lunch time was a lot of fun for the kids. Overall, a very good experience, minus the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christaz
Business
New Jersey
Apr 10, 2014

Family Get Away

Absolutely wonderful! My 9 and 11 year olds had a fabulous time and the service was great! Will definitely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
They call me Tonto
Business
Plano, Texas
Jan 9, 2014

50th Wedding Anniversary Celebration!

We took the Whole Famn Damily & it was awesome!! It was our second trip to the property so we knew what to expect. Paid for a swim up Jr. Suite this time so that they kids could swim out of our place and swim up to Nana & Papa's. They loved that! Only complaint there is that we had someone above us that wore Lead Socks for 3 of the 6 nights and had NO HOTEL manners what-so-ever, like slamming the door every 4-6 mins for an hour at 2am. Food was amazing again... staff was phenomenal, again, I can't say enough for the experience once you get checked in. We never left the property, but my sister and brother in law did a few times and said it was easy, comfortable and felt very safe. I'm currently in the process of booking my wife's 40th Birthday trip on the La Perla side for 8 other couples for a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get a pre-arrival sheet from the Hotel and make your dinner reservations as EARLY as possible!! No harm in canceling a DAY prior... but don't let them hang on to a table if you're not going to make it... be courteous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BK Dad
Business
New York, New York
Nov 30, 2013

Great place for kids

Everything was pretty much great -- if you're going to find issues, they're going to be small. Some of the few small issues: - No bathrooms on the beach - Only beach food is a grill w/ hot dogs / hamburgers - There are a few scattered underwater hidden logs/rocks.. enough that pretty much everyone in our group stubbed their toes on them or fell Guests that book Family Concierge / Royal Service have more privileges than regular guests -- best to look it up before you book to decide if it is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
foodie 100
Business
philadelphia, pa
Nov 8, 2013

fantastic family trip

We did family concierge which was well worth it for the kids. Not 100% necessary if low season but I think necessary if high season. The pools were great, especially the pirate ship for kids. The kids club was great, open 9 am to 10 pm and you just show up whenever and sign them in and out as desired. We were a little concerned about safety of the kids as there were times where there were too many kids to too few staff. There was free access through double doors and anyone could have walked in and walked out with any kid at any time. The staff was incredible with the kids, if only it was more secure. Most food was very good, but breakfast was a little disappointing. They will make anything you want fresh though if you just ask. As for babies, they will make you fresh baby puree of anything you ask for at each meal. They would even wrap it or deliver it to the room. Amazing....Spa facility and gym were very cery nice. Balconies on rooms could be much nicer. Ocean view is a joke, way in the distance. Biggest disappointment was we went with 20 family members with 7 different rooms. I emailed way in advance to group the rooms together. Our rooms were in 3 different buildings very far apart making it very difficult to communicate with eachother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CashMan
Business
Phila, Pa
Oct 29, 2013

Great Trip

No language problems, staff were absolutely fantastic. room very clean and bright. food was plenty and decent tasting. the water was clear and warm and spent a lot of time by pool side enjoying many adult beverages!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BandKW
Business
Houston texas
Jul 25, 2013

Excellent with young children

very good kids club staff (kids club used by 1, 4 and 6 year old). Excellent restaurants for an all inclusive - especially the churrascaria and the japanese tepanyaki show tables. Buffet was fine and drinks were good - house wine was fine, vouchers for better bottles, and drinks at bars were good quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The family concierge is not really necessary, (not hard to get restaurant bookings etc), but allows access to a very nice pool, the allocated concierge did a great bubble bath on the veranda jacuzzi for the kids and ncie to feel special. Try and get a discount or only pay for part of the stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top