$350 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

4 stars
5ta Ave Esq Calle 88 Nte L1-M569 Fracc III, Predio Chenzubul Col Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen, 77719
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
40 reviews
Great family vacation resort!

Resort was great, the staff was exceptional. I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to see... See full review

  • mrmsm
  • Jul 19, 2014
Paradisus Riviera Maya

Excellent facility and friendly staff. Good food. Excellent for families with kids. See full review

  • Yurman
  • Jul 14, 2014

One of the few hotels in the exclusive Melia Paradisus chain, the Paradisus La Esmeralda welcomes families in a big way. There's the amazing program of everything from salsa lessons to snorkeling, or the specialized catering that ensures both milk and cookies at bedtime for the kids and wine-tasting events for the adults. Then there are the acres of sprawling, white-sand beach to roam, the balloon-making classes, and the water-based playground that is the kid's-only swimming pool. After you've thoroughly exhausted the youngsters, kick off your flip-flops in the Yhi Spa, or make good use of the on-site childcare to hit the Fuego restaurant for Latino-inspired eats, or to try any one of the cultural cuisines on offer at the hotel's nine other restaurants.

Key facts
  • 510 suites
  • 68 swim-up suites
  • Business center
  • Fitness center
  • 25,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 10 restaurants: Fuego, Naos, Vento, Passion by Martin Berasategui, Bana, Hadar, Mole, Gabi Beach Club, The Market, La Palapa
  • 4 bars: Blue Agave, Gabi Club Bar, Toji, Red Lounge
  • Spa
  • Family activity program and kids' camp
Neighborhood

Paradisus La Esmeralda is situated in a private bay within the Riviera Maya resort town of Playa del Carmen, right on the coast of the warm Mexican Caribbean Sea, and a short walk from the pulsing nightlife and souvenir shops of 5th Avenue. You'll find the island of Cozumel waiting to be explored just offshore, or you could delve into the peninsula's beautiful natural heritage in one of the cenotes like Chikin Ha or Chaak Tun inland, for a stab at cave diving, spelunking or rappelling.

Hints and tips
The hotel stands out for its Family Concierge service, which gives you easy access to the heated pool, and help with planning days out to historic sites like Chichen Itza.

There are even added touches like a personalized mini-bar and a bubble-bath style Jacuzzi for the kids.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.649 -87.0551
Area served
Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (45 minutes).
Area description
45 minutes from Cancun International Airport.
Just steps from extraordinary beaches & attractions: Playa del Carmens 5th Avenue, Xcaret, Akumal, Xel-ha..
Ideally located near world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba & Chichen Itza.

Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented Rooms

Luxury Junior Suite and Luxury Junior Suite - Ocean View
517 sq ft of area & 108 sq ft of terrace. 2 double beds or King Bed . Pool View. 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom , safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access. Luxury Rooms available in Ocean View.
Family Concierge - Luxury Junior Suite with Jacuzzi
Freedom for Everyone vacation on a resort beyond All Inclusive. 14 all around the world restaurants and 8 bars serving Premium brand drinks. Life-enriching experiences such as tango lessons, sushi-making, and signature Kids program. Family Concierge suites, feature personal service and luxuries right-sized for everyone in the family. Paradisus LUXEclusive Family Concierge. All day assistance of a Family Concierge, and a complimentary walkie-talkie or cell phone for instant communication. Paradisus Kids Beach Kit check-in gift. Kid-sized bathrobe, mini-slippers in the closet and Kid's bathroom amenities. In-room activities menu and PlayStation on request. Kid`s drinks in the mini-bar and nightly turndown with milk and cookies. Pillow menu for the parents and Kid's. Bathrobes and slippers for the parents with luxury bathroom amenities for the parents. Access to the exclusive Family Concierge restaurant for a la carte dining. Jacuzzi on the terrace. .
Family Concierge - Luxury Junior Suite - Ocean View
Freedom for Everyone vacation on a resort beyond All Inclusive. 14 all around the world restaurants and 8 bars serving Premium brand drinks. Life-enriching experiences such as tango lessons, sushi-making, and signature Kids program. Family Concierge suites, feature personal service and luxuries right-sized for everyone in the family. Paradisus LUXEclusive Family Concierge. All day assistance of a Family Concierge, and a complimentary walkie-talkie or cell phone for instant communication. Paradisus Kids Beach Kit check-in gift. Kid-sized bathrobe, mini-slippers in the closet and Kid's bathroom amenities. In-room activities menu and PlayStation on request. Kid`s drinks in the mini-bar and nightly turndown with milk and cookies. Pillow menu for the parents and Kid's. Bathrobes and slippers for the parents with luxury bathroom amenities for the parents. Access to the exclusive Family Concierge restaurant for a la carte dining. Jacuzzi on the terrace.
Family Connecting Suite
893 sq ft of area & 248 sq ft of terrace. Ocean or Garden View. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. King bed or 2 double beds . 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, modern bathroom with jacuzzi, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area. This suite is connected with one bedroom which includes a Suite 646 sq ft of area & 194 sq ft of terrace. Ocean or Garden View. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. 2 double beds or King bed. 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area.
One Bedroom Master Suite Swim Up
646 sq ft of area & 194 sq ft of terrace. Swim Up. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and 517 sq ft of area & 108 sq ft of terrace. 2 double beds or King Bed . Ocean View. 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access .
One Bedroom Suite Pool View
646 sq ft of area & 194 sq ft of terrace. Pool View. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. 2 double beds or King bed. 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area. This suite can be connected with one Master Suite.
One Bedroom Master Suite Ocean Front
893 sq ft of area & 248 sq ft of terrace. Ocean Front View. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. King bed or 2 double beds . 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, modern bathroom with jacuzzi, safety deposit box, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area. This suite can be connected with one bedroom Suite.
One Bedroom Suite Swim Up
646 sq ft of area & 194 sq ft of terrace. Swim Up. Living area with sofa bed, dinning area and kitchenette. 2 double beds or King bed . 40" Flat Screen with cable TV, CD/DVD Player, coffe maker, daily stocked mini bar, living area with sofa, modern bathroom, iron/ ironing board and free internet access . Private terrace with Jacuzzi & tanning area. This suite can be connected with one Master Suite.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Vento
Vento features a la carte international specialties with a distinct Mediterranean flair and its own Fusion Bellini Bar for lunch and dinner. A la carte continental breakfast MOLE - Mexican a la carte haute cuisine for dinner. Vento and Mole restaurants share a holding bar with a wine and tequila cellar.
Hadar
A sumptuous international buffet with International show cooking
The Market
Offering an attractive selection of the best salads, BBQ, and light menus for lunch. Rodizzio for dinner, offering an attractive salad bar and the best caipirinhas.
Naos
A sumptuous international buffet with International show cooking.
Gabi Club
Beat. Drink. Groove. The chill-out club with a casual-chic elegance where bar, restaurant and beach come together in unique harmony. Family Concierge Suites guests have privileged access to Gabi Beach. Additional cost for other guests
La Palapa Grill
Exclusive for Family Concierge guests, a la carte casual dining.
Bana
Romantic & a la carte continental cuisine, Asian fusion, Salads & BBQ , International buffet, Casual dinn Mediterranean Cuisine, Mexican & Chill Out Club.
Passion
Romantic la carte continental cuisine in an elegant atmosphere.*
Library
nternational a la carte cuisine. Passion and Library restaurants share a holding bar and a wine cellar.*
The Grill
Delivers an amazing selection of salads, BBQ and light menu items with show cooking stations for lunch. A la carte "Surf and Turf" for dinner*

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
-

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bananab
nyc
Aug 6, 2012

paradisus

amazing hotel and the staff was great and super friendly. nice beach and good food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Missy Prissy
Lehi, Utah
Apr 15, 2012

Fabulous Customer Service and Beautiful Resort

My family and I stayed in a swim-up suite. The room was attractive and very clean, and the pool water was warm. We came in on an overnight flight. When we arrived (around 7:00 am), we were greeted cheerfully by staff members who had been up all night as well (working the nightshift.). The bell boy took our bags and welcomed us with a smile. He escorted us to check-in where he was going to see what he could do for an early check-in. He told us he would talk to the on-coming manager to see if we could stay in a room until a swim-up suite was ready. We were given bracelets so we could go eat breakfast. Unfortunately, we were not able to get into another room to rest until our swim-up suite was ready, but they were able to check us in at noon (as soon as a swim-up suite was available and clean). While we waited, we rested undisturbed in the side lobby. When we asked for anything (room service, extra blankets, etc.), we always received prompt and courteous service. Everyone there was so friendly, and all the staff we interacted with spoke English (which we appreciated since our Spanish is not very good). Not only were the staff friendly, but they were always smiling. It is a great atmosphere. The only reason why I did not give this hotel 5 star is because they had mosquitoes. My daughter woke up to 13 mosquito bites on the first night we were there. I called the front desk, and they sent someone to spray our room. That did help, but I had the room sprayed two more times, because the annoying bugs kept getting in our room. We bought some mosquito repellent at the gift shop. That helped reduce the problem, but there were still mosquitos outside, and we had to continually reapply the repellent. We still received a few more bites between applications. It would have been nice to have the room sprayed without asking (before we went to sleep and woke up bitten) and complimentary mosquito repellent (spray and wristbands) placed in the room. Bug zappers out-side would have been nice as well. I saw little kids with bites on their bodies that were huge due to scratching. It was sad. Last year, at the same time of year, we stayed at another resort in Playa del Carmen, and we did not see any mosquitos. Not sure why this area was different, but I was not expecting it. My advice to anyone going there is to prepare for mosquitoes. The beach is great if you like to snorkel close to the resort. In the beach swimming area, there are wreaths with small fish. Every now and then larger fish would swim up as well. We even saw a big star fish. The sea floor in some of the area was rocky and had some old wooden planks. Swim shoes are a definite must. If you’re looking for a beach vacation were small children can walk barefoot and play in the waves, this is not the spot. It is a great spot for making sandcastles. We also went SCUBA diving with the dive shop at the resort. Our guide, Martinez, was fabulous. He was so patient with our family. He took us to two great dive spots. It was the highlight of our vacation. He knew where to locate a seahorse, eel, cuttlefish, and a variety of brilliantly colored fish and marine life. We even got to see a sea turtle. It was a fabulous dive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring mosquito repellent. The cost for a small bottle in the hotel is $14 USD. They also sell wrist bands with a natural mosquito repellent for $30 USD each. (Didn't try the wrist bands, so I don't know if they work well or not.)

Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
babygirl16
Portland, OR
Jun 4, 2014

Fantastic Family Getaway

this resort was awesome, the decor was nice and modern, very clean, and very relaxing. We had our family vacation here a few weeks ago and celebrating my mom's 60th birthday. This resort deserves 5 star but I gave it a 4 star. The only thing I didn't like about this resort was that there was not enough restaurants that allowed kids. In our group, we had 6 adults and 2 children who were 6 and 8. We were there for 6 days and there were only 4 resturants that allowed kids and the buffet. Although they did have a kids zone where you can drop off the kids to go to the adult only resturant, it would have been nice if there were more options. Beach access was very nice, always had beds available for us and the beach was awesome! I would highly recommend this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler 12
Toronto, Canada
Dec 10, 2012

GOOD 4+ STAR HOTEL

It was my second trip to the hotel. The hotel is 1 year old, modern and contemporary. La Esmeralda is family resort with concierge section which has heated pool. All shows take place in the bar or Gabi Club. Gym is very good for adults only. All a'la carte restaurants are very good. Buffet is good. Service is not very good, often in buffet we waited long time to get coffee or table to be cleaned. It took 50 min. for room service . They cleaned room at diffrent times, some days it wasn't clean until 4 pm. Turn down service - some days they were knocking our door at 10:30. The beach is very nice by family concierge section, other part has rocks at the bottom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
titu
NJ
Nov 28, 2012

Paradisus La Esmeralda Mexico

Great time spend there. Lots of dining options, rooms are clean, comfortable beds, kid's club fantastic, overall a great family resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BK Dad
New York, New York
Nov 30, 2013

Great place for kids

Everything was pretty much great -- if you're going to find issues, they're going to be small. Some of the few small issues: - No bathrooms on the beach - Only beach food is a grill w/ hot dogs / hamburgers - There are a few scattered underwater hidden logs/rocks.. enough that pretty much everyone in our group stubbed their toes on them or fell Guests that book Family Concierge / Royal Service have more privileges than regular guests -- best to look it up before you book to decide if it is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
They call me Tonto
Plano, Texas
Jan 9, 2014

50th Wedding Anniversary Celebration!

We took the Whole Famn Damily & it was awesome!! It was our second trip to the property so we knew what to expect. Paid for a swim up Jr. Suite this time so that they kids could swim out of our place and swim up to Nana & Papa's. They loved that! Only complaint there is that we had someone above us that wore Lead Socks for 3 of the 6 nights and had NO HOTEL manners what-so-ever, like slamming the door every 4-6 mins for an hour at 2am. Food was amazing again... staff was phenomenal, again, I can't say enough for the experience once you get checked in. We never left the property, but my sister and brother in law did a few times and said it was easy, comfortable and felt very safe. I'm currently in the process of booking my wife's 40th Birthday trip on the La Perla side for 8 other couples for a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Get a pre-arrival sheet from the Hotel and make your dinner reservations as EARLY as possible!! No harm in canceling a DAY prior... but don't let them hang on to a table if you're not going to make it... be courteous.

Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tokyodan
Mexico
Nov 5, 2012

Get What You Pay For

This is a large property with a decidedly upscale feel. An interesting feature is the setup with one side adults only and the other for families, with some common area. I think that worked very well, as kids could go to some of the cool places during certain hours. The quality of the rooms, food (Passion restaurant is worth the supplement if you are a foodie) and mostly pampering staff was very high. It was not very full when we were there and it could be different at peak times. Negatives were: the ripoff 150 peso taxi to town for 5 minute ride, although too far to walk; the high pressure pitch to have you attend a presentation on their vacation club or timeshare upon checking, and the scuba dive taken with the in-house operator. There is a seperate royal concierge service area that is extra cost which we did not experience. The beach is good and somewhat secluded, in a protected bay a few km outside the town of Carmen. We did use the spa, which was good but expensive. There are interesting tours you can do in the area. Prices at the in-house agency are considerably higher than from those in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Passion has top-tier food which would cost serious $ elsewhere.

Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CashMan
Phila, Pa
Oct 29, 2013

Great Trip

No language problems, staff were absolutely fantastic. room very clean and bright. food was plenty and decent tasting. the water was clear and warm and spent a lot of time by pool side enjoying many adult beverages!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
celos
bayonne,new jersey
May 25, 2013

relaxing vacation

Very relaxing, the staff were very attentive and friendly. The restauraunts were great and the service was superb. The buffet was ok it was small in comparison to the other all inclusive. The pools were great however the beach was disappointing as there were a lot of rocks and pockets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Divatraveller0512
NEW JERSEY
Sep 13, 2012

Paradisus Playa del Carmen

Just back from 12 days at the Paradisus La Esmeralda. We had a good time. The resorts are nice and with a little attention to detail they could be great. The food is excellent, the decor is excellent and the staff make you feel so warm and welcomed. If they put a little more effort into making sure that all areas of the resort are spotless, they will be hard to beat. It is a really nice place to visit. Go and enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure to try every restaurant, as they all offer something different and all are DELICIOUS!

Back to menu Return to top