$440 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

5 stars
View map of 5ta Ave Esq Calle 88 Nte L1-M569 Fracc III, Predio Chenzubul Col Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen, 77719

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sharon Lenz
Austin, Texas
Oct 2, 2012

Fantastic 10th Wedding Anniversary

Our stay was amazing at the Paradisus La Esmeralda. I would highly recommend the Family Concierge plan if you are taking children. I can not say enough about the staff. At the concierge pool area, it was exceptional like Carlos our waiter, Edwin the bartender and the Chef! Our butler, Jose, was a fine gentleman and helped our every need. So much so, that are children wanted to take him home with us and our still 1 day after our stay our very sad and missing him. Alberto, in the Family Concierge area was amazing as well. The only thing bad about the Paradisus is that we had to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenni from the Block
Business
Memphis, TN
Sep 24, 2014

awesome vacation

My husband and I enjoyed a great anniversary trip at Paradisus. Upon arrival at the resort we received an upgrade to a one bedroom master suite! The room was great and decor was beautiful. It actually looks like the pictures from the website! From the moment of arrival the staff was very accomadating and professional. The service was great the entire stay. The resort grounds are beautiful. Every thing is very modern and tastefully done. Each restaraunt had its own theme with plenty of variety available. The food was pretty good as well. Overall, great stay. Would definitely recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We visited coco bongo while in playa. It was a good show!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wifey and Mommy
Business
Chicago
Sep 11, 2014

best all-inclusive ever

Just spent a week there for a wedding. It's the most beautiful resort I've ever seen, especially for an all-inclusive. It's a very modern hotel and is kid friendly. My 3.5 year old LOVED it. DEFINITELY get a swim-up room. So convenient. The employees really try their best to help everyone and make sure guests have a great time. I don't think the family concierge isn't worth the extra cost. We didn't have it and my baby had just as much fun. We will definitely be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mia Wallace
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 18, 2014

Best Vacation Plan for Kids (and their Parents).

Outstanding service!! We booked the Concierge services and Israel did an excellent job to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The food was great, even the buffet. I have 2 kids (6 & 4 yrs old) and we were a party of 19 people. Everyone had a blast. There is a kids pool with a Pirate ship (w slide) and the whole pool is 3 feet deep. So even my 4 yr old would touch the bottom. That is a big relief for parents who do not attempt to be inside the water at all times (like myself) but rather enjoy a drink at the poolside. There are open restaurants near the pools where you can get decent food without having to change clothes... There is a kids club open until 10pm... There is an awesome SPA at La Perla (the sister resort for adults only) with complementary Sauna, Jacuzzis, Steam, etc. if you stay at the Concierge services at Esmeralda. They have shows at night, beach volleyball, kayaks, bar at the beach... The only thing I didn't like were the beds, they were too soft for me (everyone in the group agreed to that). But apart from that, I highly recommend the whole Paradisus experience. It is not an economic plan, but is worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The SPA at La Perla, the Geysa Cocktails at Bana Restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrmsm
Business
Little Elm, TX
Jul 19, 2014

Great family vacation resort!

Resort was great, the staff was exceptional. I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to see the sights at Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yurman
Business
New Jesrey
Jul 14, 2014

Paradisus Riviera Maya

Excellent facility and friendly staff. Good food. Excellent for families with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to shows at least 30 to 45 minutes in advance if you want seating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
All Inclusive
Business
Chicago
Jun 23, 2014

Family Getaway

No issues. Newer facility, great activities for kids, surprisingly few bugs, staff/hotel super accommodating to kids and dietary restrictions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacation queen 2
Business
Summit colorado
Jun 16, 2014

Disappointing but has promise

After saying in the Cancun location we had very high expectations for the Playa location. Upon arrival our rooms were not together. We ended up moving the next day only to be awake all night buy people above us partying and running around all night. For a family oriented resort this was truly unexpected. We called the front desk to complain near midnight but it did not help. We got relocated the next day to more quiet rooms but be advised there are no quiet rooms here. After having 6 options in as many nights none were quiet. All the doors slam and unless you are on the top floor expect to hear people above you. The hotel is new and so the quality of rooms and appearances are very nice and up to date. The pools are fun but it's a nice walk to the beach. It's not a beach side resort. We bought the family concierge program and to be honest, it is not really worth it. They need to do a much better job with this service if they are going to boast about it. Our concierge had 11 families to help while we were there. In other resorts I have stayed at we were provided a dedicated resource not a shared. I figured that most people need assistance between 8 and 11 during the day and maybe 4 to 7 at night. Between running from the pool to a room to the beach, there is little time for the concierge to actually do anything for you. They say they give you a phone but we bought two rooms and never got one. Our dinner reservations that I made and were promised to be taken care of and delivered to our room for confirmation were not followed through on. In fact when we called to see what our reservations were they told us they lost them and that they could no longer offer our preferred times. I made the reservations the first morning we were there. This was totally unacceptable. I think this is a hotel that has promise but they need to work out the kinks before they can be a 4 star resort. I would not go back here but would go back to the cancun location in a heart beat. The service there is much better. In two or so years I think this location will do much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations as the time slots book up fast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hobo09
Business
Nc
Jun 12, 2014

Family friendly, service fair

Beautiful pools for kids and plenty of shady cabanas. Room was clean and well arranged. Bathroom beautiful. The food was not great with little to no child friendly options at the buffet. Service was fair at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mo Sa
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Jun 11, 2014

luxurious vacation in paradise

This experience was amazing. The location is paradisiac, service was outstanding, every need and exceptation were completely satisfied in the shortest time. Employees were very friendly . The activities were very well organized, especially the kids zone. They provided a 10 am to 10 pm service !!!! The room was big and comfortable with a nice balcony and bathtub!! we are def going back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to Mole as often as you can, it is the best restaurant in the resort !!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
babygirl16
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 4, 2014

Fantastic Family Getaway

this resort was awesome, the decor was nice and modern, very clean, and very relaxing. We had our family vacation here a few weeks ago and celebrating my mom's 60th birthday. This resort deserves 5 star but I gave it a 4 star. The only thing I didn't like about this resort was that there was not enough restaurants that allowed kids. In our group, we had 6 adults and 2 children who were 6 and 8. We were there for 6 days and there were only 4 resturants that allowed kids and the buffet. Although they did have a kids zone where you can drop off the kids to go to the adult only resturant, it would have been nice if there were more options. Beach access was very nice, always had beds available for us and the beach was awesome! I would highly recommend this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top