$379 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

5 stars
View map of 5ta Ave Esq Calle 88 Nte L1-M569 Fracc III, Predio Chenzubul Col Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen, 77719

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tracy T.
Family
Sunnyvale
Jan 6, 2015

Two Families Vacation Together

We are from California and our friends are from Ohio. We wanted to pick a location where we could meet and have a family vacation together. Between the two families, we had a 4, 6, 9, & 11 year old. Everyone had the best time. The resort offered experiences for all ages. Though our kids did not like the kids' club, it did not stop them from being in heaven around the pool and being able to order snacks and drinks anytime they wanted to. They want to know when they get to go back! The adults had a blast as well. Every employee that we encountered bent over backwards to help us. The bell hop arranged a private cab for our families to tour Tulum and experience the beaches a bit further south. It was simply amazing. We were sent with drinks for the kids and adults, snacks, as well as towels. Our families are still talking about the hospitality! We have some picky eaters in our group, and every meal, at every restaurant, everyone was able to find something that he/she enjoyed. There were lots of choices and everything that we ate was delicious. I highly recommend this resort and we are planning on returning to the adult only side this summer for a 50th birthday celebration!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BikiniBum
Friends
N/A
Dec 20, 2014

Decent hotel

The hotel was very nice for the most part, but although it was all inclusive they tried to make you pay for extra things. There were no jacuzzi s and they wanted you to pay an extra $100/day to use their heated pool. Also, my friend only drinks jager and they tried to make her pay extra for it saying it was not included in the all inclusive. They were very slow at service at restaurants and the food was just ok. Sometimes they were even rude telling us that a restaurant was full when it clearly wasn't there were tons of seats open. It just seamed that they didn't want to serve us. Some staff was very nice and friendly and but those things kind of ruined the experience for us... would definitely try a different hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
livetotravelfamily
Family
California
Dec 9, 2014

Paradise found

Experienced great staff and awesome service at Paradisus Riviera Maya. Looking forward to more Paradisus experience in other locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janna N.
Family
Cleveland, Ohio
Nov 25, 2014

it was fresh and clean

i liked it, not in love! i didnt like the location of it. didnt look appealing, right in the middle of Playa del Carmen down town. not much entertainment. Beach wasnt too clean. But food was amazing! Rooms are nice and clean. We took the room with smim up pool, i loved it, gave my family privacy, otherwise their pools are so little considering the amount of people they had. so i give it a 4 out of 5. Would i come back? Nah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lyons Mama
Family
Highland Village, Texas
Nov 22, 2014

Paradise at Paradisus

Our vacation included our extended family which included 5 small children between 8 and 18 months, their parents and a grandparent. We had a fantastic time and highly recommend Paradisus Esmerelda. We stayed in the family concierge portion of the resort. I believe that the family concierge experience was a huge bonus in this vacation, particularly because we traveled during November. The family concierge includes the use of the heated pool which is pretty much mandatory during winter months. The pirate pool was very fun, but too cool during this time of year to stay in all day. Also, the pirate pool is deeper than I expected. The four year olds of the group could not stand up easily in it. The family concierge included many wonderful, unexpected touches that made the trip extraordinary. From the backpacks with Paradisus gear to the funny face cookies in the room every night, the kids (and adults) were constantly amazed at the fun things waiting for them in their room. The resort is beautiful, sleek and impeccably maintained. The food was fantastic, with selections to please everyone in our group. The tepenyaki at Bana was a tremendous experience that impressed the whole family. We ate at Vento, Bana, Mole and Fuego and we enjoyed all of them. We enjoyed having the kids stay at the kid club while we ate dinner at Vento and Fuego. Vento had a more romantic feel than the other restaurants. The food has a contemporary but decadent feel to it. The portion sizes are perfect for ordering multiple dishes to try many things. (We ordered ALL the desserts at Vento and got a high five from our waiter for our commitment to trying them all.) Our kids enjoyed the kids club and the staff are fantastic. Kids 5 and over are allowed to go off-site from the club with staff members to do activities at the beach, pool etc. I chose to stay with my kids while they did these activities because I am cautious about kids around water. The activities the club leads are amazing. The pirate day was especially exciting with pirate face painting, balloon swords and a resort wide treasure hunt. The whole thing culminates at the pirate pool with an entire pirate show ending in treasure (candy) for all the kids. We attended two shows (Circus and Elvis) and both were fantastic. There are many activities for adults as well. The entire resort is very contemporary and perfectly maintained. The beach is beautiful, and has no sand bars. We stayed on the family concierge area of the beach which is free of rocks. The concierge staff brought out beach toys and a soccer ball for the kids in our group. We enjoyed the walk through the mangroves along well maintained bridges to reach the beach. If someone in your party has serious mobility issues this could be a concern however. I would recommend this resort for anyone looking for a family friendly resort in Mexico. The family members that traveled with us had never traveled to Mexico before. They all thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get the Family Concierge option if traveling during the cooler months for the use of the heated pool as well as the other nice amenities

Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad plus 2
Family
Ohio
Nov 10, 2014

Very nice and great service

We have been to many hotels in the Riviera maya cancun area, but this one really excels with their customer service, room cleanliness, and overall property beauty. There is a family side and an adults only side so you can be where you want depending on if you bring kids. The only negatives are that the kids pool and waterslide area is a bit small and can get crowded and there is no evening kids show on stage as at some other resorts. There is a kids club which I heard was very fun, but I did not use it. The beach is very nice but there are big rocks all over the water so you need to be very careful. Overall I am very happy and will likely return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

They will try to sell you their club melia membership (read: timeshare) right as you are checking in. A "concierge" type very attractive person will offer you services while slipping in that they want you to sit through a 2 hour meeting in exchange for massages, etc. If this is not for you, then just kindly tell them right then and there that you are not interested otherwise they will hound you for days.

Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bpusa
Family
Chicago, IL
Oct 5, 2014

Not as expected.

To begin, I do want to mention that we have been to Barceló resort in Riviera Maya few years back, and I was looking for similar experience, just wanted to try something new. The price of the package was very similar to the previous resort and yes Paradisus resort did have great star rating. But the whole experience was disappointing. Food variety was very poor at the Buffet, I at least expected lot of fresh fruit and sea food, but only got 4 fruits and they were not very fresh, some had still ice on it ,which indicated that it has been frozen... also very little sea food only at dinner time. Breakfast was very poor as well... I do have to say that at the restaurants were you have to make reservations, food was really good! The beach area was far from everything else and we were not able to swim in water since there was so much of see weed everywhere. Also there was only 1 pool which was kids friendly and one pool that had swim up bar. I did like the kids room, where you had option of leaving your kids (if they cooperate and do not cry:)). Overall, the resort is not worth the money, I would definitely go back to Barceló versus this one. Need improvement in food variety and quality!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Kids room was very helpful to get kids interacted and stay in cool A/C room.

Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenni from the Block
Couples
Memphis, TN
Sep 24, 2014

awesome vacation

My husband and I enjoyed a great anniversary trip at Paradisus. Upon arrival at the resort we received an upgrade to a one bedroom master suite! The room was great and decor was beautiful. It actually looks like the pictures from the website! From the moment of arrival the staff was very accomadating and professional. The service was great the entire stay. The resort grounds are beautiful. Every thing is very modern and tastefully done. Each restaraunt had its own theme with plenty of variety available. The food was pretty good as well. Overall, great stay. Would definitely recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We visited coco bongo while in playa. It was a good show!

Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wifey and Mommy
Friends
Chicago
Sep 11, 2014

best all-inclusive ever

Just spent a week there for a wedding. It's the most beautiful resort I've ever seen, especially for an all-inclusive. It's a very modern hotel and is kid friendly. My 3.5 year old LOVED it. DEFINITELY get a swim-up room. So convenient. The employees really try their best to help everyone and make sure guests have a great time. I don't think the family concierge isn't worth the extra cost. We didn't have it and my baby had just as much fun. We will definitely be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Paradisus La Esmeralda - Playa del Carmen All Inclusive - Family Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mia Wallace
Family
Miami, FL
Aug 18, 2014

Best Vacation Plan for Kids (and their Parents).

Outstanding service!! We booked the Concierge services and Israel did an excellent job to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The food was great, even the buffet. I have 2 kids (6 & 4 yrs old) and we were a party of 19 people. Everyone had a blast. There is a kids pool with a Pirate ship (w slide) and the whole pool is 3 feet deep. So even my 4 yr old would touch the bottom. That is a big relief for parents who do not attempt to be inside the water at all times (like myself) but rather enjoy a drink at the poolside. There are open restaurants near the pools where you can get decent food without having to change clothes... There is a kids club open until 10pm... There is an awesome SPA at La Perla (the sister resort for adults only) with complementary Sauna, Jacuzzis, Steam, etc. if you stay at the Concierge services at Esmeralda. They have shows at night, beach volleyball, kayaks, bar at the beach... The only thing I didn't like were the beds, they were too soft for me (everyone in the group agreed to that). But apart from that, I highly recommend the whole Paradisus experience. It is not an economic plan, but is worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The SPA at La Perla, the Geysa Cocktails at Bana Restaurant.

Back to menu Return to top