$278 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2015 Check-out: Sep 23, 2015

Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal, Km. 299, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
43 reviews
Good trip

Godo experiencia, great customer service. Terrible wifi See full review

  • Irma T.
  • Jul 30, 2015
Amazing Honeymoon Resort

This hotel resort was perfect. My new husband I went there for our honeymoon and absolutely loved... See full review

  • AlyR Honeymooner
  • Jul 19, 2014
The Ocean Royale is located close to Playa del Carmen. The resort was refurbished in 2010 and features more than 300 rooms and suites, three themed restaurants, the Despacio Spa Center, four meeting rooms, two pools, a disco, a theater and a terrace overlooking the Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive package features 24-hour service, accommodations, food, beverages and most activities. Ocean Royale's lobby also provides free Wi-Fi to guests.
Rooms

The newly refurbished Ocean Royale combines avant-garde art with clean, natural lines and furnishings. Expect dark and neutral tones with pops of bright color on the walls and bedding. Of the deluxe rooms, 243 have garden views and 34 have sea views. All rooms include air conditioning, hair dryer, telephone, access to the fitness center and limited room service. The Ocean Royale also has four deluxe honeymoon suites and three romance suites. Most privilege and exclusive rooms include private terrace, preferential booking in the restaurants, breakfast in bed, concierge service, private beach privileges and discounts in the spa and diving center.

Property features

A highlight of Ocean Royale is the Despacio Spa, which offers an array of services including health and beauty treatments, hot and cold Jacuzzis and a relaxation area (fees may apply). Those looking to work up a sweat enjoy the gym at no extra cost. Guests head to the Dive It! diving center to book a trip, class or shop for cool gear (fees apply). At night, check out the disco to dance the night away. When you get hungry, duck into one of the Ocean Royale's international restaurants. Enjoy Mexican food at El Charro, Italian at La Dolce Vita and Asian at Yookoso.

Highlights
  • 2010 renovation
  • Five restaurants
  • Despacio Spa Center
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby
Nearby attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (26 mi/43 km)
  • Tulum (26 mi/43 km)
Business
  • Four meeting rooms are available for use (fees may apply)
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the lobby
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (1 hour 10 minutes)

Top hotels

Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms

Privilege Romance Suites
Elegant and spacious one bedroom suites featuring the same elegant and sophisticated dcor as our Privilege Jr Suites plus a completely separate living room, double Jacuzzi in bathroom. The entire above mentioned exclusive in room amenities and services included.
Standard Room
Rooms offers one king bed or one double bed with "Mexican hacienda" decoration, satellite TV with international channels, mini cooler (bottles of water daily refilled), A/C, 110 V / 220 V voltage (1 plug adapted to European standard), terrace or balcony. The safety deposit box is available with an extra cost.
Privilege Junior Suite
Elegant and spacious Junior Suite featuring sophisticated dcor, filled with luxury amenities with a private terrace overlooking the properties lush tropical gardens.
-Privilege welcome gift upon arrival.
-Early check in & late check out (subject to availability)
-Privilege Bedding Package, all beds equipped with pillow top and special linens.
-Pillow menu.
-Large LCD or plasma TV.
-DVD player and movies (available on request from the Privilege Concierge).
-Alarm Clock with IPod Player.
-Iron and board.
-Deluxe Privilege Toiletries.
-Bath Scale.
-Upgraded Mini-Bar refreshed daily with Premium drinks.
-Welcome bottle of Sparkling wine plus Chefs selection of the day.
-Privilege beach towels.
-Nightly turn down service
Maya Deluxe Honeymoon
Maya Deluxe Honeymoon. This garden or ocean view room features a king-size bed and our "Honeymoon Balcony", featuring a Romantic Jacuzzi on the balcony for two, with special amenities and decoration exclusively designed for honeymooners. Daily room service breakfast. Honeymooners will enjoy a Romantic candle lit dinner with Lobster and champagne by the beach as well as a reserved Ocean Front Balinese Sun Bed during their stay.
Maya Deluxe Room
This garden or ocean view rooms features a king size or double debs have.
All Maya Deluxe Rooms offer the following: Furnished balcony, 32" LCD Satellite TV, Air conditioning with in-room climate control, Safety deposit box, Iron and ironing board, Vanity mirror, Hair dryer, Umbrella, Mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, bottled water and beer, Coffee/ tea maker, Direct dial telephone.
Privilege Deluxe Ocean View
These comfortable rooms feature excellent locations within the hotel and unbeatable views of the water. Guests can enjoy a wide range of amenities any time of day which combine upgraded amenities with the highest standards of personalized and exclusive Privilege Service. Can accommodate 3 adults. 1 king or 2 queen beds A/C Full bathroom LCD 32'' Mini-fridge/mini-bar (restocked daily with free water soft drinks and beer ) Satellite TV Coffee-maker Hair dryer Alarm clock with MP3 connection. Iron/ironing board Free safe Balcony or Terrace 110 volts.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
H10 Hacienda Maya has three rooms equipped with everything required for meetings and events of all kinds. The Chichenitza, Tulum and Coba rooms can be turned into the Gran Maya, catering for up to 400 persons.

Dining

Lobby Bar
Open for coffee, cocktails, and snacks from early morning until midnight. In an open air atmosphere with free WIFI service available.
Mike's Coffee
Various coffee drinks and desserts in a coffee shop atmosphere. Modernly decorated with stone walls and leather chairs.
Privilege Dining
Reservations with priority seating in all "a la carte" restaurants. 7 am to 11 pm free a la carte room service. Privilege Breakfast in Bed. Served as part of the room service. Daily Privilege "Cook to order" Breakfast, served a la carte in Ocean Front Restaurant La Dolce Vita Restaurant (breakfast exclusively available for Privilege Guests). 1 Special organized dinner per stay (Previous reservation suggested with Concierge).
Dolce Vitta
Serving a la carte dinner in a casual ocean front atmosphere. Featuring specialties with authentic Italian flavors. Reservation required. Dinner Dress Code: Gentlemen-casual elegance is required long pants and shoes closed; Ladies-casual required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals.
La Hacienda
Casual, International buffet dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can dine inside or on the open air terrace. No reservation required. Dress Code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap, bathing suit and undershirt with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the use of sleeveless undershirts (tank shirt) and humid clothes in the restaurant; obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals.
El Charro
This restaurant serves Continental breakfast, followed by snacks of hamburgers, hot dogs, and other grilled items from midday through the afternoon. In the evening, it serves an la carte dinner menu of Mexican specialties. Dinner reservations required. This restaurant also provides the beach wait service of food and drinks.
Yokoso
A la carte Japanese restaurant with four tepanyaki tables. Reservation required. Dinner Dress Code: Gentlemen-casual elegance is required long pants and shoes closed; Ladies-casual required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 AM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 43
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Comoloco
Couples
Boston, MASS
Sep 17, 2014

Awesome Couple's Escape

The hotel itself is kept extremely clean, even the pool areas. Walkways have local wildlife that is very pleasant to look at but not disturb. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and made the experience very enjoyable. The beach was lacking a little, but a short walk away to another hotel will give you a better beach. I will visit this place again when I have the chance and highly recommend it to couples and adults who want to avoid children in their vacation. The local people, from the staff to the folks in Playa del Carmen (as well as all other attractions we visited) were extremely polite and helpful. We visited Chichen Itza and Tulum, and the guides were top notch and very knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the travel agents in the hotels, their packages cost a little extra, but they really do take care of you. Transportation is guaranteed and they are very attentive with drinks and snacks, as well as your general mood and well being. Avoid using the agencies on the streets as they have very low ratings and poor customer service.

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rmay09
Couples
Austin, Texas
Aug 3, 2014

First trip w/o Kids, Will Return

PROS - All restaurants but the Italian - Beautiful resort, well maintained - 10 minute walk from a Blue Lagoon - Close to downtown CON - Beach (time of year? we went in July)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AlyR Honeymooner
Couples
Warren, Michigan
Jul 19, 2014

Amazing Honeymoon Resort

This hotel resort was perfect. My new husband I went there for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. The food was delicious, the landscaping was immaculate, the staff was friendly, the pools and beaches were beautiful and the villas were perfect. The resort was always quiet and romantic, but also fun. There was plenty do with the sports shop there, the pools, the bars and the evening shows. Will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

There is one restaurant that requires dressing up, which includes the guys to wear dress pants. I did not realize that so we only brought shorts. But that was ok! Because the other restaurants were all delicious so we still ate great!

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lindsey H
Couples
Tulsa, oklahoma
Jul 9, 2014

This was our 3rd time at this resort

We work in the food and beverage industry. So we're a little picky. The food at this resort is so much better than most resorts. We love that they have 4 restraunts and they don't take reservations. We don't like being on a schedule. The staff is eager to assist, whether there's a problem or just questions. Like I said this was our 3rd time and we will be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah in STL
Couples
St. Louis, MO
Oct 24, 2013

Fun relaxing getaway

Hotel is very nice. Breakfast and lunch are okay. The dinners were very good and staff was amazing. Lots of places to sit at the beach and pool, but still not crowded. People put towels on chairs to save spots even when there are signs that say not to. We still did not have trouble finding shaded spots to sit. Better resort that I thought it would be. It was a good simple trip. We spend 5 nights and 5 days and did not leave once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Edmunda
Couples
Darien, Il
Jun 13, 2013

Some Concerns, But if Fixed, I'd give it a 4.

If you love the ocean of the Caribbean, this hotel is not for you. Very few people go in the water and there is NOWHERE to snorkel nearby. If you are a pool person, this can be a nice place for you. There are two very large pools. A few things that need to be corrected (and I am not a picky person). 1. Service was poor. For example, we ate several meals and finished before anyone asked us if we needed anything. The receptionist often had us standing there for minutes while she was in the back talking to other staff. This happened daily. Then she'd wave to us and point to a table. 2. You can't order room service for breakfast unless you have ordered the "Privileged Package". That's unheard of. The Pros: Rooms are nice. Grounds are Immaculate. The beach lounge beds are nice if you can snag one. If not, there are plenty of nice spots on the beach. Hanging out in the lobby courtyard at night is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken999
Couples
NC
Feb 1, 2013

Ocean Maya Royal

Hotel is very nice with great location. Staff is very good and friendly. The food could be a bit better but is pretty good. The Privilege club was comfortable but need to include sweet (chocolates, cakes) for afternoon snacks. Overall stay was wonderful and worth the price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch the collectivo instead of cabs for big savings. They can be caught at the hotel entrance and will take you to Playa del Carmen for 20 pesos as well as other locations up and down the main road.

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lisarns
Couples
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Nov 29, 2012

Wonderful week!

This is a small property that offers everything that a large resort has. It was very well laid out and the accomodations were excellent. The hotel had an excellent staff and very good food. I would definitely reccomend this to adults who are looking for a quiet pampered vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rola Superstar
Couples
SF Bay Area
Sep 17, 2012

What a great time!!

We had a great time at this resort! The room and grounds were both beautiful, the photos don't do them justice. The entertainment staff here were outstanding, those guys and gals work super hard and do a great job! We did not upgrade to the privilege package, and were glad we didn't. The Privilege perks just don't seem to be worth it, unless you like to eat and hangout alone, away from everyone else. The resort was not too large or small, just perfect for me. We could get from our room to the beach or to the lobby in about 5 minutes. The Jacuzzi beds in the pool are wonderful after a night of dancing and partying. Angel at the front desk is a little blunt and could probably benefit from a lesson in softening his tone, but he was very helpful and got us the room we wanted. Alberto was our waiter most of the time when we ate at the buffet, and I can not express how wonderful he is, he was super friendly, always making us laugh, and even remembered both mine and my husbands names after our first encounter! I would love to give this resort more stars, but there are a couple of things I would like to see improved: The food at the buffet could sometimes be hit or miss, and the Charro snack spot was also less than great. The room service menu is super limited, and there really wasn't anything on there worth ordering. Also, I would have been nice to have 24hr room service, instead of having to go all the way to the lobby bar for a late evening snack. The other improvement would be to have the music play until later at night, there is no disco on site and they cut the DJ at midnight which was pretty early (although we were already toasted by then :). Overall we had a fabulous time and would certainly return again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get to dinner early, that way if you don't like what they are serving you can still go to one of the other restaurants, they don't limit the number of times you go to the ala carte restaurants**AWESOME**.

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
christingail
Couples
Memphis, TN
Aug 23, 2012

Not so happy honeymooners

First, we checked in and went to our "Honeymoon Suite" where there was no jacuzzi tub on the patio. The patio overlooked plants and some other people's patio. So, we changed to an Ocean Front Room. The view there was nice. The employees seemed to expect tips for everything (even though it's all-inclusive). The employees also hassle you to go on excursions or to the spa. We finally gave in to a couples massage when they offered us a "special" for $115 usd. However, $115 turned in to $230 at check-out. They acted as if the price was for a couple & was for each person. The food is not anything to comment about either. I would not stay here again. I've been to another all-inclusive resort in this area and had a great experience. Pick another place, please!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top