$668 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

3 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal, Km. 299, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
48 reviews
Amazing Honeymoon Resort

This hotel resort was perfect. My new husband I went there for our honeymoon and absolutely loved... See full review

  • AlyR Honeymooner
  • Jul 19, 2014
This was our 3rd time at this resort

We work in the food and beverage industry. So we're a little picky. The food at this resort is so... See full review

  • Lindsey H
  • Jul 9, 2014
All-inclusive resort with spa, pools and a disco in Riviera Maya
The Ocean Royale is located close to Playa del Carmen. The resort was refurbished in 2010 and features more than 300 rooms and suites, three themed restaurants, the Despacio Spa Center, four meeting rooms, two pools, a disco, a theater and a terrace overlooking the Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive package features 24-hour service, accommodations, food, beverages and most activities. Ocean Royale's lobby also provides free Wi-Fi to guests.
Highlights:
  • 2010 renovation
  • Five restaurants
  • Despacio Spa Center
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby
Rooms

The newly refurbished Ocean Royale combines avant-garde art with clean, natural lines and furnishings. Expect dark and neutral tones with pops of bright color on the walls and bedding. Of the deluxe rooms, 243 have garden views and 34 have sea views. All rooms include air conditioning, hair dryer, telephone, access to the fitness center and limited room service. The Ocean Royale also has four deluxe honeymoon suites and three romance suites. Most privilege and exclusive rooms include private terrace, preferential booking in the restaurants, breakfast in bed, concierge service, private beach privileges and discounts in the spa and diving center.

Features:

A highlight of Ocean Royale is the Despacio Spa, which offers an array of services including health and beauty treatments, hot and cold Jacuzzis and a relaxation area (fees may apply). Those looking to work up a sweat enjoy the gym at no extra cost. Guests head to the Dive It! diving center to book a trip, class or shop for cool gear (fees apply). At night, check out the disco to dance the night away. When you get hungry, duck into one of the Ocean Royale's international restaurants. Enjoy Mexican food at El Charro, Italian at La Dolce Vita and Asian at Yookoso.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (1 hour 10 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (26 mi/43 km)
  • Tulum (26 mi/43 km)
Business­
  • Four meeting rooms are available for use (fees may apply)
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the lobby

Hotel Map

20.6989 -87.0171
Area served
Municipo de Solidaridad.
Nearby airports
Cancun Internetional Airport.
Area description
The H10 hotel Hacienda Maya is located on the beachfront in the Maya Riviera, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum and Cozumel. The all-inclusive hotel offers a wide range of services - such as facilities for all kinds of sports and activities for all ages. H10 Hacienda Maya also provides great food, and guests can try first-class international cuisine and local specialities.

Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms

Privilege Romance Suites
Elegant and spacious one bedroom suites featuring the same elegant and sophisticated dcor as our Privilege Jr Suites plus a completely separate living room, double Jacuzzi in bathroom. The entire above mentioned exclusive in room amenities and services included.
Standard Room
Rooms offers one king bed or one double bed with "Mexican hacienda" decoration, satellite TV with international channels, mini cooler (bottles of water daily refilled), A/C, 110 V / 220 V voltage (1 plug adapted to European standard), terrace or balcony. The safety deposit box is available with an extra cost.
Privilege Junior Suite
Elegant and spacious Junior Suite featuring sophisticated dcor, filled with luxury amenities with a private terrace overlooking the properties lush tropical gardens.
-Privilege welcome gift upon arrival.
-Early check in & late check out (subject to availability)
-Privilege Bedding Package, all beds equipped with pillow top and special linens.
-Pillow menu.
-Large LCD or plasma TV.
-DVD player and movies (available on request from the Privilege Concierge).
-Alarm Clock with IPod Player.
-Iron and board.
-Deluxe Privilege Toiletries.
-Bath Scale.
-Upgraded Mini-Bar refreshed daily with Premium drinks.
-Welcome bottle of Sparkling wine plus Chefs selection of the day.
-Privilege beach towels.
-Nightly turn down service
Maya Deluxe Honeymoon
Maya Deluxe Honeymoon. This garden or ocean view room features a king-size bed and our "Honeymoon Balcony", featuring a Romantic Jacuzzi on the balcony for two, with special amenities and decoration exclusively designed for honeymooners. Daily room service breakfast. Honeymooners will enjoy a Romantic candle lit dinner with Lobster and champagne by the beach as well as a reserved Ocean Front Balinese Sun Bed during their stay.
Maya Deluxe Room
This garden or ocean view rooms features a king size or double debs have.
All Maya Deluxe Rooms offer the following: Furnished balcony, 32" LCD Satellite TV, Air conditioning with in-room climate control, Safety deposit box, Iron and ironing board, Vanity mirror, Hair dryer, Umbrella, Mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, bottled water and beer, Coffee/ tea maker, Direct dial telephone.
Privilege Deluxe Ocean View
These comfortable rooms feature excellent locations within the hotel and unbeatable views of the water. Guests can enjoy a wide range of amenities any time of day which combine upgraded amenities with the highest standards of personalized and exclusive Privilege Service. Can accommodate 3 adults. 1 king or 2 queen beds A/C Full bathroom LCD 32'' Mini-fridge/mini-bar (restocked daily with free water soft drinks and beer ) Satellite TV Coffee-maker Hair dryer Alarm clock with MP3 connection. Iron/ironing board Free safe Balcony or Terrace 110 volts.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
H10 Hacienda Maya has three rooms equipped with everything required for meetings and events of all kinds. The Chichenitza, Tulum and Coba rooms can be turned into the Gran Maya, catering for up to 400 persons.

Dining

Lobby Bar
Open for coffee, cocktails, and snacks from early morning until midnight. In an open air atmosphere with free WIFI service available.
Mike's Coffee
Various coffee drinks and desserts in a coffee shop atmosphere. Modernly decorated with stone walls and leather chairs.
Privilege Dining
Reservations with priority seating in all "a la carte" restaurants. 7 am to 11 pm free a la carte room service. Privilege Breakfast in Bed. Served as part of the room service. Daily Privilege "Cook to order" Breakfast, served a la carte in Ocean Front Restaurant La Dolce Vita Restaurant (breakfast exclusively available for Privilege Guests). 1 Special organized dinner per stay (Previous reservation suggested with Concierge).
Dolce Vitta
Serving a la carte dinner in a casual ocean front atmosphere. Featuring specialties with authentic Italian flavors. Reservation required. Dinner Dress Code: Gentlemen-casual elegance is required long pants and shoes closed; Ladies-casual required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals.
La Hacienda
Casual, International buffet dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can dine inside or on the open air terrace. No reservation required. Dress Code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap, bathing suit and undershirt with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the use of sleeveless undershirts (tank shirt) and humid clothes in the restaurant; obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals.
El Charro
This restaurant serves Continental breakfast, followed by snacks of hamburgers, hot dogs, and other grilled items from midday through the afternoon. In the evening, it serves an la carte dinner menu of Mexican specialties. Dinner reservations required. This restaurant also provides the beach wait service of food and drinks.
Yokoso
A la carte Japanese restaurant with four tepanyaki tables. Reservation required. Dinner Dress Code: Gentlemen-casual elegance is required long pants and shoes closed; Ladies-casual required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
christingail
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 23, 2012

Not so happy honeymooners

First, we checked in and went to our "Honeymoon Suite" where there was no jacuzzi tub on the patio. The patio overlooked plants and some other people's patio. So, we changed to an Ocean Front Room. The view there was nice. The employees seemed to expect tips for everything (even though it's all-inclusive). The employees also hassle you to go on excursions or to the spa. We finally gave in to a couples massage when they offered us a "special" for $115 usd. However, $115 turned in to $230 at check-out. They acted as if the price was for a couple & was for each person. The food is not anything to comment about either. I would not stay here again. I've been to another all-inclusive resort in this area and had a great experience. Pick another place, please!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
holaholacocacola
Business
st paul, mn
Apr 22, 2009

Money better spent elsewhere

Where to begin? The resort has no beach front. You need to walk a little ways to get to the actual beach. The food was not good and the staff was very UN-accommodating! There were extra charges for things and silly rules. For example: they offer a free shuttle into town BUT you are only allowed to take it every OTHER day. At certain times of day there is even a fee to take the free shuttle. Ridiculous. The room and parts of the grounds smelled of sewer. It was the most un-relaxing vacation I have ever had to Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, Florida
Jun 13, 2011

Not so nice resort

The accommodations at this resort need help!!! While taking a shower be sure to place a towel or several towels on the floor the water leaks out onto the floor. Make sure you have another towel handy to place around the sink, that to leaks from the bottom onto the vanity area. We had bugs coming in from the bottom of the villa door. I was not impressed with the bed either. They are very very firm and you can definitely feel the springs. We had two other couples with us and their rooms had problems too similar to ours. Two couples in building 12 and the third couple in building 11. Building 12 is a great location as far as views. Now to get to the restaurants, the food was usually luke warm at best and for some reason they just don't believe in ice. We had to ask for ice constantly or we would have to drink the room temperature water. If you are looking for that crystal clear ocean this place is not the location to go. We were not sure why the water was darker, but it was. All of us still had a good time, but it would have been an even better time if it wasn't for the annoyances that I mentioned. On a positive note, the staff was incredibly friendly. We had a great dive shop close to our building which worked out great. We also went to Xplor which was definitely worth going to. We had a blast there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hope2bhappy
Business
South Carolina
Mar 9, 2011

Where was the Service?

We left the hotel daily for activities after learning that there was no music or activities to speak of by the pool. Service would have made our stay! After waiting in line at the pool resturant for 20 minutes I attempted to gain cooks attention to request the porkchop sandwhich as displayed. Was ignored in any language I attempted. My husband (better at spanish) also attempted to speak to him and again, not even eye contact. People were leaving the grill line just to avoid the wait. Never did get the sandwhich. We attempted to take our food back to our room but was told "you are not allowed to take the plates." The manager said we would have to order room service if we wanted plates with food. Our sink leaked onto the bathroom floor from day one. We were told it would be fixed the next day. It never was. No biggy, just used up most of our clean towels daily. Staff (not all) but many we encountered did not demonstrate a desire to "serve" for lack of a better word. When we had our car parked by the bell boy (1st day), we later found the lights had been left on and had a dead battery. 2 hours later, we finally were able to get a jump from a staff member. The front desk kept asking who the staff member was, wanting his name in which we could only remember the begining. They did not seem concerned that our car battery was dead and Yeah, Oh, by the way - this was our vacation. Beautiful, clean resort. Could be so much more with more effort on staff part to smile, act like they like what they are doing and happy to do it! Music by the pool with evening activities down there would be beneficial. Also, housekeeping should not require you to leave your room at 2 - 4 pm daily (for us) if you want your room clean. In comparison to two other resorts we have stayed at in the past 2 years, this would not be my pick. Service was below adequate no mater how pretty and clean it may be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and drive into Playa Del Carmen if your over 12 years old and want to see a show or dance a little.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chi town girl
Business
Chicago, Illinois
May 27, 2013

Nice couples getaway

The hotel was lovely, as well as the staff. The pool, room, and resort in general was always very clean and nice. We went to the local 5th avenue (15 minute cab ride), which is a fun area of about 3 miles worth of bars, restaurants, and shops, with a good mix of locals and tourists. We also did the Tulum Xtreme trip one day and the Catamaran boat ride to Isla Murales was the best! The location of the hotel was a little far from things, if you are planning to do excursions. The worst part of the resort had to be the food. The buffets were horrible and the quality in general was very low. The best restaurant was the Japanese steakhouse, but nothing amazing. We paid extra to have a romantic dinner for two with lobster tail the last night (around $125 extra for two people) and the lobster tail was overcooked and really bad, though the server was great. Also, the included liquors and drinks were well at best, with only stale corona draft as a beer option. To upgrade to call level liquor (still not really top shelf), you had to pay and extra $30/person/day, so we did not opt for that. Considering we got this through a deal site and it was a pretty good deal, we still had a wonderful trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

low quality

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Edmunda
Business
Darien, Il
Jun 13, 2013

Some Concerns, But if Fixed, I'd give it a 4.

If you love the ocean of the Caribbean, this hotel is not for you. Very few people go in the water and there is NOWHERE to snorkel nearby. If you are a pool person, this can be a nice place for you. There are two very large pools. A few things that need to be corrected (and I am not a picky person). 1. Service was poor. For example, we ate several meals and finished before anyone asked us if we needed anything. The receptionist often had us standing there for minutes while she was in the back talking to other staff. This happened daily. Then she'd wave to us and point to a table. 2. You can't order room service for breakfast unless you have ordered the "Privileged Package". That's unheard of. The Pros: Rooms are nice. Grounds are Immaculate. The beach lounge beds are nice if you can snag one. If not, there are plenty of nice spots on the beach. Hanging out in the lobby courtyard at night is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT.
Jan 18, 2010

"Good winter getaway for the price"

H10 Ocean Maya is not the best but not the worst. My wife and I and another couple booked for an extended weekend(Jan. 6 - 11, 2010). Although we arrived early, we were able to check in right away and enjoyed lunch. The food was surprisingly good. Based on previous reviews we were expecting a lot less but it exceeded our expectation. The lobby was beautiful, just like most resorts in that area. The rooms were a bit disappointing and did not live up to the lobby in any way. The entertainment team were young and vibrant and tried their best to keep the crowd upbeat and entertained with different types of games and activities during the day and nightly shows. Noise was a huge problem though. The music is blurring well passed 1:00 am every night. So bad in fact, that one is not able to sleep well into the night. The proximity to Playa, 5th ave. is about a 15 min. cab drive and it only cost $12.00 each way, up to 4 in a car. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. We only paid $544.00 pp all-inclusive for the entire weekend. If it wasn't for the crazy music I would consider this resort once again but as a result I will booking at another resort the next time I visit Playa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5th. ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kdahl
Business
Vermont
Mar 28, 2010

Fun vacation

The hotel was fun, but there isn't much night life there at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago,USA
Mar 18, 2010

could have been better

resort was small,but nice,not much of a beach,stayed at better resorts in the past,front desk people not very helpfull,the food was not good,same stuff day after day.would not stay at H10 again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Martynez
Business
Riviera Maya
Dec 3, 2010

Great time for all

Hotel was very nice, loved the pools, the food was great just wish few more selections. First time for all inclusive and I liked that, room was nice but smelled musky, after a few days, the ocean area was a little less than thought it would be, just little area to play on beach, the entertainment needed some help also. But service was great and the employees very very nice. But beds very very hard and uncomfortable!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top