$511 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 15, 2015 Check-out: Mar 16, 2015

Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal, Km. 299, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
49 reviews
Amazing Honeymoon Resort

This hotel resort was perfect. My new husband I went there for our honeymoon and absolutely loved... See full review

  • AlyR Honeymooner
  • Jul 19, 2014
This was our 3rd time at this resort

We work in the food and beverage industry. So we're a little picky. The food at this resort is so... See full review

  • Lindsey H
  • Jul 9, 2014
All-inclusive resort with spa, pools and a disco in Riviera Maya
The Ocean Royale is located close to Playa del Carmen. The resort was refurbished in 2010 and features more than 300 rooms and suites, three themed restaurants, the Despacio Spa Center, four meeting rooms, two pools, a disco, a theater and a terrace overlooking the Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive package features 24-hour service, accommodations, food, beverages and most activities. Ocean Royale's lobby also provides free Wi-Fi to guests.
Highlights:
  • 2010 renovation
  • Five restaurants
  • Despacio Spa Center
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby
Rooms

The newly refurbished Ocean Royale combines avant-garde art with clean, natural lines and furnishings. Expect dark and neutral tones with pops of bright color on the walls and bedding. Of the deluxe rooms, 243 have garden views and 34 have sea views. All rooms include air conditioning, hair dryer, telephone, access to the fitness center and limited room service. The Ocean Royale also has four deluxe honeymoon suites and three romance suites. Most privilege and exclusive rooms include private terrace, preferential booking in the restaurants, breakfast in bed, concierge service, private beach privileges and discounts in the spa and diving center.

Features:

A highlight of Ocean Royale is the Despacio Spa, which offers an array of services including health and beauty treatments, hot and cold Jacuzzis and a relaxation area (fees may apply). Those looking to work up a sweat enjoy the gym at no extra cost. Guests head to the Dive It! diving center to book a trip, class or shop for cool gear (fees apply). At night, check out the disco to dance the night away. When you get hungry, duck into one of the Ocean Royale's international restaurants. Enjoy Mexican food at El Charro, Italian at La Dolce Vita and Asian at Yookoso.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (1 hour 10 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (26 mi/43 km)
  • Tulum (26 mi/43 km)
Business­
  • Four meeting rooms are available for use (fees may apply)
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the lobby

Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms

Privilege Romance Suites
Elegant and spacious one bedroom suites featuring the same elegant and sophisticated dcor as our Privilege Jr Suites plus a completely separate living room, double Jacuzzi in bathroom. The entire above mentioned exclusive in room amenities and services included.
Standard Room
Rooms offers one king bed or one double bed with "Mexican hacienda" decoration, satellite TV with international channels, mini cooler (bottles of water daily refilled), A/C, 110 V / 220 V voltage (1 plug adapted to European standard), terrace or balcony. The safety deposit box is available with an extra cost.
Privilege Junior Suite
Elegant and spacious Junior Suite featuring sophisticated dcor, filled with luxury amenities with a private terrace overlooking the properties lush tropical gardens.
-Privilege welcome gift upon arrival.
-Early check in & late check out (subject to availability)
-Privilege Bedding Package, all beds equipped with pillow top and special linens.
-Pillow menu.
-Large LCD or plasma TV.
-DVD player and movies (available on request from the Privilege Concierge).
-Alarm Clock with IPod Player.
-Iron and board.
-Deluxe Privilege Toiletries.
-Bath Scale.
-Upgraded Mini-Bar refreshed daily with Premium drinks.
-Welcome bottle of Sparkling wine plus Chefs selection of the day.
-Privilege beach towels.
-Nightly turn down service
Maya Deluxe Honeymoon
Maya Deluxe Honeymoon. This garden or ocean view room features a king-size bed and our "Honeymoon Balcony", featuring a Romantic Jacuzzi on the balcony for two, with special amenities and decoration exclusively designed for honeymooners. Daily room service breakfast. Honeymooners will enjoy a Romantic candle lit dinner with Lobster and champagne by the beach as well as a reserved Ocean Front Balinese Sun Bed during their stay.
Maya Deluxe Room
This garden or ocean view rooms features a king size or double debs have.
All Maya Deluxe Rooms offer the following: Furnished balcony, 32" LCD Satellite TV, Air conditioning with in-room climate control, Safety deposit box, Iron and ironing board, Vanity mirror, Hair dryer, Umbrella, Mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, bottled water and beer, Coffee/ tea maker, Direct dial telephone.
Privilege Deluxe Ocean View
These comfortable rooms feature excellent locations within the hotel and unbeatable views of the water. Guests can enjoy a wide range of amenities any time of day which combine upgraded amenities with the highest standards of personalized and exclusive Privilege Service. Can accommodate 3 adults. 1 king or 2 queen beds A/C Full bathroom LCD 32'' Mini-fridge/mini-bar (restocked daily with free water soft drinks and beer ) Satellite TV Coffee-maker Hair dryer Alarm clock with MP3 connection. Iron/ironing board Free safe Balcony or Terrace 110 volts.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
H10 Hacienda Maya has three rooms equipped with everything required for meetings and events of all kinds. The Chichenitza, Tulum and Coba rooms can be turned into the Gran Maya, catering for up to 400 persons.

Dining

Lobby Bar
Open for coffee, cocktails, and snacks from early morning until midnight. In an open air atmosphere with free WIFI service available.
Mike's Coffee
Various coffee drinks and desserts in a coffee shop atmosphere. Modernly decorated with stone walls and leather chairs.
Privilege Dining
Reservations with priority seating in all "a la carte" restaurants. 7 am to 11 pm free a la carte room service. Privilege Breakfast in Bed. Served as part of the room service. Daily Privilege "Cook to order" Breakfast, served a la carte in Ocean Front Restaurant La Dolce Vita Restaurant (breakfast exclusively available for Privilege Guests). 1 Special organized dinner per stay (Previous reservation suggested with Concierge).
Dolce Vitta
Serving a la carte dinner in a casual ocean front atmosphere. Featuring specialties with authentic Italian flavors. Reservation required. Dinner Dress Code: Gentlemen-casual elegance is required long pants and shoes closed; Ladies-casual required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals.
La Hacienda
Casual, International buffet dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can dine inside or on the open air terrace. No reservation required. Dress Code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap, bathing suit and undershirt with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the use of sleeveless undershirts (tank shirt) and humid clothes in the restaurant; obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals.
El Charro
This restaurant serves Continental breakfast, followed by snacks of hamburgers, hot dogs, and other grilled items from midday through the afternoon. In the evening, it serves an la carte dinner menu of Mexican specialties. Dinner reservations required. This restaurant also provides the beach wait service of food and drinks.
Yokoso
A la carte Japanese restaurant with four tepanyaki tables. Reservation required. Dinner Dress Code: Gentlemen-casual elegance is required long pants and shoes closed; Ladies-casual required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 AM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crown Point, IN
Feb 26, 2011

Cozy

Great hotel , helpful staff, wonderful location... One complaint : we were supposed to get a refund for not having the deluxe room the first night. We did not get the refund or other comp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
saint louis, missouri
Jan 12, 2011

trip to Mexico

The hotel was beautiful, well-staffed, had excellent food options and fun activities every day. The resort was medium-sized and in perfect, lovely condition. i would go again in a minute!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mahtomedi, MN
Mar 21, 2010

Very Relaxing

The grounds were beautiful. They have parasailing and snorkeling available right on the grounds for an extra fee, very convenient. Checked in after 9 at night and check in was very fast and we were taken to our room immediately. The food was fine,nothing great. Never had to wait for a drink and there was always food availabe somewhere. The grounds were beautiful. Every morning we were greeted by an iguana-fun!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

It was so nice being able to take a snorkeling excursion right off the hotel grounds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
airturtle
Business
PDX
Mar 27, 2010

Fun in the Sun

Relaxed and enjoyed the beverages and food. The beach was beautiful. The scenery was also beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is not close to town so getting there requires a taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rmay09
Business
Austin, Texas
Aug 3, 2014

First trip w/o Kids, Will Return

PROS - All restaurants but the Italian - Beautiful resort, well maintained - 10 minute walk from a Blue Lagoon - Close to downtown CON - Beach (time of year? we went in July)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Comoloco
Business
Boston, MASS
Sep 17, 2014

Awesome Couple's Escape

The hotel itself is kept extremely clean, even the pool areas. Walkways have local wildlife that is very pleasant to look at but not disturb. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and made the experience very enjoyable. The beach was lacking a little, but a short walk away to another hotel will give you a better beach. I will visit this place again when I have the chance and highly recommend it to couples and adults who want to avoid children in their vacation. The local people, from the staff to the folks in Playa del Carmen (as well as all other attractions we visited) were extremely polite and helpful. We visited Chichen Itza and Tulum, and the guides were top notch and very knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the travel agents in the hotels, their packages cost a little extra, but they really do take care of you. Transportation is guaranteed and they are very attentive with drinks and snacks, as well as your general mood and well being. Avoid using the agencies on the streets as they have very low ratings and poor customer service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashley S.
Business
Des Plaines
Jan 14, 2015

Amazing Staff, Beautiful Grounds

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and the hotel staff was so friendly!! The location was a little further from the Playa Del Carmen Town than I would have liked but that is nothing against the actual hotel. As much as they tried everyday to keep the beach area clean there was a lot of smelly seaweed. The pools are amazing and not crowded, Miguel the pool bar bartender was amazing! The layout and the grounds of the hotel were amazing. The breakfast and lunch buffets were really good, but I wasn't that pleased with the dinners. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Coco Bongo in town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chi town girl
Business
Chicago, Illinois
May 27, 2013

Nice couples getaway

The hotel was lovely, as well as the staff. The pool, room, and resort in general was always very clean and nice. We went to the local 5th avenue (15 minute cab ride), which is a fun area of about 3 miles worth of bars, restaurants, and shops, with a good mix of locals and tourists. We also did the Tulum Xtreme trip one day and the Catamaran boat ride to Isla Murales was the best! The location of the hotel was a little far from things, if you are planning to do excursions. The worst part of the resort had to be the food. The buffets were horrible and the quality in general was very low. The best restaurant was the Japanese steakhouse, but nothing amazing. We paid extra to have a romantic dinner for two with lobster tail the last night (around $125 extra for two people) and the lobster tail was overcooked and really bad, though the server was great. Also, the included liquors and drinks were well at best, with only stale corona draft as a beer option. To upgrade to call level liquor (still not really top shelf), you had to pay and extra $30/person/day, so we did not opt for that. Considering we got this through a deal site and it was a pretty good deal, we still had a wonderful trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

low quality

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Edmunda
Business
Darien, Il
Jun 13, 2013

Some Concerns, But if Fixed, I'd give it a 4.

If you love the ocean of the Caribbean, this hotel is not for you. Very few people go in the water and there is NOWHERE to snorkel nearby. If you are a pool person, this can be a nice place for you. There are two very large pools. A few things that need to be corrected (and I am not a picky person). 1. Service was poor. For example, we ate several meals and finished before anyone asked us if we needed anything. The receptionist often had us standing there for minutes while she was in the back talking to other staff. This happened daily. Then she'd wave to us and point to a table. 2. You can't order room service for breakfast unless you have ordered the "Privileged Package". That's unheard of. The Pros: Rooms are nice. Grounds are Immaculate. The beach lounge beds are nice if you can snag one. If not, there are plenty of nice spots on the beach. Hanging out in the lobby courtyard at night is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT.
Jan 18, 2010

"Good winter getaway for the price"

H10 Ocean Maya is not the best but not the worst. My wife and I and another couple booked for an extended weekend(Jan. 6 - 11, 2010). Although we arrived early, we were able to check in right away and enjoyed lunch. The food was surprisingly good. Based on previous reviews we were expecting a lot less but it exceeded our expectation. The lobby was beautiful, just like most resorts in that area. The rooms were a bit disappointing and did not live up to the lobby in any way. The entertainment team were young and vibrant and tried their best to keep the crowd upbeat and entertained with different types of games and activities during the day and nightly shows. Noise was a huge problem though. The music is blurring well passed 1:00 am every night. So bad in fact, that one is not able to sleep well into the night. The proximity to Playa, 5th ave. is about a 15 min. cab drive and it only cost $12.00 each way, up to 4 in a car. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. We only paid $544.00 pp all-inclusive for the entire weekend. If it wasn't for the crazy music I would consider this resort once again but as a result I will booking at another resort the next time I visit Playa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5th. ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top