$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 20, 2015 Check-out: May 23, 2015

Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal, Km. 299, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lisarns
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Nov 29, 2012

Wonderful week!

This is a small property that offers everything that a large resort has. It was very well laid out and the accomodations were excellent. The hotel had an excellent staff and very good food. I would definitely reccomend this to adults who are looking for a quiet pampered vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
playa del carmen all inclusive hotel
Business
Mexico
Jun 26, 2010

Good place for the price

Good service Nice Pool Clean and confortab├▒e rooms Average food Difficult to eat at the restaurants, always full Average buffet Not a nice beach Great Price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Excellent price, all inclusive, difficult to fine better places in the area for that price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 9, 2010

the good

Everything was good;staff was very friendly, food was very good and healthful, simply exellent, room was clean, a lot of flowers around, everything clean, free WiFi in lobby, very good location, but water! - not enough space for swiming and very dirty water.We couldn't enjoy by water like we used to have while our Carribian & Mexican trips. They have to change something for that - the main goal of each beach resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John and Tiff
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 27, 2010

Nice Getaway

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, no long lines at the bars and buffet'. The room was very modern and clean along with the grounds. Mike's Coffee shop was a welcome treat and excellant concierge service. I would have liked it if we would have been within walking distance to 5th Ave. (Playa Del Carmen) but it was only $13 by taxi. I would recomend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We normally catch a taxi everywhere but this time we tried public transit to Xel-Ha. It was very easy, you stand on the 307 Hwy (Chetmal Hwy) and shuttles (15 passanger van) drive by every 5 minutes and they pull over and you get in. It cost 20 pesos or $2 per person. It took about an hour to get 50 miles to Xel-Ha. The Mexicans could teach the U.S. a few things about public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mukwonago, WI
Apr 22, 2010

Loved It!

We had a fabulous time! The resort was very accommodating and extremely clean! Our six year old daughter couldn't wait for Kids Club to start up each day which allowed my husband and I to relax a little bit alone. In reviews before we went, I didn't see anything about the kids club and I want to make sure people know it's great (and very safe!). The beach is beautiful and you can walk a long ways on the soft white sand. We rarely say we'd return to any one place but this one we would. The shows at night were great way to end the evening and were actually pretty good (we've seen some pretty bad ones at other places!). The food wasn't spectacular but they always had a wide variety and you can always find something to eat! We never stuffed ourselves which was probably a good thing!! We highly recommend the Ocean Maya! Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grammie and Buppa
Business
Laurium, Michigan
Apr 5, 2010

Wonderful, wonderful!

The Ocean Maya H10 exceeded our expections...clean rooms, immaculate landscaping, nightly entertainment..clean, clear pools, friendly and courteous waitstaff. This was the first trip my husband and myself had taken alone...after 32 years of marriage and it sure was worth the wait! We couldn't have picked a better place. The beach and the Carribean was beyond beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

By taxi or bus to Cancun roughly takes 45 to 60 minutes one way...with lots and lots of traffic. Going to downtown Playa roughly takes 20 minutes or so...be sure to check prior to entering the taxi exactly how many pesos for ride...NO Surprises!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Fun in Playa del Carmen
Business
Denver, Co
Mar 31, 2010

Can't complain about this relaxing hotel

We didn't have any complaints about our stay. We had a couple bouts of cold water, but once we went up front and mentioned it, they fixed the issue. The staff is friendly and the grounds are so beautiful. If you don't like staying in huge hotel mega-plex's like us, this is the place for you. It is very family friendly and our children couldn't get enough of the kids club they provide. The location is beautiful and if you get a chance, take a kayake out along the coastline- one of the free amenities provided. The food is great, although ironically the Mexican restaurant is so-so but the rest was fantastic- especially the Italian restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

While staying here you should check out the Selvatica zip line which is just a half hour bus ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kdahl
Business
Vermont
Mar 28, 2010

Fun vacation

The hotel was fun, but there isn't much night life there at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
airturtle
Business
PDX
Mar 27, 2010

Fun in the Sun

Relaxed and enjoyed the beverages and food. The beach was beautiful. The scenery was also beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is not close to town so getting there requires a taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 26, 2010

Ocean Maya - Pre-Retiree Theme Park

When we return to Playa Del Carmen next year we will not be staying at this resort for a variety of reasons location being the top choice not to return. There is NO night life at this resort and the town of Playa is a 15-20 min cab ride into town ($14 each way. The hotel claims to have a shuttle service which runs into Paya Del Carmen but in reality its their tour guide service which provides 1 shuttle per day into town (van leaves hotel at noon and picks up to return back to the hotel at 5PM). The resort felt like a haven for future retirees and was complete boredom after dinner. The food was all right and I suspect its the same food you get at any all inclusive resort so I cant really complain about the dining they offer. We payed the $30 a piece/per day to upgrade to a better room, premium booze, and a stocked mini bar in our room, however our mini bar was not stocked until the day before our last even after mentioning it 5 times to their staff. PLAYA DEL CARMEN IS A WONDERFULL LITTLE CITY AND OUR NEXT TRIP WILL BE TAKEN DIRECTLY IN TOWN RATHER THAN IN A RESORT MILES AWAY WHICH FEELS LIKE A PRE-RETIREE THEME PARK!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Had to take a cab to shop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 23, 2010

Super Vacation

Great fun, wonderful place! the only problem was with the [*]!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top