$266 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal, Km. 299, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
airturtle
Single
PDX
Mar 27, 2010

Fun in the Sun

Relaxed and enjoyed the beverages and food. The beach was beautiful. The scenery was also beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is not close to town so getting there requires a taxi.

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 26, 2010

Ocean Maya - Pre-Retiree Theme Park

When we return to Playa Del Carmen next year we will not be staying at this resort for a variety of reasons location being the top choice not to return. There is NO night life at this resort and the town of Playa is a 15-20 min cab ride into town ($14 each way. The hotel claims to have a shuttle service which runs into Paya Del Carmen but in reality its their tour guide service which provides 1 shuttle per day into town (van leaves hotel at noon and picks up to return back to the hotel at 5PM). The resort felt like a haven for future retirees and was complete boredom after dinner. The food was all right and I suspect its the same food you get at any all inclusive resort so I cant really complain about the dining they offer. We payed the $30 a piece/per day to upgrade to a better room, premium booze, and a stocked mini bar in our room, however our mini bar was not stocked until the day before our last even after mentioning it 5 times to their staff. PLAYA DEL CARMEN IS A WONDERFULL LITTLE CITY AND OUR NEXT TRIP WILL BE TAKEN DIRECTLY IN TOWN RATHER THAN IN A RESORT MILES AWAY WHICH FEELS LIKE A PRE-RETIREE THEME PARK!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Had to take a cab to shop

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 23, 2010

Super Vacation

Great fun, wonderful place! the only problem was with the [*]!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Mahtomedi, MN
Mar 21, 2010

Very Relaxing

The grounds were beautiful. They have parasailing and snorkeling available right on the grounds for an extra fee, very convenient. Checked in after 9 at night and check in was very fast and we were taken to our room immediately. The food was fine,nothing great. Never had to wait for a drink and there was always food availabe somewhere. The grounds were beautiful. Every morning we were greeted by an iguana-fun!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

It was so nice being able to take a snorkeling excursion right off the hotel grounds.

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
chicago,USA
Mar 18, 2010

could have been better

resort was small,but nice,not much of a beach,stayed at better resorts in the past,front desk people not very helpfull,the food was not good,same stuff day after day.would not stay at H10 again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Martinsville Indiana
Mar 15, 2010

Good Trip

Would have appreciated hot coffee in the rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Indianapolis Indiana
Mar 15, 2010

Week in the sun

We were pleased with everything we experienced at the resort. The exception, rude guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ozzie123
Couples
chicago illinois
Mar 11, 2010

Nice Hotel

Great grounds. The pool and beach are very nice. The rooms are more than adequate. The staff is nice but probably could benifit from better training. Bartenders focused on cleaning when they should be filling drinks. Waiters were more concerned with taking your plate away than bringing coffee etc. Overall though a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japanese restaurant was very good

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dont like rude dudes from the south.
Couples
Northwest Arkansas
Mar 7, 2010

Better than we imagined, glad we went!

We had a wonderful time, arrived on Sunday, left on Saturday, wish we could have stayed. We were able to see the most modern room and the less modern room and not much difference, very comfortable and clean. Great service, great drinks, wonderful selection and quality of food. Room staff met all our demands. Guest services went well beyond what was expected. Beautiful beach, great boardwalk/seawall, cool pier. Great pools, swim-up bar, loved the free use of the sea kayaks. This was one of our best vacations of all times, seems like more would take advantage of this delightful gem!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We rented car but you could just use local collectivo.

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Montreal, Canada
Feb 16, 2010

Decent Place

[...] our shuttle driver to airport drove like a madman and was insulted at our 20 pesos offer as a tip. We also had our snorkle equipment stolen at Xel-Ha, which cost us 50 $ US for our deposit. Still waiting to hear from someone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top