$511 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 15, 2015 Check-out: Mar 16, 2015

Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal, Km. 299, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
49 reviews
Amazing Honeymoon Resort

This hotel resort was perfect. My new husband I went there for our honeymoon and absolutely loved... See full review

  • AlyR Honeymooner
  • Jul 19, 2014
This was our 3rd time at this resort

We work in the food and beverage industry. So we're a little picky. The food at this resort is so... See full review

  • Lindsey H
  • Jul 9, 2014
All-inclusive resort with spa, pools and a disco in Riviera Maya
The Ocean Royale is located close to Playa del Carmen. The resort was refurbished in 2010 and features more than 300 rooms and suites, three themed restaurants, the Despacio Spa Center, four meeting rooms, two pools, a disco, a theater and a terrace overlooking the Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive package features 24-hour service, accommodations, food, beverages and most activities. Ocean Royale's lobby also provides free Wi-Fi to guests.
Highlights:
  • 2010 renovation
  • Five restaurants
  • Despacio Spa Center
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby
Rooms

The newly refurbished Ocean Royale combines avant-garde art with clean, natural lines and furnishings. Expect dark and neutral tones with pops of bright color on the walls and bedding. Of the deluxe rooms, 243 have garden views and 34 have sea views. All rooms include air conditioning, hair dryer, telephone, access to the fitness center and limited room service. The Ocean Royale also has four deluxe honeymoon suites and three romance suites. Most privilege and exclusive rooms include private terrace, preferential booking in the restaurants, breakfast in bed, concierge service, private beach privileges and discounts in the spa and diving center.

Features:

A highlight of Ocean Royale is the Despacio Spa, which offers an array of services including health and beauty treatments, hot and cold Jacuzzis and a relaxation area (fees may apply). Those looking to work up a sweat enjoy the gym at no extra cost. Guests head to the Dive It! diving center to book a trip, class or shop for cool gear (fees apply). At night, check out the disco to dance the night away. When you get hungry, duck into one of the Ocean Royale's international restaurants. Enjoy Mexican food at El Charro, Italian at La Dolce Vita and Asian at Yookoso.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (1 hour 10 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (26 mi/43 km)
  • Tulum (26 mi/43 km)
Business­
  • Four meeting rooms are available for use (fees may apply)
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the lobby

Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms

Privilege Romance Suites
Elegant and spacious one bedroom suites featuring the same elegant and sophisticated dcor as our Privilege Jr Suites plus a completely separate living room, double Jacuzzi in bathroom. The entire above mentioned exclusive in room amenities and services included.
Standard Room
Rooms offers one king bed or one double bed with "Mexican hacienda" decoration, satellite TV with international channels, mini cooler (bottles of water daily refilled), A/C, 110 V / 220 V voltage (1 plug adapted to European standard), terrace or balcony. The safety deposit box is available with an extra cost.
Privilege Junior Suite
Elegant and spacious Junior Suite featuring sophisticated dcor, filled with luxury amenities with a private terrace overlooking the properties lush tropical gardens.
-Privilege welcome gift upon arrival.
-Early check in & late check out (subject to availability)
-Privilege Bedding Package, all beds equipped with pillow top and special linens.
-Pillow menu.
-Large LCD or plasma TV.
-DVD player and movies (available on request from the Privilege Concierge).
-Alarm Clock with IPod Player.
-Iron and board.
-Deluxe Privilege Toiletries.
-Bath Scale.
-Upgraded Mini-Bar refreshed daily with Premium drinks.
-Welcome bottle of Sparkling wine plus Chefs selection of the day.
-Privilege beach towels.
-Nightly turn down service
Maya Deluxe Honeymoon
Maya Deluxe Honeymoon. This garden or ocean view room features a king-size bed and our "Honeymoon Balcony", featuring a Romantic Jacuzzi on the balcony for two, with special amenities and decoration exclusively designed for honeymooners. Daily room service breakfast. Honeymooners will enjoy a Romantic candle lit dinner with Lobster and champagne by the beach as well as a reserved Ocean Front Balinese Sun Bed during their stay.
Maya Deluxe Room
This garden or ocean view rooms features a king size or double debs have.
All Maya Deluxe Rooms offer the following: Furnished balcony, 32" LCD Satellite TV, Air conditioning with in-room climate control, Safety deposit box, Iron and ironing board, Vanity mirror, Hair dryer, Umbrella, Mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, bottled water and beer, Coffee/ tea maker, Direct dial telephone.
Privilege Deluxe Ocean View
These comfortable rooms feature excellent locations within the hotel and unbeatable views of the water. Guests can enjoy a wide range of amenities any time of day which combine upgraded amenities with the highest standards of personalized and exclusive Privilege Service. Can accommodate 3 adults. 1 king or 2 queen beds A/C Full bathroom LCD 32'' Mini-fridge/mini-bar (restocked daily with free water soft drinks and beer ) Satellite TV Coffee-maker Hair dryer Alarm clock with MP3 connection. Iron/ironing board Free safe Balcony or Terrace 110 volts.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lobby Bar
Open for coffee, cocktails, and snacks from early morning until midnight. In an open air atmosphere with free WIFI service available.
Mike's Coffee
Various coffee drinks and desserts in a coffee shop atmosphere. Modernly decorated with stone walls and leather chairs.
Privilege Dining
Reservations with priority seating in all "a la carte" restaurants. 7 am to 11 pm free a la carte room service. Privilege Breakfast in Bed. Served as part of the room service. Daily Privilege "Cook to order" Breakfast, served a la carte in Ocean Front Restaurant La Dolce Vita Restaurant (breakfast exclusively available for Privilege Guests). 1 Special organized dinner per stay (Previous reservation suggested with Concierge).
Dolce Vitta
Serving a la carte dinner in a casual ocean front atmosphere. Featuring specialties with authentic Italian flavors. Reservation required. Dinner Dress Code: Gentlemen-casual elegance is required long pants and shoes closed; Ladies-casual required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals.
La Hacienda
Casual, International buffet dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can dine inside or on the open air terrace. No reservation required. Dress Code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap, bathing suit and undershirt with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the use of sleeveless undershirts (tank shirt) and humid clothes in the restaurant; obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals.
El Charro
This restaurant serves Continental breakfast, followed by snacks of hamburgers, hot dogs, and other grilled items from midday through the afternoon. In the evening, it serves an la carte dinner menu of Mexican specialties. Dinner reservations required. This restaurant also provides the beach wait service of food and drinks.
Yokoso
A la carte Japanese restaurant with four tepanyaki tables. Reservation required. Dinner Dress Code: Gentlemen-casual elegance is required long pants and shoes closed; Ladies-casual required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
H10 Hacienda Maya has three rooms equipped with everything required for meetings and events of all kinds. The Chichenitza, Tulum and Coba rooms can be turned into the Gran Maya, catering for up to 400 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 AM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minnesotagirl2
Business
Minnesota
Feb 20, 2013

Mexico trip

This was a very nice resort. The grounds were beautiful. There was a nice beach to walk along. Our swim area was a bit rocky. Japenese and Italian restaurant were excellent. Buffet was fine most days. The buffet by the pool was not that great though. Entertainment staff was so energetic and friendly. There was dancing after the nightly show which was nice. Waitresses very nice. Bartenders could be a bit crabby at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken999
Business
NC
Feb 1, 2013

Ocean Maya Royal

Hotel is very nice with great location. Staff is very good and friendly. The food could be a bit better but is pretty good. The Privilege club was comfortable but need to include sweet (chocolates, cakes) for afternoon snacks. Overall stay was wonderful and worth the price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch the collectivo instead of cabs for big savings. They can be caught at the hotel entrance and will take you to Playa del Carmen for 20 pesos as well as other locations up and down the main road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ZachnLauren
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 23, 2013

Fantastic service

All-inclusives are for people who want a nice, easy getaway, and this hotel provided that perfectly! Their service team went above and beyond for us, and the amount of activities on the resort never let us get bored. One thing to note--there is a sulfur smell from the mangrove swamp, but it is fairly localized and did not affect our rooms at all. The spa is fairly expensive, but the service there was top-notch. You should try to remember to reserve the warm jacuzzi tub outside the spa as we did, perfect for when the sun goes down before dinner :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

When going on tours (Chichen Itza, et al), you are going to be accosted for tips and at each stop you will be accosted to buy souvenirs. This kind of hampered the experience for us, mostly because at the end of the day you are exhausted from saying no to people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lisarns
Business
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Nov 29, 2012

Wonderful week!

This is a small property that offers everything that a large resort has. It was very well laid out and the accomodations were excellent. The hotel had an excellent staff and very good food. I would definitely reccomend this to adults who are looking for a quiet pampered vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CHICHIMECAS
Business
LAS VEGAS, NV
Nov 8, 2012

BEST FRIENDS GETAWAY

We had a awesome time me and all my friends and family your staff were the best on every level we are checking into coming back in the new year i have only one suggestion if there could be more soft pillows to go around and for sure thicker mattress pads for comfort but other than that i highly recommend this resort to all my friends and family!!! Thanks for the great experience that was our first time to be in Mexico!!! my whole goal also for this trip was to visit Chichen Itza wow what a experience our tour guide was so full of info he for sure new his history we also visited Tulum and another beautiful place it was to go down and swim in such clear and awesome water and last we did a trip to Isla de Mujeres that was such a cool island one of my friends is looking into maybe buying a house there which would be awesome we could have our own place to stay someday!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head down to Playa De Carmen and have dinner at Fridas it was a great dinner and the people were very nice!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rola Superstar
Business
SF Bay Area
Sep 17, 2012

What a great time!!

We had a great time at this resort! The room and grounds were both beautiful, the photos don't do them justice. The entertainment staff here were outstanding, those guys and gals work super hard and do a great job! We did not upgrade to the privilege package, and were glad we didn't. The Privilege perks just don't seem to be worth it, unless you like to eat and hangout alone, away from everyone else. The resort was not too large or small, just perfect for me. We could get from our room to the beach or to the lobby in about 5 minutes. The Jacuzzi beds in the pool are wonderful after a night of dancing and partying. Angel at the front desk is a little blunt and could probably benefit from a lesson in softening his tone, but he was very helpful and got us the room we wanted. Alberto was our waiter most of the time when we ate at the buffet, and I can not express how wonderful he is, he was super friendly, always making us laugh, and even remembered both mine and my husbands names after our first encounter! I would love to give this resort more stars, but there are a couple of things I would like to see improved: The food at the buffet could sometimes be hit or miss, and the Charro snack spot was also less than great. The room service menu is super limited, and there really wasn't anything on there worth ordering. Also, I would have been nice to have 24hr room service, instead of having to go all the way to the lobby bar for a late evening snack. The other improvement would be to have the music play until later at night, there is no disco on site and they cut the DJ at midnight which was pretty early (although we were already toasted by then :). Overall we had a fabulous time and would certainly return again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get to dinner early, that way if you don't like what they are serving you can still go to one of the other restaurants, they don't limit the number of times you go to the ala carte restaurants**AWESOME**.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
christingail
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 23, 2012

Not so happy honeymooners

First, we checked in and went to our "Honeymoon Suite" where there was no jacuzzi tub on the patio. The patio overlooked plants and some other people's patio. So, we changed to an Ocean Front Room. The view there was nice. The employees seemed to expect tips for everything (even though it's all-inclusive). The employees also hassle you to go on excursions or to the spa. We finally gave in to a couples massage when they offered us a "special" for $115 usd. However, $115 turned in to $230 at check-out. They acted as if the price was for a couple & was for each person. The food is not anything to comment about either. I would not stay here again. I've been to another all-inclusive resort in this area and had a great experience. Pick another place, please!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blushing Bride
Business
Topeka, KS
Jul 13, 2012

Great Honeymoon Locale

My new husband and I came to the H10 Ocean Maya Royale for our honeymoon during July. It was our first time at an all-inclusive but the Ocean Maya lived up to all of our expectations! The Ocean Maya offers activities throughout the day, like yoga, dance lessons, and silly games, but we were completely pleased laying by one of the pools and the beach. Each evening the hotel staff provided entertainment, including DJs, saxophone players, dance shows, and parties. The staff workers were incredibly friendly. They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Since we were honeymooners, we upgraded for wine and chocolates in our room upon arrival. We also got to have breakfast in bed and a private dinner above the pool. I would absolutely recommend H10 Ocean Maya Royale to anyone looking for a quiet and pleasant adults-only vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Yokooso is AMAZING!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chick trip
Business
United States
Dec 12, 2011

Do your homework before you go ...we liked it

we are in our late 40's early 50's guy girl couple and like a smaller property and also adults only. We got both here. They converted to adults only less than a year ago so they are still working the bugs out of the system. But it's a nice property...not a 5 star by any means but we knew that. Safe area to be in. Friendly staff, lovely grounds, pools are super close to the beach. The beach was salvaged from losing about 30' of beachfront from Wilma years ago but they did the best they could and built a retaining wall to stop the beach erosion...so the beach isn't directly "on' the beach in all area but is above...but is still lovely. There is a swim up bar and Xaxier does a great job of cranking out the drinks and being friendly at the same time. Good booze at the regular price and even better booze if you want to upgrage yourself for $40.00 per day to the Privalege section. That gets you the best booze, a private spot on the beach w/ the huge beach beds etc..special service yada. we didn't buy that and didn't miss it either. Guest services Susanna and Judy super friendly and nice. Luis a staff photographer does an amazing job and hires off for couples or single sessions. great work and reasonable. Hotel is 40 min from the cancun airport and about 15 minutes or so north of Playa Del Carmen. Taxi ride to Playa is $20.00 each way or they offer a free shuttle from the hotel once a day that you sign up for one day in advance. It's gone from 10 a.m. till 2:00 p.m. we got a good price thru this website and had no worries start to finish. Will use them again. We knew what we were buying from the reviews and and were happy w/ what we paid an our package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try get a table at the Japanese. The chefs were fun. The house champange was very good at the resort. Yum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Aug 10, 2011

Fantastic Stay!!

We used the Diving Center to go scuba diving. It was worth every penny we spent. It was absolutely awesome. However, the parasailing was a little overpriced. It was a fantastic stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We ate in the themed restaurants almost every night. They were so good, but you have to go in with an open mind to try new things. The restaurants are much better than the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top