$278 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2015 Check-out: Sep 23, 2015

Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal, Km. 299, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minnesotagirl2
Friends
Minnesota
Feb 20, 2013

Mexico trip

This was a very nice resort. The grounds were beautiful. There was a nice beach to walk along. Our swim area was a bit rocky. Japenese and Italian restaurant were excellent. Buffet was fine most days. The buffet by the pool was not that great though. Entertainment staff was so energetic and friendly. There was dancing after the nightly show which was nice. Waitresses very nice. Bartenders could be a bit crabby at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken999
Couples
NC
Feb 1, 2013

Ocean Maya Royal

Hotel is very nice with great location. Staff is very good and friendly. The food could be a bit better but is pretty good. The Privilege club was comfortable but need to include sweet (chocolates, cakes) for afternoon snacks. Overall stay was wonderful and worth the price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch the collectivo instead of cabs for big savings. They can be caught at the hotel entrance and will take you to Playa del Carmen for 20 pesos as well as other locations up and down the main road.

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ZachnLauren
Friends
Washington, DC
Jan 23, 2013

Fantastic service

All-inclusives are for people who want a nice, easy getaway, and this hotel provided that perfectly! Their service team went above and beyond for us, and the amount of activities on the resort never let us get bored. One thing to note--there is a sulfur smell from the mangrove swamp, but it is fairly localized and did not affect our rooms at all. The spa is fairly expensive, but the service there was top-notch. You should try to remember to reserve the warm jacuzzi tub outside the spa as we did, perfect for when the sun goes down before dinner :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

When going on tours (Chichen Itza, et al), you are going to be accosted for tips and at each stop you will be accosted to buy souvenirs. This kind of hampered the experience for us, mostly because at the end of the day you are exhausted from saying no to people.

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lisarns
Couples
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Nov 29, 2012

Wonderful week!

This is a small property that offers everything that a large resort has. It was very well laid out and the accomodations were excellent. The hotel had an excellent staff and very good food. I would definitely reccomend this to adults who are looking for a quiet pampered vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CHICHIMECAS
Family
LAS VEGAS, NV
Nov 8, 2012

BEST FRIENDS GETAWAY

We had a awesome time me and all my friends and family your staff were the best on every level we are checking into coming back in the new year i have only one suggestion if there could be more soft pillows to go around and for sure thicker mattress pads for comfort but other than that i highly recommend this resort to all my friends and family!!! Thanks for the great experience that was our first time to be in Mexico!!! my whole goal also for this trip was to visit Chichen Itza wow what a experience our tour guide was so full of info he for sure new his history we also visited Tulum and another beautiful place it was to go down and swim in such clear and awesome water and last we did a trip to Isla de Mujeres that was such a cool island one of my friends is looking into maybe buying a house there which would be awesome we could have our own place to stay someday!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head down to Playa De Carmen and have dinner at Fridas it was a great dinner and the people were very nice!!

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rola Superstar
Couples
SF Bay Area
Sep 17, 2012

What a great time!!

We had a great time at this resort! The room and grounds were both beautiful, the photos don't do them justice. The entertainment staff here were outstanding, those guys and gals work super hard and do a great job! We did not upgrade to the privilege package, and were glad we didn't. The Privilege perks just don't seem to be worth it, unless you like to eat and hangout alone, away from everyone else. The resort was not too large or small, just perfect for me. We could get from our room to the beach or to the lobby in about 5 minutes. The Jacuzzi beds in the pool are wonderful after a night of dancing and partying. Angel at the front desk is a little blunt and could probably benefit from a lesson in softening his tone, but he was very helpful and got us the room we wanted. Alberto was our waiter most of the time when we ate at the buffet, and I can not express how wonderful he is, he was super friendly, always making us laugh, and even remembered both mine and my husbands names after our first encounter! I would love to give this resort more stars, but there are a couple of things I would like to see improved: The food at the buffet could sometimes be hit or miss, and the Charro snack spot was also less than great. The room service menu is super limited, and there really wasn't anything on there worth ordering. Also, I would have been nice to have 24hr room service, instead of having to go all the way to the lobby bar for a late evening snack. The other improvement would be to have the music play until later at night, there is no disco on site and they cut the DJ at midnight which was pretty early (although we were already toasted by then :). Overall we had a fabulous time and would certainly return again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get to dinner early, that way if you don't like what they are serving you can still go to one of the other restaurants, they don't limit the number of times you go to the ala carte restaurants**AWESOME**.

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
christingail
Couples
Memphis, TN
Aug 23, 2012

Not so happy honeymooners

First, we checked in and went to our "Honeymoon Suite" where there was no jacuzzi tub on the patio. The patio overlooked plants and some other people's patio. So, we changed to an Ocean Front Room. The view there was nice. The employees seemed to expect tips for everything (even though it's all-inclusive). The employees also hassle you to go on excursions or to the spa. We finally gave in to a couples massage when they offered us a "special" for $115 usd. However, $115 turned in to $230 at check-out. They acted as if the price was for a couple & was for each person. The food is not anything to comment about either. I would not stay here again. I've been to another all-inclusive resort in this area and had a great experience. Pick another place, please!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chick trip
Couples
United States
Dec 12, 2011

Do your homework before you go ...we liked it

we are in our late 40's early 50's guy girl couple and like a smaller property and also adults only. We got both here. They converted to adults only less than a year ago so they are still working the bugs out of the system. But it's a nice property...not a 5 star by any means but we knew that. Safe area to be in. Friendly staff, lovely grounds, pools are super close to the beach. The beach was salvaged from losing about 30' of beachfront from Wilma years ago but they did the best they could and built a retaining wall to stop the beach erosion...so the beach isn't directly "on' the beach in all area but is above...but is still lovely. There is a swim up bar and Xaxier does a great job of cranking out the drinks and being friendly at the same time. Good booze at the regular price and even better booze if you want to upgrage yourself for $40.00 per day to the Privalege section. That gets you the best booze, a private spot on the beach w/ the huge beach beds etc..special service yada. we didn't buy that and didn't miss it either. Guest services Susanna and Judy super friendly and nice. Luis a staff photographer does an amazing job and hires off for couples or single sessions. great work and reasonable. Hotel is 40 min from the cancun airport and about 15 minutes or so north of Playa Del Carmen. Taxi ride to Playa is $20.00 each way or they offer a free shuttle from the hotel once a day that you sign up for one day in advance. It's gone from 10 a.m. till 2:00 p.m. we got a good price thru this website and had no worries start to finish. Will use them again. We knew what we were buying from the reviews and and were happy w/ what we paid an our package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try get a table at the Japanese. The chefs were fun. The house champange was very good at the resort. Yum.

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Orlando, Florida
Jun 13, 2011

Not so nice resort

The accommodations at this resort need help!!! While taking a shower be sure to place a towel or several towels on the floor the water leaks out onto the floor. Make sure you have another towel handy to place around the sink, that to leaks from the bottom onto the vanity area. We had bugs coming in from the bottom of the villa door. I was not impressed with the bed either. They are very very firm and you can definitely feel the springs. We had two other couples with us and their rooms had problems too similar to ours. Two couples in building 12 and the third couple in building 11. Building 12 is a great location as far as views. Now to get to the restaurants, the food was usually luke warm at best and for some reason they just don't believe in ice. We had to ask for ice constantly or we would have to drink the room temperature water. If you are looking for that crystal clear ocean this place is not the location to go. We were not sure why the water was darker, but it was. All of us still had a good time, but it would have been an even better time if it wasn't for the annoyances that I mentioned. On a positive note, the staff was incredibly friendly. We had a great dive shop close to our building which worked out great. We also went to Xplor which was definitely worth going to. We had a blast there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York
May 15, 2011

For the money it was O.K.

I guess for the money the hotel is just O.K., it does need serious improvements with dining. Also there are not enough workers(understaffed). Don't even bother with the privilege building, it is renovated like all other buildings, but still it is old, with noisy air conditioner,etc... Also the building is located in the back of the main restaurant where they stash garbage, and there packs of animals(coti's) going thru garbage and running all over even up on palm trees. I thought it was disgusting and very unsanitary. The 3 a la carte restaurants are Japanese,Italian and Mexican, and in my opinion they are neither. Having said that the buffets are even worst. The good part about the hotel are the workers, the rooms and the beach. In conclusion the management should step out from their bubble and become hand-on and see for themselfs, otherwise the resort will not make it as adult only, or anything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top