$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2014 Check-out: May 15, 2014

Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

3 stars
Calle 8 Nte. Entre 5a Av. Y Zona Federal Maritim, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
13 reviews
Nice and trendy

Close to everything, walking distance to clubs and bars, yet no noise near the hotel by night,... See full review

  • Bere
  • Aug 29, 2013
Charming beach hotel- Adults only

I just got back from an awesome 2 week trip to Mex Riviera and part of it i spent in an all... See full review

  • Dr. Genia
  • Jul 26, 2013
Beachfront Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen
Mosquito Beach Hotel is the only boutique hotel in Playa del Carmen located directly on the ocean. This adults-only hotel, created and designed by its Italian owner, opened in 2006 and offers a serene, secluded escape while being only steps away from the hustle of 5th Avenue. The architecture combines the relaxed tropical feel of the Caribbean with the ultra modern of Europe. Enjoy these comfortable chic rooms decorated with minimalist contemporary touches. Guests can recline on sunbeds on the beach or next to the pool.
Highlights
Oceanfront boutique hotel
Private beach club with large day beds and beach service
33 air-conditioned rooms
Swimming pool
Modern design
Onsite casual seafood restaurant
Dining
Mosquito Beach Restaurant offers international fare in a casual beachfront atmosphere. The restaurant uses the freshest local seafood to create its light and refreshing breakfast and lunch menus. Enjoy dinner at our sister hotel Mosquito Blue, where Caribbean meets Mediterranean for a gourmet dining experience.
Rooms
All guestrooms at the Mosquito Beach Hotel are accessible via interior walkways, and provide balconies or patios with ocean, street, or garden views. Each is elegantly furnished with modern Italian interior designs and products and equipped with state-of-the-art technology including a flat screen television and high-speed wireless Internet access.
Policies
Adults only, 16 years old and older
Maximum two guests per room allowed.
Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.
Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.
Parking available nearby
Pets allowed

Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only Rooms

Junior Suite
Relax with an ocean-front view and private open-air terrace on the upper level facing the gardens with a partial ocean view. Or walk out of the bottom-level rooms into white sand and a lavish tropical garden. For those who seek more space than the standard room, the junior suite is the perfect accommodation. Rooms have a king-size bed. These rooms accommodate two people.
Deluxe with Private Balcony
Deluxe Rooms feature a king-size bed and a balcony facing partial ocean view, pool or street view (subject to availability). These rooms accommodate two people.
Ocean View Suite
This intimate suite features an open-air deck with sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea through the palm trees, and spectacular breezes. A luxurious Mosquito Beach Signature palapa thatched roof welcomes guests. Designed for the ultimate in luxury and relaxation, the room features custom designed modern furnishings, a comfortable indoor sitting area, and a king-size bed. These rooms accommodate two people.
Standard
Standard rooms are located on the second floor with garden, swimming pool and some have partial ocean views. These rooms have 2 twin beds and accommodate two people.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

20.6257 -87.0722
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Mosquito Beach Hotel is a beachfront property, located in the heart of Playa Del Carmen's most popular tourist area. Mosquito Beach blends perfectly and creates an oasis that convenes intimacy and romance with its fusion style. Surrounded by palm trees, overlooking the breathtaking Caribbean turquoise sea and its white sands.

Dining

Mosquito Beach Restaurant
Offers international fare in a casual beachfront atmosphere. The restaurant uses the freshest local seafood to create its light and refreshing breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. Enjoy services at the Mosquito Blue sister hotel and restaurant, where Caribbean meets Mediterranean for a gourmet dining experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Overall score

3.3 / 5
13 out of 13
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.1

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
Dr. Genia
San Francisco, Ca
Jul 26, 2013

Charming beach hotel- Adults only

I just got back from an awesome 2 week trip to Mex Riviera and part of it i spent in an all inclusive luxury hotel . I then spent a couple days in down town playa del carmen at the mosquito beach. I adored it! I enjoyed the fact that the beach is literally steps away from my hotel room with beds ready to go for all day chilling. Its not a resort so if you are coming with that expectation don't bother. This is a quaint beach hotel with a European theme. The hotel itself is beautiful the beach is breathtaking and the staff is courteous. Drinks are strong breakfast is awesome. I enjoyed it so much, I am planning to return in September. When it comes to beach towns, (and I ve been to , Costa Rica, Oahu, Maui , Kauai, Bahamas, Nahua, just to name a few) , playa del carmen is awesome .........................and Im from California .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All 5ta Avenidai is full of awesome food and bars! dont waist money on an all inclusive . but bring your own book(s) if you like that while tanning. Book selections are limited at any shop.

Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Feb 22, 2008

Very Nice

In my opinion this was the place to stay. There were a couple of other resorts further down that were almost double the money but were a little out if the way. For what I see mexico as that is drinking on the beach all day and going to sleep this place was it. The beah food was probably the best food we ate in mexico. Drinks were served quick and courteous. If I go back that is where I will stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

In the middle of everything one of the better things about the hotel

Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Aug 18, 2007

Nice hotel in a great location

We enjoyed our stay at the Mosquito Beach hotel. The location is great, and the reason we chose it. It has it's own private beach, and is located right in downtown Playa Del Carmen. You can walk to everything. We never took a taxi. We liked the modern styling of the hotel. The king be was comfortable, and we had a balcony right on the pool with two lounges. It would be nice if they had better lighting especially in the bathroom, and more storgage would be nice as well (no drawers to unpaack into). Overall we had a great experience there, and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across, the street from the hotel is a French fusion restaurant called La Palette, which I saw in another review. It is the best restaurant we found.. We ate there three of the 5 nights we were there. I'm not even a big fan of French cuisine, but everything I tried there was incredible. The staff were super friendly, and the service was great.

Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
San Diego CA
Apr 7, 2010

Great couple getaway

First I got to the hotel and my room (I think it was partial view suite) wasn't available, so the manager was waiting for me to make sure everything went smooth, she made me a deal I couldn't refuse, because they didn't have my room she offered a regular room two nights, and a master suite for the other three days, plus a bottle of champagne the first night, and free breakfast during my stay. So in the end I was very happy. My only complaints would be that there were no mirrors in the room (they told us that they already order for every room) which make my wife kind of uncomfortable, and there is no 24 hrs room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food and the staff are wonderful.

Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
Miquelito
San Francisco, CA
Jun 7, 2010

Great boutique hotel for adults only

Let me start by saying that this was one of my favorite vacations to Mexico. When we arrived at the hotel, we were very impressed by the "boutique" quality and it was very modern with unique architecture and furnishings. The rooms were very minimal, modern. Our room was air conditioned and it was super cold. I actually liked the relief from the scorching heat from the outside. When we left, our sunglasses and cameras fogged up from the extreme temperature change from inside our room to the outside. The bed was comfortable and large with plenty of comfy pillows. The bathroom was unique. I didn't really like that the lighting was very dim and the mirror was small. I was hoping for full body mirror in the room. Also, the water was cold which made taking a shower difficult. These are all minor complaints. One big complaint was the toilet. It was SQUARE. Very modern and trendy but not comfortable at all. The pool is small but deep and the beach is amazing. There are lots of beds to lay down and the bar and restaurant are great. Great drinks and food. The staff were great and very friendly. I would and WILL definitely go back to Mosquito Beach Hotel. BIG PLUS: FREE INTERNET!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We filled our days with some excursions. One being Xplor. It was amazing. Zip lines, ATV driving, cave swimming and rafting. This was the most fun! Very physical though. You will be climbing stairs and walking, swimming, and rowing all day. All inclusive, you eat free. You get lockers and towels. They take your photos all day long and you can buy them at the end. Kinda a rip off. I paid $88 for not that many photos. the other excursion was Xel-Ha. That was a nice relaxing day at an eco park filled with snorkeling, hiking, swimming, cliff jumping, inner tubing, eating, almost stepping on iguanas, and you can pay extra to swim with dolphins, manatees, or scuba dive. Well worth it. If you need a break from just laying on the beach, go here.

Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
Bere
Spain
Aug 29, 2013

Nice and trendy

Close to everything, walking distance to clubs and bars, yet no noise near the hotel by night, private beach with chill out beds, adults only, DJ on weekends... Cool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Mexico City
Sep 27, 2009

Great trip...great sun

The staff is really kind and friendly, you can feel at home. The location is great. The only thing I did not like was the darkness of the room, the color of the walls "shallow" the light of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
Frequent Playa del Carmen traveler
New York, NY
Jan 31, 2011

Overpriced and not worth your time

Staff was welcoming, but it couldn't save the state of the rooms. Don't let them book you into a "Deluxe" room that faces the street. In fact, don't book the "Deluxe" rooms in the first place. These are the tiniest and worst rooms in this hotel. Our door lock didn't work, the shower and toilet leaked, and the room wasn't cleaned on a daily basis. The free wifi didn't work half the time we were there (4 night stay). It was not worth the $200 daily rate that we paid. You are better off at the Blue Parrot Suites, which is a little farther down Avenida 5 but just as close to the beach and has much larger, cleaner, functional rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a more authentic Mexican dinner by going off the strip - leave Avenida 5! Try Las Brisas on Calle 4, right before Avenida 10.

Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
MN world travel
Dallas
Dec 29, 2010

Narrow appeal

Nice experience with service, some wear and tear of the room. Mold in air conditioning, poor finishes and noise of the neighboring clubs will make this limited to a small subset of travelers. Location in the heart of Playa Del Carmen's tourist area makes it convenient but challenging to get to by car OR TAXI with the pedestrian 5th AVE. Intimate scale of property and high level of attention from staff made up for short comings. Be sure to ask for a second level or higher room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of options near the hotel, but can be alot of the same.

Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
Colorado Beach Lovers
Denver, Colorado
Apr 9, 2014

Great location, comfy beds, but SERIOUSLY consider a different hotel for your trip!

All in all, our stay at Mosquito Beach was fine. There were some good points to the hotel and, quite frankly, some lousy ones. Check-in was simple and easy, and we were given a nice room with a deck that overlooks the pool. The room itself was fine, if a little too dark for our tastes. But it was simply furnished, a good size for our needs and had surprisingly comfortable beds. The shower was a little hard to figure out at first; however, we really liked them once we figured out how to operate them. The only downside about the bathrooms is that we woke up to find a huge cockroach on the floor of the shower on the second day of our stay. The downside of the hotel is definitely the beach. We go to Mexico regularly with the intent of laying on the beach and doing absolutely nothing. While the beach beds were very comfortable, the beach SERVICE was horrid. Absolutely terrible. Though there were at least three employees at the beach bar just twenty or so feet from where we were laying in the sun, NO ONE asked us if we needed help or wanted anything. When we did ask, the server acted very "put out." That day, we were only served one overpriced drink, had to ask for a food menu, and never saw the waiter again after we got that one drink and lunch. Never. We thought it was a fluke, but it wasn't. The next day, we asked for some beer. Hours later (literally hours -- two and half of them) the waiter finally brought us a single can of beer, which we declined since we'd run to the convenience store across the street to get our own refreshments during his absence. Couldn't believe the terrible service, especially because there were only three couples on the beach. It's not like the wait staff had a full workload or a lot of people to tend. The beach itself is so badly eroded that I don't even think they can properly call it a beach anymore. It's a little bit of white sand with root-exposed palm trees that are tethered together so they don't go out with the tide. You can't even get into the water directly from Mosquito Beach's property, because it's been sectioned off as a point of entry for boats, not swimmers. Long story short, if you're going to Playa for beach time, look for another hotel. One other thing I will say that deserves mention is that we highly suspect some money was taken from our safe during our first day at the beach. We locked our money in the room safe right before heading to the beach; when we got back, the safe was locked and nothing LOOKED disturbed, but some of our cash was missing. We could certainly have misplaced it ourselves, but we're almost 100% positive that some money was skimmed from our safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We, of course, always go to Mexico for the local dishes and seafood. I will say that Playa has some AMAZING Italian restaurants, which surprised us greatly. Romaigna Mia, a little restaurant on 5th, was simply wonderful and the staff was incredible!

Back to menu Return to top