$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

3 stars
Calle 8 Nte. Entre 5a Av. Y Zona Federal Maritim, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
16 reviews
Great location on the beach in a nice room

Our room was pool view with a quiet location. The balcony and bathroom were decent sized. The... See full review

  • bmrsnr99
  • Aug 6, 2014
Nice and trendy

Close to everything, walking distance to clubs and bars, yet no noise near the hotel by night,... See full review

  • Bere
  • Aug 29, 2013
Beachfront Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen
Mosquito Beach Hotel is the only boutique hotel in Playa del Carmen located directly on the ocean. This adults-only hotel, created and designed by its Italian owner, opened in 2006 and offers a serene, secluded escape while being only steps away from the hustle of 5th Avenue. The architecture combines the relaxed tropical feel of the Caribbean with the ultra modern of Europe. Enjoy these comfortable chic rooms decorated with minimalist contemporary touches. Guests can recline on sunbeds on the beach or next to the pool.
Highlights
Oceanfront boutique hotel
Private beach club with large day beds and beach service
33 air-conditioned rooms
Swimming pool
Modern design
Onsite casual seafood restaurant
Dining
Mosquito Beach Restaurant offers international fare in a casual beachfront atmosphere. The restaurant uses the freshest local seafood to create its light and refreshing breakfast and lunch menus. Enjoy dinner at our sister hotel Mosquito Blue, where Caribbean meets Mediterranean for a gourmet dining experience.
Rooms
All guestrooms at the Mosquito Beach Hotel are accessible via interior walkways, and provide balconies or patios with ocean, street, or garden views. Each is elegantly furnished with modern Italian interior designs and products and equipped with state-of-the-art technology including a flat screen television and high-speed wireless Internet access.
Policies
Adults only, 16 years old and older
Maximum two guests per room allowed.
Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.
Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.
Parking available nearby
Pets allowed

Hotel Map

20.6257 -87.0722
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Mosquito Beach Hotel is a beachfront property, located in the heart of Playa Del Carmen's most popular tourist area. Mosquito Beach blends perfectly and creates an oasis that convenes intimacy and romance with its fusion style. Surrounded by palm trees, overlooking the breathtaking Caribbean turquoise sea and its white sands.

Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only Rooms

Junior Suite
Relax with an ocean-front view and private open-air terrace on the upper level facing the gardens with a partial ocean view. Or walk out of the bottom-level rooms into white sand and a lavish tropical garden. For those who seek more space than the standard room, the junior suite is the perfect accommodation. Rooms have a king-size bed. These rooms accommodate two people.
Deluxe with Private Balcony
Deluxe Rooms feature a king-size bed and a balcony facing partial ocean view, pool or street view (subject to availability). These rooms accommodate two people.
Ocean View Suite
This intimate suite features an open-air deck with sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea through the palm trees, and spectacular breezes. A luxurious Mosquito Beach Signature palapa thatched roof welcomes guests. Designed for the ultimate in luxury and relaxation, the room features custom designed modern furnishings, a comfortable indoor sitting area, and a king-size bed. These rooms accommodate two people.
Standard
Standard rooms are located on the second floor with garden, swimming pool and some have partial ocean views. These rooms have 2 twin beds and accommodate two people.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Mosquito Beach Restaurant
Offers international fare in a casual beachfront atmosphere. The restaurant uses the freshest local seafood to create its light and refreshing breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. Enjoy services at the Mosquito Blue sister hotel and restaurant, where Caribbean meets Mediterranean for a gourmet dining experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jeff from Minneapolis
Minneapolis Minnesota
Apr 23, 2009

Not what it i thought

I could not make the first day because of some passport problems but when I arrived two days later still with in my planned stay they did not have a room available. They would not refund my money for the stay. But when I arrived I asked to see the rooms and noticed that it was under construction and was not anything like what they proposed it would be either on the their web site or through Orbitz

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

They did not serv food in the Hotel so had to walk to another Hotel to find food that would be safe to eat

Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jeff from Minneapolis
Minneapolis Minnesota
Apr 17, 2009

Bait and Switch

Check in to the exhaust filled hotel and was informed that my room was not available but they could move me to another hotel of theirs in the center of town. I decliced and they refused to refund my money. Then I had to find my own way to another hotel. These guys are bait and switch theives. I would definatly look at other options before going here you may be better off staying home, The web site promo does not show the construction going on or the traffic in the steet and the filth that is in all the common areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

go some where else they do not offer dining in the hotel so be carful what you eat

Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Teresa trilove
Puebla
Jul 7, 2014

old place

old,dirty, bathrooms is awful conditions,towells ripped,no beach left,no sun to take, only good is their staff ,gentil and nice.They should rebuilt it or close it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ECCC2014
Alexandria, VA
Jul 29, 2014

Hotel is about to close, and the staff has checked out

This hotel was not clean -- our room had not been cleaned. Hair in the shower, dirty tampons and products in the trash can, we couldn't believe it when we got in. They put us in a different room but it took an hour, and after traveling all day, it was not acceptable. The rooms and furniture are not comfortable -- rough sheets, hard pillows, not enough lighting. The bathrooms were very dark. We found out from an employee that the whole hotel will close in September and they will be redoing everything. You can tell they stopped caring about the property months ago -- things look broken and worn … Save your money. The breakfast menu was tasty (skip the continental breakfast and order off the menu).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Colorado Beach Lovers
Denver, Colorado
Apr 9, 2014

Great location, comfy beds, but SERIOUSLY consider a different hotel for your trip!

All in all, our stay at Mosquito Beach was fine. There were some good points to the hotel and, quite frankly, some lousy ones. Check-in was simple and easy, and we were given a nice room with a deck that overlooks the pool. The room itself was fine, if a little too dark for our tastes. But it was simply furnished, a good size for our needs and had surprisingly comfortable beds. The shower was a little hard to figure out at first; however, we really liked them once we figured out how to operate them. The only downside about the bathrooms is that we woke up to find a huge cockroach on the floor of the shower on the second day of our stay. The downside of the hotel is definitely the beach. We go to Mexico regularly with the intent of laying on the beach and doing absolutely nothing. While the beach beds were very comfortable, the beach SERVICE was horrid. Absolutely terrible. Though there were at least three employees at the beach bar just twenty or so feet from where we were laying in the sun, NO ONE asked us if we needed help or wanted anything. When we did ask, the server acted very "put out." That day, we were only served one overpriced drink, had to ask for a food menu, and never saw the waiter again after we got that one drink and lunch. Never. We thought it was a fluke, but it wasn't. The next day, we asked for some beer. Hours later (literally hours -- two and half of them) the waiter finally brought us a single can of beer, which we declined since we'd run to the convenience store across the street to get our own refreshments during his absence. Couldn't believe the terrible service, especially because there were only three couples on the beach. It's not like the wait staff had a full workload or a lot of people to tend. The beach itself is so badly eroded that I don't even think they can properly call it a beach anymore. It's a little bit of white sand with root-exposed palm trees that are tethered together so they don't go out with the tide. You can't even get into the water directly from Mosquito Beach's property, because it's been sectioned off as a point of entry for boats, not swimmers. Long story short, if you're going to Playa for beach time, look for another hotel. One other thing I will say that deserves mention is that we highly suspect some money was taken from our safe during our first day at the beach. We locked our money in the room safe right before heading to the beach; when we got back, the safe was locked and nothing LOOKED disturbed, but some of our cash was missing. We could certainly have misplaced it ourselves, but we're almost 100% positive that some money was skimmed from our safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We, of course, always go to Mexico for the local dishes and seafood. I will say that Playa has some AMAZING Italian restaurants, which surprised us greatly. Romaigna Mia, a little restaurant on 5th, was simply wonderful and the staff was incredible!

Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bridesmaid for destination wedding
Covina, CA
Jun 2, 2010

Mosquito Beach Hotel

When we showed up our air conditioning was broken. So they fixed it but it broke again in the middle of the night. Two days later the air conditioning broke for the third time. It is very humid in Playa so no air conditioning is a must. We also made reservations for two twin beds but was advised on arrival that they would not have one for 3 days. The rooms are dark with not enough lighting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MN world travel
Dallas
Dec 29, 2010

Narrow appeal

Nice experience with service, some wear and tear of the room. Mold in air conditioning, poor finishes and noise of the neighboring clubs will make this limited to a small subset of travelers. Location in the heart of Playa Del Carmen's tourist area makes it convenient but challenging to get to by car OR TAXI with the pedestrian 5th AVE. Intimate scale of property and high level of attention from staff made up for short comings. Be sure to ask for a second level or higher room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of options near the hotel, but can be alot of the same.

Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Playa del Carmen traveler
New York, NY
Jan 31, 2011

Overpriced and not worth your time

Staff was welcoming, but it couldn't save the state of the rooms. Don't let them book you into a "Deluxe" room that faces the street. In fact, don't book the "Deluxe" rooms in the first place. These are the tiniest and worst rooms in this hotel. Our door lock didn't work, the shower and toilet leaked, and the room wasn't cleaned on a daily basis. The free wifi didn't work half the time we were there (4 night stay). It was not worth the $200 daily rate that we paid. You are better off at the Blue Parrot Suites, which is a little farther down Avenida 5 but just as close to the beach and has much larger, cleaner, functional rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a more authentic Mexican dinner by going off the strip - leave Avenida 5! Try Las Brisas on Calle 4, right before Avenida 10.

Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bere
Spain
Aug 29, 2013

Nice and trendy

Close to everything, walking distance to clubs and bars, yet no noise near the hotel by night, private beach with chill out beds, adults only, DJ on weekends... Cool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego CA
Apr 7, 2010

Great couple getaway

First I got to the hotel and my room (I think it was partial view suite) wasn't available, so the manager was waiting for me to make sure everything went smooth, she made me a deal I couldn't refuse, because they didn't have my room she offered a regular room two nights, and a master suite for the other three days, plus a bottle of champagne the first night, and free breakfast during my stay. So in the end I was very happy. My only complaints would be that there were no mirrors in the room (they told us that they already order for every room) which make my wife kind of uncomfortable, and there is no 24 hrs room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food and the staff are wonderful.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search