$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 16, 2015 Check-out: May 19, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luke N Amanda
Business
Tampa, FL
May 29, 2013

Destination wedding

We had such a wonderful time at the Mahekal Beach Resort. The Mahekal Beach Resort is a hidden gem and we cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wife2one mom2three
Business
West Monroe, LA
Jun 19, 2013

Perfect anniversary stay!!

The Mahekal was perfect for reconnecting and relaxing!! As soon as you arrive they make you feel welcome and by giving you beach towels and hanging hammocks on your porch you know you are ready to unwind. The food included in your board far exceeded our expectations and we left dinner stuffed every night and breakfast was just as filling and beautiful with all the wonderful local fruits and juices available. This place is SO SO well taken care of and kept up on. As we walked up and down the beach it became quickly obvious that we happened upon the most beautiful resort and beach area in Playa. Seriously!! And don't pay any attention to others saying they smelled sewer.....its NOT sewer....its H2S (all natural# that comes out of the sea from under ground cenotes and local mangrove plants decomposing. No worries though.....it's barely noticable at The Mahekal. If you are wanting to get out and explore I highly recommend renting a car on this site and include it in your package. You will end up saving lots of money on taxis and you'll be FREE to do what you want when you want. If you snorkel....AKUMAL BAY in the place to go!!! Swimming with the turtles is awesome and its FREE!!!! Also we highly advise you to exchange several hundred dollars right away and it will make paying for varies things MUCH MUCH easier! One last thing......can't end without recommending you visit Poerto Morales and eat the fresh fish #yes, it was caught that morning!!) at Las Palmeras restaurant. It was awesome and so so cheap!! We both ate for $10!!!! Ordered a whole grilled red snapper and we shared and it was perfect. Enjoy your trip......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
molly and paul
Business
Harleysville, Pa
Sep 1, 2013

Favorite resort

This has been a return visit to this hotel for my husband and myself. The hotel's decor is tropical w/ Mexican flare. The beach is beautiful and clean. Never any problem getting a spot on the beach or for that matter at the pools.The food is good and the waitstaff is exceptional from the dining room, the bar and beach/pool area. Boli the conceirge is the best. We had requested our old room but it was not available so he gave us the same type of room but with even a better view. We had an unfortunate situation occur the first night with the room so they moved us to a beautiful beachfront room the next morning. It had been 2 yrs since we had been to the hotel and everyone still remembered us by name. They go out of their way to accomadate every need you have.We still had our same waiter Jose and he is still the best. We tried another hotel last yr and it was such a disappointment that we knew we could never find another hotel as good as Mahekal Beach. We will be going back there every year without a doubt. We love mahekal Beach Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Ave is just a few minutes walk from the hotel if you want to do some shopping. You can pick up a few snacks or cold beverages at the corner store too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy from Alaska
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Nov 7, 2013

The best of Playa del Carmen!

The staff! The locale! The Mexican experience! The food! Can't get any better! Breakfast on patio over Caribbean Ocean unforgettable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Spend morning swimming in the Caribbean ocean. Best way to start the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mockie
Business
Laguna Hills, CA
Dec 21, 2010

Paradise

Mahekal was more beautiful in person than I could have imagined-the pictures don't do it justice. The rooms are charming, the beach is amazing, the staff was beyond friendly, and security was tight-we always felt safe. It was the perfect place to relax. Our first room was right next to the Adventuria restaurant. The view was amazing, but we were woken up VERY early to the sounds of the staff preparing for breakfast. The front desk staff was very accommodating, and moved us to a room in a much quieter area of the hotel. Happy hour is from 5-6 and drinks are 2 for 1. There is wifi in the bar, or they have a computer that you can use for free. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to 5th avenue. It is a 20 minute walk to the ADO bus station, collectivo station, and pier to catch the ferry to Cozumel. The food ranged from good to okay, but we began to tire of our choices by the end. Except for the fact that the hot tub was not hot, the hotel was close to perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are going to take the ferry to Cozumel, which I highly recommend, only buy a one way ticket (they will try to sell you the round trip). There are 2 different companies offering ferry service, and they will not honor their competitors tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 7, 2010

Nice Relaxing Vacation

My wife and I were on our honeymoon and sat by the beach and pool the entire time. Although we didn't do many activities the whole trip was perfect. One day we rented a hobie cat for an hour. That was the extent of our adventures. We didn't feel like going to the tourist traps and driving very far. If you are looking to just relax and not do a whole lot this is the perfect place. If you are looking to do activities it's a great place to-you just have to make time to do it. The staff has customer service to a T and can really show up how customer service should be here in the U.S. I can't wait to go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta,georgia
Feb 23, 2011

Great hotel and vacation spot

Loved the hotel. We went to xplor for a day which was so much fun. Planning our next trip there already. Loved north playa del carmen . Much more quiet and no loud crowds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

North 5th avenue has more upscale and classy places

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mamaria33
Business
Austin TX
Nov 9, 2010

Best Beach Resort in Playa!

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Don't underestimate the resort and the pleasure of just hanging out in your hammock or on the beach. I wish I'd spent more time there and doing fewer excursions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis, mn
Nov 22, 2010

Perfect relaxing resort

After much research on the internet, we decided on the Mahekal resort for our 10 year anniversary. Our prerequisites were relaxation, nice beach, close to 5th ave and laid back. This place had it all. The grounds were beautiful, the rooms were very basic but clean and comfortable and we found our meals at the resort as some of our favorite of the trip! We would come back in a second to this resort. Staff were great and didn't have one issue during the trip. I would probably not recommend this place for younger kids as their are no activities and the resort is not set up for it. Since we left our three kids at home we found this perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wauwatosa, WI
Oct 30, 2010

Paradise At Last!

As soon as I arrived, I was impressed with Mahekal. I paid for a Caribe room and was upgraded to a lower Penthouse room with 2 ocean views! The grounds are like a jungle park with enough shade and sunshine to please all. The view of the sugar sand and the ripples of the ocean blues and greens were unbelievable. The food was very good and service was attentive. It was a little odd that no drinks were free with the lunch or dinners--not even water, but the shrimp in wine sauce on Thursday night more than compensated. I never turned on the air because the ocean breezes and duo ceiling fans blew through my room each night and gently lulled me to sleep. I had the greatest patio ever with a real hammock where I could read or snooze the afternoon away. No tropical paradise could ever top the sunrise pictures I shot with coffee provided each morning by the staff. I relaxed by the upper pool which had eight palapas for shade and was never crowded. A good deal that could not be beat in all of Playa del Carmen, if you are looking for a quality, laidback resort with a Gilligan's island/Tarzan vibe. Bravo to all the staff at the Mahekal. Plus, Happy Hour on the swing seats each day was just fine by me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A ten minute walk to Fifth Avenue for restaurants, music and drinks, yet very quiet at night for smooth sleeping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top