$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
72 reviews
Fantastic boutique hotel

My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay... See full review

  • Los Springs
  • May 5, 2014
Amazing place!

We recently came back from Mexico, Riviera Maya where we stayed at Mahekal beach resort. I think... See full review

  • IraG
  • Apr 23, 2014
Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort destination, formerly Shangri-La Caribe, located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. Mahekal's beach village concept offers 121 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of the famous 5th Avenue.
Our thousands of loyal repeat guests describe Mahekal Beach Resort as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed; an authentic Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy what the critics repeatedly acclaim as the best beach in Playa.
The Resort has oversized rooms, all with ceiling fans and air conditioning, located in either individual bungalows or individual rooms in two-unit or three-unit casitas and brings to mind a quaint Mayan village.
In keeping with our style, our rooms do not offer televisions, radios or telephones and feature authentic, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, a private terrace with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally crafted Mexican wood furniture in the outdoor seating area to enjoy our magical sanctuary.
Mahekal Beach Resort has two swimming pools, one with a heated Jacuzzi; two bars; a dive shop and water sports center; and two open air restaurants: La Loma and Aventura, which is ocean front and offers one of the best views of Playa del Carmen.
Resort room rates include breakfast and dinner, or lunch under a Modified American Plan (MAP); alcohol and some beverages are additional. Meals are served in our of our two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch, while La Loma is open only for dinner.
A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries ('pan de dulce"), seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
"La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.
REPEAT CLIENTS - Receive a personalized Mexican craft with their name on it.

HONEYMOONERS - Complimentary bottle of wine, a fruit basket and special dcor in their room upon arrival.

Mahekal Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
The cabanas in the Deluxe Garden View section are the most quiet, secluded and relaxing guestrooms. These rooms are located within a short walking distance to the beach and are only steps away from the pool. Lush green gardens and a beautiful Mexican fountain decorate the surrounding.
Deluxe Garden View Palapa
These cabanas are either individual bungalows or individual rooms on the upper level of a two-unit, two-level casita with unique high-rise thatched palapa roofs. Deluxe Garden View Palapa rooms are close to the Casa Club, our poolside bar and social gathering spot, the Caribe pool, and only a short walk from the beach.
Deluxe Ocean View
Two-story casita with two individual spacious Deluxe Ocean View rooms offers open spaces accomplishing harmony and relaxation. Luxury Mexican decor and art is brought in detail; silk shawls from Michoacn state add beauty to the two queen size or a king-size bed, and pottery from Oaxaca bring a colorful touch to the room. Recovered wood lamps grant a soft and mystic environment with the gentle sounds of the waves rolling in from the private balcony or terrace with hammocks.
Deluxe Ocean View Palapa
The Deluxe Ocean View Palapa rooms are located closer to the ocean with partial or full ocean view in either individual bungalows or as individual rooms on the upper level of a two storey casita in Caribe section, close to the Caribbean Sea. Guests may enjoy beautiful walkways, lush green or sea blues as part of their scenery while listening to the gentle breeze and the quiet ocean murmur.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has conference and meetings facilities for up to 70 people. Our Aventura Restaurant, overlooking the Carribbean sea and the Aventura pool, is ideal for hosting social events.

Dining

Aventura Restaurant - a Taste of Playa del Carmen
Aventura has one of the best views in Playa del Carmen! Start your morning at our pool-front restaurant overlooking the Aventura pool and Caribbean Sea. A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries -pan de dulce, seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice?), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Casa Club and Aventura
Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
Restaurant
Dining in Playa del Carmen is exciting and offers many opportunities to savor the rich flavors of this unique area. Mahekal beach Resort Resort's room rates include breakfast and dinner under a modified American plan (MAP), which are served in one of two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch; La Loma is open only for dinner. Breakfast and dinner are included in the daily rate; alcohol and some beverage exceptions apply. The hotel offers two bars; Casa Club and Aventura. Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
La Loma Restaurant - Playa del Carmen Dining at its Best
"La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy from Alaska
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Nov 7, 2013

The best of Playa del Carmen!

The staff! The locale! The Mexican experience! The food! Can't get any better! Breakfast on patio over Caribbean Ocean unforgettable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Spend morning swimming in the Caribbean ocean. Best way to start the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SM Princeton
Business
Princeton, New Jersey
Mar 30, 2014

Good place for a family vacation

It was a little difficult to get there by driving; there was no sign, and somehow even some locals do not know how to get there. It has a very nice beach. Food (2 meals per day) was excellent and everyday we were pleasantly surprised by different animal shapes of towels made for us. There's no TV in the room, which we liked. Wifi is available only in the lobby, and it was sometimes very slow. Location is very good. Convenient to visit Xcaret, Tulum, and Chicen Itza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many supermarkets for locals nearby if you'd like.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IraG
Business
San Jose, California
Apr 23, 2014

Amazing place!

We recently came back from Mexico, Riviera Maya where we stayed at Mahekal beach resort. I think this is the best place to stay there - right on the beach, great rooms, the resort is close to so many interesting places. I will definitely stay there again for the next trip to that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tulum, Akumal, Cenotes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Los Springs
Business
Cambridge, Massachusetts
May 5, 2014

Fantastic boutique hotel

My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay at Mahekal. The staff are welcoming, knowledgable and eager to help. Highlights include the outstanding breakfast buffet with fresh fruits, pastries, waffles, fresh-squeezed orange juice, etc. plus a choice of eggs (e.g., huevos rancheros). Lunch was also amazing (three course meal), and several of the dinners were excellent (a few were just so-so). Our room was clean and comfortable, and the AC worked well. The best part though is the beach. The beach near Mahekal is absolutely perfect and not overcrowded or loud. In addition, we enjoyed the outdoor pools, happy hour at the bar and the rustic/natural look of the hotel. It's gorgeous at night! The only down side is that the WiFi is slow and only available in select locations. We didn't mind overall since our goal was to get away. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone---especially couples and families. It's one of our favorite places and we will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We recommend that you select breakfast and lunch as your 2 included meals for most days...these are both excellent. The dinners varied from so-so to excellent, and occasionally included live music, so check the menu ahead of time since you won't want to miss certain dinners.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mockie
Business
Laguna Hills, CA
Dec 21, 2010

Paradise

Mahekal was more beautiful in person than I could have imagined-the pictures don't do it justice. The rooms are charming, the beach is amazing, the staff was beyond friendly, and security was tight-we always felt safe. It was the perfect place to relax. Our first room was right next to the Adventuria restaurant. The view was amazing, but we were woken up VERY early to the sounds of the staff preparing for breakfast. The front desk staff was very accommodating, and moved us to a room in a much quieter area of the hotel. Happy hour is from 5-6 and drinks are 2 for 1. There is wifi in the bar, or they have a computer that you can use for free. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to 5th avenue. It is a 20 minute walk to the ADO bus station, collectivo station, and pier to catch the ferry to Cozumel. The food ranged from good to okay, but we began to tire of our choices by the end. Except for the fact that the hot tub was not hot, the hotel was close to perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are going to take the ferry to Cozumel, which I highly recommend, only buy a one way ticket (they will try to sell you the round trip). There are 2 different companies offering ferry service, and they will not honor their competitors tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 7, 2010

Nice Relaxing Vacation

My wife and I were on our honeymoon and sat by the beach and pool the entire time. Although we didn't do many activities the whole trip was perfect. One day we rented a hobie cat for an hour. That was the extent of our adventures. We didn't feel like going to the tourist traps and driving very far. If you are looking to just relax and not do a whole lot this is the perfect place. If you are looking to do activities it's a great place to-you just have to make time to do it. The staff has customer service to a T and can really show up how customer service should be here in the U.S. I can't wait to go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta,georgia
Feb 23, 2011

Great hotel and vacation spot

Loved the hotel. We went to xplor for a day which was so much fun. Planning our next trip there already. Loved north playa del carmen . Much more quiet and no loud crowds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

North 5th avenue has more upscale and classy places

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mamaria33
Business
Austin TX
Nov 9, 2010

Best Beach Resort in Playa!

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Don't underestimate the resort and the pleasure of just hanging out in your hammock or on the beach. I wish I'd spent more time there and doing fewer excursions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis, mn
Nov 22, 2010

Perfect relaxing resort

After much research on the internet, we decided on the Mahekal resort for our 10 year anniversary. Our prerequisites were relaxation, nice beach, close to 5th ave and laid back. This place had it all. The grounds were beautiful, the rooms were very basic but clean and comfortable and we found our meals at the resort as some of our favorite of the trip! We would come back in a second to this resort. Staff were great and didn't have one issue during the trip. I would probably not recommend this place for younger kids as their are no activities and the resort is not set up for it. Since we left our three kids at home we found this perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wauwatosa, WI
Oct 30, 2010

Paradise At Last!

As soon as I arrived, I was impressed with Mahekal. I paid for a Caribe room and was upgraded to a lower Penthouse room with 2 ocean views! The grounds are like a jungle park with enough shade and sunshine to please all. The view of the sugar sand and the ripples of the ocean blues and greens were unbelievable. The food was very good and service was attentive. It was a little odd that no drinks were free with the lunch or dinners--not even water, but the shrimp in wine sauce on Thursday night more than compensated. I never turned on the air because the ocean breezes and duo ceiling fans blew through my room each night and gently lulled me to sleep. I had the greatest patio ever with a real hammock where I could read or snooze the afternoon away. No tropical paradise could ever top the sunrise pictures I shot with coffee provided each morning by the staff. I relaxed by the upper pool which had eight palapas for shade and was never crowded. A good deal that could not be beat in all of Playa del Carmen, if you are looking for a quality, laidback resort with a Gilligan's island/Tarzan vibe. Bravo to all the staff at the Mahekal. Plus, Happy Hour on the swing seats each day was just fine by me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A ten minute walk to Fifth Avenue for restaurants, music and drinks, yet very quiet at night for smooth sleeping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top