$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KMCMR
Couples
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Relaxing and Simple

We have a wonderful experience at Mahekal. We stayed in an ocean view room, 16b, and absolutely loved it. The accommodations are simple: no TV, no clocks, no phone, but it was perfect for us. I found that I was completely relaxed and slept easily and soundly with no distractions around. We had, in my opinion, the most breathtaking view on the resort. On the second floor of a little casita on the Caribe side, we had a perfect view of the ocean and were just steps from the beach. The food was really good for the most part. We had dinner on the night we arrived, and didn't care for it, but it wasn't a big deal because we knew we were having lunch and breakfast all week. (There are a million great restaurants in PDC; and it's too hot to walk anywhere for lunch, so breakfast & lunch are you best bets). Breakfast and lunch were both delicious. For breakfast, you have a choice of one of the a la carte options, I think there were 6 or 7, and also a buffet with fresh juices, fruit, pastries, sausage, oatmeal, cereals, yogurt and granola, etc. Lunch is also a la carte, and everything we had was really good, especially the Cubano torta and the fish tacos. Overall, I really liked the food and the service was really good, too. (This coming from a former waitress). The beach was really beautiful and you can walk for a long time in either direction. We liked walking South toward playacar because I liked to see all of the different hotels on the beach, and get ideas of where we'd like to stay if we come back. I have to say, however, that I liked Mahekal's beach the best out of all the centrally located hotels as it was pretty expansive and had a great beach for swimming and sunbathing. Also, there is wireless interest available in the lobby and Caribe bar areas, and this is perfect for me. To be honest, the idea that I have access to email/internet at all times stresses me out, so I liked only being able to access the internet on my phone when I was walking through the lobby or getting a drink at happy hour (5-6 every day) at the bar. The idea of vacation is to be disconnected from the life back at home and to relax, not to be constantly checking Facebook and reading work emails! Overall, we absolutely loved our stay and would not hesitate to return. I think we're going to go back next March because we loved it so much. It's not fancy, but if you want good service in a beautiful location, close enough to the action for some fun, yet far enough for tranquility, then this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk to one of the convenience stores at the corner of 5th Ave and 38 and buy a case of water, a Styrofoam cooler, and some ice. We would pick up more ice on a way back from dinner/shopping in the evening. Instead of buying water at the resort, we just brought it with us to beach and meals.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Grandma Marcia
Single
Mequon, Wisconsin
May 5, 2012

Beautiful family-friendly resort

I joined my son and his wife from Walnut Creek, California, who have two small children, at the Mahekal Beach Resort. We made the most of this opportunity for family conversation and play with our children at this restful, relaxing place with such beautiful landscaping and beach and pools and restaurants for all ages and comfortable individual huts. We loved the hammocks on the deck and patio. The only thing we would do differently is to opt for the restaurant lunch as a 7 p.m. dinner was late for the small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dwaine
Couples
Denver CO
May 25, 2012

Loved it all!

My wife and I just got back. It was a great place. Loved the location, great beach access and close enough to 5th Ave to walk there easily and miss the noisy night life. The room was cute and clean. The staff was very attentive and the food was fine. Don't tell others how good this place is, let them all stay at huge all inclusive resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gascramps
Family
Freehold, NJ
Sep 1, 2012

Great family vacation at Mahekal

Our family loved it here. Rooms do not have phones, TV, internet, etc. and we did not miss it. Resort is clean and all rooms are within a short walk to the beach. The beach is beautiful. Security patrols the beach so guests are not bothered by anyone trying to sell or rent anything. Food was good. Fifth Ave is a 5 min walk if anyone wants to buy or sample the restaurants. We tried that a couple times and can barely walk without someone approaching us and trying to shop their store. Remember to haggle / negotiate your price here. Most retail shops do not have fixed price. We eventually got tired of this after we bought what we wanted and just went back to hotel. Hotel is not very fancy, but clean and staff is great. Grounds are beautifully maintained. The good reviews about this place are well earned and truthful. If you want the all inclusive experience, this is not the place. If you want to get away and unplug from the world, I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Remember to negotiate your price at 5th Ave or surrounding area when buying retail!!

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChrisandBud
Couples
Windsor, Ontario
Mar 14, 2013

Excellent Vacation

Had an amazing week, I was very happy we stayed at this resort and would definitely return. Stayed in an ocean view room which was more like oceanfront. The view was amazing and we were only 32 steps to the water’s edge! The room was simple but quaint, clean, comfortable and provided almost everything we needed. No fridge but rented one for $10 per day. The beach was clean and wide and there were few rocks in the water. Best beach in Playa Del Carmen in my opinion. The breakfasts on the sea-side patio and the lunches served to you on the beach were excellent. We had two dinners, they were good not great. Drink prices were reasonable. Most evenings we would walk down to 5th Avenue which was a pleasant 5 minute walk and have dinner or appetizers, drinks and listen to live music. Loved that we weren't tied to the resort and could experience different restaurants. Location was ideal. The resort grounds are meticulously maintained. It’s an older resort but that adds to its charm and authentic feel. It’s small but intimate. The staff are friendly and the service is exceptional. Strong security presence. We always felt safe. The resort has many repeat guests, which tells you something. Hope to go back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
molly and paul
Couples
Harleysville, Pa
Sep 1, 2013

Favorite resort

This has been a return visit to this hotel for my husband and myself. The hotel's decor is tropical w/ Mexican flare. The beach is beautiful and clean. Never any problem getting a spot on the beach or for that matter at the pools.The food is good and the waitstaff is exceptional from the dining room, the bar and beach/pool area. Boli the conceirge is the best. We had requested our old room but it was not available so he gave us the same type of room but with even a better view. We had an unfortunate situation occur the first night with the room so they moved us to a beautiful beachfront room the next morning. It had been 2 yrs since we had been to the hotel and everyone still remembered us by name. They go out of their way to accomadate every need you have.We still had our same waiter Jose and he is still the best. We tried another hotel last yr and it was such a disappointment that we knew we could never find another hotel as good as Mahekal Beach. We will be going back there every year without a doubt. We love mahekal Beach Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Ave is just a few minutes walk from the hotel if you want to do some shopping. You can pick up a few snacks or cold beverages at the corner store too.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mockie
Couples
Laguna Hills, CA
Dec 21, 2010

Paradise

Mahekal was more beautiful in person than I could have imagined-the pictures don't do it justice. The rooms are charming, the beach is amazing, the staff was beyond friendly, and security was tight-we always felt safe. It was the perfect place to relax. Our first room was right next to the Adventuria restaurant. The view was amazing, but we were woken up VERY early to the sounds of the staff preparing for breakfast. The front desk staff was very accommodating, and moved us to a room in a much quieter area of the hotel. Happy hour is from 5-6 and drinks are 2 for 1. There is wifi in the bar, or they have a computer that you can use for free. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to 5th avenue. It is a 20 minute walk to the ADO bus station, collectivo station, and pier to catch the ferry to Cozumel. The food ranged from good to okay, but we began to tire of our choices by the end. Except for the fact that the hot tub was not hot, the hotel was close to perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are going to take the ferry to Cozumel, which I highly recommend, only buy a one way ticket (they will try to sell you the round trip). There are 2 different companies offering ferry service, and they will not honor their competitors tickets.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chicago, IL
Nov 7, 2010

Nice Relaxing Vacation

My wife and I were on our honeymoon and sat by the beach and pool the entire time. Although we didn't do many activities the whole trip was perfect. One day we rented a hobie cat for an hour. That was the extent of our adventures. We didn't feel like going to the tourist traps and driving very far. If you are looking to just relax and not do a whole lot this is the perfect place. If you are looking to do activities it's a great place to-you just have to make time to do it. The staff has customer service to a T and can really show up how customer service should be here in the U.S. I can't wait to go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Atlanta,georgia
Feb 23, 2011

Great hotel and vacation spot

Loved the hotel. We went to xplor for a day which was so much fun. Planning our next trip there already. Loved north playa del carmen . Much more quiet and no loud crowds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

North 5th avenue has more upscale and classy places

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mamaria33
Single
Austin TX
Nov 9, 2010

Best Beach Resort in Playa!

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Don't underestimate the resort and the pleasure of just hanging out in your hammock or on the beach. I wish I'd spent more time there and doing fewer excursions.

Back to menu Return to top