$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2015 Check-out: Sep 13, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Dig
Couples
Kansas City, MO
May 14, 2010

Relaxing retreat

Very relaxing, no TV or phones... Public beach access is near the hotel.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not rent a cat through the hotel, they already have a set price with the rental car companies which is much higher.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dee EnJay
Couples
New Jersey
Mar 24, 2011

Mahekal = Mayan for Magical

Mahekal resort was really fantastic. We opted for a beach view and asked for a second floor room. The balcony was very large with two hammocks, two deck chairs and two lounge chairs. It was incredible. The room was immaculate. The staff are extremely friendly and the food was very good. The fish dishes were particularly delicious and fresh as were the breakfast fruits (watermelon juice is tasty). The meal plan we had included breakfast and dinner. Drinks were not included. I would recommend this hotel to any kind of traveler. You can find better prices if you choose to stay at a hotel not located on the beach, but for a hotel on the beach that includes two meals it is a very fair price. One negative that I'm not sure is typical of the Mayan Rivera year round - there was significant, constant wind. This made me less inclined to swim both due to the choppy waves and wind effect on warmth. I was actually cold at times. Also, there is no t.v., phone or wifi in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a bus service called Ado located on 5th and Juarez. To save money and have more time at sites you can go on first or second class buses rather than booking a tour to sites including Xcaret, Xelha, Tulum, Coba and Chichen Itza.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ad517
Single
Seattle
Apr 26, 2015

Great Location

Great location. Wonderful friendly staff. No wifi or TV in room. Waves very loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SM Princeton
Family
Princeton, New Jersey
Mar 30, 2014

Good place for a family vacation

It was a little difficult to get there by driving; there was no sign, and somehow even some locals do not know how to get there. It has a very nice beach. Food (2 meals per day) was excellent and everyday we were pleasantly surprised by different animal shapes of towels made for us. There's no TV in the room, which we liked. Wifi is available only in the lobby, and it was sometimes very slow. Location is very good. Convenient to visit Xcaret, Tulum, and Chicen Itza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many supermarkets for locals nearby if you'd like.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IraG
Family
San Jose, California
Apr 23, 2014

Amazing place!

We recently came back from Mexico, Riviera Maya where we stayed at Mahekal beach resort. I think this is the best place to stay there - right on the beach, great rooms, the resort is close to so many interesting places. I will definitely stay there again for the next trip to that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tulum, Akumal, Cenotes.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Los Springs
Couples
Cambridge, Massachusetts
May 5, 2014

Fantastic boutique hotel

My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay at Mahekal. The staff are welcoming, knowledgable and eager to help. Highlights include the outstanding breakfast buffet with fresh fruits, pastries, waffles, fresh-squeezed orange juice, etc. plus a choice of eggs (e.g., huevos rancheros). Lunch was also amazing (three course meal), and several of the dinners were excellent (a few were just so-so). Our room was clean and comfortable, and the AC worked well. The best part though is the beach. The beach near Mahekal is absolutely perfect and not overcrowded or loud. In addition, we enjoyed the outdoor pools, happy hour at the bar and the rustic/natural look of the hotel. It's gorgeous at night! The only down side is that the WiFi is slow and only available in select locations. We didn't mind overall since our goal was to get away. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone---especially couples and families. It's one of our favorite places and we will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

We recommend that you select breakfast and lunch as your 2 included meals for most days...these are both excellent. The dinners varied from so-so to excellent, and occasionally included live music, so check the menu ahead of time since you won't want to miss certain dinners.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristia
Friends
Houston, TX, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Mahekal Beach Resort is Fantastic!!

Mahekal Beach Resort is unique, amazing, and a gem! I travelled with a friend and did not want to be with all the craziness of Cancun yet be close to restaurants, bars, and shops. On 5th Ave., a short walk from the resort there are lots of shops, restaurants, etc were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

On Sundays there is an open air concert at the park usually for locals and local bands are playing at times mexican rock which were impressive. Food at the restaurants are great, i.e. the Argentinian restaurants. Also, great clubs such as Parrot Beach and other clubs around the area played some great music.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RiBrown74
Family
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Lovely Stay in a Wonderful Beachfront Resort

We had stayed at the same resort 8 years ago, when it went under the name Shangri La Caribe. As far as we could tell, the excellent service, comfortable accomodations and delicious food have not changed in the least. The service was very prompt and courteous, and the staff expends effort to learn the names and preferences of the guests, to make each greeting more personal. The staff members have a lot of experience at the hotel - at least one we chatted with had been there for 30 years, and their service can be summarized as highly attentive but not intrusive. When you need assistance, they are there in a flash, but they don't force themselves on you when you don't need them. We were located in the Garden View Caribe section, which means no ocean view. But we ended up being close to the pool, the bar/rec room (2 billiards and 2 ping pong tables - all in good condition) and to the evening dinner restaurant, and did not mind making the 90-second walk to the beach. Truth be told, some of the bungalows right on the beach, with private jacuzzis, looked great, and would be fantastic for a honeymoon. There is wireless internet in the bar/rec room and in reception, though it is not a terrific signal. There is also a computer for public use in the bar/rec room, which is handy for checking emails. The meal plan including breakfast and either lunch or dinner worked very well for us; typically we chose breakfast and dinner, and on one occasion paid for lunch at poolside. The food and drink prices are not at all unreasonable - about $3 for beer, $10 for a plate of 3 tacos - not cheap, but certainly justified given the setting and service. We are already planning our next trip to Playa del Carmen, and will again stay at the Mahekal - our 2 boys will expect no less!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Walmart is located about 2 km from the Mahekal. Other than offering an inexpensive place to buy boogie boards and swim suits, it also has 2 ATMs which accept VISA/MC cards for cash advances, for a US$ fee, a 1/3 of the fee some of the stand-alone ATMs charge.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PegsH
Family
Michigan, USA
Jan 15, 2012

family vacation

This was the most relaxing vacation ever.... a perfect combination of fun and action in Playa del Carmen and the laid back atmosphere at Mahekal Beach Resort. Our adult children really loved being able to walk into town and shop or relax on the beach at the resort. Bring books as there is no TV in the rooms. The staff was very efficient and friendly. The food was quite good especially the breakfasts. We felt very safe as there was adequate security. The rooms are very colorful and quaint and we felt at home without the structure of many all inclusive resorts...no reservations need for meals. Also you were able to switch lunch and dinner if you wanted to dine in town. We were in the minority as Americans and it was fun to mingle with people from so many different countries. One warning...watch your speed if driving. Auto rental will cost DOUBLE of what you are quoted once the mandatory insurance is added to the rental. You do not need a car and next time we will take a shuttle from the airport. All of the family are already planning our next trip to the Mahekal resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
February traveler
Family
Duluth, Mn
Feb 26, 2012

Relaxing beach location

Mahekal was the perfect place to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle. Quietly located on the beach. Appreciated the low tech approach (no tv or phones) the excellent staff and attention to detail in meeting visitors needs. Walking distance to shops, a small market, and restaurants was a plus. The meals were also delicious. This is definately a hotel that I will return to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out restaurants located within walking distance including Chango and Origine (2 for 1 margs and cerveza 12:00-6:00).

Back to menu Return to top