$334 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
molly and paul
Business
Harleysville, Pa
Sep 22, 2011

awesome relaxing vacation!!!!!!

Everything was perfect from the minute we arrived and was handed feshly scented face cloths to feel fresh after the plane and car ride from the airport to the hotel. The hotel was everything and more that the website describes. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I have travelled a lot and this is one of my favorite vacations. Plan on coming back to same hotel next year!!! Nothing better than being able to stand on the balcony and watch the waves roll in from our ocean view room, taking a nap in the hammocks listening to the waves or looking at the beautiful pool. so very peaceful, enjoyed walking the few steps to the beach each morning w/ coffee in hand that is provided every morning at the bar and watching the sun rise. The food was good, our waiter Jose was excellent as well as everyone else at the hotel. We were given a tour by Bali of other types of rooms available, that we might want to request on our visit. The housekeeping was superb w/ the towels made into a different shape each day. Probably the only change would be, to have a mini refrig in the room but not a big deal since there is a little mini mart just a block or 2 down from the hotel. 5th Avenue close enough to walk to and enjoy shopping without having any of the busyness near the hotel. Just loved Mahekal Beach Resort. highly recommend it to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

arrange to have the hotel pick you up at the airport rather than book it through another company. the price is lower than the others. ignore the people in the airport trying to get you to take their transportation. they are very tricky in making you think they represent the company you have arranged your transportation with- they are not.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tjulli
Business
Brussels, Belgium
May 12, 2010

Amazing

Amazing experience. What a beautiful beautiful place. Overall it was PERFECT. Hotel has the bet location on playa del carmen. Can't be compared. I would recommend this hotel, especially for those who seek a bit more peace and quit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago Area
May 8, 2011

Beautiful Beach Resort

We took 2 excursions, 1 to Coba, and the other to snorkel. The grounds are beautiful, the service excellent, the food very good, and happy hour is a value. We have cruised 8 times, been to Hawaii 3 years ago, but found this a pleasant change. It was like staying in a botanical garden.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to fifth ave., take the taxi back to the resort. Be sure to get up to view the sunrise. Enjoy the diverse group of guests staying at Mahehal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
May 5, 2011

Great Place To Stay

The staff was excellent. Nice place to get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandma and Pa
Business
Pittsfield, MA
Apr 21, 2011

Welcome to Paradise

Mahecal means 'magical' and it is. Rooms are lovely and spacious with a large deck; The food (includes breakfast and lunch OR dinner) can't be beat. The resort, although patrolled by resort personnel, is not a true gated community since the beach is also used by the local people. It is probably the best beach in the area. You'll want to spend most of your time there. The resort staff bend over backwards to make your vacation a happy and memorable experience. Shopping on the pedestrian-only '5th Avenue' a couple of blocks away is fun although extraordinarily hot, so don't go mid-day; some bargaining, but not always. Spanish is helpful, but not required. We hired a driver for a day (6 of us including our daughter and family) who took us to Tulum, found a place for lunch on the beach, and then snorkeling at Yal-Ku. It was $20 U.S. pp, plus his lunch. We felt we got a good deal! We would recommend this resort highly even though it might seem on the expensive side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Yal-Ku lagoon where you can snorkel through coral beds and around mangroves. It is truly beautiful and cost $9 U.S. per adult, less for kids. Open 9-5:30; several miles from Playa del Carmen; rents equipment. Can't be beat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pitylia
Business
las cruces, nm
Mar 25, 2011

One Word : WONDERFUL

Great hotel, very friendly, good location , great service , rooms and gardens. Clean beautiful beach. No nightlife = no problem = very qiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
david h.
Business
gainesville
Jan 12, 2015

Fun time with friends

We had a wonderful vacation with friends. The Mahekal resort was an excellent choice for our small group. Plenty to do and an extremely pleasant staff. I would recommend this location for anyone looking to relax and unplug.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tw.566
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Great vacation

We loved staying at Mahekal Beach Resort. Being so close to the water was a plus. The staff was very helpful at making arrangements for us to go on different day trips. The food was good as well. We had a great time at Mahekal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarab
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Great trip for relaxation

The hotel has a very private feel to it. The view from the dinning room is beautiful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, TX
Apr 10, 2011

Plain and sincere

Food was delicious, resort was really nice with beautiful beach view, service was great. The only bad thing about this resort is that once you leave the resort the city is ugly. There is only one long tourist street called Calle 5. Overall staying at this hotel was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top