Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
72 reviews
Fantastic boutique hotel

My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay... See full review

  • Los Springs
  • May 5, 2014
Amazing place!

We recently came back from Mexico, Riviera Maya where we stayed at Mahekal beach resort. I think... See full review

  • IraG
  • Apr 23, 2014
Palapa-style bungalows at oceanfront Playa del Carmen resort
The Mahekal Beach Resort in Playa del Carmen is an oceanfront paradise, complete with thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows. The property boasts 800 feet of white sand beach, two swimming pools, heated Jacuzzi, two bars, a dive shop and water sports center, and two open-air restaurants. The Mahekal Beach Resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and the Caribbean and is family-friendly. Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue with its shops and restaurants is outside the front doors. The resort was formerly known as Shangri La Caribe.
Highlights:
  • 121 thatched-roof bungalows
  • Conveniently located in Playa del Carmen at Fifth Avenue
  • Two swimming pools, a heated Jacuzzi and two bars
  • Two open-air restaurants
Rooms:

All 121 thatched-roof bungalows at the Mahekal Beach Resort are expertly decorated and include traditional Caribbean, Mayan and Mexican tiling work and furnishing. Guests stay either at individual bungalows or individual rooms in two- or three-unit casitas. Tile floors and elaborately painted bathrooms give way to refreshing linens and bright, airy living areas. The accommodations do not have televisions, radios or telephones but are outfitted with hammocks. All rooms at the Mahekal Beach Resort are air conditioned. The penthouse bungalows feature private decks, views of the ocean, private bathroom, balcony, ceiling fan and a king-sized bed. These rooms are for adult occupancy only. Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features:

Lounging on the beach or at one of the two pools (one with a heated Jacuzzi) is a given when at Mahekal Beach Resort. The resort also has yoga classes, a game room and massages. The town Playa del Carmen is right outside for guests to explore. Take a walk through the streets, eat dinner out on the town or take a day trip to the Mayan ruins.

Room rates at Mahekal Beach Resort include breakfast and dinner or lunch. Breakfast is buffet style with special touches such as Mexican pastries, fresh juices and eggs cooked Mexican style. Alcohol and some beverages are additional. There are two thatched-roof restaurants on the property: Aventura Restaurant and Bar and La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch. La Loma is open only for dinner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4.5 mi/7.5 km)
  • Tulum (40 mi/65 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • NOTE: The hotel is located next to an event space hosting music festivals from November until January. Some noise disturbances are expected during this period.
  • NOTE: The hotel charges compulsory gala dinner fee of $70 USD on 24 and 31 December 2014 per person, for guests 12 years old and above.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.636 -87.0669
Area served
Playa de Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
ACCESS - Cancun International Airport. Daily direct flights from the USA, Canada and the main European cities. 45 airlines operate flights from approximately 60 locations. AIRPORT TRANSFER- A distance of 40 miles, 50 minutes drive to Mahekal Beach Resort. Shuttle, taxi, private transportation service and car rentals are available at the International Cancun Airport.

Mahekal Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
The cabanas in the Deluxe Garden View section are the most quiet, secluded and relaxing guestrooms. These rooms are located within a short walking distance to the beach and are only steps away from the pool. Lush green gardens and a beautiful Mexican fountain decorate the surrounding.
Deluxe Garden View Palapa
These cabanas are either individual bungalows or individual rooms on the upper level of a two-unit, two-level casita with unique high-rise thatched palapa roofs. Deluxe Garden View Palapa rooms are close to the Casa Club, our poolside bar and social gathering spot, the Caribe pool, and only a short walk from the beach.
Deluxe Ocean View
Two-story casita with two individual spacious Deluxe Ocean View rooms offers open spaces accomplishing harmony and relaxation. Luxury Mexican decor and art is brought in detail; silk shawls from Michoacn state add beauty to the two queen size or a king-size bed, and pottery from Oaxaca bring a colorful touch to the room. Recovered wood lamps grant a soft and mystic environment with the gentle sounds of the waves rolling in from the private balcony or terrace with hammocks.
Deluxe Ocean View Palapa
The Deluxe Ocean View Palapa rooms are located closer to the ocean with partial or full ocean view in either individual bungalows or as individual rooms on the upper level of a two storey casita in Caribe section, close to the Caribbean Sea. Guests may enjoy beautiful walkways, lush green or sea blues as part of their scenery while listening to the gentle breeze and the quiet ocean murmur.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Aventura Restaurant - a Taste of Playa del Carmen
Aventura has one of the best views in Playa del Carmen! Start your morning at our pool-front restaurant overlooking the Aventura pool and Caribbean Sea. A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries -pan de dulce, seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice?), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Casa Club and Aventura
Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
Restaurant
Dining in Playa del Carmen is exciting and offers many opportunities to savor the rich flavors of this unique area. Mahekal beach Resort Resort's room rates include breakfast and dinner under a modified American plan (MAP), which are served in one of two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch; La Loma is open only for dinner. Breakfast and dinner are included in the daily rate; alcohol and some beverage exceptions apply. The hotel offers two bars; Casa Club and Aventura. Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
La Loma Restaurant - Playa del Carmen Dining at its Best
"La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has conference and meetings facilities for up to 70 people. Our Aventura Restaurant, overlooking the Carribbean sea and the Aventura pool, is ideal for hosting social events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tjulli
Brussels, Belgium
May 12, 2010

Amazing

Amazing experience. What a beautiful beautiful place. Overall it was PERFECT. Hotel has the bet location on playa del carmen. Can't be compared. I would recommend this hotel, especially for those who seek a bit more peace and quit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, Texas
Jul 25, 2011

Mayan Heaven!

This hotel is beautiful and we had a wonderful, relaxing time! We wanted to avoid the typical, American all-inclusive feel. Why come to Mexico if your experience is similar to home? The hotel has the high Mayan thatched roofs and rooms were more private. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We had an second floor oceanview room and loved reading in the hammocks with the beach in view. We were dissapointed with snorkeling off the beach because the reef looked dead and there were very few fish. Overall, however, we were very happy with the location and facilities and highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We took full advantage of the happy hour two for one deal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta,georgia
Feb 23, 2011

Great hotel and vacation spot

Loved the hotel. We went to xplor for a day which was so much fun. Planning our next trip there already. Loved north playa del carmen . Much more quiet and no loud crowds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

North 5th avenue has more upscale and classy places

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RiBrown74
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Lovely Stay in a Wonderful Beachfront Resort

We had stayed at the same resort 8 years ago, when it went under the name Shangri La Caribe. As far as we could tell, the excellent service, comfortable accomodations and delicious food have not changed in the least. The service was very prompt and courteous, and the staff expends effort to learn the names and preferences of the guests, to make each greeting more personal. The staff members have a lot of experience at the hotel - at least one we chatted with had been there for 30 years, and their service can be summarized as highly attentive but not intrusive. When you need assistance, they are there in a flash, but they don't force themselves on you when you don't need them. We were located in the Garden View Caribe section, which means no ocean view. But we ended up being close to the pool, the bar/rec room (2 billiards and 2 ping pong tables - all in good condition) and to the evening dinner restaurant, and did not mind making the 90-second walk to the beach. Truth be told, some of the bungalows right on the beach, with private jacuzzis, looked great, and would be fantastic for a honeymoon. There is wireless internet in the bar/rec room and in reception, though it is not a terrific signal. There is also a computer for public use in the bar/rec room, which is handy for checking emails. The meal plan including breakfast and either lunch or dinner worked very well for us; typically we chose breakfast and dinner, and on one occasion paid for lunch at poolside. The food and drink prices are not at all unreasonable - about $3 for beer, $10 for a plate of 3 tacos - not cheap, but certainly justified given the setting and service. We are already planning our next trip to Playa del Carmen, and will again stay at the Mahekal - our 2 boys will expect no less!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Walmart is located about 2 km from the Mahekal. Other than offering an inexpensive place to buy boogie boards and swim suits, it also has 2 ATMs which accept VISA/MC cards for cash advances, for a US$ fee, a 1/3 of the fee some of the stand-alone ATMs charge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Mar 14, 2011

Mehekal Resort. The Perfect Getaway

We were so pleased that we stayed at the Mehekal Resort. Mehekal surpassed our expectations. It had the quaintness of a Boutique hotel, wonderful & gracious service, and the most private area of beach on the city strip. & let's not forget lounging in the hammocks. Location in the city is perfect as you are steps from 5th avenue. We had a room change after our arrival due to availabilty of ocean view and received a gorgeous upgrade. Definitely would choose this resort again and wish we could return every year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Nov 7, 2010

Nice Relaxing Vacation

My wife and I were on our honeymoon and sat by the beach and pool the entire time. Although we didn't do many activities the whole trip was perfect. One day we rented a hobie cat for an hour. That was the extent of our adventures. We didn't feel like going to the tourist traps and driving very far. If you are looking to just relax and not do a whole lot this is the perfect place. If you are looking to do activities it's a great place to-you just have to make time to do it. The staff has customer service to a T and can really show up how customer service should be here in the U.S. I can't wait to go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Izznt
Allentown, PA
Jul 17, 2011

Loved the Mahekal

Fantastically laid back and lovely resort. No TV/radio/clock in the room, but you'll get good use out of the hammocks. Great food, amazing people. For those that find the AI's don't appeal, this is the spot for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KMCMR
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Relaxing and Simple

We have a wonderful experience at Mahekal. We stayed in an ocean view room, 16b, and absolutely loved it. The accommodations are simple: no TV, no clocks, no phone, but it was perfect for us. I found that I was completely relaxed and slept easily and soundly with no distractions around. We had, in my opinion, the most breathtaking view on the resort. On the second floor of a little casita on the Caribe side, we had a perfect view of the ocean and were just steps from the beach. The food was really good for the most part. We had dinner on the night we arrived, and didn't care for it, but it wasn't a big deal because we knew we were having lunch and breakfast all week. (There are a million great restaurants in PDC; and it's too hot to walk anywhere for lunch, so breakfast & lunch are you best bets). Breakfast and lunch were both delicious. For breakfast, you have a choice of one of the a la carte options, I think there were 6 or 7, and also a buffet with fresh juices, fruit, pastries, sausage, oatmeal, cereals, yogurt and granola, etc. Lunch is also a la carte, and everything we had was really good, especially the Cubano torta and the fish tacos. Overall, I really liked the food and the service was really good, too. (This coming from a former waitress). The beach was really beautiful and you can walk for a long time in either direction. We liked walking South toward playacar because I liked to see all of the different hotels on the beach, and get ideas of where we'd like to stay if we come back. I have to say, however, that I liked Mahekal's beach the best out of all the centrally located hotels as it was pretty expansive and had a great beach for swimming and sunbathing. Also, there is wireless interest available in the lobby and Caribe bar areas, and this is perfect for me. To be honest, the idea that I have access to email/internet at all times stresses me out, so I liked only being able to access the internet on my phone when I was walking through the lobby or getting a drink at happy hour (5-6 every day) at the bar. The idea of vacation is to be disconnected from the life back at home and to relax, not to be constantly checking Facebook and reading work emails! Overall, we absolutely loved our stay and would not hesitate to return. I think we're going to go back next March because we loved it so much. It's not fancy, but if you want good service in a beautiful location, close enough to the action for some fun, yet far enough for tranquility, then this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk to one of the convenience stores at the corner of 5th Ave and 38 and buy a case of water, a Styrofoam cooler, and some ice. We would pick up more ice on a way back from dinner/shopping in the evening. Instead of buying water at the resort, we just brought it with us to beach and meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
holidaysohyeah
dc
Aug 5, 2011

Best Vacation ever

Very nice, friendly,and best spot at the playa

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luke N Amanda
Tampa, FL
May 29, 2013

Destination wedding

We had such a wonderful time at the Mahekal Beach Resort. The Mahekal Beach Resort is a hidden gem and we cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search