$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
104 reviews
Fantastic boutique hotel

My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay... See full review

  • Los Springs
  • May 5, 2014
Amazing place!

We recently came back from Mexico, Riviera Maya where we stayed at Mahekal beach resort. I think... See full review

  • IraG
  • Apr 23, 2014
Palapa-style bungalows at oceanfront Playa del Carmen resort
The Mahekal Beach Resort in Playa del Carmen is an oceanfront paradise, complete with thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows. The property boasts 800 feet of white sand beach, two swimming pools, heated Jacuzzi, two bars, a dive shop and water sports center, and two open-air restaurants. The Mahekal Beach Resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and the Caribbean and is family-friendly. Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue with its shops and restaurants is outside the front doors. The resort was formerly known as Shangri La Caribe.
Highlights:
  • 121 thatched-roof bungalows
  • Conveniently located in Playa del Carmen at Fifth Avenue
  • Two swimming pools, a heated Jacuzzi and two bars
  • Two open-air restaurants
Rooms:

All 121 thatched-roof bungalows at the Mahekal Beach Resort are expertly decorated and include traditional Caribbean, Mayan and Mexican tiling work and furnishing. Guests stay either at individual bungalows or individual rooms in two- or three-unit casitas. Tile floors and elaborately painted bathrooms give way to refreshing linens and bright, airy living areas. The accommodations do not have televisions, radios or telephones but are outfitted with hammocks. All rooms at the Mahekal Beach Resort are air conditioned. The penthouse bungalows feature private decks, views of the ocean, private bathroom, balcony, ceiling fan and a king-sized bed. These rooms are for adult occupancy only. Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features:

Lounging on the beach or at one of the two pools (one with a heated Jacuzzi) is a given when at Mahekal Beach Resort. The resort also has yoga classes, a game room and massages. The town Playa del Carmen is right outside for guests to explore. Take a walk through the streets, eat dinner out on the town or take a day trip to the Mayan ruins.

Room rates at Mahekal Beach Resort include breakfast and dinner or lunch. Breakfast is buffet style with special touches such as Mexican pastries, fresh juices and eggs cooked Mexican style. Alcohol and some beverages are additional. There are two thatched-roof restaurants on the property: Aventura Restaurant and Bar and La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch. La Loma is open only for dinner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4.5 mi/7.5 km)
  • Tulum (40 mi/65 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

20.636 -87.0669
Area served
Playa de Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
ACCESS - Cancun International Airport. Daily direct flights from the USA, Canada and the main European cities. 45 airlines operate flights from approximately 60 locations. AIRPORT TRANSFER- A distance of 40 miles, 50 minutes drive to Mahekal Beach Resort. Shuttle, taxi, private transportation service and car rentals are available at the International Cancun Airport.

Mahekal Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
The cabanas in the Deluxe Garden View section are the most quiet, secluded and relaxing guestrooms. These rooms are located within a short walking distance to the beach and are only steps away from the pool. Lush green gardens and a beautiful Mexican fountain decorate the surrounding.
Deluxe Garden View Palapa
These cabanas are either individual bungalows or individual rooms on the upper level of a two-unit, two-level casita with unique high-rise thatched palapa roofs. Deluxe Garden View Palapa rooms are close to the Casa Club, our poolside bar and social gathering spot, the Caribe pool, and only a short walk from the beach.
Deluxe Ocean View
Two-story casita with two individual spacious Deluxe Ocean View rooms offers open spaces accomplishing harmony and relaxation. Luxury Mexican decor and art is brought in detail; silk shawls from Michoacn state add beauty to the two queen size or a king-size bed, and pottery from Oaxaca bring a colorful touch to the room. Recovered wood lamps grant a soft and mystic environment with the gentle sounds of the waves rolling in from the private balcony or terrace with hammocks.
Deluxe Ocean View Palapa
The Deluxe Ocean View Palapa rooms are located closer to the ocean with partial or full ocean view in either individual bungalows or as individual rooms on the upper level of a two storey casita in Caribe section, close to the Caribbean Sea. Guests may enjoy beautiful walkways, lush green or sea blues as part of their scenery while listening to the gentle breeze and the quiet ocean murmur.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has conference and meetings facilities for up to 70 people. Our Aventura Restaurant, overlooking the Carribbean sea and the Aventura pool, is ideal for hosting social events.

Dining

Aventura Restaurant - a Taste of Playa del Carmen
Aventura has one of the best views in Playa del Carmen! Start your morning at our pool-front restaurant overlooking the Aventura pool and Caribbean Sea. A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries -pan de dulce, seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice?), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Casa Club and Aventura
Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
Restaurant
Dining in Playa del Carmen is exciting and offers many opportunities to savor the rich flavors of this unique area. Mahekal beach Resort Resort's room rates include breakfast and dinner under a modified American plan (MAP), which are served in one of two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch; La Loma is open only for dinner. Breakfast and dinner are included in the daily rate; alcohol and some beverage exceptions apply. The hotel offers two bars; Casa Club and Aventura. Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
La Loma Restaurant - Playa del Carmen Dining at its Best
"La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Grandma Marcia
Mequon, Wisconsin
May 5, 2012

Beautiful family-friendly resort

I joined my son and his wife from Walnut Creek, California, who have two small children, at the Mahekal Beach Resort. We made the most of this opportunity for family conversation and play with our children at this restful, relaxing place with such beautiful landscaping and beach and pools and restaurants for all ages and comfortable individual huts. We loved the hammocks on the deck and patio. The only thing we would do differently is to opt for the restaurant lunch as a 7 p.m. dinner was late for the small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
super Jose
Denton, TX
Apr 3, 2010

Mahekal

Wonderful experience. The staff was superb. The beach was great. Overall it was quiet and relaxing. The rooms were nice and they went out of their way to accommodate our needs and give individualized attention. We hope they don't change a thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, Texas
Jul 25, 2011

Mayan Heaven!

This hotel is beautiful and we had a wonderful, relaxing time! We wanted to avoid the typical, American all-inclusive feel. Why come to Mexico if your experience is similar to home? The hotel has the high Mayan thatched roofs and rooms were more private. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We had an second floor oceanview room and loved reading in the hammocks with the beach in view. We were dissapointed with snorkeling off the beach because the reef looked dead and there were very few fish. Overall, however, we were very happy with the location and facilities and highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We took full advantage of the happy hour two for one deal!

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Mar 14, 2011

Mehekal Resort. The Perfect Getaway

We were so pleased that we stayed at the Mehekal Resort. Mehekal surpassed our expectations. It had the quaintness of a Boutique hotel, wonderful & gracious service, and the most private area of beach on the city strip. & let's not forget lounging in the hammocks. Location in the city is perfect as you are steps from 5th avenue. We had a room change after our arrival due to availabilty of ocean view and received a gorgeous upgrade. Definitely would choose this resort again and wish we could return every year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Izznt
Allentown, PA
Jul 17, 2011

Loved the Mahekal

Fantastically laid back and lovely resort. No TV/radio/clock in the room, but you'll get good use out of the hammocks. Great food, amazing people. For those that find the AI's don't appeal, this is the spot for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PegsH
Michigan, USA
Jan 15, 2012

family vacation

This was the most relaxing vacation ever.... a perfect combination of fun and action in Playa del Carmen and the laid back atmosphere at Mahekal Beach Resort. Our adult children really loved being able to walk into town and shop or relax on the beach at the resort. Bring books as there is no TV in the rooms. The staff was very efficient and friendly. The food was quite good especially the breakfasts. We felt very safe as there was adequate security. The rooms are very colorful and quaint and we felt at home without the structure of many all inclusive resorts...no reservations need for meals. Also you were able to switch lunch and dinner if you wanted to dine in town. We were in the minority as Americans and it was fun to mingle with people from so many different countries. One warning...watch your speed if driving. Auto rental will cost DOUBLE of what you are quoted once the mandatory insurance is added to the rental. You do not need a car and next time we will take a shuttle from the airport. All of the family are already planning our next trip to the Mahekal resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Nov 24, 2010

Beautiful, confortable, conveniet, GREAT

The resort looks in real life just as pretty as on the pictures. It is right on the beach. The beach is beautiful and great for swimming. The resort looks like a local village, but provides all conveniences you need. The staff is super friendly, service is great and not invasive - just what you need when you need - that simple. The crowd comes from all over the world. It's great for families with kids and for couples. And if you need shops and entertainment, the hotel is 5 minute-walk to the 5th Avenue, which is concentration of bars, clubs, restaurants and shops. The resort has one, two and three-story buildings with cone-like roofs made of straw. We got a room on 2nd floor of a two-story building, so our ceiling was a straw-dome raising high-above and this gave our room such a great feel and romantic touch. Most of the rooms (if not each) at the resort get a personal patio and Mexican-style hammocks. I can't stop telling how great this place is!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...] We counted on just grabbing a cab and it was super-expensive - $90 one way! Other alternatives were a bus ($30 per person), but that did not seem cool with a large suite-case.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wauwatosa, WI
Oct 30, 2010

Paradise At Last!

As soon as I arrived, I was impressed with Mahekal. I paid for a Caribe room and was upgraded to a lower Penthouse room with 2 ocean views! The grounds are like a jungle park with enough shade and sunshine to please all. The view of the sugar sand and the ripples of the ocean blues and greens were unbelievable. The food was very good and service was attentive. It was a little odd that no drinks were free with the lunch or dinners--not even water, but the shrimp in wine sauce on Thursday night more than compensated. I never turned on the air because the ocean breezes and duo ceiling fans blew through my room each night and gently lulled me to sleep. I had the greatest patio ever with a real hammock where I could read or snooze the afternoon away. No tropical paradise could ever top the sunrise pictures I shot with coffee provided each morning by the staff. I relaxed by the upper pool which had eight palapas for shade and was never crowded. A good deal that could not be beat in all of Playa del Carmen, if you are looking for a quality, laidback resort with a Gilligan's island/Tarzan vibe. Bravo to all the staff at the Mahekal. Plus, Happy Hour on the swing seats each day was just fine by me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A ten minute walk to Fifth Avenue for restaurants, music and drinks, yet very quiet at night for smooth sleeping.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Los Springs
Cambridge, Massachusetts
May 5, 2014

Fantastic boutique hotel

My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay at Mahekal. The staff are welcoming, knowledgable and eager to help. Highlights include the outstanding breakfast buffet with fresh fruits, pastries, waffles, fresh-squeezed orange juice, etc. plus a choice of eggs (e.g., huevos rancheros). Lunch was also amazing (three course meal), and several of the dinners were excellent (a few were just so-so). Our room was clean and comfortable, and the AC worked well. The best part though is the beach. The beach near Mahekal is absolutely perfect and not overcrowded or loud. In addition, we enjoyed the outdoor pools, happy hour at the bar and the rustic/natural look of the hotel. It's gorgeous at night! The only down side is that the WiFi is slow and only available in select locations. We didn't mind overall since our goal was to get away. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone---especially couples and families. It's one of our favorite places and we will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

We recommend that you select breakfast and lunch as your 2 included meals for most days...these are both excellent. The dinners varied from so-so to excellent, and occasionally included live music, so check the menu ahead of time since you won't want to miss certain dinners.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mockie
Laguna Hills, CA
Dec 21, 2010

Paradise

Mahekal was more beautiful in person than I could have imagined-the pictures don't do it justice. The rooms are charming, the beach is amazing, the staff was beyond friendly, and security was tight-we always felt safe. It was the perfect place to relax. Our first room was right next to the Adventuria restaurant. The view was amazing, but we were woken up VERY early to the sounds of the staff preparing for breakfast. The front desk staff was very accommodating, and moved us to a room in a much quieter area of the hotel. Happy hour is from 5-6 and drinks are 2 for 1. There is wifi in the bar, or they have a computer that you can use for free. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to 5th avenue. It is a 20 minute walk to the ADO bus station, collectivo station, and pier to catch the ferry to Cozumel. The food ranged from good to okay, but we began to tire of our choices by the end. Except for the fact that the hot tub was not hot, the hotel was close to perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are going to take the ferry to Cozumel, which I highly recommend, only buy a one way ticket (they will try to sell you the round trip). There are 2 different companies offering ferry service, and they will not honor their competitors tickets.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
February traveler
Duluth, Mn
Feb 26, 2012

Relaxing beach location

Mahekal was the perfect place to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle. Quietly located on the beach. Appreciated the low tech approach (no tv or phones) the excellent staff and attention to detail in meeting visitors needs. Walking distance to shops, a small market, and restaurants was a plus. The meals were also delicious. This is definately a hotel that I will return to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out restaurants located within walking distance including Chango and Origine (2 for 1 margs and cerveza 12:00-6:00).

Back to menu Return to top