$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
May 5, 2011

Great Place To Stay

The staff was excellent. Nice place to get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandma and Pa
Business
Pittsfield, MA
Apr 21, 2011

Welcome to Paradise

Mahecal means 'magical' and it is. Rooms are lovely and spacious with a large deck; The food (includes breakfast and lunch OR dinner) can't be beat. The resort, although patrolled by resort personnel, is not a true gated community since the beach is also used by the local people. It is probably the best beach in the area. You'll want to spend most of your time there. The resort staff bend over backwards to make your vacation a happy and memorable experience. Shopping on the pedestrian-only '5th Avenue' a couple of blocks away is fun although extraordinarily hot, so don't go mid-day; some bargaining, but not always. Spanish is helpful, but not required. We hired a driver for a day (6 of us including our daughter and family) who took us to Tulum, found a place for lunch on the beach, and then snorkeling at Yal-Ku. It was $20 U.S. pp, plus his lunch. We felt we got a good deal! We would recommend this resort highly even though it might seem on the expensive side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Yal-Ku lagoon where you can snorkel through coral beds and around mangroves. It is truly beautiful and cost $9 U.S. per adult, less for kids. Open 9-5:30; several miles from Playa del Carmen; rents equipment. Can't be beat!

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, TX
Apr 10, 2011

Plain and sincere

Food was delicious, resort was really nice with beautiful beach view, service was great. The only bad thing about this resort is that once you leave the resort the city is ugly. There is only one long tourist street called Calle 5. Overall staying at this hotel was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, TX
Apr 10, 2011

Plain and sincere

Food was delicious, resort was really nice with beautiful beach view, service was great. The only bad thing about this resort is that once you leave the resort the city is ugly. There is only one long tourist street called Calle 5. Overall staying at this hotel was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pitylia
Business
las cruces, nm
Mar 25, 2011

One Word : WONDERFUL

Great hotel, very friendly, good location , great service , rooms and gardens. Clean beautiful beach. No nightlife = no problem = very qiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dee EnJay
Business
New Jersey
Mar 24, 2011

Mahekal = Mayan for Magical

Mahekal resort was really fantastic. We opted for a beach view and asked for a second floor room. The balcony was very large with two hammocks, two deck chairs and two lounge chairs. It was incredible. The room was immaculate. The staff are extremely friendly and the food was very good. The fish dishes were particularly delicious and fresh as were the breakfast fruits (watermelon juice is tasty). The meal plan we had included breakfast and dinner. Drinks were not included. I would recommend this hotel to any kind of traveler. You can find better prices if you choose to stay at a hotel not located on the beach, but for a hotel on the beach that includes two meals it is a very fair price. One negative that I'm not sure is typical of the Mayan Rivera year round - there was significant, constant wind. This made me less inclined to swim both due to the choppy waves and wind effect on warmth. I was actually cold at times. Also, there is no t.v., phone or wifi in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a bus service called Ado located on 5th and Juarez. To save money and have more time at sites you can go on first or second class buses rather than booking a tour to sites including Xcaret, Xelha, Tulum, Coba and Chichen Itza.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
switzerland
Mar 17, 2011

great place to stay

terrible smell coming from the ocean affecting parts of the resort great food very friendly staff, especially the waiters

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not risk going out to eat elsewhere. we got really sick, eating at a place on 5th ave. we regret that we did not eat at the hotel that evening

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Mar 14, 2011

Mehekal Resort. The Perfect Getaway

We were so pleased that we stayed at the Mehekal Resort. Mehekal surpassed our expectations. It had the quaintness of a Boutique hotel, wonderful & gracious service, and the most private area of beach on the city strip. & let's not forget lounging in the hammocks. Location in the city is perfect as you are steps from 5th avenue. We had a room change after our arrival due to availabilty of ocean view and received a gorgeous upgrade. Definitely would choose this resort again and wish we could return every year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta,georgia
Feb 23, 2011

Great hotel and vacation spot

Loved the hotel. We went to xplor for a day which was so much fun. Planning our next trip there already. Loved north playa del carmen . Much more quiet and no loud crowds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

North 5th avenue has more upscale and classy places

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Castle, CO
Feb 9, 2011

Nice resort, but a bit overpriced

We went to Cancun in October and stated at the Le Meridien. To compare the hotels is not entirely fair as the Le Meridien is a fancy full service hotel and the Mahekal is a bit more primitive. The Mahekal theme is primitive, no tv's, no phone, no clock, etc. That is all fine on paper but in our opinion for a hotel that lacks those things should be less expensive. They market their higher price being due to the included food. But unless you really enjoy buffets and very similar food for every meal you will want to wonder off resort to mix it up. Only other interesting things was the beach blanket situation. They make you initial next to your name when you check in, but they do not elaborate on why you are doing so. But if you leave your beach blanket on the beach they inform you that there is a $50 USD charge to get another one. I guess beach blankets are very rare in Playa Del Carmen. Overal we liked it, locals very nice, felt safe in town and didn't have any problems with the water. But if we were to do it again we would prefer going back to Cancun and staying at the Le Meridien.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The small pizza place within a block or so from Mahekal had great food and was very reasonably priced. The service was a bit slow but when you are on vacation in Mexico who is in a hurry anyways.

Back to menu Return to top