Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
104 reviews
Fantastic boutique hotel

My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay... See full review

  • Los Springs
  • May 5, 2014
Amazing place!

We recently came back from Mexico, Riviera Maya where we stayed at Mahekal beach resort. I think... See full review

  • IraG
  • Apr 23, 2014
Palapa-style bungalows at oceanfront Playa del Carmen resort
The Mahekal Beach Resort in Playa del Carmen is an oceanfront paradise, complete with thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows. The property boasts 800 feet of white sand beach, two swimming pools, heated Jacuzzi, two bars, a dive shop and water sports center, and two open-air restaurants. The Mahekal Beach Resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and the Caribbean and is family-friendly. Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue with its shops and restaurants is outside the front doors. The resort was formerly known as Shangri La Caribe.
Highlights:
  • 121 thatched-roof bungalows
  • Conveniently located in Playa del Carmen at Fifth Avenue
  • Two swimming pools, a heated Jacuzzi and two bars
  • Two open-air restaurants
Rooms:

All 121 thatched-roof bungalows at the Mahekal Beach Resort are expertly decorated and include traditional Caribbean, Mayan and Mexican tiling work and furnishing. Guests stay either at individual bungalows or individual rooms in two- or three-unit casitas. Tile floors and elaborately painted bathrooms give way to refreshing linens and bright, airy living areas. The accommodations do not have televisions, radios or telephones but are outfitted with hammocks. All rooms at the Mahekal Beach Resort are air conditioned. The penthouse bungalows feature private decks, views of the ocean, private bathroom, balcony, ceiling fan and a king-sized bed. These rooms are for adult occupancy only. Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features:

Lounging on the beach or at one of the two pools (one with a heated Jacuzzi) is a given when at Mahekal Beach Resort. The resort also has yoga classes, a game room and massages. The town Playa del Carmen is right outside for guests to explore. Take a walk through the streets, eat dinner out on the town or take a day trip to the Mayan ruins.

Room rates at Mahekal Beach Resort include breakfast and dinner or lunch. Breakfast is buffet style with special touches such as Mexican pastries, fresh juices and eggs cooked Mexican style. Alcohol and some beverages are additional. There are two thatched-roof restaurants on the property: Aventura Restaurant and Bar and La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch. La Loma is open only for dinner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4.5 mi/7.5 km)
  • Tulum (40 mi/65 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)

Mahekal Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
The cabanas in the Deluxe Garden View section are the most quiet, secluded and relaxing guestrooms. These rooms are located within a short walking distance to the beach and are only steps away from the pool. Lush green gardens and a beautiful Mexican fountain decorate the surrounding.
Deluxe Garden View Palapa
These cabanas are either individual bungalows or individual rooms on the upper level of a two-unit, two-level casita with unique high-rise thatched palapa roofs. Deluxe Garden View Palapa rooms are close to the Casa Club, our poolside bar and social gathering spot, the Caribe pool, and only a short walk from the beach.
Deluxe Ocean View
Two-story casita with two individual spacious Deluxe Ocean View rooms offers open spaces accomplishing harmony and relaxation. Luxury Mexican decor and art is brought in detail; silk shawls from Michoacn state add beauty to the two queen size or a king-size bed, and pottery from Oaxaca bring a colorful touch to the room. Recovered wood lamps grant a soft and mystic environment with the gentle sounds of the waves rolling in from the private balcony or terrace with hammocks.
Deluxe Ocean View Palapa
The Deluxe Ocean View Palapa rooms are located closer to the ocean with partial or full ocean view in either individual bungalows or as individual rooms on the upper level of a two storey casita in Caribe section, close to the Caribbean Sea. Guests may enjoy beautiful walkways, lush green or sea blues as part of their scenery while listening to the gentle breeze and the quiet ocean murmur.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.636 -87.0669
Area served
Playa de Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
ACCESS - Cancun International Airport. Daily direct flights from the USA, Canada and the main European cities. 45 airlines operate flights from approximately 60 locations. AIRPORT TRANSFER- A distance of 40 miles, 50 minutes drive to Mahekal Beach Resort. Shuttle, taxi, private transportation service and car rentals are available at the International Cancun Airport.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has conference and meetings facilities for up to 70 people. Our Aventura Restaurant, overlooking the Carribbean sea and the Aventura pool, is ideal for hosting social events.

Dining

Aventura Restaurant - a Taste of Playa del Carmen
Aventura has one of the best views in Playa del Carmen! Start your morning at our pool-front restaurant overlooking the Aventura pool and Caribbean Sea. A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries -pan de dulce, seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice?), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Casa Club and Aventura
Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
Restaurant
Dining in Playa del Carmen is exciting and offers many opportunities to savor the rich flavors of this unique area. Mahekal beach Resort Resort's room rates include breakfast and dinner under a modified American plan (MAP), which are served in one of two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch; La Loma is open only for dinner. Breakfast and dinner are included in the daily rate; alcohol and some beverage exceptions apply. The hotel offers two bars; Casa Club and Aventura. Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
La Loma Restaurant - Playa del Carmen Dining at its Best
"La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
molly and paul
Harleysville, Pa
Sep 22, 2011

awesome relaxing vacation!!!!!!

Everything was perfect from the minute we arrived and was handed feshly scented face cloths to feel fresh after the plane and car ride from the airport to the hotel. The hotel was everything and more that the website describes. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I have travelled a lot and this is one of my favorite vacations. Plan on coming back to same hotel next year!!! Nothing better than being able to stand on the balcony and watch the waves roll in from our ocean view room, taking a nap in the hammocks listening to the waves or looking at the beautiful pool. so very peaceful, enjoyed walking the few steps to the beach each morning w/ coffee in hand that is provided every morning at the bar and watching the sun rise. The food was good, our waiter Jose was excellent as well as everyone else at the hotel. We were given a tour by Bali of other types of rooms available, that we might want to request on our visit. The housekeeping was superb w/ the towels made into a different shape each day. Probably the only change would be, to have a mini refrig in the room but not a big deal since there is a little mini mart just a block or 2 down from the hotel. 5th Avenue close enough to walk to and enjoy shopping without having any of the busyness near the hotel. Just loved Mahekal Beach Resort. highly recommend it to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

arrange to have the hotel pick you up at the airport rather than book it through another company. the price is lower than the others. ignore the people in the airport trying to get you to take their transportation. they are very tricky in making you think they represent the company you have arranged your transportation with- they are not.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
holidaysohyeah
dc
Aug 5, 2011

Best Vacation ever

Very nice, friendly,and best spot at the playa

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Petersburg, FL
Jul 28, 2011

Mahekal Beach Resort is Paradise

The hammocks, ocean view and sea breeze really made our trip. The grounds were immaculate, the staff congenial and the meals excellent. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Petersburg, FL
Jul 28, 2011

Mahekal Beach Resort is Paradise

The hammocks, ocean view and sea breeze really made our trip. The grounds were immaculate, the staff congenial and the meals excellent. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, Texas
Jul 25, 2011

Mayan Heaven!

This hotel is beautiful and we had a wonderful, relaxing time! We wanted to avoid the typical, American all-inclusive feel. Why come to Mexico if your experience is similar to home? The hotel has the high Mayan thatched roofs and rooms were more private. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We had an second floor oceanview room and loved reading in the hammocks with the beach in view. We were dissapointed with snorkeling off the beach because the reef looked dead and there were very few fish. Overall, however, we were very happy with the location and facilities and highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We took full advantage of the happy hour two for one deal!

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, Texas
Jul 25, 2011

Mayan Heaven!

This hotel is beautiful and we had a wonderful, relaxing time! We wanted to avoid the typical, American all-inclusive feel. Why come to Mexico if your experience is similar to home? The hotel has the high Mayan thatched roofs and rooms were more private. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We had an second floor oceanview room and loved reading in the hammocks with the beach in view. We were dissapointed with snorkeling off the beach because the reef looked dead and there were very few fish. Overall, however, we were very happy with the location and facilities and highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We took full advantage of the happy hour two for one deal!

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Izznt
Allentown, PA
Jul 17, 2011

Loved the Mahekal

Fantastically laid back and lovely resort. No TV/radio/clock in the room, but you'll get good use out of the hammocks. Great food, amazing people. For those that find the AI's don't appeal, this is the spot for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Izznt
Allentown, PA
Jul 17, 2011

Loved the Mahekal

Fantastically laid back and lovely resort. No TV/radio/clock in the room, but you'll get good use out of the hammocks. Great food, amazing people. For those that find the AI's don't appeal, this is the spot for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Flyer to Playa del Carmen
Boston, MA
Jun 7, 2011

Good location right on the beach

We had an ocean view room which was seconds from the sandy beach. Cute property. Staff rather grumpy though there was an ant problem (all over our sink(and deck, but deck is outside). I didn't particulatey like the food package, although brakfasts were great. Beds were incredibly comfortable. Overall, decent property, but they need training for staff to improve quality of service and smile more. Assistant general manager asked us about our first day and I told her our lunch was awful. She should have followed up with some other courtesy. Can't beat the location though on the beach! I got a good package deal - would never pay the full price though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walk up and down 5th avenue for fun bars, shops and restaurants.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Flyer to Playa del Carmen
Boston, MA
Jun 7, 2011

Good location right on the beach

We had an ocean view room which was seconds from the sandy beach. Cute property. Staff rather grumpy though there was an ant problem (all over our sink(and deck, but deck is outside). I didn't particulatey like the food package, although brakfasts were great. Beds were incredibly comfortable. Overall, decent property, but they need training for staff to improve quality of service and smile more. Assistant general manager asked us about our first day and I told her our lunch was awful. She should have followed up with some other courtesy. Can't beat the location though on the beach! I got a good package deal - would never pay the full price though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walk up and down 5th avenue for fun bars, shops and restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top