$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 23, 2015 Check-out: Jun 24, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
May 20, 2010

Rustic Paradise

Mahekal has a great location, within walking distance to 5th Ave. The beach is wonderful, but could be a bit cleaner, as there was routinely small amounts of trash, like a styrofoam cup here or there that seemed to be left over from the day before. We enjoyed the breakfast & lunch the most. There was one night the options at dinner service we attended did not suit our tastes. The drink prices are a bit high, but this seems common for the area. This hotel is great if you understand what you are getting before you go. Thatched roofs come with their own issues, so the room is more prone to having a bug or two, and the A/C may not be as cold as other hotels. The staff was great and always helpful. I definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a basic room that has some charm to it. If you want 5 star luxury, you should look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 9, 2010

Great location and service

Beautiful location. Very simple hotel. Good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate all but our last dinner at the hotel. On the last night we walked up to 5th Avenue for shopping and dinner, and realised we had been missing out. Shopping at night was cooler, and more vibrant. Lunch at the hotel was just as good as dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Funinthesun98
Business
Syracuse, NY
Sep 25, 2010

Ultimate Relaxation!

This was our first trip that was NOT all inclusive. We loved it. The drinks and food were reasonably priced. We ate breakfast and lunch at the resort everyday and then went to 5th Ave for dinner. We loved the lunch selection and the food for lunch was excellent. The breakfast had very limited choices but was good. The resort is very very quiet and very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The cost for a taxi to walmart/mega or somewhere on 5th Ave is around $3-$5 dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County
Oct 3, 2010

I love Playa Del Carmen

I loved the location, beach access and the great staff. Resort has a cute village like appearance that makes you feel like you are in paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Explore $99 US dollars, xel-ha $79 , xcaret $69, tulum ruins $5.00, cozumel island $22 RT ferry ride. These are all inexpensive if you rent a car and do in consecutive days. Dont buy from streets, save $ drive there yourself and stay in Playa del Carmen or near by towns.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Dig
Business
Kansas City, MO
May 14, 2010

Relaxing retreat

Very relaxing, no TV or phones... Public beach access is near the hotel.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not rent a cat through the hotel, they already have a set price with the rental car companies which is much higher.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dee EnJay
Business
New Jersey
Mar 24, 2011

Mahekal = Mayan for Magical

Mahekal resort was really fantastic. We opted for a beach view and asked for a second floor room. The balcony was very large with two hammocks, two deck chairs and two lounge chairs. It was incredible. The room was immaculate. The staff are extremely friendly and the food was very good. The fish dishes were particularly delicious and fresh as were the breakfast fruits (watermelon juice is tasty). The meal plan we had included breakfast and dinner. Drinks were not included. I would recommend this hotel to any kind of traveler. You can find better prices if you choose to stay at a hotel not located on the beach, but for a hotel on the beach that includes two meals it is a very fair price. One negative that I'm not sure is typical of the Mayan Rivera year round - there was significant, constant wind. This made me less inclined to swim both due to the choppy waves and wind effect on warmth. I was actually cold at times. Also, there is no t.v., phone or wifi in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a bus service called Ado located on 5th and Juarez. To save money and have more time at sites you can go on first or second class buses rather than booking a tour to sites including Xcaret, Xelha, Tulum, Coba and Chichen Itza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ad517
Business
Seattle
Apr 26, 2015

Great Location

Great location. Wonderful friendly staff. No wifi or TV in room. Waves very loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, TX
Apr 10, 2011

Plain and sincere

Food was delicious, resort was really nice with beautiful beach view, service was great. The only bad thing about this resort is that once you leave the resort the city is ugly. There is only one long tourist street called Calle 5. Overall staying at this hotel was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SM Princeton
Business
Princeton, New Jersey
Mar 30, 2014

Good place for a family vacation

It was a little difficult to get there by driving; there was no sign, and somehow even some locals do not know how to get there. It has a very nice beach. Food (2 meals per day) was excellent and everyday we were pleasantly surprised by different animal shapes of towels made for us. There's no TV in the room, which we liked. Wifi is available only in the lobby, and it was sometimes very slow. Location is very good. Convenient to visit Xcaret, Tulum, and Chicen Itza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many supermarkets for locals nearby if you'd like.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IraG
Business
San Jose, California
Apr 23, 2014

Amazing place!

We recently came back from Mexico, Riviera Maya where we stayed at Mahekal beach resort. I think this is the best place to stay there - right on the beach, great rooms, the resort is close to so many interesting places. I will definitely stay there again for the next trip to that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tulum, Akumal, Cenotes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top